الشاحنة المستقلة: هل يمكن أن تكون الحل لأزمة سلسلة التوريد العالمية؟

E-التنقلسلسلة التوريدتقنية

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

11 فبراير، 2022

مع نقص السائقين على مستوى العالم ، قد تكون الشاحنة المستقلة مفتاحًا لأزمة سلسلة التوريد العالمية. ولكن هل ستتسبب الأتمتة في تجنب المزيد من السائقين لهذه الصناعة؟

 

By

كاتب أول ، المحتوى التكويني


 

  • يمكن للشاحنات المستقلة أن تساعد في حل تحديات سلسلة التوريد العالمية في مواجهة نقص السائقين.
  • مع تقاعد السائقين الأكبر سنًا ، قد ينجذب السائقون الأصغر سنًا إلى الاستخدام المتزايد للتكنولوجيا ، كما يقول الاتحاد الدولي للنقل البري.
  • تتوقع الشركات الأوروبية أن تشهد عجزًا بنسبة 17٪ في السائقين في عام 2021.
  • يوجد في الولايات المتحدة حاليًا ما يقدر بـ 80,000 موقع مفتوح للسائقين.

 

تزداد شعبية فكرة الشاحنات ذاتية القيادة حيث تبحث شركات النقل عن طرق جديدة لذلك حل التحديات الأخيرة والاضطرابات في سلاسل التوريد العالمية.

 

من الناحية النظرية ، يمكن للشاحنات المستقلة أن تعمل على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع لفك التراكم بسرعة وأمان في الموانئ لتشغيل سلاسل التوريد بكفاءة مرة أخرى. يمكن لامتلاك شاحنات بدون سائق أيضًا خفض تكاليف التسليم وانبعاثات الكربون. لكن هل ستؤدي الأتمتة فقط إلى تسريع النقص في السائقين التجاريين من خلال التسبب في المزيد من تجنب الصناعة؟

 

نقص السائقين

 

A مسح من قبل الاتحاد الدولي للنقل البري (IRU) من 800 شركة للنقل البري ، عبر 20 دولة وجدت أن أوراسيا هي الأكثر تضررا من نقص السائقين. وفقًا للبيانات ، لم يتم شغل 20٪ من وظائف السائقين في أوراسيا في عام 2020. واكتشف الاستطلاع أن الصين كانت الدولة الأقل تضررًا العام الماضي ، حيث تم فتح 4٪ فقط من وظائف السائقين.

 

كجزء من الاستطلاع ، أخبرت الشركات الأوروبية IRU أنها تتوقع أن تشهد عجزًا بنسبة 17٪ في السائقين في عام 2021. وفي أماكن أخرى ، توقعت الشركات أن يكون هذا الرقم أعلى من ذلك ، حيث يصل إلى 18٪ في المكسيك ، و 20٪ في تركيا ، و 24٪ في روسيا ، وحوالي الثلث في أوزبكستان.

 

قال مارتن روجاس ، كبير المستشارين للأمريكتين في IRU ، للمنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي: "إن النقص الحالي في السائقين في الولايات المتحدة يبلغ حوالي 80,000 ألف وظيفة شاغرة ، وهو أعلى مستوى له على الإطلاق. واستنادًا إلى الاتجاهات الديموغرافية والنمو المتوقع في الطلب على الشحن ، يمكن أن يتضاعف هذا إلى 160,000 بحلول عام 2030. "

 

لا تزال هناك حاجة للسائقين على الرغم من الشاحنات المستقلة

 

يقول روجاس: "هناك الكثير من النقاش حول الشاحنات المستقلة التي تحل محل السائقين التجاريين ، ومن المرجح أن يحدث هذا أولاً في عمليات البيئة الخاضعة للرقابة ، مثل ساحات الحاويات ، مما قد يؤدي إلى تحرير بعض السائقين هناك للعمل على الطرق المفتوحة."

 

يتوقع روجاس أنه في المستقبل المنظور ، من المرجح أن تتطلب الشاحنات التي تعمل على الطرق السريعة بالولايات المتحدة وجود إنسان داخل الكابينة لأداء مهام معينة تتعلق بجمع البضائع ونقلها وتسليمها - على غرار الطريقة التي يعمل بها طياري الخطوط الجوية والطائرات. الآن."

 

قد تجذب الأتمتة سائقين جدد

 

وفقًا لـ Rojas ، يمكن أن يكون لتقنيات المركبات التي تزيد من الأتمتة تأثير إيجابي في جذب السائقين التجاريين المحتملين.

 

"من المرجح أيضًا أن تجذب الشاحنات التي تتمتع بمستوى أكبر من الاستقلالية عددًا أكبر من السكان لقيادة الشاحنات ، مثل السائقين الأصغر سنًا والإناث. قد تضيف التطورات التكنولوجية والأتمتة إلى عامل "البرودة" وتساعد في جذب الشباب كسائقين ".

 

وأشار إلى أن النساء لا يشكلن سوى 7٪ من القوة العاملة للسائقين في الولايات المتحدة حاليًا: "تحتاج الصناعة إلى جذب المزيد من النساء ، وكذلك الأزواج المتقاعدين ، ربما كسائقي فريق ، الذين يحتاجون إلى زيادة أموال التقاعد الخاصة بهم.

 

"العثور على المزيد من السائقين هو حقًا مسألة" نمط حياة "، مع وجود العديد من العوامل التي تتطلب مجموعة واسعة من الحلول. استثمرت شركات النقل بالشاحنات في معدات أحدث وأكثر حداثة لجذب السائقين المحترفين والاحتفاظ بهم ، مثل الترقيات إلى المقصورة الداخلية ، وناقل الحركة الآلي ، وتحسين المقاعد وأحدث تقنيات السلامة. "

 

الرقم: سرعان ما أصبح الافتقار إلى السائقين المدربين مشكلة عالمية تؤثر على سلاسل التوريد في كل مكان.

سرعان ما أصبح الافتقار إلى السائقين المدربين مشكلة عالمية تؤثر على سلاسل التوريد في كل مكان

 

ما الذي يسبب نقص السائقين التجاريين؟

 

شدد روجاس على أن النقص في السائقين له أسباب عديدة وأن "أتمتة المركبات ليست سوى قطعة واحدة من اللغز" إذا كانت الصناعة تريد إيجاد حل طويل الأجل لهذا التحدي.

 

وأشار إلى أن أحد الأسباب الرئيسية لنقص السائقين هو ارتفاع متوسط ​​عمر السائقين: "لا يتم استبدال السائقين المتقاعدين من الصناعة بشباب يدخلون هذه الصناعة. وقد أدى الوباء إلى تسريع هذا الاتجاه ، حيث من المرجح أن يتقاعد السائقون الأكبر سناً مبكرًا وتدريب واختبار السائقين الجدد المتأثرين بعمليات الإغلاق ".

 

سلط روجاس الضوء أيضًا على المتطلبات التنظيمية الأكثر صرامة في الولايات المتحدة التي تسبب الافتقار إلى أماكن وقوف السيارات والراحة الآمنة والآمنة.

 

يتعين على السائقين التجاريين إيقاف العمليات مؤقتًا للامتثال لقواعد القيادة ووقت الراحة. لكن إيجاد مكان للتوقف والراحة أمر صعب ضمن المتطلبات التنظيمية الصارمة ".

 

"أضف الحالة المتدهورة للبنية التحتية للطرق السريعة في الولايات المتحدة ، والازدحام المتزايد ، والصورة السيئة ، والمعاملة السيئة للسائقين أثناء الخروج على الطريق لإجراء عمليات التسليم ، وكل ذلك يتراكم في بيئة تؤدي إلى تفاقم مشكلة نقص السائقين."

 

في أكتوبر ، عقد المنتدى شراكة مع شركة McKinsey & Company لتأليف تقرير يبحث في العوائق الرئيسية التي تحول دون اعتماد الشاحنات عديمة الانبعاثات بشكل أسرع. ودعا التقرير `` Road Freight Zero: مسارات لاعتماد أسرع لشاحنات عديمة الانبعاثات ''، يحدد ثلاثة حلول يمكن أن تعمل كمسرعات لاعتماد أسرع: أطر عمل جديدة للسياسة ، وتمويل مبتكر ونماذج خدمة ، والتنفيذ المنسق للشاحنات والبنية التحتية.

 

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 23 نوفمبر 2021 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

Autonomous truck: could be the answer to the global supply chain crisis?

E-MobilitySupply ChainTechnology

Sharing is caring

February 11th, 2022

With a lack of drivers globally, autonomous truck may be key to the global supply chain crisis. But will automation cause even more drivers to avoid the industry?

 

By

Senior Writer, Formative Content


 

  • Autonomous trucks could help solve global supply chain challenges in the face of driver shortages.
  • With older drivers retiring, younger drivers may be attracted to the increased use of technology, says the International Road Transport Union.
  • European companies are expecting to see a 17% shortfall in drivers in 2021.
  • The US currently has an estimated 80,000 open positions for drivers.

 

The idea of driverless trucks is growing in popularity as haulage firms look for new ways to solve the recent challenges and disruptions to global supply chains.

 

In theory, autonomous trucks could operate 24/7 to unclog the backlog quickly and safely at ports to get supply chains running efficiently again. Having driverless trucks could also cut delivery costs and carbon emissions. But will automation only accelerate the shortage of commercial drivers by causing more to avoid the industry?

 

Driver shortages

 

A survey by the International Road Transport Union (IRU) of 800 road transport companies, across 20 countries found that Eurasia is most affected by driver shortages. According to the data, 20% of driver positions were not filled in Eurasia in 2020. The survey discovered that China was the least affected country last year, with only 4% of driver roles open.

 

As part of the survey, European companies told the IRU that they expected to see a 17% shortfall in drivers in 2021. Elsewhere, companies forecasted that this figure would be even higher, reaching 18% in Mexico, 20% in Turkey, 24% in Russia, and almost one-third in Uzbekistan.

 

Martin Rojas, Senior Adviser for the Americas at the IRU, told the World Economic Forum: “The current driver shortage in the US is about 80,000 open positions, the highest level it has ever been. Based on demographic trends and forecast growth in the demand for freight, this could double to 160,000 by 2030.”

 

Drivers still needed despite autonomous trucks

 

“There is a lot of discussion of autonomous trucks replacing commercial drivers,” says Rojas, “and this is likely to occur first in controlled environment operations, such as container yards, potentially freeing up some drivers there to work on the open roads.”

 

Rojas predicts that for the foreseeable future, however, trucks operating on US highways are “likely to require a human being inside the cab to perform certain tasks involved in picking up, transporting and delivering the cargo – similar to the way airline pilots and airplanes operate now.”

 

Automation may attract new drivers

 

According to Rojas, vehicle technologies that increase automation could have a positive impact in attracting potential commercial drivers.

 

“Trucks with a greater level of autonomy are also likely to attract a broader demographic population to driving trucks, such as younger and female drivers. Technology and automation advances may even add to the ‘coolness’ factor and help attract young people as drivers.”

 

He noted that women only make up 7% of the US driver workforce currently: “The industry needs to attract more women, as well as retired couples, possibly as team drivers, who need to augment their retirement funds.

 

“Finding more drivers is really a ‘lifestyle’ issue, with many factors requiring a broad set of solutions. Trucking companies have invested in newer, more modern equipment to attract and retain professional drivers, such as upgrades to cabin interiors, automated transmissions, improved seating and the latest safety technologies.”

 

Figure: A lack of trained drivers has fast become a global issue, affecting supply chains everywhere.

A lack of trained drivers has fast become a global issue, affecting supply chains everywhere

 

What’s causing the shortage of commercial drivers?

 

Rojas stressed that the shortage of drivers has many causes and that “vehicle automation is only one piece of the puzzle” if the industry is to find a long-term solution to the challenge.

 

He noted that one of the main causes of driver shortages is the high average age of driver populations: “Drivers retiring from the industry are not being replaced by young people entering the industry. The pandemic has accelerated this trend, with older drivers more likely to retire early and training and testing slots for new drivers impacted by lockdowns.”

 

Rojas also highlighted tighter regulatory requirements in the US that cause a lack of safe and secure parking and rest areas.

 

“Commercial drivers are required to pause operations to comply with driving and rest time rules. But finding a place to stop and rest is tough within the tight regulatory requirements,” he explained.

 

“Add the deteriorating state of US highway infrastructure, increased congestion, poor image and poor treatment of drivers while out on the road making deliveries, all compound into an environment that exacerbates the driver shortage problem.”

 

In October, the Forum partnered with McKinsey & Company to author a report that investigates the key barriers to faster zero-emission truck adoption. The report, called ‘Road Freight Zero: Pathways to faster adoption of zero-emission trucks’, identifies three solutions that can act as accelerators for faster adoption: new policy frameworks, innovative financing and service models, and coordinated roll-out of trucks and infrastructure.

 

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on November 23, 2021, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions