كيف تقود إفريقيا الطريق في التعامل مع "النفايات الإلكترونية"

إدارة المخلفات

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

27 مايو، 2022

أنتج العالم رقمًا قياسيًا بلغ 53.6 طنًا متريًا من النفايات الإلكترونية أو "النفايات الإلكترونية" في عام 2019 ، والرقم آخذ في الارتفاع. يجب أن نتطلع إلى إفريقيا بحثًا عن حلول.

 

By

مدير مكتب تنمية الاتصالات ، الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات (ITU)


 

  • تم إنتاج 53.6 طنًا متريًا من النفايات الإلكترونية - المعدات الكهربائية والإلكترونية المهملة - على مستوى العالم في عام 2019 ، ولا تزال الكمية في ارتفاع.
  • الدول الأفريقية هي طرق رائدة للحد من النفايات الإلكترونية ، من خلال السياسات واللوائح والتشريعات.
  • يجب على البلدان الأخرى أن تأخذ في الاعتبار تجربة إفريقيا عند بناء نظام لإدارة المخلفات الإلكترونية.

 

مع ازدهار تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات ، حدثت زيادة هائلة في المعدات الكهربائية والإلكترونية المهملة ، أو "النفايات الإلكترونية". سجل 53.6 مليون طن متري من النفايات الإلكترونية تم إنشاؤه حول العالم في عام 2019 ، وهذا الرقم آخذ في الازدياد. يتوقع الخبراء أن يصل التوليد السنوي للنفايات الإلكترونية إلى 74.7 مليون طن بحلول عام 2030. وستتطلب مواجهة هذا التحدي جهودًا متضافرة ومنسقة من جميع المنظمات والأفراد عبر سلسلة قيمة الإلكترونيات. سيحتاج المصنعون إلى تطوير نهج جديد ، وتحمل المسؤولية عن دورة حياة المنتج بأكملها.

 

تمهد الدول الأفريقية الطريق للتعامل مع النفايات الإلكترونية. وفقًا لـ Global E waste Monitor 2020 ، كان لدى 13 دولة في إفريقيا سياسة أو تشريعات أو لائحة بشأن النفايات الإلكترونية. يمكن أن تكون جهودهم درسًا للدول الأخرى حول العالم التي تتطلع إلى تحسين أنظمة إدارة النفايات الإلكترونية الخاصة بهم.

 

1. التحديد الواضح للفاعلين في سلسلة القيمة

 

ستتطلب الحلول طويلة الأجل لإدارة المخلفات الإلكترونية نهجًا عادلًا ومجديًا اقتصاديًا لمسؤولية المنتج الممتدة (EPR). يتطلب EPR أن يتحمل المنتجون - مثل المصنعين أو المستوردين أو الموزعين - المسؤولية عن إدارة نهاية عمر الإلكترونيات المباعة في السوق. يتضمن ذلك استعادة العناصر وإعادة تدويرها والتخلص منها في النهاية.

 

يجب أن تحتوي اللوائح التنظيمية على تعريفات واضحة وسهلة الفهم لأصحاب المصلحة المختلفين في النفايات الإلكترونية لتجنب الالتباس. قدمت العديد من البلدان الأفريقية تعريفات في لوائحها تغطي إدارة النفايات الإلكترونية و EPR. على سبيل المثال ، تركز كوت ديفوار والكاميرون وغانا ومدغشقر ونيجيريا ورواندا وجنوب إفريقيا على شخص أو أشخاص - بدلاً من الكيانات - في إدخال واستيراد وتصنيع الإلكترونيات. هذا يجعل الأمر أكثر فاعلية لتحديد من يجب أن يسجل في مخطط EPR المرتبط. على سبيل المثال ، تؤكد كوت ديفوار والكاميرون وغانا ومدغشقر ونيجيريا ورواندا وجنوب إفريقيا على أن "المنتجين" يشملون مستوردين وموزعين ومصنعين للإلكترونيات. هذا يجعل من الفعال تحديد من يجب أن يسجل في مخطط EPR المرتبط.

 

النفايات الإلكترونية

 

2. ضمان التمويل المستدام

 

النظام الأكثر استدامة هو نظام التمويل الذاتي ، وهذا هو السبب في أن دور الشركات ورجال الأعمال في إدارة المخلفات الإلكترونية ضروري. في نيجيريا ، يساعد المنتجون في تغطية تكلفة إدارة النفايات الإلكترونية - بما في ذلك جمع النفايات وفصلها ونقلها ومعالجتها وإعادة تدويرها والتخلص النهائي منها ، فضلاً عن حملات الإعلام والتوعية وبرامج التدريب.

 

يدفع هؤلاء المصنّعون والمجمعون والمستوردون والموزّعون رسومًا إلى المنظمة غير الربحية لمسؤولية منتج النفايات الإلكترونية في نيجيريا ، مما يضمن تقاسم المسؤولية والتمويل لمعالجة النفايات الإلكترونية. يضمن هذا النهج أيضًا أن يظل مخطط EPR مرنًا.

 

يمكن للتنظيم أن يساعد في حماية مخططات التمويل هذه. أدخلت غانا ضريبة بيئية للنفايات الإلكترونية على استيراد المعدات الكهربائية والإلكترونية المستعملة والهالكة. يتصدر قسم الجمارك في هيئة الإيرادات الغانية عملية إنفاذ الضريبة البيئية مما يجعل النظام أكثر مرونة ويضمن بقاء تكلفة إدارة النفايات الإلكترونية مغطاة.

 

3. التعاون مع القطاع الخاص

 

اختارت العديد من البلدان في أفريقيا مناهج السياسات التي تنشئ منظمات مسؤولية المنتج (PROs) لتنفيذ مخططات EPR. توفر منظمات PROs آلية للمنتجين لمساعدتهم على الوفاء بالتزاماتهم بموجب مخطط EPR ، مثل توفير الأموال اللازمة لتوظيف جامعي النفايات الإلكترونية المحترفين والقائمين بإعادة التدوير.

 

تبنت جنوب إفريقيا نموذج PRO عبر مختلف تيارات النفايات مثل الإضاءة والمعدات الكهربائية والإلكترونية والتعبئة والتغليف. يوضح هذا كيف يمكن تكييف مخطط EPR لتلبية احتياجات قطاعات الصناعة المختلفة. في رواندا ، استثمرت الحكومة بشكل مباشر في جمع وإعادة تدوير النفايات الإلكترونية على نطاق واسع من خلال إنشاء شراكة ناجحة بين القطاعين العام والخاص مع Enviroserve ، وهي شركة كبيرة لإعادة تدوير النفايات الإلكترونية. على الرغم من أن هذا النهج يختلف قليلاً عن منظمات البحث العامة ، إلا أنه لديه القدرة على التوسع وخدمة البلدان المجاورة لرواندا.

 

4. إنفاذ النظام

 

يعد تبسيط إنفاذ أنظمة النفايات الإلكترونية أمرًا أساسيًا أيضًا. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن تصبح المعدات المقلدة نفايات إلكترونية بشكل أسرع بسبب الأجزاء المعيبة وعدم المطابقة لمعايير فنية معينة ، من بين أشياء أخرى.

 

لمكافحة استيراد المعدات المقلدة ، تفرض هيئة تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات في زامبيا (ZICTA) الاستيراد المسؤول للمعدات التقنية من خلال الموافقة على النوع ، مما يعني التحقق من أن المنتج يفي بالحد الأدنى من المتطلبات التنظيمية والفنية والمتطلبات المتعلقة بالسلامة.

 

تعمل ZICTA مع هيئة الإيرادات في زامبيا (ZRA) لضمان أن المعدات التكنولوجية المستوردة تفي بهذه المعايير. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن جميع تجار التكنولوجيا المرخص لهم في زامبيا ملزمون بتقديم إحصاءات سنوية عن المعدات التي استوردوها في العام السابق. يساعد هذا في تتبع كمية المعدات التي يتم طرحها في السوق والتنبؤ بكمية النفايات الإلكترونية التي من المحتمل أن يتم إنشاؤها.

 

يوضح المثال الزامبي أهمية التعاون بين السلطات الحكومية من أجل الإنفاذ الفعال. يمكن تعديل العمليات الحالية في البلدان الأخرى ، مثل الموافقة على نوع المعدات التكنولوجية ، لدعم التحكم في هذه المعدات وإدارتها في نهاية عمرها الافتراضي أو استخدامها.

 

الدروس المستفادة

 

توفر تجربة إفريقيا في إدارة النفايات الإلكترونية مناهج مثيرة للاهتمام يجب على جميع البلدان مراعاتها عند بناء نظام إدارة النفايات الإلكترونية. بالطبع ، التحسين المستمر ضروري لضمان أن نظام إدارة النفايات الإلكترونية يمكن أن يتكيف حسب الحاجة. يجب على الحكومات الاستفادة من الشبكات الموجودة - على سبيل المثال ، أنظمة الجمع الحالية لمجاري النفايات الأخرى - لضمان بقاء الأنظمة ذات صلة. يجب عليهم أيضًا تشجيع مشاركة البيانات بين أصحاب المصلحة وإنشاء مجموعات عمل وطنية معنية بالنفايات الإلكترونية و EPR.

 

تساعد مثل هذه الخطوات التي اتخذتها الحكومة على وضع معايير لطرق جديدة للعمل والمعيشة وممارسة الأعمال التجارية. بشكل حاسم ، يسلطون الضوء أيضًا على رسالة رئيسية: يجب على جميع أصحاب المصلحة تقييم إعادة استخدام الإلكترونيات وإعادة التدوير.

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 25 مارس 2022 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

How Africa is leading the way in dealing with ‘e-waste’

Waste Management

Sharing is caring

May 27th, 2022

The world generated a record 53.6 metric tonnes of electronic waste or ‘e-waste’ in 2019, and the figure is rising. We should look to Africa for solutions.

 

By

Director, Telecommunication Development Bureau, International Telecommunication Union (ITU)


 

  • A record 53.6 metric tonnes of e-waste – discarded electrical and electronic equipment – was generated globally in 2019, and the quantity is still rising.
  • African nations are pioneering ways of reducing e-waste, with policies, regulations and legislation.
  • Other countries should consider Africa’s experience when building an e-waste management system.

 

With the ICT boom has come a huge increase in discarded electrical and electronic equipment, or ‘e waste’. A record 53.6 million metric tonnes (Mt) of e-waste was generated around the world in 2019, and this number is on the rise. Experts predict that the annual generation of e waste will reach 74.7 Mt by 2030. Tackling this challenge will require a concerted and coordinated effort from all the organizations and individuals across the electronics value chain. Manufacturers will need to develop a new approach, and to take responsibility for a product’s entire lifecycle.

 

African nations are showing the way on dealing with e waste. According to the Global E waste Monitor 2020, 13 countries in Africa had an e waste policy, legislation or regulation in place. Their efforts can be a lesson to other nations around the world looking to improve their e waste management systems.

 

1. Clearly defining value chain actors

 

Long-term solutions to e-waste management will require a fair and economically viable approach to extended producer responsibility (EPR). EPR requires that producers – such as manufacturers, importers or distributors – take responsibility for the end-of-life management of electronics sold on the market. This includes taking items back, recycling them and eventually disposing of them.

 

Regulation must contain clear and easy-to-understand definitions of the different e waste stakeholders to avoid confusion. Many African countries have given definitions in their regulations covering e waste management and EPR. For example, Côte d’Ivoire, Cameroon, Ghana, Madagascar, Nigeria, Rwanda and South Africa place emphasis on a person or persons – rather than on entities – introducing, importing and manufacturing electronics. This makes it more efficient to identify who must register with the associated EPR scheme. For example, Côte d’Ivoire, Cameroon, Ghana, Madagascar, Nigeria, Rwanda and South Africa emphasize that ‘producers’ include importers, distributors and manufacturers of electronics. This makes it efficient to identify who must register with the associated EPR scheme.

 

e-waste

 

2. Ensuring sustainable financing

 

The most sustainable system is one that is self-financing, which is why the role of businesses and entrepreneurs in e-waste management is essential. In Nigeria, producers help cover the cost of e-waste management – including waste collection, separation and transfer, treatment and recycling and final disposal, as well as public information and awareness campaigns and training programmes.

 

These manufacturers, assemblers, importers and distributors pay a fee to the not-for-profit E-waste Producer Responsibility Organisation Nigeria, ensuring shared responsibility and funding for e-waste processing. This approach also ensures the EPR scheme remains resilient.

 

Regulation can help protect these financing schemes. Ghana introduced an e-waste eco-levy on the import of used and end-of-life electrical and electronic equipment. The Customs Division of the Ghana Revenue Authority spearheads enforcement of the eco-levy which makes the system more resilient and ensures the cost of e-waste management remains covered.

 

3. Collaborating with the private sector

 

Several countries in Africa have chosen policy approaches that establish Producer Responsibility Organizations (PROs) to implement EPR schemes. PROs provide a mechanism for producers to help them fulfil their obligations under the EPR scheme, such as providing the necessary funds to employ professional e waste collectors and recyclers.

 

South Africa has adopted a PRO model across various waste streams such as lighting, electric and electronic equipment and packaging. This demonstrates how an EPR scheme can be adapted to meet the needs of different industry sectors. In Rwanda, the government has invested directly into large-scale e waste collection and recycling by establishing a successful public-private partnership with Enviroserve, a large e-waste recycling company. Although this approach differs slightly to PROs, it has the potential to scale up and serve countries neighbouring Rwanda.

 

4. Enforcing the system

 

Streamlining enforcement for e-waste systems is also key. For example, counterfeit equipment can become e waste much quicker due to faulty parts and non-conformity towards certain technical standards, among other things.

 

To combat the importation of counterfeit equipment, the Zambia Information and Communications Technologies Authority (ZICTA) enforces the responsible importation of technology equipment through type approval, which means checking that a product meets a minimum set of regulatory, technical and safety requirements.

 

The ZICTA works with the Zambia Revenue Authority (ZRA) to ensure that imported technology equipment meets these standards. In addition, all licensed technology dealers in Zambia are mandated to submit annual statistics on the equipment they imported in the previous year. This helps track the amount of equipment being put on the market and forecasting the amount of e-waste likely to be generated.

 

The Zambian example shows the importance of collaboration among government authorities for effective enforcement. Existing processes in other countries, such as type approval for technology equipment, could be adjusted to support the control and management of this equipment towards the end of its life or use.

 

Lessons learned

 

Africa’s experience managing e waste provides interesting approaches for all countries to consider when building an e waste management system. Of course, continuous improvement is necessary to ensure that the e waste management system can adapt as needed. Governments should make use of existing networks – for example, existing collection systems for other waste streams – to ensure the systems remain relevant. They must also encourage data sharing among stakeholders and establish national working groups on e waste and EPR.

 

Such steps made by government help set standards for new ways of working, living and doing business. Critically, they also highlight a key message: that all stakeholders should value electronics reuse and recycling.

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on March 25, 2022, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions