3 أسئلة أساسية للمدن في عام 2022

كوفيد 19

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

8 أبريل، 2022

3 أسئلة أساسية للمدن في عام 2022 ، تعافت المدن من صدمة العدوى وأعادت بناء ثقة السكان بعد انحسار الأوبئة في التاريخ.

 

By

مساعد الابتكار والتمويل الحضري ، مركز WRI Ross للمدن المستدامة


 

  • على الصعيد العالمي ، دفع كوفيد -19 31 مليون شخص إضافي إلى هوة الفقر المدقع وكشف عن تفاوتات عميقة ، مع استمرار أزمة المناخ تلوح في الأفق.
  • على مر العصور ، تعافت المدن من صدمة العدوى وأعادت بناء ثقة السكان
  • تتطلب هذه الأوقات غير المسبوقة أن نطرح ثلاثة أسئلة مهمة تتعلق بالاضطراب والإدماج والاستدامة.
  • هناك حاجة إلى أفكار ومقاربات مقنعة لتوجيه أعمالنا نحو مستقبل حضري بديل.

 

يمكن أن يكون لتفشي الأمراض المعدية تأثير دائم على التصميم الحضري والعديد منها شكل بشكل لا رجعة فيه كيف تشعر المدن الحديثة وتعمل. على سبيل المثال ، الحدائق ، وتصميم الشوارع العريضة ، وحتى حمام المنزل كلها موروثات مهمة لتفشي الكوليرا ؛ اليوم ، هم جزء لا يتجزأ من الحياة اليومية لدرجة أنهم يعتبرون سمات عادية للمدن الحديثة. على مر العصور ، انتعشت المدن من الصدمة الأولية للعدوى وأعادت بناء ثقة السكان بعد أوقات من عدم اليقين.

 

ما على المحك في عالم يتسم بالاستجابة للجائحة اليوم؟ مع بدء تشكيل معالم مدن ما بعد جائحة الفيروس التاجي في جميع أنحاء العالم ، كانت هناك موجة من المضاربات حول مستقبل المدن. قد تغير مثل هذه الصدمات بشكل أساسي كيفية تعامل العالم مع أولويات السياسة الحاسمة ، بما في ذلك تغير المناخ ، والفقر ، والعنصرية ، والتشرد ، والتلوث ، من بين أشياء أخرى كثيرة.

 

يمكن أن تكون الاستجابات العالمية ونتائجها تقدمية أو رجعية - "التحفيز الأخضر"الاستثمارات يمكن أن تعزز العمل المناخي ، ولكن استعادة الجائحة التي تعمل بالغاز في أستراليا بمثابة تذكير بعدم أخذ حلقة الملاحظات الإيجابية كأمر مسلم به.

 

سوق للمزارعين المحليين في روزاريو ، الأرجنتين.

 

3 أسئلة أساسية للمدن في عام 2022

 

مهما كان الشكل الذي ستتخذه مدن ما بعد الجائحة ، هناك شيء واحد واضح - نحن نعيش في أوقات مضطربة بشكل متزايد. وهذا العالم يقترب من مفترق طرق للعمل الجماعي الحاسم. أزمة المناخ ، التي يعتقد العديد من العلماء قد وصلت إلى حد نقطة تحول لا رجوع فيها، يطالب قادة العالم باتخاذ إجراءات جريئة لخفض انبعاثات الكربون والتكيف بسرعة مع تقلبات الطقس الشديدة. على الصعيد العالمي ، دفع COVID-19 31 مليون شخص إضافي في فقر مدقع وكشف عن تفاوتات عميقة.

 

تتطلب هذه الأوقات غير المسبوقة أن نطرح ثلاثة أسئلة حاسمة ، والتي ستحدد مسارات المدن في العام والعقد القادمين.

 

هل الاضطراب وعدم اليقين هو الوضع الطبيعي الجديد في المدن؟

 

هناك على الأقل ثلاث أزمات متفاقمة التي تواجه المدن اليوم - جائحة COVID-19 العالمي المستمر ، والآثار المتفاقمة لتغير المناخ ، وتزايد عدم المساواة الحضرية. في العام الماضي وحده ، تشير الأحداث المناخية المتطرفة - مثل الحرائق المميتة والفيضانات وموجات الحر - والأثر العالمي لوباء فيروس كورونا إلى أن هذه التحديات ذات طبيعة "كوكبية" ؛ لا يوجد ركن من أركان العالم محصن ضد آثارها. وضعت الأزمات الثلاث ضغوطًا غير مسبوقة على حياة المدينة وتزيد من حدة المشكلات القائمة ، بما في ذلك الإقصاء الاجتماعي والعنصرية والتشرد والتلوث.

 

المدن نفسها هي أنظمة معقدة ترتكز على الثقل المادي لبيئاتها المبنية ؛ في نفس الوقت ، هم دائما قيد الإنشاء وفي حالات مختلفة من التدفق. إضافة إلى الشعور بالاضطراب ، فإن الوباء وأزمة المناخ وعدم المساواة المتصاعدة تحدث على خلفية الابتكار التكنولوجي المتسارع والتحولات المجتمعية.

 

هذه التحولات والتطورات أكثر غموضًا في آثارها. يمكن للتكنولوجيات الجديدة أن تجلب أملًا كبيرًا في أوقات الطوارئ ، كما في حالة تقنيات اللقاح الجديدة ، والذكاء الاصطناعي الذي يتيح تتبع الاتصال ، والتطبيب عن بعد ، والعمل عن بُعد والتعلم. ومع ذلك فهم أيضًا تأوي المعضلات الأخلاقية - مثل مخاطر الخصوصية والتمييز - التي تزيد من مناخ عدم اليقين.

 

هل يمكن أن تكون المدن القادرة على الصمود شاملة ومستدامة؟

 

يدعو إلى المرونة باعتباره أ أولوية التخطيط والإدارة جاء استجابة لكليهما الصدمات الحادة والضغوط المزمنة، بما في ذلك الطقس المتطرف المرتبط بتغير المناخ ، والإرهاب والهجمات الإلكترونية ، والاضطرابات الاقتصادية وسلسلة التوريد ، وحالات الطوارئ الصحية العامة مثل تفشي فيروس كورونا.

 

ومع ذلك ، فإن الاستجابة للتحدي الثلاثي المتمثل في الجائحة وتغير المناخ وعدم المساواة في المناطق الحضرية يتطلب أن تكون المدن ليست مرنة فحسب ، بل أيضًا مستدامة وشاملة. للأسف ، هذه الأهداف يمكن أن يكون على خلاف مع بعضها البعض والتوفيق بينها قد يخلق معضلات تخطيط حضري صعبة.

 

على سبيل المثال ، يتم تفضيل المراكز الحضرية الكثيفة مستوطنات مترامية الأطراف لكفاءة مواردها وربط الناس بالفرص الاقتصادية. ولكن عندما يعيش الكثير من الناس على مقربة شديدة ، فإن هذا يركز أيضًا على تعرضهم لنفس المخاطر - سواء كانت تفشي الأمراض أو الكوارث الطبيعية - ما لم يتم اتخاذ التدابير المناسبة.

 

علاوة على ذلك ، غالبًا ما تستند استجابات المدن المرنة ، مثل الحماية من الفيضانات ، إلى نهج أمان متعدد الطبقات - إذا فشل أحد الإجراءات ، فهناك تدابير أخرى يمكن الرجوع إليها. ومع ذلك ، قد لا تكون هذه التكرار الداخلي ، والتي تخلق مرونة في مواجهة الصدمات والاضطرابات ، مرغوبة من منظور الاستدامة ، والتي تقدر الكفاءة والتحسين.

 

يجب على المخططين الحضريين أن يأخذوا صراحةً التناقضات المحتملة بين المرونة والاستدامة والشمول في الحسبان - فالتضحية بالمرء يضع مستقبل المدن في خطر.

 

كيف يمكن للمدن تعلم وتطبيق الدروس بشكل أفضل؟

 

على الرغم من الاختلافات المحلية والإقليمية التي لا حصر لها ، عندما يتعلق الأمر بإيجاد الإلهام ، غالبًا ما تلجأ المدن إلى أقرانها في عالم أوسع من المدن. التعلم من مدينة إلى مدينة حول مجموعة من المجالات المتعلقة بالمناخ والعدالة والاستدامة أقلعت في العقود الأخيرة ، قدم للمدن نظامًا بيئيًا غنيًا للتعلم من بعضها البعض.

 

أحدث مثال على سرعة وخفة حركة شبكات المدن فريق عمل التعافي من COVID-19 لرؤساء البلديات العالميين، الذي أنشأته C40 Cities بعد أسابيع فقط من انتشار جائحة الفيروس التاجي ، وأتاح للمدن الوصول إلى نهج المدن الأخرى والدروس في الاستجابة للوباء.

 

المزيد والمزيد من المدن احتضان التجريب مع التخطيط الحضري الجديد ومفاهيم السياسات استجابة للتحديات المعقدة والمتقاطعة ، مثل تغير المناخ ، والتنمية الاقتصادية المحلية والوباء العالمي. مناهج مبتكرة مثل "مختبرات المعيشة الحضرية" و "المناطق التجريبية" أصبحت أكثر شيوعًا وتشير إلى الاعتراف بالحاجة إلى طرق جديدة لتنفيذ المشاريع والتعلم وإدماج الدروس في عالم اليوم المعقد وغير المؤكد.

 

بينما أصبح التعلم في المدينة أكثر منهجية ، هناك مجال كبير لذلك تحسين كيفية تعلم المدن. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن جعل الحصول على المعرفة وتبادلها أكثر فعالية إذا تم تكييف كل من أنظمة المراقبة ومخصصات التمويل لدعم التعلم العميق حول الموضوعات الفنية وكذلك العمليات التنظيمية.

 

لا يتفق الخبراء دائمًا على ما يشكل استجابة جيدة ، ناهيك عن الاستجابة المثالية. ومع ذلك ، هناك العديد المفاهيم الناشئة التي يتم تجريبها في المدن في جميع أنحاء العالم. وتشمل هذه الأماكن العامة الشعبية وتدخلات البنية التحتية مثل المجمعات السكنية الكبيرة والممرات الخضراء والشوارع الكاملة ، توسيع البنية التحتية لركوب الدراجات وركوب الدراجات، من بين آخرين.

 

أنشأ WRI ملف جائزة مركز WRI Ross للمدن للمساعدة في تحديد أعلى الابتكارات والارتقاء بها في مجال التحول الحضري الشامل والمستدام. يتم تحديد الفائزين المحتملين من قبل مجموعة عالمية من الخبراء ، ثم يتم تقييمهم من قبل فريق تقييم كبير من حيث تأثيرهم التحويلي على مدنهم ، ويتم التصويت عليهم أخيرًا من قبل لجنة تحكيم مستقلة من القادة في الشؤون الحضرية.

 

أظهر الفائزون السابقون بالجائزة الكبرى الرؤية وبناء التحالفات والمثابرة التي تعتبر أساسية لاستدامة التغيير وتضخيم الدروس المستفادة. تم منح الجائزة الكبرى 2020-2021 لـ الإنتاج الغذائي المستدام من أجل روزاريو مرنة، وهو برنامج زراعة حضرية بعيد المدى من بلدية روساريو ، الأرجنتين. في عام 2019 ، مُنحت الجائزة الافتتاحية للمدن سارايوهو برنامج غير هادف للربح تعديل، لنهجها شديد التأثير والقابل للتكرار لخلق رحلات أكثر أمانًا إلى المدرسة للأطفال في دار السلام والمدن الأفريقية الأخرى.

 

الآن في دورتها الثالثة ، يدرك موضوع الجائزة 2021-2022 الجديد - "الازدهار معًا في الأوقات المضطربة" - أنه في هذا الوقت الذي يشهد حالة من عدم اليقين والاضطراب غير المسبوق ، هناك حاجة إلى أفكار ونهج مقنعة لتوجيه أعمالنا نحو مستقبل حضري بديل جذاب. المبادرات والمشاريع التي توضح كيفية العيش والازدهار في الأوقات المضطربة من خلال مساعدة المدن والمجتمعات على الاستجابة لعدم اليقين والاضطراب والأزمات مدعو للتقديم.

 

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 05 يناير 2022 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

3 essential questions for cities in 2022

Covid 19

Sharing is caring

April 8th, 2022

3 essential questions for cities in 2022, cities have bounced back from the shock of contagion and rebuilt the trust of residents after pandemics have receded into history.

 

By

Urban Innovation & Finance Associate, WRI Ross Center For Sustainable Cities


 

  • Globally, COVID-19 pushed an additional 31 million people into extreme poverty and revealed deep inequalities, with the climate crisis still looming.
  • Throughout the ages, cities have bounced back from the shock of contagion and rebuilt residents’ trust
  • These unprecedented times require us to ask three critical questions related to disruption, inclusion and sustainability.
  • Compelling ideas and approaches are needed to guide our actions toward alternative urban futures.

 

Infectious disease outbreaks can have enduring influence on urban design and several have irrevocably shaped how modern cities feel and function. For example, parks, wide street design, and even the home bathroom are all important legacies of cholera outbreaks; today, they are so embedded into everyday life that they’re considered ordinary features of modern cities. Throughout the ages, cities have bounced back from the initial shock of contagion and rebuilt residents’ trust after times of uncertainty.

 

What’s at stake in a world marked by pandemic response today? As the contours of post-coronavirus pandemic cities begin to take shape across the globe, there has been a flurry of speculations on the future of cities. Such shocks may fundamentally transform how the world acts on critical policy priorities, including climate change, poverty, racism, homelessness, and pollution, among many others.

 

Global responses and their results can be progressive or regressive — “green stimulus” investments can boost climate action, but Australia’s gas-fired pandemic recovery serves as a reminder to not take the positive feedback loop for granted.

 

A local famers market in Rosario, Argentina.

 

3 essential questions for cities in 2022

 

Whatever shape post-pandemic cities take, one thing is clear — we are living in increasingly turbulent times. And this world is reaching a crossroads for decisive collective action. The climate crisis, which many scientists think has reached an irreversible tipping point, demands global leaders to take bold action to slash carbon emissions and quickly adapt to intensifying weather extremes. Globally, COVID-19 pushed an additional 31 million people into extreme poverty and revealed deep inequalities.

 

These unprecedented times require us to ask three critical questions, which will define pathways for cities in the coming year and decade ahead.

 

Are disruption and uncertainty the new normal in cities?

 

There are at least three compounding crises facing cities today — the ongoing global COVID-19 pandemic, the worsening impacts of a changing climate, and growing urban inequality. In the last year alone, extreme weather events — such as deadly fires, flooding, and heatwaves — and the coronavirus pandemic’s global impact suggest that these challenges are ‘planetary’ in nature; no corner of the world is immune to their effects. All three crises put unprecedented strain on city life and intensify existing issues, including social exclusion, racism, homelessness, and pollution.

 

Cities themselves are complex systems anchored by the physical heft of their built environments; at the same time, they are always under construction and in various states of flux. Adding to the sense of turbulence, the pandemic, the climate crisis, and spiraling inequality are taking place against a backdrop of accelerated technological innovation and societal shifts.

 

These shifts and advancements are more ambiguous in their effects. New technologies can bring great hope in times of emergency, as in the case of new vaccine technologies, and artificial intelligence that enables contact-tracing, telemedicine, and remote work and learning. Yet, they also harbor ethical dilemmas — such as privacy and discrimination risks — that add to a climate of uncertainty.

 

Can resilient cities be inclusive and sustainable?

 

Calls for resilience as a planning and management priority have come in response to both acute shocks and chronic stressors, including extreme weather associated with climate change, terrorism and cyberattacks, economic and supply chain disruptions, and public health emergencies such as the coronavirus outbreak.

 

Yet, responding to the threefold challenge of pandemic, climate change and urban inequality requires cities to be not only resilient but also sustainable and inclusive. Unfortunately, these objectives can be at odds with each another and reconciling them may create tricky urban planning dilemmas.

 

For example, dense urban centers are favored over sprawling settlements for their resource efficiency and for connecting people to economic opportunities. But when many people live in close proximity, this also concentrates their vulnerability to the same risks — be they disease outbreaks or natural disasters — unless adequate measures are taken.

 

Furthermore, cities’ resilient responses, such as flood protection, are often based on a multi-layer safety approach — if one measure fails, there are others to fall back on. However, these in-built redundancies, which create resilience to shocks and disruptions, may not be desirable from a sustainability perspective, which prizes efficiency and optimization.

 

Urban planners must explicitly take the potential contradictions between resilience, sustainability and inclusiveness into account — sacrificing one puts the future of cities at risk.

 

How can cities best learn and apply lessons?

 

Despite innumerable local and regional differences, when it comes to finding inspiration, cities often turn to their peers in a wider world of cities. City-to-city learning on a range of climate, justice, and sustainability-related issues areas has taken off in recent decades, offering cities a rich ecosystem to learn from each other.

 

A powerful example of the speed and agility of city networks is the recent Global Mayors COVID-19 Recovery Task Force, which was created by C40 Cities only weeks into the unfolding coronavirus pandemic, and offered cities access to other cities’ approaches and lessons in responding to the pandemic.

 

More and more cities are embracing experimentation with new urban planning and policy concepts in response to complex and intersecting challenges, such as climate change, local economic development and the global pandemic. Innovative approaches such as ‘urban living laboratories’ and ‘experimental districts’ have become more commonplace and signal an acknowledgment that new ways of implementing projects, learning and incorporating lessons are needed in today’s complex and uncertain world.

 

While city learning has become more systematic, there is much room to improve how cities learn. For example, knowledge capture and exchange could be made more effective if both monitoring systems and funding allocations were adapted to support deep learning about technical topics as well as organizational processes.

 

Experts don’t always agree on what constitutes a good, let alone exemplary, response. However, there are several emerging concepts that are being piloted in cities across the globe. These include popular public space and infrastructure interventions such as superblocks, green corridors, complete streets, biking and cycling infrastructure expansion, among others.

 

WRI created the WRI Ross Center Prize for Cities to help identify and elevate the highest caliber innovations in the field of inclusive and sustainable urban transformation. Potential winners are sourced by a global pool of experts, then assessed by a large evaluation team in terms of their transformative impact on their cities, and finally voted on by an independent Jury of leaders in urban affairs.

 

Previous grand prize winners have demonstrated the vision, coalition-building and perseverance that are key to sustaining change and amplifying lessons learned. The 2020-2021 grand prize was awarded to Sustainable Food Production for a Resilient Rosario, a far-reaching urban agriculture program from the municipality of Rosario, Argentina. In 2019, the inaugural Prize for Cities was awarded to SARSAI, a program of the non-profit Amend, for its highly impactful and replicable approach to creating safer journeys to school for children in Dar es Salaam and other African cities.

 

Now in its third cycle, the Prize’s new 2021-2022 theme — “Thriving Together in Turbulent Times” — recognizes that at this time of unprecedented uncertainty and turbulence, compelling ideas and approaches are needed to guide our actions towards attractive alternative urban futures. Initiatives and projects demonstrating how to live and thrive in turbulent times by helping cities and communities respond to uncertainty, disruption, and crises are invited to apply.

 

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on January 05, 2022, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions