تغير المناخ: لنصنع السلام مع كوكبنا في عام 2021

انبعاث كربونيتغير المناخبيئـــــــة وتدويــــــرازل التلوثاستدامة
[أمراض القلب الاجتماعية]

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

مسيرة 5th، 2021

حتى لو أعلنا هدنة اليوم وبدأنا في العيش بشكل أكثر استدامة ، فسوف يستغرق الأمر عقودًا ، إن لم يكن قرونًا ، حتى تتعافى الأرض.

حان الوقت لأن نصنع السلام مع كوكبنا - أنت وأنا ، والآباء والمهنيون والقادة والجيل القادم. علينا جميعًا أن نجعل عام 2021 عام السلام. إليكم السبب: نحن في حالة حرب مع كوكبنا. حتى لو أعلنا هدنة اليوم وبدأنا في العيش بشكل أكثر استدامة ، فسوف يستغرق الأمر عقودًا ، إن لم يكن قرونًا ، حتى تتعافى الأرض.

 

COVID-19 ، الآن مسؤول لما يقرب من مليوني حالة وفاة في جميع أنحاء العالم ، ظهرت بسبب التعدي على الموائل وتدميرها. وفي الوقت نفسه ، كان العقد الماضي هو الأكثر سخونة على الإطلاق ، في حين زادت وتيرة وشدة أحداث مثل الأعاصير وحرائق الغابات المستعرة بسبب تغير المناخ. تلوث الهواء الآن يقتل 9 ملايين شخص كل عام. الخرسانة والمعدن والبلاستيك والطوب والأسفلت التي ننتجها الآن تزن أكثر من أي شيء آخر الأشياء الحية على كوكبنا.

 

في محيطاتنا ، يتم استغلال ثلثي أنواع الأسماك التي يتم حصادها تجاريًا بشكل مفرط. بحلول عام 2030 ، سيكون هناك بلاستيك أكثر من الأسماك في البحر. تتآكل السواحل ، وتغرق المدن مع ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر. يتم قطع أشجار المانغروف والشعاب المرجانية التي تحميها عادةً أو تموت بسبب التغيرات المناخية مثل ارتفاع درجات حرارة البحر. بسبب غازات الدفيئة التي تتدفق في الغلاف الجوي كل يوم ، يتجه كوكبنا إلى ارتفاع يتراوح بين 3 و 5 درجات مئوية في درجات الحرارة العالمية ، الأمر الذي من شأنه أن يعيث فسادا في صحتنا وثروتنا وعالمنا.

 

تلوث البحر بالبلاستيك

 

تتوج الحياة غير المتوازنة مع البيئة بأزمة وجودية ملحة. بدلاً من ذلك ، تخيل الاستيقاظ كل صباح في عام 2021 بنية تحقيق السلام مع الكوكب. يمكن لكل واحد منا أن يكون هو التغيير الذي نحتاجه من خلال دفع قادتنا في القطاعين العام والخاص ليكونوا رعاة أفضل للأرض. مع أخذ ذلك في الاعتبار ، هذا هو قراري للعام الجديد. هذه هي الإجراءات الأربعة التي سأدعو القادة بقوة إلى اتخاذها لمساعدتنا جميعًا على صنع السلام.

 

ازل التلوث

يمكن أن يحل الاستثمار في البنية التحتية الخضراء احتياجاتنا من الطاقة والبنية التحتية مع استعادة التنوع البيولوجي الذي عانى خلال العقود الأخيرة. إن الحلول القائمة على الطبيعة مثل استخدام الكثبان الرملية والمستنقعات لحماية خطوطنا الساحلية تحمينا بشكل متساوٍ أو أفضل من الجدران البحرية. في الوقت نفسه ، يمكن أن تساعدنا هذه في تحقيق أهداف اتفاقية باريس للمناخ من خلال تقليل انبعاثات الكربون في الغلاف الجوي العالمية بنسبة تصل إلى الثلث. إن بناء محطة طاقة متجددة أرخص من تشغيل محطة فحم قديمة. لن نرى فقط فوائد لصحتنا وبيئتنا. تأتي هذه الاستثمارات مع فرص مالية كبيرة. الأمم المتحدة تقديرات أن التقنيات الخضراء يمكن أن تخلق ما لا يقل عن 18 مليون وظيفة في جميع أنحاء العالم.

 

 

ادفع حصتك العادلة

نحن بحاجة إلى ربط التمويل العالمي بمخاطر المناخ. سيكون عام 2021 عامًا ممتازًا للأسواق المالية للبدء أخيرًا في مواءمة الاستثمارات مع التكاليف والفوائد الفعلية للناس والكوكب. سيُطلب من الشركات في جميع أنحاء العالم قريبًا الكشف عن مخاطر المناخ للجمهور. يبدأ في بورصة لندن للأوراق المالية في يناير 2021. في مارس ، دخلت لوائح الإفصاح الجديدة للاتحاد الأوروبي بشأن الاستدامة حيز التنفيذ. الإدارة الأمريكية القادمة تسير في نفس الاتجاه.

 

أقول ضع تكاليف تدمير الكوكب والتلوث حيث تنتمي - على أولئك الذين يتسببون فيه. للخروج قبل ما هو قادم بالتأكيد ، يجب على الشركات أن تبدأ العام الجديد من خلال الاستثمار في الكشف عن مخاطر المناخ والإجراءات البيئية والاجتماعية وحوكمة الشركات. بالنسبة لأولئك الذين لا ينضمون بشكل استباقي إلى هذه الحركة ، يمكن أن يكون 2021 و 2022 عملًا أصعب مما يجب أن يكون.

 

كن لطيفا مع جيرانك

نحن نشارك هذا الكوكب مع نسيج غني بالحياة البرية. لكن التنوع البيولوجي يمر بأزمة ، ونحن بحاجة إلى المساعدة. يمكننا القيام بذلك عن طريق زيادة عدد وحجم المحميات الطبيعية ، ومساعدة الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض على التعافي ودعم سبل العيش المستدامة القائمة على الطبيعة مثل صيد الأسماك والغابات. والخبر السار هو أن هذه الأنواع من الاستثمارات تقوم بواجب مزدوج من خلال مكافحة تغير المناخ مع تعزيز الأنواع. على سبيل المثال ، تساعد استعادة الغابات في تقليل انبعاثات الكربون: يمكن لشجرة واحدة عزل 4 كيلوغرامات من الكربون سنويًا.

 

جاكرتا - المدينة الغارقة

تغرق جاكرتا كل عام ، لذا فإن خطط نقل رأس المال خارج المدينة جارية بالفعل. 

 

يمكن لجيراننا البشر استخدام بعض اللطف المماثل. تتحمل الدول الجزرية المنخفضة وطأة تغير المناخ ، وبعضها يغرق أمام أعيننا. ومع ذلك ، فإن البلدان الأقل تقدمًا لديها القليل من الموارد لمواجهة هذه التحديات ، ولا يشكل تمويل التكيف سوى 20٪ من إجمالي التمويل المتعلق بالمناخ. حتى في الدول الأكثر تقدمًا ، نختار ترك العديد من المجتمعات وراءنا. يجب أن تكون العدالة الاجتماعية والعدالة البيئية جزءًا من قرارنا للعام الجديد.

 

تفقد الوزن الزائد من الكربون

عام 2021 هو عام مثالي لفقدان مقابض حب ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي. للحصول على هذا النظام الغذائي ، يجب أن تتفق الدول على إطار زمني وتخطط لتصبح محايدة للكربون. تعهدت المملكة المتحدة والصين والعديد من الدول الأخرى بهذا التعهد بالفعل ، ولكن يجب أن يكون هذا اتفاقًا شاملاً. يجب أن تمنحنا قدرتنا على إنشاء لقاحات COVID-19 قابلة للحياة في أقل من عام الثقة في أنه بمجرد أن نضع عقولنا في الاعتبار ، يمكننا إيجاد حلول قابلة للتطبيق لطاقتنا واحتياجاتنا المجتمعية التي لا تتطلب منا أن نثقل كاهل الكوكب. المزيد من التلوث بغاز ثاني أكسيد الكربون.

 

 

هناك العديد من الطرق التي يمكن لقادة الأعمال والحكومات من خلالها تحقيق السلام مع الكوكب في عام 2021. ولكن هناك أيضًا الكثير الذي يمكننا القيام به كأفراد. أعتزم تحقيق السلام مع الكوكب من خلال اختيار أفعال حكيمة ورحيمة ، من كيفية إنفاق الأموال إلى الأماكن التي أزورها والقادة والأسباب التي أؤيدها. إن مواءمة العمل مع النية سيبني سلامًا داخليًا وعالمًا أفضل. السلام ، بعد كل شيء ، يأتي مع اختيار فعل الصواب.

 

"هذا البند تم نشره في الأصل في Fair Observer في 12 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2021. "

الآراء الواردة في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف ولا تعكس وجهات نظر WorldRef أو آراءها أو سياساتها.

 


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل واقتصادية!

خدمات للبائعين  |  خدمات للمشترين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  خدمات القوى العاملة  |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  حلول محطة توليد الكهرباء  |  حلول الطاقة المتجددة مع التمويل

Climate Change: Let’s Make Peace With Our Planet in 2021

Environmentgo greenSustainability

Sharing is caring

March 5th, 2021

Even if we declare a truce today and start to live more sustainably, it will take decades, if not centuries, for Earth to recover.

It’s time we all make peace with our planet — you and me, parents, professionals, leaders and the upcoming generation. All of us have to make 2021 the Year of Peace. Here’s why: We’re at war with our planet. Even if we declare a truce today and start to live more sustainably, it will take decades, if not centuries, for Earth to recover.

 

COVID-19, now responsible for nearly 2 million deaths worldwide, emerged because of habitat encroachment and destruction. Meanwhile, the last decade was the hottest on record, while events like hurricanes and raging wildfires increased in frequency and intensity because of climate change. Air pollution now kills 9 million people every year. The concrete, metal, plastic, bricks and asphalt we produce now weighs more than all living things on our planet.

 

In our oceans, two-thirds of commercially harvested fish species are overexploited. By 2030, there will be more plastic than fish in the sea. Coastlines are eroding, and cities are sinking as sea levels rise. Mangroves and reefs that ordinarily protect them are either being cut down or are dying from climate-induced changes like rising sea temperatures. Because of the greenhouse gasses pouring into the atmosphere every day, our planet is heading for a 3˚C to 5˚C rise in global temperatures that will wreak havoc on our health, wealth and world.

 

Sea pollution plastic

 

Living out of balance with the environment is culminating in a pressing existential crisis. Instead, imagine waking up every morning in 2021 with the intention to make peace with the planet. Each of us can be the change we need by pushing our leaders in the public and private sectors to be better stewards of the Earth. With that in mind, here’s my New Year’s resolution. These are the four actions I will ardently advocate leaders take to help us all make peace.

 

Go Green

Investing in green infrastructure can solve our energy and infrastructure needs while restoring biodiversity, which has suffered over recent decades. Nature-based solutions such as using dunes and marshes to protect our coastlines shield us equally or better than sea walls. Simultaneously, these can help us meet Paris Climate Agreement targets by reducing global atmospheric carbon emissions by up to one-third. It is cheaper to build a renewable energy power plant than it is to operate an old coal one. We won’t just see benefits for our health and environment. Such investments come with substantial financial opportunities. The UN estimates that green technologies can create at least 18 million jobs worldwide.

 

 

Pay Your Fair Share

We need to connect global finance with climate risks. 2021 will be an excellent year for financial markets to finally start aligning investments with their actual costs and benefits to people and the planet. Companies across the globe will soon be required to disclose their climate risks to the public. It starts on the London Stock Exchange in January 2021. In March, the EU’s new disclosure regulations on sustainability come into force. The incoming US administration is heading in the same direction.

 

I say put the costs of planetary destruction and pollution where it belongs — on those who cause it. To get out ahead of what’s assuredly coming, companies should start the new year by investing in climate risk disclosures and environmental, social and corporate governance actions. For those who don’t proactively get on board with this movement, 2021 and 2022 could prove to be a tougher slog than it needs to be.

 

Be Nicer to Your Neighbours

We share this planet with a rich tapestry of wildlife. But biodiversity is in crisis, and we need to help. We can do this by increasing the number and size of nature reserves, helping endangered species recover and by supporting sustainable nature-based livelihoods like fishing and forestry. The good news is that these kinds of investments do double duty by combating climate change while bolstering species. For instance, forest restoration helps reduce carbon emissions: A single tree can sequester 4 kilograms of carbon annually.

 

Jakarta - The Sinking City

Jakarta has been sinking every year, so much so the plans to shift capital out of the city are already afoot. 

 

Our human neighbors could use some similar kindness. Low-lying island nations are bearing the brunt of climate change, and some are sinking before our eyes. Yet less developed countries have few resources to meet these challenges, and adaptation funding only makes up 20% of all climate funding. Even in the most advanced nations, we choose to leave many communities behind. Social equity and environmental justice must be part of our New Year’s resolution.

 

Lose the Excess Carbon Weight

2021 is an ideal year to lose those atmospheric carbon dioxide love handles. To get on that diet, nations must agree on a timeframe and plan to become carbon neutral. The UK, China and several other countries have already made the pledge, but this has to be an all-in agreement. Our ability to create viable COVID-19 vaccines in less than a year should give us confidence that, once we put our minds to it, we can find workable solutions to our energy and societal needs that don’t require us to burden the planet with more CO2 pollution.

 

 

There are many ways business leaders and governments can make peace with the planet in 2021. But there’s also plenty we can do as individuals. I intend to make peace with the planet by choosing wise and compassionate actions, from how I spend money to which places I visit and what leaders and causes I support. Aligning action with intent will build inner peace and a better world. Peace, after all, comes with choosing to do what is right.

 

“This article was originally published on Fair Observer on 12 Jan 2021.”

The views expressed in this article are the author’s own and do not reflect WorldRef’s views, opinions or policies.

 


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and economical!

Services for Sellers  |  Services for Buyers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Manpower Services  |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Power Plant Solutions  |  Renewable Power Solutions with Financing