5 استراتيجيات للتنقل عبر الحدود المتغيرة لانتقال الطاقة

تغير المناخالطاقــة

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

15 يونيو، 2022

تحذيرات المناخ ، COVID-19 ، التوترات الجيوسياسية ، وأزمة الطاقة - يتطلب التنقل في انتقال الطاقة خلال هذه الأوقات المضطربة تغييرًا في الإستراتيجية.

 

By

رئيس قسم تشكيل مستقبل الطاقة والمواد ؛ عضو اللجنة التنفيذية للمنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي


 

  • في خضم التقلبات الاقتصادية والجيوسياسية ، يدخل انتقال الطاقة مرحلة غير مؤكدة.
  • من أجل انتقال صافي إلى الصفر في الوقت المناسب ، يجب فتح التزام سياسي أقوى ، والوصول إلى رأس المال ، والعدالة المناخية.
  • تؤكد تحديات أمن الطاقة على الحاجة إلى مضاعفة انتقال الطاقة النظيفة.

 

لقد أحرز التحول العالمي في مجال الطاقة ، وهو أمر محوري لجهود التخفيف من آثار تغير المناخ ولتوفير طاقة آمنة وبأسعار معقولة للجميع ، تقدمًا تدريجيًا في السنوات الأخيرة. وفقًا لتحليل الاتجاهات من مؤشر انتقال الطاقة التابع للمنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي - وهو مؤشر مركب يتتبع تقدم تحول الطاقة عبر البلدان - ارتفع متوسط ​​الدرجة العالمية في تسعة من الأعوام العشرة الماضية ، مع أكثر من 10٪ من البلدان في جميع أنحاء العالم إجراء تحسين.

 

حافظت سرعة تحول الطاقة على بعض الوتيرة خلال جائحة COVID-19. في عام 2021 ، شكلت الكهرباء التي تعمل بالطاقة الشمسية والرياح أكثر من 10٪ من توليد الطاقة العالمية لأول مرة على الإطلاق ، وتضاعف حجم السيارات الكهربائية.

 

على الرغم من هذا التقدم ، تستمر أجراس الإنذار بشأن الاحتباس الحراري في الارتفاع ، ويواجه العالم أيضًا أزمة طاقة مع مخاوف بشأن أمن الطاقة والقدرة على تحمل التكاليف. لا يزال أكثر من 700 مليون شخص في جميع أنحاء العالم يفتقرون إلى الوصول إلى احتياجات الطاقة الأساسية ، وتوقف التقدم في الوصول الشامل منذ ظهور الوباء. أصدر تقرير التقييم الأخير الصادر عن الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ رمزًا باللون الأحمر للبشرية ، مما شكل تحديًا مستحيلًا على ما يبدو يتمثل في بلوغ ذروة انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة العالمية في السنوات الثلاث المقبلة للبقاء على مرمى البصر من أهداف اتفاقية باريس الخاصة بصافي الصفر بحلول عام 2050.

 

استراتيجيات انتقال الطاقة

 

تاريخياً ، تم تمكين الكثير من التقدم في تحول الطاقة من خلال تدخلات جانب العرض ، واستبدال مصادر الوقود الثقيل الكربوني ببدائل الطاقة المتجددة. بالنظر إلى أن الوقود الأحفوري لا يزال يوفر أكثر من 80 ٪ من طاقة العالم ، فإن تدابير جانب العرض لن تكون كافية للتحول إلى الصفر. ولإضافة إلى التحدي ، فإن "عقد التسليم" قد بشر بمرحلة من عدم اليقين المركب. أدت اختناقات سلسلة التوريد التي تفاقمت بسبب الوباء والنزاعات التجارية والرياح المعاكسة للاقتصاد الكلي وحرب روسيا على أوكرانيا إلى زعزعة أسس نظام الطاقة.

 

تواجه البلدان ضغوطًا متزامنة على جميع الركائز الثلاث لانتقال الطاقة: التنمية الاقتصادية والنمو ، والاستدامة البيئية ، وأمن الطاقة والوصول الميسور التكلفة. هناك مجاهيل كبيرة خارج حدود انتقال الطاقة ، مما يتطلب نقلة نوعية في الاستراتيجيات والإجراءات الفورية.

 

1. يجب أن تكون الأهداف المناخية الدولية قابلة للتنفيذ قانونًا من خلال السياسات المحلية

 

من الضروري وجود بيئة سياسية طموحة ومستقرة على المدى الطويل. على الرغم من الإجماع العالمي التاريخي على الأهداف المناخية التي تم تحقيقها في اتفاقية باريس ، فإن المساهمات الطوعية المحددة وطنياً التي حددتها البلدان لا تتوافق مع مستوى الطموح المطلوب للحد من الاحترار العالمي إلى أقل من 1.5 درجة مئوية بحلول عام 2050. وبخلاف الاتفاقات الدولية ، فإن السياسات المحلية القابلة للتنفيذ هي ضرورية.

 

من بين أكبر 10 مصادر لانبعاثات غازات الدفيئة على مستوى العالم ، فقط اليابان وكندا والاتحاد الأوروبي وكوريا الجنوبية لديها أهداف ملزمة قانونًا صافية صفرية. بالنظر إلى المناخ السياسي المتقلب بشكل متزايد الذي يتسم بصعود الشعبوية ، لا يمكن أن تكون جهود تغير المناخ رهينة لتغيير الأولويات السياسية. إن دمج الأهداف المناخية في قوانين قابلة للتنفيذ محليًا يمكن أن يوفر الاستقرار واليقين ، مما يتيح التقدم المطرد عبر الدورات السياسية.

 

2. يحتاج تخطيط أمن الطاقة إلى التحول إلى نموذج "فقط في حالة"

 

لقد كشف الانتعاش الاقتصادي السريع غير المتوقع من الوباء وحرب روسيا على أوكرانيا عن نقاط ضعف أمن الطاقة حتى في أفضل البلدان استعدادًا. لقد أثبتت سلسلة إمداد الطاقة حتى الآن أنها آلة جيدة التزويد بالزيت ، وقد أتاح النهج الذي يتم اتباعه في الوقت المناسب الابتكار والكفاءات المُحسّنة عبر سلسلة القيمة. ومع ذلك ، فإن قيود هذا النهج واضحة ، حيث أدت القيود الأمنية إلى عودة قوية لتوليد الطاقة التي تعمل بالفحم في العديد من البلدان.

 

مع إعادة تكوين أنظمة الطاقة من خلال انتقال الطاقة ، يحتاج تخطيط أمن الطاقة إلى التحول من مجرد وقت إلى حالة فقط ، مما يتطلب صيانة سعة احتياطية كافية وبنية تحتية للتخزين ، مع آليات السوق لتحفيز الاستثمارات في هذه الحلول. يمكن العثور على المزيد من مكاسب أمن الطاقة من خلال العمل أيضًا على جانب الطلب على الطاقة وليس العرض فقط - يمكن أن تلعب كفاءة الطاقة وتوفير الطاقة دورًا هنا أيضًا.

 

علاوة على ذلك ، فإن القاعدة البسيطة المتمثلة في "عدم وضع كل بيضك في سلة واحدة" تنطبق أيضًا على أمن الطاقة. من خلال تنويع مزيج الطاقة ونظراء استيراد الطاقة ، يمكن تحسين أمن الطاقة.

 

 

3. يعد التخلص من مخاطر استثمارات الطاقة النظيفة أمرًا ضروريًا للحفاظ على تدفق رأس المال مع زيادة أسعار الفائدة

 

لا تزال فجوة التمويل كبيرة ، والحد من مخاطر استثمارات الطاقة ، لا سيما في البلدان الناشئة ، أمر بالغ الأهمية. نما الاستثمار العالمي في تحول الطاقة بأكثر من ثلاثة أضعاف في العقد الماضي ، إلى 755 مليار دولار في عام 2021. ومع ذلك ، جاءت هذه الزيادة في الاستثمارات في أعقاب عقد من التوسع الاقتصادي وتم تمكينها جزئيًا من خلال السياسة النقدية التوسعية وأسعار الفائدة القياسية المنخفضة . نظرًا لتوقعات ارتفاع أسعار الفائدة لترويض التضخم ، وتحديات سلسلة التوريد ، وارتفاع أسعار السلع الأساسية ، فقد تتأثر القدرة التنافسية لمشاريع الطاقة المتجددة مقابل أصول الوقود الأحفوري الحالية.

 

تعد تقنيات الطاقة المتجددة كثيفة رأس المال أكثر حساسية لزيادة تكاليف التمويل من الوقود الأحفوري. في ظل زيادة أسعار الفائدة القياسية ، يمكن أن تساعد معالجة المخاطر المرتبطة بالعمليات والتنفيذ والسياسات في الحفاظ على القدرة التنافسية من حيث التكلفة لتقنيات الطاقة المتجددة. يمكن أن تساعد التدابير مثل توفير استقرار الإيرادات ، وتحسين الجدارة الائتمانية للمتعهدين ، والتحسينات التشغيلية والبنية التحتية لتقليل القيود ، وإشارات الطلب الواضحة لتمكين تمويل الميزانية العمومية من قبل الصناعات ، في الحفاظ على التدفق الضروري للاستثمارات في الطاقة النظيفة.

 

4. ينبغي أن تأخذ اعتبارات الإنصاف والعدالة مركز الصدارة في تحول الطاقة

 

يعاني المستهلكون والشركات في جميع أنحاء العالم من ارتفاع أسعار الطاقة القياسية ، ويرجع ذلك إلى حد كبير إلى انتعاش غير مسبوق في الطلب على الطاقة في عام 2021 ، والاستثمار غير الكافي في العرض ، والتقلبات الجيوسياسية. بسبب عدم المرونة النسبية للطلب على الطاقة على المدى القصير ، ساهم ارتفاع أسعار الطاقة في تحقيق أعلى مستوى لتضخم أسعار المستهلك منذ عقود. تتأثر القطاعات الضعيفة من السكان والشركات الصغيرة بشكل غير متناسب ، مما يبرز التحديات التي تواجه الإنصاف والعدالة في انتقال الطاقة. يعد الحفاظ على القدرة على تحمل تكاليف الطاقة أمرًا ضروريًا ليس فقط للنمو الاقتصادي والرفاهية الاجتماعية ، ولكن أيضًا لاستمرار دعم سياسات المناخ.

 

يمكن أن تتكرر الاختلالات المؤقتة في سوق الطاقة من خلال تحول الطاقة ، مما يستلزم حلولًا منهجية طويلة الأجل لضمان الوصول الميسور التكلفة إلى الفئات الضعيفة والشركات الصغيرة. ستعتمد آليات الدعم الفعال على القدرة على استهداف المستفيدين من التحويلات الضرورية وتصميم التدابير بطريقة لا تثبط الاستهلاك الفعال والمسؤول.

 

5. التعلم من إدارة الوباء للتغلب على الحواجز السلوكية لكفاءة الطاقة

 

يجب أن تكون التدخلات في جانب العرض متطابقة مع إجراءات جانب الطلب لزيادة سرعة انتقال الطاقة. معدل تحسين كفاءة الطاقة ، الذي يعتبر على نطاق واسع باعتباره الوقود الأول بسبب قدرته التنافسية من حيث التكلفة ووفرة ، هو أقل من المستويات المطلوبة لتحويل صافي الصفر في الوقت المناسب. وفقًا لوكالة الطاقة الدولية ، تحسنت كثافة الطاقة في العالم من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بنسبة 1.3٪ سنويًا على مدى السنوات الخمس الماضية ، أي أقل بكثير من معدل التحسين البالغ 4٪ المطلوب في هذا العقد لتحقيق صافي انبعاثات صفرية بحلول عام 2050.

 

تعد المشاركة النشطة للمستهلكين ومشاركتهم محورية للإدارة الفعالة من جانب الطلب. بينما كانت الحواجز السلوكية والمعرفية مستمرة في مبادرات كفاءة الطاقة ، أظهرت التجربة من الوباء أن تكيف السلوك الاجتماعي ممكن على المدى القصير. يمكن أن يساعد نشر المعلومات بشكل شفاف ومتسق ، واستعادة الثقة في المؤسسات ، وتصميم التدخلات التي تأخذ في الاعتبار التأثيرات التوزيعية عبر مجموعات الدخل ، على دفع مشاركة المستهلك في كفاءة الطاقة.

 

نحن بحاجة إلى انتقال متوازن للطاقة

 

في البيئة الحالية للاقتصاد الكلي والاضطرابات الجيوسياسية ، فإن نظام الطاقة ليس محصنًا ضد الصدمات. يعد التنقل في انتقال الطاقة من خلال أوجه عدم اليقين هذه أمرًا ضروريًا ، على الرغم من أن التقدم التدريجي الكبير والسريع سيأتي من ما وراء الثمار المنخفضة المعلقة. يمكن أن يؤدي تحقيق التوازن والتقدم في نفس الوقت في ضرورات النمو الاقتصادي والتنمية ، وأمن الطاقة والوصول الميسور التكلفة ، والاستدامة البيئية إلى تحسين مرونة التحول. هناك حاجة إليها الآن أكثر من أي وقت مضى.

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 26 مايو 2022 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

5 strategies to navigate the shifting frontiers of the energy transition

Climate ChangeEnergy

Sharing is caring

June 15th, 2022

Climate warnings, COVID-19, geopolitical tensions, and an energy crisis – navigating the energy transition through these turbulent times requires a change in strategy.

 

By

Head of Shaping the Future of Energy and Materials; Member of the Executive Committee, World Economic Forum


 

  • Amidst economic and geopolitical volatilities the energy transition is entering an uncertain phase.
  • For a timely net-zero transition, stronger political commitment, capital access, and climate justice must be unlocked.
  • Energy security challenges affirm the need to double down on a clean energy transition.

 

The global energy transition, pivotal to climate change mitigation efforts and for delivering secure and affordable energy for all, has made gradual progress in recent years. According to trend analysis from the World Economic Forum’s Energy Transition Index – a composite indicator tracking the progress of the energy transition across countries – the global average score has increased in nine out of the past 10 years, with more than 80% of the countries worldwide making an improvement.

 

The speed of the energy transition kept some pace through the COVID-19 pandemic. In 2021, wind and solar powered electricity accounted for more than 10% of global power generation for the first time ever, and the scale of electric vehicles doubled.

 

Despite this progress, alarm bells on global warming keep getting louder, and the world is also facing an energy crisis with concerns about energy security and affordability. More than 700 million people across the world still lack access to basic energy needs, and progress on universal access has stalled since the onset of the pandemic. The latest assessment report by the IPCC issued a code red for humanity, posing a seemingly impossible challenge of peaking global greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions in the next three years to stay within sight of Paris Agreement goals of net-zero by 2050.

 

Energy transition strategies

 

Much of the progress on the energy transition has historically been enabled by supply side interventions, substituting the carbon heavy fuel sources with renewable energy alternatives. Considering that fossil fuels still supply more than 80% of world’s energy, supply side measures will not be sufficient for net-zero transformation. To add to the challenge, the “decade of delivery” has ushered in a phase of compounded uncertainties. Supply chain bottlenecks exacerbated by the pandemic, trade disputes, macroeconomic headwinds, and Russia’s war on Ukraine have shaken the foundations of the energy system.

 

Countries are facing simultaneous pressures on all three pillars of the energy transition: economic development and growth, environmental sustainability, and energy security and affordable access. There are significant unknowns beyond the frontiers of the energy transition, requiring a paradigm shift in strategies and immediate actions.

 

1. International climate targets need to be legally enforceable through domestic policies

 

An ambitious and stable long term policy environment is essential. Despite the landmark global consensus on climate goals achieved at the Paris Agreement, the voluntary Nationally Determined Contributions outlined by countries are not consistent with the level of ambition required to limit global warming to below 1.5C by 2050. Beyond international agreements, legally enforceable domestic policies are necessary.

 

Among the top 10 global GHG emitters, only Japan, Canada, the EU, and South Korea have legally binding net-zero targets. Given the increasingly volatile political climate marked by rise of populism, climate change efforts cannot be held hostage to shifting political priorities. Enshrining climate targets into domestically enforceable laws can offer stability and certainty, enabling steady progress through political cycles.

 

2. Energy security planning needs to shift to a “just-in-case” model

 

The unexpectedly fast economic rebound from the pandemic and Russia’s war on Ukraine have exposed the vulnerabilities of energy security in even the best prepared countries. The energy supply chain has so far proven to be a well-oiled machine, and a just-in-time approach has enabled innovation and optimized efficiencies across the value chain. However, the limitations of this approach are apparent, with security constraints prompting a strong comeback for coal-fired power generation in many countries.

 

As energy systems reconfigure through the energy transition, energy security planning needs to shift from just-in-time to just-in-case, requiring maintenance of sufficient reserve capacity and storage infrastructure, with market mechanisms to incentivize investments in these solutions. Further energy security gains can be found by working also on the demand side of energy and not only supply – energy efficiency and energy savings can play a role also here.

 

Moreover, the simple rule of “not putting all your eggs in one basket” also applies to energy security. By diversifying the energy mix and energy import counterparts, energy security can be improved.

 

 

3. De-risking clean energy investments is essential to maintain capital flow as interest rates increase

 

The financing gap remains large, and de-risking energy investments, especially in emerging countries, is critical. Global investment in the energy transition grew more than threefold in the past decade, to $755 billion in 2021. However, this surge in investments came on the heels of a decade of economic expansion and were partly enabled by expansionary monetary policy and low benchmark interest rates. Given the outlook of higher interest rates to tame inflation, supply chain challenges, and rising commodity prices, the cost-competitiveness of renewable energy projects against existing fossil fuel assets might be affected.

 

Capital intensive renewable energy technologies are more sensitive to financing costs increase than fossil fuels. Under increasing benchmark interest rates, addressing risks associated with operations, execution, and policies can help maintain the cost-competitiveness of renewable energy technologies. Measures such as offering revenue stability, improving creditworthiness of off-takers, operational and infrastructure improvements to reduce curtailments, and clear demand signals to enable balance sheet financing by industries can help maintain necessary flow of investments in clean energy.

 

4. Equity and justice considerations should take the centre-stage in the energy transition

 

Consumers and businesses around the world are reeling under record high prices for energy, largely due to an unprecedented rebound in energy demand in 2021, insufficient investment in supply, and geopolitical volatilities. Due to the relative inelasticity of energy demand in the short-term, high energy prices have contributed to highest consumer price inflation level in decades. Vulnerable sections of the population and small businesses are disproportionately impacted, highlighting the challenges to equity and justice of energy transition. Maintaining affordability of energy is essential not just for economic growth and social welfare, but also to sustain support for climate policies.

 

Temporary energy market imbalances can be recurring through the energy transition, necessitating long-term systemic solutions to ensure affordable access to vulnerable groups and small businesses. Effective support mechanisms will rely on the ability to target the recipients of necessary transfers and designing measures in a manner that does not disincentivize efficient and responsible consumption.

 

5. Learning from pandemic management to overcome behavioural barriers to energy efficiency

 

Supply side interventions need to be matched with demand side measures to supercharge the energy transition. The rate of improvement of energy efficiency, widely considered as the first fuel due to its cost competitiveness and abundance, is below the levels required for timely net-zero transformation. According to the International Energy Agency, the world’s energy intensity of GDP improved by 1.3% annually over the past five years, well below the 4% improvement rate required in this decade to achieve net-zero emissions by 2050.

 

Active consumer engagement and participation are pivotal for effective demand-side management. While behavioural and cognitive barriers have been persistent in energy efficiency initiatives, the experience from the pandemic demonstrated that social behaviour adaptation is possible in the short term. Transparent and consistent information dissemination, restoring trust in institutions, and designing interventions that consider distributional impacts across income groups can help drive consumer participation in energy efficiency.

 

We need a balanced energy transition

 

In the current environment of macroeconomic and geopolitical turbulence, the energy system is not immune to shocks. Navigating the energy transition through these uncertainties is essential, though the significant and fast incremental progress will come from beyond the low hanging fruits. Balancing and simultaneously progressing on the imperatives of economic growth and development, energy security and affordable access, and environmental sustainability can improve the resilience of the transition. It is now needed more than ever.

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on May 26, 2022, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions