ارتفع سعر الفحم في 2021 - ماذا يعني ذلك بالنسبة لصافي الصفر؟

انبعاث كربونيطاقة الفحمالطاقــة

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

16 سبتمبر، 2021

ارتفع سعر الفحم في عام 2021 ، ومع ارتفاع الطاقة المتجددة وتخزين البطاريات ، فمن غير المرجح أن تنخفض مرة أخرى في أي وقت قريب. هذا نقاش حول ما قد تعنيه هذه الزيادة المفاجئة في سعر الفحم لمستقبل صافي الصفر.

 

By مايكل تامفاكيس

أستاذ اقتصاد وتمويل السلع ، سيتي ، جامعة لندن


 

لم يمض سوى أيام قليلة منذ أن أشار التقرير الأخير الصادر عن الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ (IPCC) إلى العواقب الوخيمة لتغير المناخ بفعل الإنسان. في قلب هذا التحذير الصارخ الذي أصدره الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة أنطونيو غوتيريش والعلماء الذين يقفون وراء التقرير ، كانت هناك حاجة ملحة لخفض الفحم بشكل كبير في مزيج الطاقة.

 

ومع ذلك ، في الفترة التي سبقت النشر ، وغيابًا عن عناوين الأخبار الرئيسية ، كان الارتفاع المطرد في أسعار الفحم ، بعد 100 دولار أمريكي (72 جنيهًا إسترلينيًا) للطن المتري في يونيو ثم تجاوز 130 دولارًا أمريكيًا في منتصف يوليو إلى أكثر من 170 دولارًا أمريكيًا اليوم. . هذا ما يقرب من أربعة أضعاف السعر في سبتمبر الماضي.

 

يمكن أن يُعزى ارتفاع الأسعار بشكل مباشر إلى عودة الطلب بعد أعماق الوباء - خاصة في الأسواق الآسيوية الناشئة مثل الصين والهند ، ولكن أيضًا في اليابان وكوريا الجنوبية وأوروبا والولايات المتحدة. من المتوقع أن يزداد الطلب على الكهرباء ، الذي لا يزال مرتبطًا ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالفحم ، بنسبة 5٪ عبر عام 2021 و 4٪ أخرى في عام 2022.

 

على جانب العرض ، هناك أيضًا بعض المشكلات مثل عدم قدرة الصين على الحصول على الفحم من أستراليا بسبب حظر الاستيراد ، والاضطرابات الصغيرة في إنتاج الصادرات من كبار المنتجين إندونيسيا وجنوب إفريقيا وروسيا. ولكن لا توجد مشكلات تتعلق بالعرض على المدى الطويل ، حيث لم تقلص الدول المنتجة الرئيسية قدرتها الإنتاجية أو التصديرية. لذلك لا ينبغي أن تظل الأسعار مرتفعة لفترة طويلة جدًا.

 

سعر الفحم (دولار أمريكي / طن متري)

سعر الفحم (دولار أمريكي / طن متري)

المصدر اقتصاديات التداول

 

من المأمول أن يعني انتعاش الطلب العالمي على الطاقة أن الاقتصاد العالمي يتعافى من الوباء ، لكن الارتفاع في أسعار الفحم هو تذكير بكيفية استمرار اعتماد الطاقة على الوقود الأحفوري. بلغ إجمالي استهلاك الطاقة العالمي 556 إكساجول في عام 2020 ، ويمثل النفط والفحم والغاز الطبيعي 31٪ و 27٪ و 25٪ من الإجمالي على التوالي. هذا يصل إلى أكثر من أربعة أخماس المجموع.

 

الفحم العنيد

 

للفحم استخدامان رئيسيان ، توليد الكهرباء وتصنيع الصلب ، حيث يكون الأول مسؤولاً عن حوالي ثلثي ما يتم استهلاكه. كلما أسرعنا في إزالة الفحم من توليد الكهرباء ، زادت احتمالية تحقيق أهداف اتفاقية باريس.

 

ومع ذلك ، يبدو الفحم مرنًا ، إن لم يكن عنيدًا عندما يتعلق الأمر بالقضاء عليه. منذ عام 2010 ، ظلت النسبة المئوية للغاز الطبيعي في إجمالي توليد الكهرباء العالمي كما هي عند 23٪ على الرغم من ارتفاع استهلاك الطاقة في العالم بنحو الربع. تضاعفت النسبة المئوية لمصادر الطاقة المتجددة ، باستثناء الطاقة الكهرومائية ، ثلاث مرات وتضاعف توليدها الفعلي في تيراواط ساعة (تيراواط ساعة) أربع مرات. وفي الوقت نفسه ، فقد الفحم حصته ، حيث انخفض إلى 35٪ من 40٪ ، لكنه لا يزال متقدمًا على الغاز الطبيعي ، وأقرب منافس له ، وارتفعت كمية الفحم التي نحرقها للكهرباء بشكل عام.

 

مزيج الكهرباء العالمي 2020 مقابل 2010

مزيج الكهرباء العالمي 2020 مقابل 2010

 

الحقيقة هي أن الفحم له معنى تجاري جيد. لطالما كانت محطات الطاقة التي تعمل بالفحم كبيرة بما يكفي لجعل تكاليف البناء مجدية اقتصاديًا ، حيث تفتخر أكبر المحطات بقدرة 5 جيجاوات. الوقود رخيص نسبيًا في معظم الأوقات ، ويتمتع أكبر المستهلكين ، الصين والولايات المتحدة والهند ، بإمدادات آمنة سياسياً.

 

التوليد باستخدام الفحم ثابت ويمكن التنبؤ به ، مما يجعله مناسبًا لضمان الحد الأدنى من مستوى الكهرباء الذي يحتاجه البلد باستمرار - والمعروف باسم الحمل الأساسي. هذا يضمن أن نسبة الوقود المحول إلى كهرباء ، والمعروفة باسم استخدام السعة ، عادة ما تزيد عن 70٪. وقد تأثر ذلك بالدافع المستمر لاستبدال الفحم بمصادر الطاقة المتجددة والغاز الطبيعي ، حيث انخفض إلى 53٪ في عام 2019 ، ولكن بالنظر إلى مستويات الطلب الحالية ، يجب أن نتوقع أن يكون أعلى في عام 2021.

 

يُترجم كل هذا إلى تدفقات دخل ثابتة من بيع الكهرباء التي تعمل بالفحم إلى الشبكة في العديد من البلدان ، مما يجعل مصدر الطاقة هذا جذابًا للمستثمرين. عندما يتعلق الأمر بالثلاثي من أمن التوريد والقدرة على تحمل التكاليف والاستدامة ، فإن الفحم يخدم الأولين بسهولة ، حتى لو ترك لطخة كبيرة قذرة على الثالث.

 

أكبر المستخدمين

 

كان النمو الاقتصادي الصيني المذهل خلال العشرين عامًا الماضية ، والتوسع الكبير في كهربة الاقتصاد الهندي ، يعتمدان إلى حد كبير على الفحم. بفضلهم ، ضاعف العالم قدرته على حرق الفحم منذ عام 20 إلى أكثر من 2000 جيجاوات.

 

في عام 2020 ، أنتج الفحم 63٪ من الكهرباء في الصين و 72٪ في الهند. في نفس العام ، أنتجت الصين نصف إنتاج الفحم في العالم ، ما يقرب من 4 مليارات طن ، بينما جاءت الهند في المرتبة الثانية بحوالي 750 مليون طن. فيما بين البلدين ، استحوذ البلدان على ثلثي الاستهلاك العالمي وكانا أيضًا أكبر مستوردين. الأرقام تحير العقل حقا.

 

توليد الكهرباء في الصين

توليد الكهرباء في الصين

 

توليد الكهرباء في الهند

توليد الكهرباء في الهند

 

في مكان آخر ، الفحم في القدم الخلفية. في الولايات المتحدة ، ثاني أكبر مولد للكهرباء بعد الصين ، تراجع الفحم لصالح الغاز الطبيعي. أطلقت 20٪ من الكهرباء الأمريكية في 2020 مقارنة بـ 43٪ في 2010 ، بينما ارتفع الغاز الطبيعي خلال نفس الفترة من 24٪ إلى 40٪.

 

في ألمانيا ، يتم توليد الفحم بواسطة الرياح ، بينما في المملكة المتحدة يستخدم الفحم فقط كنسخة احتياطية. وبالمثل ، تقوم اليابان وكوريا الجنوبية بتوسيع الغاز الطبيعي والنووي والطاقة المتجددة في محاولة للحد من تأثير الكربون الناتج عن توليد الكهرباء. حتى الصين انضمت إلى الجهود من خلال إضافة طاقة شمسية وطاقة جديدة.

 

أكبر احتياطيات الفحم

قائمة مختصرة من البلدان في أربع قارات تتحكم في حوالي مليار طن من الفحم

 

أكبر احتياطيات الفحم

المصدر رأسمالي بصري

 

يُقدر أن أكبر احتياطيات الفحم في العالم موجودة في الولايات المتحدة ، وثاني أكبر احتياطي في روسيا. الولايات المتحدة في طريقها لتصبح اقتصاد طاقة خالٍ من الصفر بحلول عام 2035 ، مع شبكة صفرية صافية بحلول عام 2050.

 

ومع ذلك ، من الواضح أنه لا يزال من الصعب من منظور الأعمال القضاء على الفحم في جميع أنحاء العالم: لقد قام الغرب بشكل أساسي بتصدير المشكلة إلى الصين لأن الكثير من الصناعات الثقيلة في العالم انتقلت إلى هناك. المحطات التي تعمل بالفحم هي استثمارات طويلة الأجل ، تتراوح في الغالب بين 40 و 50 عامًا. المصنع الذي تم بناؤه عام 2000 في منتصف عمره فقط ، لذا فإن إغلاقه الآن ، مهما كان مرغوبًا فيه ، من شأنه أن يدمر اقتصاديات المستثمرين.

 

ما لم تظل أسعار الفحم مرتفعة بشكل دائم (غير مرجح) ، أو ما لم تكن تكلفة انبعاثات الكربون أكثر تقييدًا بسبب الضرائب أو مخططات تداول الكربون (ممكن ، ولكن ربما ليس في كل مكان) ، أو إذا كان هناك تدخل حكومي مباشر لإيقاف تشغيل المحطات ، فقد يفاجئنا الفحم. كل شيء وتستمر لفترة أطول مما نتوقع. من أجل الأجيال القادمة والقادمة ، دعونا نأمل ألا يحدث ذلك.

 

تم نشر هذا المقال في الأصل بواسطة The Conversation ، أستراليا ، في 14 أغسطس 2021 ، وتم إعادة نشره وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل توسعك العالمي أسهل واقتصاديًا!

الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | التعدين والمعادن | التحكم في تلوث الهواء | أنظمة مناولة المواد | معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي |

المعدات الصناعية المستعملة | قطع الغيار والأدوات والمواد الاستهلاكية | المشتريات الصناعية

The coal price has skyrocketed in 2021 – what does it mean for net zero?

Carbon EmissionCoalEconomicsEnergy

September 16th, 2021

The price of coal has skyrocketed in 2021 and with renewables and battery storage on the rise, it’s unlikely to drop again any time soon. This is a discussion on what this sudden increase in the price of coal may mean for the future of net-zero.

 

By Michael Tamvakis

Professor of Commodity Economics and Finance, City, University of London


 

It is only a few days since the latest report from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) signaled the dire consequences of human-induced climate change. At the heart of this stark warning by UN Secretary-General António Guterres and the scientists behind the report was the urgent need to heavily reduce coal in the energy mix.

 

Yet in the run-up to publication, and absent from mainstream news headlines, was the steady ascent of coal prices, past US$100 (£72) per metric tonne in June and then past US$130 in mid-July to over US$170 today. This is almost four times the price last September.

 

The rise in prices can be attributed squarely to a resurgence of demand after the depths of the pandemic – especially in emerging Asian markets such as China and India, but also in Japan, South Korea, Europe, and the US. Electricity demand, which remains closely linked to coal, is expected to have increased by 5% across 2021 and a further 4% in 2022.

 

On the supply side, there are also some issues such as China being unable to acquire coal from Australia due to an import ban, and smaller disruptions in the export output of major producers Indonesia, South Africa, and Russia. But there are no long-term supply issues, as the main producing countries have not curtailed their production or export capacity. Prices should not, therefore, stay high for very long.

 

The coal price (US$/metric tonne)

The Coal Price (US$ /metric tonne)

Source: Trading Economics

 

The revival of world demand for energy hopefully means the world economy is recovering from the pandemic, but the surge in coal prices is a reminder of how energy still relies on fossil fuels. Global energy consumption totaled 556 exajoules in 2020, and oil, coal, and natural gas accounting for 31%, 27%, and 25% of the total respectively. That adds up to more than four-fifths of the total.

 

Stubborn coal

 

Coal has two main uses, electricity generation and steel manufacturing, with the former responsible for about two-thirds of what is consumed. The faster we can remove coal from electricity generation, the higher the likelihood of achieving the Paris Agreement targets.

 

Yet coal seems to be resilient, if not stubborn when it comes to its elimination. Since 2010, the percentage share of natural gas in total global electricity generation has stayed the same at 23% even though the world’s power consumption has risen by about a quarter. The percentage share of renewables, excluding hydroelectricity, has tripled and its actual generation in terawatt-hours (TWh) has quadrupled. Meanwhile, coal has lost share, down to 35% from 40%, but it remains way ahead of natural gas, its closest competitor, and the amount of coal that we burn for electricity has gone up overall.

 

Global electricity mix 2020 vs 2010

Global electricity mix 2020 vs 2010

 

The reality is that coal makes good business sense. Coal-fired power plants have long been big enough to make the building costs economically viable, with the largest plants boasting a capacity of 5GW. The fuel is relatively cheap most of the time, and the biggest consumers, China, the US and India, all enjoy politically safe supplies.

 

Coal-fired generation is steady and predictable, making it suitable for ensuring the minimum level of electricity a country continually needs – known as the baseload. This guarantees that the proportion of the fuel converted into electricity, known as capacity utilisation, is typically over 70%. This has been affected by the continuous drive to replace coal with renewables and natural gas, taking it as low as 53% in 2019, but given the current levels of demand, we should expect it to be higher for 2021.

 

This all translates into steady income flows from selling coal-fired electricity to the grid in many countries, which makes this power source attractive to investors. When it comes to the triptych of supply security, affordability and sustainability, coal serves the first two with ease, even as it leaves a big dirty smudge on the third one.

 

The biggest users

 

The spectacular Chinese economic growth of the last 20 years, and the considerable expansion of electrification of the Indian economy, were largely based on coal. Thanks to them, the world has doubled its coal-fired capacity since 2000 to over 2,000GW.

 

In 2020, coal-generated 63% of electricity in China and 72% in India. In the same year, China produced half of the world’s coal, nearly 4 billion tonnes, while India came a distant second with around 750 million tonnes. Between them, the two countries accounted for two-thirds of global consumption and were also the two largest importers. The figures truly boggle the mind.

 

Electricity generation in China

Electricity generation in China

 

Electricity generation in India

Electricity generation in India

 

Elsewhere, coal is on the back foot. In the US, the second-largest electricity generator after China, coal has retreated in favor of natural gas. It fired 20% of US electricity in 2020 compared to 43% in 2010, while natural gas has risen over the same period from 24% to 40%.

 

In Germany, coal generation has been equaled by wind, while in the UK coal is used only as a backup. Similarly, Japan and South Korea are expanding their natural gas, nuclear, and renewables in an effort to reduce the carbon impact of their electricity generation. Even China has joined the efforts by adding new solar and wind capacity.

 

Largest Coal Reserves

A shortlist of countries in four continents control ~1 billion tonnes of coal

 

Largest Coal Reserves

Source: Visual capitalist

 

The world’s largest coal reserves are estimated to be in the USA, with the second-largest in Russia. The USA is on track to become a net-zero energy economy by 2035, with a net-zero grid by 2050.

 

Nonetheless, it clearly remains difficult from a business perspective to eliminate coal worldwide: the west has essentially exported the problem to China because so much of the world’s heavy manufacturing has moved there. Coal-fired plants are long-term investments, often 40 to 50 years long. A plant built-in 2000 is only halfway through its life, so shutting it down now, however desirable, would wreck the economics for the investors.

 

Unless coal prices remain permanently high (unlikely), or the cost of carbon emissions is more prohibitive due to taxes or carbon trading schemes (possible, but perhaps not everywhere), or there is direct government intervention to decommission plants, coal may yet surprise us all and persist for longer than we expect. For the sake of the next and following generations, let us hope it will not.

 

This article was originally published by The conversation, Australia, on August 14, 2021, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global expansion easier and economical!

Thermal Power and Cogeneration | Mining and Minerals | Air Pollution Control | Material Handling Systems | Water and Waste Water Treatment |

Used Industrial Equipment | Spares, Tools and Consumables | Industrial Procurement