استعراض للنهوض الاقتصادي لبنغلاديش في جنوب آسيا من خلال إنقاذ سري لانكا

آسيابنغلاديشسيريلانكا

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

أغسطس 28th، 2021

لفت الظهور الاقتصادي لبنجلاديش انتباه العالم عندما انضمت إلى كوريا الجنوبية والصين من خلال الموافقة على مقايضة عملات بقيمة 250 مليون دولار لإنقاذ سريلانكا.

 

بقلم هاربريت كور


 

وسط أيام المعاناة الاقتصادية العالمية التي يسببها الوباء ، كشفت الأخبار أن دخل الفرد في بنغلاديش قد ارتفع الآن من 2,064 دولارًا إلى 2,227 دولارًا (للسنة المالية 2020-21). ما دفع العالم ، وخاصة الهند ، إلى الوقوف والانتباه هو أن بنغلادش تجاوزت دخل الفرد في الهند بمقدار 280 دولارًا. كان هذا بمثابة صدمة للكثيرين ممن تصوروا دكا على أنها مكتظة بالسكان ، وتعاني من سوء التغذية مع اقتصاد هش وضعيف للغاية.

 

في عام 2007 ، كان نصيب الفرد من الدخل في بنغلاديش نصف مثيله في الهند. لقد وصفها وزير الخارجية الأمريكي الأسبق هنري كيسنجر بأنها "سلة لا نهاية لها" ، تتطابق مع الهند في العديد من المؤشرات المالية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية. يتم تعزيز الأمة المنفصلة من خلال حكومة مدنية مستقرة والمساعدات الخارجية أقل من 2 ٪ من ناتجها المحلي الإجمالي.

 

في عام 1971 ، عندما تم إعلان استقلال بنغلاديش عن باكستان ، كان آسرها أغنى بنسبة 70٪ من بنغلاديش. بعد 50 عامًا ، أصبحت بنغلاديش اليوم أغنى بنسبة 45٪ من باكستان. أشار أحد الاقتصاديين الباكستانيين بشكل كئيب إلى أنه "من الممكن أن نطلب المساعدة من بنغلاديش في عام 2030".

 

الشكل 1: نصيب الفرد من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في بنغلاديش بالأسعار الجارية من 1986 إلى 2026

المصدر رجل دولة

 

وفقًا لتحليل شركة الأبحاث Wealth-X ومقرها نيويورك ، تصدرت بنغلاديش قائمة البلدان التي شهدت أسرع نمو في عدد الأشخاص فاحشي الثراء بين عامي 2012 و 2017. وفقًا لتقرير World Ultra Wealth لعام 2018 ، فإن عدد زاد الأفراد أصحاب الثروات الفائقة (UHNW) في بنغلاديش بنسبة 17.3٪ خلال هذا الوقت. (الشكل 2).

 

الشكل 2: الدول العشر الأسرع نموًا في مجال التغطية الصحية الشاملة (10-2012)

المصدر ديلي ستار

 

ساعدت صادرات بنغلاديش والتحويلات الخارجية والقطاع الخاص على نموها الاقتصادي. السبب وراء التقدم الاقتصادي في بنغلاديش هو قطاع الملابس في البلاد ، والذي يمثل 80 ٪ من صادراتها.

 

وفقًا لبرابير دي ، الأستاذ في نظام البحوث والمعلومات للبلدان النامية (RIS) ، فإنه يواصل جني الفوائد من برنامج مخطط الأفضليات المعمم التابع للاتحاد الأوروبي (GSP) بالإضافة إلى الأفضليات التجارية الأخرى.

 

تمكنت دكا من تحقيق أرباح كبيرة من الصادرات الاستراتيجية نتيجة الدعم المستمر لخطة الاتحاد الأوروبي لنظام الأفضليات المعمم. تتلقى بنغلاديش أيضًا كمية كبيرة من التحويلات. تؤمن بمعاملة جيرانها باحترام والتواصل مع أولئك الذين يحتاجون إلى المساعدة.

 

ما نلاحظه هو أن السياسات الخارجية لدول جنوب آسيا قد تغيرت بشكل كبير بمرور الوقت. في وقت الأزمة ، أظهرت بنغلاديش ظهورها الاقتصادي كقوة إقليمية عندما وسعت دعمها لسريلانكا من خلال تسوية تسهيلات مقايضة العملات بقيمة 200 مليون دولار. أوضحت هذه الخطوة من قبل بنغلاديش أن الهند ليست الدولة الوحيدة في جنوب آسيا التي لديها جيوب عميقة.

 

على عكس جيرانها ، حافظت بنغلاديش على مسار نموها خلال الوباء

 

تسبب جائحة Covid-19 في حدوث اضطرابات متزامنة في العرض والطلب في اقتصاد عالمي مترابط. في الوقت الذي تصارع فيه الحكومات إجراءات الإغلاق الجديدة لمكافحة انتشار الفيروس ، عانت العديد من الاقتصادات والشركات في جميع أنحاء العالم من خسائر فادحة.

 

ومع ذلك ، تمكنت بنغلاديش من التعافي بسرعة من نكسة كوفيد الاقتصادية. على الرغم من عدم اليقين الناجم عن COVID-19 ، من المتوقع أن ينمو اقتصاد بنغلاديش. لم تحافظ على استمرار الاقتصاد فحسب ، بل شهدت نموًا بنسبة 5٪ (الشكل 3) في العام الثاني للوباء (2021).

 

الشكل 3: معدل النمو الاقتصادي المتوقع لبنغلاديش حتى عام 2026

المصدر رجل دولة

 

وفقًا لصندوق النقد الدولي (IMF) ، سينمو اقتصاد بنغلاديش بمعدل 7.5٪ في عام 2022. وبناءً على ذلك ، من المتوقع أن يرتفع إجمالي الناتج المحلي لبنجلاديش من 329 مليار دولار أمريكي في عام 2020 إلى 352 مليار دولار أمريكي في عام 2021. كان عند 1,998،2020 دولارًا أمريكيًا في عام 2,122 ، ويبلغ حاليًا 2021،2,330 دولارًا أمريكيًا في عام 2022 وسيرتفع إلى XNUMX،XNUMX دولارًا أمريكيًا في عام XNUMX.

 

بنغلاديش: وجه جديد للاقتصادات الناشئة

 

من منظور جنوب آسيا ، يعتبر ظهور بنغلاديش تطوراً مرحب به لأسباب مختلفة. تساعد بنغلاديش دول جنوب آسيا في الابتعاد عن اعتمادها على الهند. مع نمو اقتصاد بنغلاديش ، تدرك سريلانكا أن الهند ليست جارتها الثرية الوحيدة.

 

أنقذت بنغلاديش سريلانكا التي أظهرت ظهورها الاقتصادي في جنوب آسيا حيث كانت مشاكل الديون الخارجية لسريلانكا تدفع البلاد نحو مرحلة حرجة في عام 2021.

 

منذ تفجيرات عيد الفصح في عام 2019 ، كان الاقتصاد السريلانكي يعاني من مشاكل عميقة وعانت قطاعات الصرف الأجنبي الرئيسية في سريلانكا مثل السياحة والشاي وصادرات الملابس من انتكاسات كبيرة بسبب جائحة فيروس كورونا.

 

كانت الدولة تكافح من أجل الحفاظ على الاحتياطيات لسداد القرض الخارجي. بلغت الاحتياطيات الأجنبية لسريلانكا 4.5 مليار دولار في أبريل 2021 ، وهو نفس المبلغ الذي تدين به البلاد في سداد القروض الخارجية هذا العام.

 

وسعت بنغلاديش دعمها من خلال تسوية تسهيلات مقايضة العملات بقيمة 200 مليون دولار والتي ستساعد كولومبو على تجاوز أزمة الصرف الأجنبي.

 

ما هو مبادلة العملات وكيف يساعد سري لانكا؟

 

تتم مقايضة العملة عندما يتم تبادل فائدة إحدى العملات وأحيانًا رأس المال مقابل عملة أخرى. مقايضة العملات في بنجلاديش بقيمة 200 مليون دولار هي قرض بالدولار يتم سداده بفائدة بالروبية السريلانكية.

 

كثيرًا ما يتم استخدام مقايضة العملات من قبل الكيانات التي تمارس نشاطًا تجاريًا في الخارج للحصول على معدلات قروض أفضل بالعملة المحلية مما لو اقترضت أموالًا من بنك محلي. في هذه الحالة ، يعتبر هذا بمثابة فترة راحة لسريلانكا لأنه أرخص من الاقتراض من السوق.

 

تساعد مقايضة العملات في تعزيز اقتصاد أي بلد. يساعد هذا أيضًا كولومبو على التغلب على أزمة الديون الخارجية الهائلة حيث قامت بنغلاديش بتصفية تسهيلات مبادلة العملات. تم الانتهاء من الاتفاقية في مارس 2021 ، عندما زار رئيس وزراء سريلانكا ، ماهيندا راجاباكسا ، بنغلاديش.

 

ومع ذلك ، فقد أظهرت السنوات الخمسون الماضية مدى عدم حكمة المراهنة ضد بنغلاديش. اليوم ، مع وجود أكثر من 50 مليون مواطن ، قامت بنغلاديش بتسريع تعافيها من الانكماش الاقتصادي من خلال السياسات الصحيحة والعمل في الوقت المناسب. في عام 150 ، توقع تقرير برايس ووترهاوس كوبرز (PricewaterhouseCoopers) أن تصبح بنغلاديش أكبر قوة اقتصادية واقتصادية في جنوب آسيا بحلول عام 2017 مما يدل على ظهور الاقتصاد البنغلاديشي.

 

إلى جانب التقدم الذي حققته ، تواجه بنغلاديش العديد من التحديات.

 

تواجه بنغلاديش العديد من التحديات الخطيرة في السنوات القادمة. على عكس القضايا المحيطة بإخراج الاقتصاد من تباطؤ الوباء وإدارة نهاية Covid-19 ، فإن التحديات لها آثار حرجة على المدى الطويل.

 

النمو الاقتصادي وعدم المساواة في الدخل

يبدو أن معظم المعلقين استنتجوا أن هذين الهدفين ليسا متعارضين أو لا يتعارضان مع بعضهما البعض. أي ، إذا كان المرء يهدف إلى تحقيق أقصى قدر من النمو الاقتصادي ، فلا يزال بإمكان المرء تحقيق مستوى مقبول من عدم المساواة في الدخل ؛ بدلاً من ذلك ، إذا تم اتخاذ خيارات السياسة للحد من عدم المساواة في الدخل ، فإن معدل النمو لا يتباطأ.

 

نظام التعليم الحالي

في الوقت الحاضر ، الحضور إلى المدرسة مرتفع ، لكن معظم الناس يعتبرون أن جودة التعليم سيئة للغاية. معدلات معرفة القراءة والكتابة الحقيقية أقل بكثير من تلك المزعومة ؛ التعليم الابتدائي والإعدادي غير فعال وغير فعال.

 

القضايا المتعلقة بالتجارة

التجارة هي أداة التنمية الرئيسية التي أدت إلى العولمة. ومع ذلك ، ستواجه بنغلاديش بعض التحديات في هذا المجال. في المستقبل ، لن تكون قادرة على التصدير معفاة من الرسوم الجمركية والحصص ، وستواجه بدلاً من ذلك رسومًا ومزايا مخفضة من التصدير إلى دول الاتحاد الأوروبي بسبب الإصلاحات في قواعد التجارة من خلال حقوق الملكية الفكرية المتعلقة بالتجارة (تريبس) ).

 

الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل توسعك العالمي أسهل واقتصاديًا!

 

العلامات التجارية العالمية | المشاركة في العطاءات العالمية | التحقق من الأعمال التجارية العالمية | خدمات مقاولات القوى العاملة العالمية | بعثة القوى العاملة العالمية | خدمات التوظيف العالمية | الاستثمار والتمويل | استشارات التمويل الدولي | الاستشارات القانونية والضريبية | دعم خدمة ما بعد البيع

Demonstration of Bangladesh Economic Emergence in South Asia by Bailing out Sri Lanka

BangladeshGlobalisationSouth AsiaSri Lanka

August 28th, 2021

Bangladesh economic emergence caught the world’s attention when it has joined South Korea and China by approving a currency swap of worth $250 million to bail out Sri Lanka.

 

By Harpreet Kaur


 

Amid the days of pandemic-induced global economic suffering, the news broke that the per capita income of Bangladesh has now increased from $2,064 to $2,227 (for the fiscal year 2020-21). What caused the world, especially India, to stand up and take notice was that Bangladesh had outpaced India’s per capita income by $280. This came as a shock to many who had the image of Dhaka as overpopulated, malnourished with a fragile and extremely poor economy.

 

In 2007, the per capita income of Bangladesh was half of that of India. Once dubbed as a “bottomless basket” by former US secretary of state Henry Kissinger, Bangladesh matches India on many fiscal, economic and social indicators. The breakout nation is strengthened by a stable civilian government and foreign aid is less than 2% of its GDP.

 

In 1971, when Bangladesh was declared independent from Pakistan, its captor was 70% richer than Bangladesh. 50 years later, today Bangladesh is 45% richer than Pakistan. One Pakistani economist glumly pointed out that “it is in the realm of possibility that we could be seeking aid from Bangladesh in 2030.”

 

Figure 1: Bangladesh GDP per capita in current prices from 1986 to 2026

Source: Statista

 

According to the analysis from New York-based research firm Wealth-X, Bangladesh topped the list of countries with the fastest growth in the number of ultra-wealthy persons between 2012 and 2017. According to the World Ultra Wealth Report 2018, the number of Ultra-High Net Worth (UHNW) individuals in Bangladesh has increased by 17.3% over this time. (Figure 2).

 

Figure 2: Top 10 fastest-growing UHN countries (2012-2017)

Source: The Daily Star

 

Bangladesh’s exports, foreign remittances, and the private sector have assisted its economic growth. The reason behind the economic progress of Bangladesh is the country’s garment sector, which accounts for 80% of its exports.

 

According to Prabir De, professor at the Research and Information System for Developing Countries (RIS), it continues to gain benefits from the European Union’s Generalised Scheme of Preferences (GSP) program as well as other trade preferences.

 

Dhaka has been able to generate significant earnings from strategic exports as a result of the EU’s GSP scheme’s ongoing support. Bangladesh also receives a significant quantity of remittances. It believes in treating its neighbors with respect and reaching out to those who require assistance.

 

What we observe is that the South Asian countries’ foreign policies have changed significantly over time. At the time of the crisis, Bangladesh demonstrated economic emergence as a regional power when it extended its support to Sri Lanka by clearing a currency swap facility of $200 Million. This move by Bangladesh made it clear that India is not the only south Asian country with deep pockets.

 

Contrary to its neighbors, Bangladesh has maintained its growth trajectory during the pandemic

 

The Covid-19 pandemic has caused simultaneous supply and demand disruptions in an interconnected global economy. As governments wrestled with the new lockdown measures to combat the spread of the virus, several economies and businesses around the world suffered huge losses.

 

Bangladesh however, was able to quickly bounce back from Covid’s economic setback. Despite the uncertainty caused by COVID-19, the economy of Bangladesh is projected to grow. It not only kept its economy running but it saw a 5% growth (Figure 3) in the second year of the pandemic (2021).

 

Figure 3: Projected Economic Growth rate of Bangladesh till 2026

Source: Statista

 

According to the International Monetary Fund (IMF), Bangladesh’s economy will grow at a rate of 7.5% in 2022. Accordingly, Bangladesh’s GDP is projected to rise from USD 329 billion in 2020 to USD 352 billion in 2021. Bangladesh’s per capita GDP, which was at USD 1,998 in 2020, is currently at USD 2,122 in 2021 and will rise to USD 2,330 in 2022.

 

Bangladesh: A New Face of Emerging Economies

 

From a south Asian perspective, Bangladesh’s emergence is a welcome development for various reasons. Bangladesh helps South Asian countries in moving away from their dependency on India. As Bangladesh’s economy grows, Sri Lanka realizes that India isn’t its only wealthy neighbor.

 

Bangladesh bailed out Sri Lanka that showcased its economic emergence in South Asia as Sri Lanka’s foreign debts troubles were pushing the country towards a critical phase in 2021.

 

Since the Easter bombings in 2019, Sri Lanka’s economy has been in deep trouble and Sri Lanka’s key foreign exchange sectors such as tourism, tea, and garment exports have suffered major setbacks due to the coronavirus pandemic.

 

The country has been battling to maintain the reserves for paying back the external loan. Sri Lanka’s foreign reserves stood at $ 4.5 billion in April 2021, which is the same amount that the country owes in external loan repayments this year.

 

Bangladesh extended its support by clearing a currency swap facility of $200 Million that will help Colombo tide over its foreign exchange crisis.

 

What is Currency Swap and How Does it Help Sri Lanka?

 

A currency swap is when one currency’s interest and sometimes principal is exchanged for another currency’s equivalent. Bangladesh’s $200 Million currency swap is a loan in dollars that will be repaid with interest in Sri Lankan rupees.

 

A currency swap is frequently used by entities conducting business abroad to obtain better loan rates in the local currency than if they borrowed money from a local bank. In this case, this has come as a respite for Sri Lanka as it is cheaper than borrowing from the market.

 

Currency swap helps in boosting the economy of any country. This also assists Colombo to tide over their massive foreign debt crisis as Bangladesh cleared the currency swap facility. The agreement was finalized in March 2021, when Sri Lanka’s Prime Minister, Mahinda Rajapaksa visited Bangladesh.

 

Even so, the last 50 years have demonstrated how unwise it is to bet against Bangladesh. Today with more than 150 million citizens Bangladesh accelerated its recovery from the economic downturn with the right policies and timely action. Back in 2017, a PwC (PricewaterhouseCoopers) report predicted that Bangladesh would become the largest economy and economic powerhouse in South Asia by 2030 that demonstrates Bangladesh’s economic emergence.

 

Besides the advances it has made, Bangladesh faces several challenges.

 

Bangladesh is facing several critical challenges in the coming years. In contrast to the issues surrounding bringing the economy out of the pandemic’s slowdown and managing the end of Covid-19, the challenges have critical long-term implications.

 

Economic Growth and Income Inequality

Most commentators appear to conclude that these two goals are not mutually exclusive or are not in contradiction to each other. That is, if one aims for maximum economic growth, one can still achieve an acceptable level of income inequality; alternatively, if policy choices are made to reduce income inequality, the growth rate does not slow.

 

Current Education System

At the present time, school attendance is high, but most people consider the quality of education to be very poor. The true literacy rates are much lower than those claimed; primary and lower secondary education is inefficient and ineffective.

 

Trade-Related Issues

Trade is a key development tool that has resulted in globalization. However, Bangladesh will face some challenges in this area. In the future, it will no longer be able to export duty-free and quota-free, and will instead face duties and reduced benefits from exporting to European Union countries due to reforms in the trading rules by trade-related intellectual property rights (TRIPS).

 

The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global expansion easier and economical!

 

Global Branding | Global Tender Participation | Global Business Verification | Global Manpower Contracting Services | Global Manpower Deputation | Global Recruitment Services | Investment & Financing | International Finance Advisory | Legal & Tax Advisory | After- Sales Service Support