إليك ما هو مطلوب لبناء اقتصاد دائري

اقتصاد العالم

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

مسيرة 28th، 2022

يتبادل الخبراء ما هي أنظمة الاقتصاد الدائري ونماذج الأعمال والمزيد اللازمة لضمان أن المدن والمناطق والبلدان يمكنها التخلص من النفايات وتعميم المواد وتجديد الطبيعة.

 

By

محرر رقمي ، المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي


 

  • للتخفيف من أسوأ آثار تغير المناخ ، سنحتاج إلى بناء اقتصاد دائري وإعادة التفكير في كيفية صنع واستخدام الأشياء.
  • يشارك الخبراء الأنظمة ونماذج الأعمال والمجتمعات التي ستساعد في بناء هذا الاقتصاد الدائري ، مما يضمن أن المدن والمناطق والبلدان يمكنها القضاء على النفايات ، تدوير المواد وتجديد الطبيعة.

 

ما يقرب من نصف جميع الانبعاثات العالمية تأتي من كيف نصنع ونستخدم الأشياء. لمعالجة الأهداف المناخية ، نحتاج إلى إلقاء نظرة جديدة على كيفية تعاملنا مع سلعنا وخدماتنا.

 

سوف تستفيد العمليات الجديدة من الاقتصاد الدائري. يبدو أن هذا النهج لإعادة تصميم وإنتاج واستخدام السلع التخلص من النفايات ، وتدوير المواد ، وتجديد الطبيعة.

 

سيتطلب بناء هذا الاقتصاد الدائري مجموعة من التغييرات الجديدة في كيفية إدارة الأعمال وكيفية عيش المستهلكين. في هذه المقالة الخاصة ، قمنا بجمع مجموعة من الأفكار من القادة بالإضافة إلى مقتطفات من مقالات جدول الأعمال لعرض التغييرات العديدة التي سنراها مع وجود اقتصاد دائري. توفر هذه الرؤى فكرة عن التحول المطلوب - والإمكانات المستقبلية لإعادة التفكير في الأساليب الكلاسيكية.

 

 

سنبني "محاور" للابتكار الدائري

 

100 مليار طن من الانبعاثات على مستوى العالم سنويًا تتجاوز قدرة الكوكب. الرقم يعادل 40 كجم لكل شخص يوميًا في المتوسط ​​على مستوى العالم ، بما في ذلك جميع انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون من نفايات البناء إلى نفايات البلدية. لقد خلق الاقتصاد الخطي الكثير من الازدهار على مدى القرنين الماضيين ولكنه الآن يهدد سبل عيشنا. المستهلكون والسياسيون ورجال الأعمال والناشطون على حد سواء يدركون ذلك.

 

يتطلب تطوير البدائل والحلول التعاون عبر سلسلة القيمة وعبر الصناعات. من الواضح أن الاقتصاد الدائري يحتاج إلى تجاوز مجرد إيجاد حلول لإعادة التدوير لمنتجات ما بعد الاستهلاك. يتطلب التصميم لإعادة التدوير والتصنيع بطرق تسمح بالتفكيك لاحقًا تعاون العديد من الشركاء.

 

ينشئ وادي السيركولار ، منطقة الراين-الرور الحضرية ، نموذجًا لهذا النوع من التعاون ، حيث يبني ما هو على وشك أن يصبح المركز العالمي للاقتصاد الدائري. تقع المبادرة في موقع استراتيجي في أكبر منطقة حضرية في ألمانيا. يساعد هذا الموقع في رسم مشهد كثيف لقادة السوق العالمية من جميع القطاعات وأجزاء سلسلة القيمة مع الحاجة إلى حلول دائرية. تستضيف هذه المنطقة أيضًا أكثر من 70 جامعة ومؤسسة علمية مع التركيز على موضوعات المواد والإنتاج ، مما يضمن سهولة الوصول إلى أحدث الأبحاث والابتكارات. ستكون مثل هذه المراكز ، التي تجذب القادة ذوي الخبرة والأفكار ، أمرًا بالغ الأهمية لتسخير القدرات من مختلف القطاعات.

 

- البروفيسور الدكتور أندرياس بينكوارت ، وزير الاقتصاد في ولاية شمال الراين وستفاليا

 

سنقوم بتصميم نماذج عمل دائرية جديدة

 

إن معرفة أن لدينا أرضًا واحدة فقط لا توفر إمدادات غير محدودة من المواد أعطت الاقتصاد الدائري بشكل متزايد مرحلة مناسبة.

 

لقد جعلتنا أزمة فيروس كورونا ننظر إلى سلوك المستهلك من منظور مختلف ، وربما لم تكن قيمة الاقتصاد الدائري بهذا الوضوح من قبل. توفر نماذج الأعمال الجديدة التي تنبع من هذه التطورات ، مثل المنتج كخدمة ، فرصة قوية للمجتمع العالمي للانتقال من الحديث إلى العمل.

 

الاقتصاد الدائري موجود ليبقى ، وربما يكون أكثر انتشارًا مما ندرك. كمستهلكين ، نقوم باختيارات واعية في حياتنا اليومية ، وهناك المزيد والمزيد من الشركات تقوم بصياغة نماذج عمل دائرية ومبادرات يتبناها السوق.

 

لم يكن الجمع بين طلب المستهلك وفرص الشركات ضمن الحدود التي توفرها لنا الأرض بهذا القدر من الملموس. كل هذا يساهم في مجتمع بدون هدر. وهذا هو بالضبط ما تدور حوله الدائرة. سنفعل كل ما في وسعنا لنكون جزءًا من هذا النظام البيئي ونوفر التمويل لتسريع العملية إلى اقتصاد دائري. يمكننا جميعًا صنع عالم مختلف. ستساعدنا النماذج الجديدة على القيام بذلك معًا.

 

- روبرت سواك ، الرئيس التنفيذي لبنك ABN AMRO

 

إلين ماك آرثر

 

سنقوم بتصميم دائري

 

في الاقتصاد الدائري ، يتم التخلص من النفايات ، ويتم الاحتفاظ بالمنتجات والمواد قيد الاستخدام طوال دورة حياة المنتج ويتم تجديد الأنظمة الطبيعية. يعتمد مثل هذا النهج على الأنظمة المصممة مع التركيز على إعادة الاستخدام والإصلاح والتجديد وإعادة التدوير (عندما لا يعود المنتج مفيدًا). وهذا يعني تغيير ما ننتجه وكيف ننتجه - سواء من حيث المدخلات أو عندما يتعلق الأمر بنهاية عمره الإنتاجي الأول. يمكن أن يعني اعتماد تصميم معياري ، وتصميم لمواد متجددة ، وتصميم للإصلاح والتفكيك بسهولة ، وتصميم منتجات جديدة مع مراعاة التوافق مع الإصدارات السابقة ، بحيث يمكن أن يكون للأجزاء تطبيقات متعددة واستخدامها لفترة أطول.

 

كيف يمكن أن يبدو التغيير:

  • بالنسبة للمنتجات الاستهلاكية (مثل الملابس): التحول من خلائط النسيج التي لا يمكن فصلها ونحو الألياف الطبيعية أو التوليفات التي يمكن تدويرها.
  • للإلكترونيات الاستهلاكية: تصميم منتجات تحتوي على مواد خام أقل واستخدام المزيد من المواد البلاستيكية أو الأجزاء المعاد تدويرها ، والتصميم للفك.
  • لمنتجي المعدات الرأسمالية: تصميم لإمكانية الخدمة وقابلية الترقية والنمطية والتجديد.

 

توجد بالفعل العديد من قصص النجاح ، مثل قصة مؤسسة إلين ماك آرثر إعادة تصميم الجينز، والذي يجمع العلامات التجارية الرئيسية التي تعمل من أجل عالم لا تصبح فيه الملابس نفايات أبدًا.

 

حتى الآن ، التزمت أكثر من 65 منظمة بإنتاج ما يقرب من 2.5 مليون زوج من الجينز بما يتماشى مع إرشادات إعادة تصميم الجينز بحلول مايو 2021. وتعكس هذه المشاريع الاعتراف المتزايد بأن التصميم الدائري هو فرصة مهمة لابتكار الأعمال ، وهو ما يتيح لنا خلق قيمة دون الاعتماد على استهلاك موارد محدودة.

 

إلين ماك آرثر، مؤسس مؤسسة إلين ماك آرثر. تعرف على المزيد في المقالة التي شاركت في كتابتها: 3 تحولات يمكنها توسيع نطاق الاقتصاد الدائري - مما يؤدي إلى نظام أكثر مرونة وازدهارًا

 

 

سنشارك البيانات ونعيد اختراع البنية التحتية

 

لتعظيم إعادة استخدام المواد ، طورت وزارة الأشغال العامة الهولندية مع روتردام وأمستردام ، مواطنًا bruggenbank، أو بنك الجسر الوطني. The Bridge Bank هو سجل لجميع الجسور (التي سيتم تفكيكها قريبًا) وعناصرها. يحتوي هذا السوق الخاص بالجسور على معلومات حول مواد بناء الجسر والأجزاء المتاحة لإعادة الاستخدام ويمكنه ربط شركات البناء والبلديات. حتى الآن ، تم تسجيل 13 جسراً في بريدج بنك.

 

المشاريع المعيارية وأسواق البنية التحتية قابلة للتطوير وهي ضرورية لتطوير نماذج أكثر دائرية في هولندا وخارجها. توضح هذه المشاريع الإمكانات الهائلة للبناء لخفض الانبعاثات. على سبيل المثال ، في هولندا ، يمكن للجسور والقناطر الدائرية أن تقلل انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون بنسبة تصل إلى 2٪ ، واستهلاك الفولاذ البكر بنسبة تصل إلى 63٪ ببساطة من خلال إعادة استخدام عناصر الصلب.

 

ستيفن فان وينبورغوزير البيئة ، حكومة هولندا,
اقرأ المزيد من هذا المقال الذي شارك في كتابته: كيف تمكّن ابتكارات البناء من الانتقال إلى الاقتصاد الدائري

 

الرقم: تم التخلص من حصة الهواتف الذكية قبل نفاد استخدامها

تم التخلص من حصة الهواتف الذكية قبل نفاد استخدامها

 

سنقود الاستثمار نحو الابتكار في مرحلة مبكرة

 

اثنان من أكبر العوائق التي تحول دون خلق المزيد من الابتكار هما: (أ) تتركز تقنيات المرحلة المبكرة في الأسواق المتقدمة ، وتفتقر إلى رأس المال ، ومن المخاطرة بنقلها إلى الأسواق الناشئة ؛ ب) تطبيق مثل هذه الابتكارات في الأسواق الناشئة يحمل في طياته مخاطر إضافية ، بما في ذلك القانونية / التنظيمية والخبرة الإدارية والقوى العاملة ، ومخاطر سلسلة التوريد.

 

لمعالجة هذه المشكلات ، يمكن للمؤسسات المالية أن تنشر رأس المال على نطاق واسع من خلال الاستثمار في و / أو الاكتتاب من خلال صناديق الابتكار في المراحل المبكرة ، مثل Sky Ocean Ventures Fund ، مع 25 مليون دولار تم توزيعها على التقنيات والمواد ونماذج الأعمال والشركات الجديدة ، مثل RWDC Industries (منشأة مسجلة في سنغافورة / مقرها الولايات المتحدة) ، وهي شركة منتجة للمواد الحيوية مقرها PHA والتي جمعت 133 مليون دولار من أموال السلسلة B في مايو 2020.

 

كما نبدأ في فهم الروابط بين الاستثمار في سلسلة القيمة الدائرية للمواد البلاستيكية ونتائج تغير المناخيجب أن تصبح استثمارات إعادة التدوير والاقتصاد الدائري جزءًا من الاعتبار المحدد للمستثمرين المهتمين بالمناخ. لم تكن قضية زيادة رأس المال المؤسسي أقوى من أي وقت مضى ، ونحن بحاجة إلى المؤسسات المالية للبدء في تخصيص رأس مالها لإعادة التدوير والاقتصاد الدائري إذا أردنا وقف المد.

 

روب كابلان، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Circulate Capital. تعلم المزيد من مقالته: إليك كيف يمكن للمستثمرين من القطاع الخاص تحويل البلاستيك إلى ذهب

 

الاقتصاد الدائري سيجعل الإصلاح أسهل

 

يمكن أن يكون تأثير الإصلاح هائلاً. بالنظر إلى الهواتف الذكية فقط ، يقدر مشروع إعادة التشغيل أنه على المستوى العالمي ، فإن زيادة عمر الهاتف الذكي بنسبة 33٪ (على سبيل المثال ، الاستبدال بعد 4 سنوات بدلاً من 3) يمكن أن يمنع انبعاثات الكربون السنوية التي تساوي الانبعاثات السنوية المتولدة من دولة أيرلندا بأكملها.

 

سيتطلب تحفيز الإصلاح تغييرات في عقليات المستهلك ، وأساليب التصنيع ، والحوافز من الحكومات. لقد بدأت هذه التغييرات في الظهور بالفعل. أدى حق الاتحاد الأوروبي في الإصلاح ، المنصوص عليه في خطة الاقتصاد الدائري الرائدة ، إلى إحداث تغيير في أوروبا بالفعل من خلال فرض الحد الأدنى من معايير الإصلاح والمتانة. في فرنسا ، أعلنت نفسها مؤشر القابلية للإصلاح تم تقديمه في عام 2021 ، والذي يهدف إلى إعلام المستهلكين بمدى سهولة إصلاح الأجهزة الإلكترونية المختلفة ، مما يوفر للمستهلكين هذه الشفافية عند نقطة الشراء.

 

نظرًا لأن الإصلاح والمتانة يتم تعزيزهما وتحفيزهما ، يجب استخراج موارد أقل ومعالجتها ، مما يحمي الطبيعة ويقلل من انبعاثات الكربون وتدفقات النفايات.

 

سيصبح الإصلاح أسهل وأرخص مع دخول المزيد من مقدمي الخدمة إلى السوق. يجب أن يصبح الإصلاح الذاتي أيضًا أسهل بالنسبة لمجموعة من المنتجات (بما في ذلك الهواتف الذكية) ، مع زيادة قابلية الإصلاح وتوافر قطع الغيار والتوثيق / التعليمات ، بينما ستستمر مقاهي الإصلاح في إزالة الغموض عن الإصلاح وتزويد المستهلكين بطريقة ميسورة التكلفة لتوسيع نطاق الخدمة. عمر أدواتهم وأجهزتهم.

 

مو تشاترجي، زميل مشروع، Scale360 °، المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي. تعرف على المزيد حول فوائد الإصلاح ، تحقق من حملة Pro-long Electronics هنا.

 

 

سنجعل الهدر شيئًا من الماضي

 

يزيل الاقتصاد الدائري مفهوم النفايات تمامًا ، وينقلنا إلى نظام مغلق الحلقة حيث يتم الاحتفاظ بالمواد والمنتجات قيد الاستخدام لأطول فترة ممكنة.

 

من خلال القيام بذلك ، يعالج الاقتصاد الدائري بعضًا من أعظم التحديات الاجتماعية والبيئية التي نواجهها أثناء الانطلاق التي تزيد قيمتها عن 4.5 تريليون دولار. في القيمة الاقتصادية بحلول عام 2030.

 

مثالان:

  1. رمي المنسوجات. سوف نتخلص من 148 مليون طن من الملابس كل عام بحلول عام 2030. بـ500 مليار دولار من حيث القيمة على المحك من خلال اعتماد حلول الموضة الدائرية ، والحفاظ على المواد القيمة من مكبات النفايات ، وتقليل اعتمادنا على السلع الأولية.
  2. الذهب في صناديق القمامة لدينا. نرمي اليوم أكثر من 50 مليون طن من السلع الإلكترونية والكهربائية ، بقيمة تزيد عن XNUMX مليون طن بـ62 مليار دولار، كل عام ، بما في ذلك المعادن الأرضية النادرة والذهب والنحاس.

 

من خلال الحفاظ على المواد قيد التشغيل ، تقدم نماذج أعمال الاقتصاد الدائري مسارًا واضحًا نحو تحقيق أهدافنا المناخية الجماعية ومعالجة انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري المرتبطة باستخراج السلع ومعالجتها وتصنيعها وطمرها.

 

جيسيكا لونجوالعضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي للاستراتيجية شركاء الحلقة المغلقة. لمعرفة المزيد ، اقرأ مقال جيسيكا 7 حقائق مدهشة يجب معرفتها عن الاقتصاد الدائري.

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 21 يناير 2022 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائية | مراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

Here’s what’s needed to build a circular economy

World Economy

Sharing is caring

March 28th, 2022

Experts share what circular economy systems, business models, and more are needed to ensure cities, regions, and countries can eliminate waste, circulate materials, and regenerate nature.

 

By

Digital Editor, World Economic Forum


 

  • To mitigate the worst impacts of climate change we’ll need to build a circular economy and rethink how we make and use things.
  • Experts share what systems, business models, and communities will help build that circular economy, ensuring cities, regions, and countries can eliminate waste, circulate materials, and regenerate nature.

 

Nearly half of all global emissions come from how we make and use things. To tackle climate goals, we need to take a fresh look at how we approach our goods and services.

 

New processes will benefit from the circular economy. This approach to redesigning, producing, and using goods looks to eliminate waste, circulate materials, and regenerate nature.

 

Building this circular economy will take a range of new changes to how businesses run and to how consumers live. In this special piece, we collected a range of insights from leaders as well as excerpts from Agenda articles to showcase the many changes we’ll see with a circular economy in place. These insights provide a sense for the shift that’s needed – and the potential ahead for rethinking classic approaches.

 

 

We’ll build ‘hubs’ for circular innovation

 

100 billion tons of emissions globally per year exceed the capacity of the planet. The number equates to 40kg per person and day on average globally, including all emissions from CO2 over construction waste to municipal waste. The linear economy has created much prosperity over the last two centuries but now threatens our livelihoods. Consumers, politicians, entrepreneurs, and activists alike are aware of this.

 

Developing alternatives and solutions requires collaboration across the value chain and across industries. The circular Economy clearly needs to go beyond only finding recycling solutions for post-consumer products. Design for recycling and manufacturing in ways that allow for later disassembly requires the collaboration of many partners.

 

Circular Valley, the Rhine-Ruhr metropolitan area, is creating a model for this type of collaboration, building what is poised to become the global center of the Circular Economy. The initiative is strategically located in Germany’s largest metropolitan region. This location helps draw a dense landscape of global market leaders from all sectors and value chain parts with a need for circular solutions. This region also hosts to more than 70 universities and scientific institutions with a focus on material and production topics, ensuring easy access to the latest research and innovation. Hubs like these, pulling leaders with a range of expertise and ideas, will be critical to harnessing capabilities from across sectors.

 

– Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart, Minister of Economy of North-Rhine Westphalia

 

We’ll design new, circular business models

 

Knowing that we only have one earth that does not provide a limitless supply of materials has increasingly given the circular economy a proper stage.

 

The coronavirus crisis has made us look at consumer behavior through a different lens and the value of a circular economy may never before have been so clear. New business models that stem from these developments, like product-as-a-service, provide a solid opportunity to the global community to move from talking to action.

 

The circular economy is here to stay, and perhaps more mainstream than we realize. As consumers, we make conscious choices in our daily lives, and more and more companies are crafting circular business models and initiatives that the market is embracing.

 

Combining consumer demand and corporate opportunity within the boundaries that the earth provides us has never been this concrete. It all contributes to a society without waste. And that’s exactly what circularity is all about. We will do all we can to be part of this ecosystem and provide financing to speed up the process to a circular economy. We can all make a world of difference. New models will help us do it together.

 

– Robert Swaak, CEO of ABN AMRO Bank N.V.

 

Ellen MacArthur

 

We’ll design for circularity

 

In the circular economy, waste is eliminated, products and materials are kept in use throughout their product lifecycle and natural systems are regenerated. Such an approach is dependent on systems designed with a focus on reuse, repair, refurbishment, and (when a product can no longer be of use) recycling. That means changing what we produce and how we produce it – both in terms of inputs and when it comes to the end of its first useful life. It can mean adopting modular design, designing for renewable materials, designing for easy repair and disassembly, and designing new products with backward compatibility in mind, so that parts can have multiple applications and be used longer.

 

What change could look like:

  • For consumer products (such as clothing): Shifting from textile blends that can’t be separated and towards natural fibers or blends that lend themselves to be cycled.
  • For consumer electronics: designing products with less raw materials and using more recycled plastics or parts, and designing for disassembly.
  • For capital equipment producers: Designing for serviceability, upgradability, modularity, and refurbishment.

 

Many success stories already exist, such as the Ellen MacArthur Foundation’s Jeans Redesign, which brings together key brands working towards a world where clothes never become waste.

 

To date, over 65 organizations have committed to producing nearly 2.5 million pairs of jeans in line with the Jeans Redesign Guidelines by May 2021. Such projects reflect the growing recognition that circular design is a significant business innovation opportunity, one that allows us to create value without relying on the consumption of finite resources.

 

Ellen MacArthur, Founder, Ellen MacArthur Foundation. Learn more in the article she co-wrote: 3 shifts can scale the circular economy – triggering a more resilient, prosperous system

 

 

We’ll share data and reinvent infrastructure

 

To maximize the reuse of materials, the Netherlands Department for Public Works together with Rotterdam and Amsterdam, developed a national bruggenbank, or National Bridge Bank. The Bridge Bank is a registry of all (soon-to-be) dismounted bridges and elements thereof. This marketplace for bridges contains information on a bridge’s construction materials and parts available for reuse and can connect construction companies and municipalities. So far, 13 bridges are registered on the Bridge Bank.

 

Modular projects and infrastructure marketplaces are scalable and are crucial for the development of more circular models in the Netherlands and beyond. These projects demonstrate the vast potential of construction to slash emissions. For instance, in the Netherlands, circular bridges and viaducts can reduce Co2 emissions by up to 63%, and virgin steel consumption by up to 60% simply through the reuse of steel elements.

 

Steven van WeyenburgMinister for the Environment, Government of The Netherlands,
Read more from this article he co-wrote: How construction innovations are enabling the transition to a circular economy

 

Figure: Share of smartphones discarded before they were out of use

Share of smartphones discarded before they were out of use

 

We’ll drive investment towards early-stage innovation

 

Two of the biggest obstacles to creating more innovation are a) early-stage technologies are concentrated in developed markets, lacking capital, and risky to transfer to emerging markets; and b) applying such innovations in emerging markets carries additional risks, including legal/regulatory, management expertise and workforce, and supply chain risks.

 

To address these issues, financial institutions can deploy capital at scale by investing in and/or underwriting via early-stage innovation funds, such as Sky Ocean Ventures Fund, with $25 million deployed to new technologies, materials, and business models, and companies, such as RWDC Industries (a Singapore-registered/US-located facility), a PHA-based biomaterials producer which raised $133 million in Series B funds in May 2020.

 

As we start to understand the linkages between investing in the circular plastics value chain and climate change outcomes, recycling and circular economy investments must become part of the consideration set for climate-oriented investors. The case for institutional capital to step up has never been stronger, and we need financial institutions to begin allocating their capital to recycling and circular economy if we want to stem the tide.

 

– Rob Kaplan, Chief Executive Officer, Circulate Capital. Learn more from his article: Here’s how private investors can turn plastic into gold

 

A circular economy will make repair easier

 

The impact of repair can be dramatic. Considering just smartphones alone, the Restart Project estimates that on a global level, increasing the lifespan of a smartphone by 33% (e.g. replacing after 4 years instead of 3) could prevent annual carbon emissions equal to the annual emissions generated by the entire country of Ireland.

 

Incentivising repair will require changes in consumer mindsets, manufacturing approaches, and incentives from governments. These changes have already started to emerge. The EU’s ‘Right to repair’, enshrined within its trailblazing Circular Economy Plan, is already triggering a change in Europe by enforcing minimum repair and durability standards. In France, a self-declared repairability index was introduced in 2021, which aims to inform consumers on how easily different electronic devices can be repaired, providing consumers with this transparency at the point of purchase.

 

As repair and durability are enforced and incentivized, fewer resources need to be extracted and processed, protecting nature and reducing both carbon emissions and waste streams.

 

The repair will become easier and cheaper as more providers enter the market. Self-repair should also become easier for a range of products (including smartphones), as repairability, availability of spare parts, and documentation/instructions increase, while repair cafes will continue to demystify repair and provide consumers with a more affordable way of extending the lifespans of their gadgets and appliances.

 

Mo Chatterji, Project Fellow, Scale360°, World Economic Forum. Learn more about the benefits of repair, check out the Pro-long Electronics campaign here.

 

 

We’ll make waste a thing of the past

 

A circular economy eliminates the concept of waste altogether, moving us into a more closed-loop system where materials and products are kept in use as long as possible.

 

In doing so, the circular economy tackles some of our greatest social and environmental challenges while unlocking $4.5 trillion in economic value by 2030.

 

Two examples:

  1. Tossing textiles. We will throw away 148 million tonnes of clothing each year by 2030. $500 billion in value is at stake by adopting circular fashion solutions, keeping valuable materials out of landfills, and reducing our reliance on virgin commodities.
  2. The gold in our trash bins. Today we’re throwing away over 50 million tonnes of electronic and electric goods, worth over $62 billion, every year, including rare earth minerals, gold, and copper.

 

By keeping materials in play, circular economy business models offer a clear pathway toward achieving our collective climate goals and tackling the greenhouse gas emissions tied to the extraction, processing, manufacturing, and landfilling of goods.

 

Jessica Long, Managing Director, and Chief Strategy Officer Closed Loop Partners. To learn more, read Jessica’s piece 7 surprising facts to know about the circular economy.

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on January 21, 2022, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power Solutions | Energy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions