لقد تعمق التفاوت الاقتصادي خلال الوباء. هذا لا يعني أنه لا يمكن إصلاحه

كوفيد 19

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

28 أبريل، 2022

أدى جائحة كوفيد -19 إلى تعميق عدم المساواة الاقتصادية في جميع أنحاء العالم. هناك حاجة لاتخاذ إجراءات عاجلة لدعم الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في فقر وتضييق فجوة الثروة.

 

By

كاتب أول ، المحتوى التكويني


 

  • أدى COVID-19 إلى توسيع فجوات الثروة في جميع أنحاء العالم.
  • أغنى 10٪ من سكان العالم يمتلكون الآن 76٪ من إجمالي الثروة.
  • هناك حاجة لاتخاذ إجراءات عاجلة لدعم الأشخاص الذين يعانون من الفقر وتضييق التفاوت الاقتصادي.
  • إن تكثيف عمليات التطعيم وتعبئة المساعدات وتخفيف عبء الديون سيساعد البلدان النامية.

 

يواجه العالم طفرة في عدم المساواة الاقتصادية ، والتي تسارعت بسبب فيروس كورونا المستجد وتفاقمت بسبب تأثير الحرب في أوكرانيا. تحتاج الحكومات إلى الشروع في تغيير عاجل لمعالجة الفقر المدقع وتضييق الفجوة بين الأغنياء والفقراء ، وإرساء الأسس لمستقبل أكثر مساواة واستدامة.

 

تكشف الأرقام عن حجم المشكلة. أغنى 10٪ من سكان العالم يمتلكون 76٪ من الثروة، في حين أن النصف الأشد فقيرًا لا يملك سوى قطعة صغيرة ، وفقًا لمختبر عدم المساواة العالمي. قالت مجموعة البحث التي تتخذ من باريس مقراً لها في تقرير إن التفاوتات الاقتصادية العالمية أصبحت الآن شديدة كما كانت في ذروة الإمبريالية الغربية في أوائل القرن العشرين.

 

لقد تعمق التفاوت الاقتصادي خلال الوباء. هذا لا يعني أنه لا يمكن إصلاحه

 

قضى الوباء على سنوات من التقدم في الحد من الفقر وتسبب في ارتفاع التفاوت الاقتصادي. ضاعف أغنى عشرة رجال في العالم ثرواتهم منذ أن بدأت حالة الطوارئ الصحية العالمية ، في حين أن دخول 10٪ من البشر أسوأ نتيجة لذلك ، وفقًا لمنظمة أوكسفام. تقدر منظمة خيرية بريطانية أن أكثر من 99 مليون شخص دفعوا إلى براثن الفقر.

 

الآن تعمق الحرب الروسية في أوكرانيا الكآبة. خارج ساحة المعركة ، أدى الصراع إلى قلب أسواق السلع الأساسية وسلاسل التوريد العالمية ، مما أدى إلى ارتفاع أسعار الطاقة والغذاء.

 

بالنسبة للبلدان النامية التي تعتمد بشكل كبير على الوقود والغذاء من روسيا وأوكرانيا ، سيكون تأثير الحرب مدمرًا ، وفقًا للمديرة العامة لصندوق النقد الدولي ، كريستالينا جورجيفا. وقالت لمجلة فورين بوليسي: "بعبارة بسيطة للغاية ، الحرب في أوكرانيا تعني الجوع في إفريقيا".

 

تسبب COVID-19 في مزيد من عدم المساواة الاقتصادية

يقول البنك الدولي إنه حتى قبل الحرب ، كان تعافي الأسواق الناشئة والاقتصادات النامية من الركود الوبائي ضعيفًا ، مما أعاد عدم المساواة بين الدول الغنية والفقيرة إلى المستويات التي شوهدت آخر مرة قبل عقد من الزمن.

 

 

جعلت الحرب هذا الوضع الصعب أسوأ. قلص الاقتصاديون في مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة للتجارة والتنمية توقعاتهم للنمو العالمي لعام 2022.

 

ومع ارتفاع معدلات التضخم وتحمل البلدان النامية بالفعل ديونًا بقيمة تريليون دولار ، تقول هيئة الأمم المتحدة إن جهود الإنقاذ الاقتصادي بحجم وطموح خطة مارشال في أعقاب الحرب العالمية الثانية قد تكون ضرورية للبقاء فقراء وحتى وسطيين- البلدان الدخل من الانهيار.

 

 

سياسات لمعالجة الفقر وعدم المساواة الاقتصادية

لمعالجة هذه المشكلة ، يحتاج صانعو السياسات العالمية إلى إدراك أن الفجوة الحالية بين الأغنياء والفقراء ليست حتمية ، كما يقول مختبر اللامساواة العالمي. تُظهر تجربة العديد من البلدان الأوروبية والصين - التي لديها مستويات منخفضة نسبيًا من عدم المساواة الاقتصادية مقارنة بدول مثل الولايات المتحدة والهند - أن السياسات الصحيحة يمكن أن تحدث فرقًا.

 

يقول البنك الدولي إن المهمة الأولى الحاسمة هي تنشيط الاقتصادات من خلال تكثيف جهود التلقيح العالمية. كانت العقبة الرئيسية في عام 2021 هي محدودية الوصول إلى الجرعات ، وكانت البلدان منخفضة الدخل هي الأكثر معاناة. تقول منظمة أوكسفام إن الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل هم أكثر عرضة للوفاة من COVID-19 بحوالي الضعف مقارنة بأولئك في البلدان الغنية. تقول المنظمة الخيرية إن "الفصل العنصري في اللقاح" هذا "يؤدي إلى تفاقم عدم المساواة في جميع أنحاء العالم".

 

وهناك حاجة أيضًا إلى بذل جهود لتزويد الحكومات في البلدان النامية بموارد مالية أكبر لمعالجة عدم المساواة الاقتصادية. ستكون المجالات الرئيسية التي يجب التركيز عليها هي دعم الفئات الضعيفة من السكان وتوسيع نطاق الوصول إلى الخدمات الرئيسية مثل التعليم والرعاية الصحية.

 

أصبحت الحكومات أكثر فقرًا بشكل ملحوظ على مدار الأربعين عامًا الماضية حيث حصل القطاع الخاص على حصة أكبر من إجمالي الثروة - وهو اتجاه تضخم بسبب الاقتراض الحكومي الثقيل أثناء الوباء ، وفقًا لمختبر عدم المساواة العالمي.

 

وفقا للبنك الدولي ، هناك حاجة لاتخاذ إجراءات فورية لتعبئة المساعدة المالية وتسريع جهود تخفيف عبء الديون عن البلدان الفقيرة. تمثلت إحدى الخطوات الإيجابية الأخيرة في تجديد موارد وكالة التنمية الدولية بمبلغ 93 مليار دولار لمساعدة البلدان منخفضة الدخل على الاستجابة للوباء وإعادة بناء اقتصاداتها.

 

أخيرًا ، فإن تمكين الإنفاق الاجتماعي مع زيادة الاستثمار في البنية التحتية والتكيف مع تغير المناخ والانتقال إلى الطاقة النظيفة سيتطلب من البلدان إعطاء الأولوية للإنفاق والنظر في توسيع قاعدتها الضريبية.

 

تشمل الوصفات المحتملة الضرائب التصاعدية لإعادة توزيع الثروة والاستثمار من خلال برامج مثل الرعاية الصحية الشاملة التي تفيد المجتمع بأسره. تقدر منظمة أوكسفام أن الضريبة المتدرجة على الأثرياء يمكن أن تجمع ما يصل إلى 2.5 تريليون دولار في السنة.

 


تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 07 أبريل 2022 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

Economic inequality has deepened during the pandemic. That doesn’t mean it can’t be fixed

Covid 19

Sharing is caring

April 28th, 2022

The COVID-19 pandemic has deepened economic inequality across the globe. Urgent action is needed to support people in poverty and narrow the wealth gap.

 

By

Senior Writer, Formative Content


 

  • COVID-19 has widened wealth gaps across the globe.
  • The richest 10% of the world population now owns 76% of all wealth.
  • Urgent action is needed to support people in poverty and narrow the economic inequality.
  • Stepping up vaccinations and mobilizing aid and debt relief will help developing countries.

 

The world is facing a surge in economic inequality accelerated by COVID-19 and exacerbated by the impact of the war in Ukraine. Governments need to initiate urgent change to tackle extreme poverty and narrow the gap between rich and poor, laying the foundations for a more equal and sustainable future.

 

The numbers reveal the extent of the problem. The richest 10% of the world population owns 76% of the wealth, while the poorest half owns just a sliver, according to the World Inequality Lab. Global economic inequalities are now as extreme as they were at the peak of Western imperialism in the early 20th century, the Paris-based research group says in a report.

 

Economic inequality has deepened during the pandemic. That doesn’t mean it can’t be fixed

 

The pandemic wiped out years of progress in reducing poverty and caused economic inequality to spike. The world’s 10 richest men have doubled their fortunes since the global health emergency began, while the incomes of 99% of humanity are worse off as a result, according to Oxfam. More than 160 million people have also been pushed into poverty, the UK charity estimates.

 

Now Russia’s war in Ukraine is deepening the gloom. Beyond the battlefield, the conflict has upended commodity markets and global supply chains, driving up prices for energy and food.

 

For developing countries that are highly dependent on fuel and food from Russia and Ukraine, the impact of the war will be devastating, according to International Monetary Fund Managing Director Kristalina Georgieva. “To put it very simply, a war in Ukraine means hunger in Africa,” she told Foreign Policy magazine.

 

COVID-19 has caused more economic inequality

Even before the war, the recovery of emerging-market and developing economies from the pandemic recession was weak, sending inequality between rich and poor countries back to levels last seen a decade earlier, the World Bank says.

 

 

The war has made this difficult situation worse. Economists at the United Nations (UN) Conference on Trade and Development have trimmed their global growth forecast for 2022.

 

And with inflation soaring and developing countries already saddled with $1 trillion of debt, the UN body says an economic rescue effort with the scale and ambition of the Marshall Plan in the aftermath of the World War II could be needed to keep poor and even middle-income countries from going under.

 

 

Policies to tackle poverty and economic inequality

To address this issue, global policy-makers need to recognize that the current gulf between rich and poor is not inevitable, the World Inequality Lab says. The experience of many European countries and China – which have relatively low levels of economic inequality compared with countries such as the US and India – show that the right policies can make a difference.

 

The first, critical task is to kick-start economies by stepping up global vaccination efforts, the World Bank says. The main obstacle in 2021 was limited access to doses, with low-income countries suffering the most. Oxfam says people who live in low- and middle-income countries are around twice as likely to die from COVID-19 as those in rich countries. This “vaccine apartheid” is “supercharging inequalities worldwide”, the charity says.

 

Efforts are also needed to provide governments in developing countries with greater financial resources to tackle economic inequality. Key areas to focus on will be supporting vulnerable populations and expanding access to key services such as education and healthcare.

 

Governments have become significantly poorer over the past 40 years as the private sector has acquired an ever-larger share of total wealth – a trend magnified by heavy government borrowing during the pandemic, according to the World Inequality Lab.

 

Immediate action is needed to mobilize financial assistance and accelerate debt-relief efforts for poorer countries, according to the World Bank. One recent positive step was the $93 billion replenishment of the International Development Agency to help low-income countries respond to the pandemic and rebuild their economies.

 

Finally, enabling social spending while investing more in infrastructure, adaptation to climate change and the transition to clean energy will require countries to prioritize spending and consider expanding their tax base.

 

Possible prescriptions include progressive taxes to redistribute wealth and investment through programmes such as universal healthcare that benefit all of society. Oxfam estimates that a graduated tax on the rich could raise as much as $2.5 trillion a year.

 


This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on April 07, 2022, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions