785 مليون شخص لا يحصلون على مياه الشرب الآمنة في عام 2021

العولمة او الوافدين الاجانبمعالجة المياه

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

يوليو 10th، 2021

يمكن للبشر أن يعيشوا ثلاثة أسابيع بدون طعام ، لكنهم لا يستطيعون البقاء على قيد الحياة لمدة 3 إلى 4 أيام بدون ماء. المياه النظيفة ضرورة للحياة ، لكن نسبة المياه النظيفة المتوفرة لنا تنخفض بشكل كبير يومًا بعد يوم بسبب تلوثها.

 

بقلم اربيت ساكسينا


 

اعتبارا من 2021، 785 مليون شخص لا يحصلون على خدمات مياه الشرب الأساسية ، أي 1 من كل 10 أشخاص ، بما في ذلك 144 مليون يشربون المياه السطحية غير المعالجة.

 

هل تنفد المياه النظيفة في العالم؟
تخبرنا هذه الصورة عن مستقبل العالم في السنوات القادمة. كيف ينفد العالم من المياه النظيفة.

 

مخاطر الصحة العامة بسبب مياه الشرب غير الآمنة

مجرد الوصول لا يكفي ، فنوعية المياه هي الأكثر أهمية. هناك فجوة كبيرة في توفير خدمات مياه الشرب الأساسية. يؤدي استهلاك المياه الملوثة إلى انتقال الأمراض الخطيرة مثل الكوليرا والإسهال والدوسنتاريا والتهاب الكبد أ والتيفوئيد وغيرها الكثير.

 

الإسهال هو المرض الخطير الأكثر شهرة وينتقل عن طريق استهلاك المياه الملوثة. استهلاك المياه الملوثة أسباب 485 إسهال وفيات كل عام. في عام 2017 ، حول 220 مليون كان الناس بحاجة إلى علاج وقائي من داء البلهارسيات - وهو مرض مزمن تسببه الديدان الطفيلية التي تنتقل عن طريق استهلاك المياه الملوثة.

 

شكل 1

.

 

لا تؤدي مياه الشرب الملوثة إلى انتقال الأمراض القاتلة فحسب ، بل تؤدي أيضًا إلى الوفاة. حول 1.23 مليون شخص ماتوا نتيجة استهلاك المياه غير الآمنة في عام 2017 (الشكل 1).

 

احتلت المياه غير المأمونة المرتبة التاسعة عشرة ، متجاوزة استخدام المخدرات وسوء الصرف الصحي لتصبح أحد أكبر أسباب وعوامل الخطر للوفيات في جميع أنحاء العالم.

 

الدخل عامل رئيسي في تحديد مستوى الوصول إلى المياه النظيفة

دخل معيار مهم لتحديد مستوى الوصول إلى مصادر المياه المحسنة.

 

من عام 1990 إلى عام 2015 لم يكن هناك أي تغيير في الوصول إلى مصادر المياه المحسنة بين حصة السكان ذات الدخل المرتفع. لا تزال مجموعة الدخل المرتفع تتمتع بإمكانية الوصول إلى هذه المصادر بنسبة 100٪. بينما كان الوصول لنسبة الدخل المنخفض من السكان حولها 46% في عام 1990 وارتفع إلى 66% في عام 2015 (الشكل 2).

 

الشكل 2

.

 

التفاوت بين البلدان المتقدمة والبلدان النامية من حيث الوصول إلى مصادر مياه الشرب المحسنة

في 2017، 90% من سكان العالم الوصول إلى مصادر المياه المحسنة. يتزايد هذا العدد يومًا بعد يوم بسبب تحسين تقنيات مياه الشرب المحسنة التي ينتج عنها مياه خالية من التلوث.

 

الشكل 3


.

 

لم تتغير نسبة السكان الذين يمكنهم الوصول إلى مياه الشرب المحسنة في المملكة المتحدة حيث كان الناس يتمتعون بالفعل بإمكانية الوصول إلى هذه المصادر بنسبة 100٪. يتحسن الوضع في دول مثل الهند والبرازيل وأيرلندا. في كينيا ، تحسن الوضع كثيرًا على مدار الـ 25 عامًا الماضية. ارتفع الوصول إلى مصادر المياه المحسنة من 43% في شنومك ل 63% في عام 2015 (الشكل 3)

 

ارتفعت نسبة السكان الذين يمكنهم الوصول إلى مصادر الشرب المحسنة في جميع أنحاء العالم 76% في شنومك ل 91% في عام 2015. على مدى السنوات الخمس والعشرين الماضية ، زاد عدد الأشخاص الذين يمكنهم الوصول إلى مصادر مياه الشرب المحسنة بنسبة 107 مليون كل عام في المتوسط. على أساس يومي ، 290,000 شخص حصلوا على مياه الشرب. (الشكل - 4)

 

الشكل 4


.

 

غالبًا ما تفتقر الأسر الريفية إلى الوصول إلى مياه الشرب

ما يقرب من نصف السكان في آسيا وأفريقيا لا يزالون يعيشون في المناطق الريفية وينتمون إلى فئة الدخل المنخفض. الأسر الفقيرة في المجتمعات الريفية هي الأكثر عرضة للتخلف عن الركب.

 

الشكل 5


.

 

تقع جميع البلدان فوق خط التكافؤ (إذا كان بلد ما يقع على هذا الخط ، فإن نسبة سكان الحضر والريف هي نفسها (على سبيل المثال - إسرائيل)) مع استثناءات قليلة جدًا (لا سيما بنغلاديش). في إثيوبيا ، كانت نسبة سكان الحضر الذين يمكنهم الوصول إلى مياه الشرب المُدارة بأمان موجودة 39% بينما في المناطق الريفية كان حولها 4%. في أوغندا ، كانت نسبة سكان الحضر حولها 18% وبالنسبة للريف ، كان موجودًا 4%. تميل نسبة السكان الذين يحصلون على مياه الشرب المُدارة بشكل آمن نحو المناطق الحضرية أكثر من المناطق الريفية (الشكل 5).

 

عدد الأشخاص الذين ليس لديهم إمكانية الوصول إلى مصادر مياه الشرب المحسنة حسب المنطقة

في 1990 ، تقريبا 42% من أولئك الذين لم يتمكنوا من الوصول إلى مصادر مياه الشرب المحسنة كانوا من شرق آسيا والمحيط الهادئ. بحلول عام 2015 ، انخفض هذا الرقم إلى 20%. في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا ، حولها 1.17 مليار لم يتمكنوا من الوصول إلى مصادر مياه الشرب المحسنة في عام 1990. وانخفض هذا الرقم إلى 600 مليون في عام 2015 بسبب النمو الاقتصادي في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا (الشكل 6)

 

الشكل 6


.

 

انخفضت نسبة الأشخاص الذين لا يمكنهم الوصول إلى مصادر مياه الشرب المحسنة في جميع المناطق على مدى السنوات الخمس والعشرين الماضية ، باستثناء أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى.

 

في عام 2015 ، ظل الوصول إلى مصادر المياه المحسنة في أدنى مستوياته في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى ، حيث تراوحت المعدلات بين 40% إلى 80% من الأسر. ارتفع عدد الأفارقة من جنوب الصحراء الذين لا يحصلون على مصادر مياه الشرب من 271 مليون في شنومك ل 326 مليون في 2015.

 

يمكن أن يُعزى عدم توفر الوصول إلى مياه الشرب في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى إلى الندرة الاقتصادية والنمو السكاني السريع وتغير المناخ.

 

حلول منخفضة التكلفة لتحسين الوصول إلى مياه الشرب النظيفة

1. الغليان 

إن أبسط وأرخص طريقة لتنقية المياه هي غليها لفترة زمنية جيدة. يؤدي الغليان في درجات حرارة عالية إلى تبديد البكتيريا والفيروسات وإزالة جميع الشوائب من الماء ومن ثم تصفيته من خلال غربال صغير المسام مما يجعل الماء صالحًا للشرب.

 

2. تطبيق نظام حصاد مياه الأمطار

تراكم مياه الأمطار من الأسطح التي تسقط عليها وتخزينها بعد ذلك هو ممارسة قام بها البشر لعدة قرون.

 

إنها طريقة مفيدة لتقليل الاعتماد على أنظمة إمدادات المياه البلدية وتوفير المياه للمناطق الريفية النائية التي قد لا تكون متصلة بإمدادات المياه التقليدية.

 

3. ترشيح المياه

تستخدم هذه الطريقة عمليات كيميائية وفيزيائية لتنقية المياه وجعلها آمنة للشرب. يقضي الترشيح على كل من المركبات الكبيرة والملوثات الصغيرة والخطيرة التي تسبب الأمراض من خلال عملية ترشيح بسيطة وسريعة.

 

نظرًا لأن الترشيح لا يستنفد جميع الأملاح المعدنية ، فإن المياه التي تمت تصفيتها تعتبر أكثر صحة مقارنة بالمياه التي تمت تنقيتها باستخدام طرق أخرى. العامل الذي يجعل الترشيح أقل تكلفة هو أنه لا يتطلب الكثير من الطاقة مقارنة بالطاقة اللازمة في التناضح العكسي والتقطير.

 

4 الكلورة

أ) استخدام أقراص الكلور

الكلور مطهر يجعل المياه صالحة للشرب. يعد استخدام أقراص الكلور من أرخص الطرق لتحسين جودة المياه.

 

ب) المعالجة بالكلور الكهربائي

تعتبر المعالجة بالكلور بالكهرباء تقنية فعالة للغاية واقتصادية لتطهير المياه. مما لا يثير الدهشة ، أنه يتم استخدامه في جميع أنحاء العالم ، على جميع المستويات ، من وحدات المعالجة بالكلور الكهربائية الشخصية في المواقع البعيدة إلى المصانع الضخمة التي تعالج المياه الصالحة للشرب لمدينة بأكملها.

 

عملية معالجة المياه بالكلور الكهربائي
تخبرنا هذه الصورة بأهمية المعالجة بالكلور الكهربائي في المناطق النائية. كيف يكون مفيدًا حقًا للمناطق النائية حيث لا تتوفر الطاقة الكهربائية ،

 

مزايا استخدام المعالجة بالكلور الكهربائي لتحسين الوصول إلى مياه الشرب النظيفة مذكورة أدناه:

 

أ) العملية غير مكلفة نسبيًا مقارنة بالعمليات الأخرى.

 

ب) تعتبر من أكثر العمليات فعالية لتحلية مياه البحر.

 

ج) لها متطلبات تشغيلية بسيطة يمكن التعامل معها بسهولة حتى من قبل شخص غير تقني.

 

د) تتطلب هذه العملية ثلاثة أشياء فقط: التيار الكهربائي والماء والملح الشائع.

 

5. استخدام وحدات تحكم الري الذكية

من خلال استبدال مؤقتات النظام الأوتوماتيكي التقليدي ، تم تطوير وحدات تحكم ذكية في الري لتقليل استخدام المياه في الهواء الطلق من خلال تمكين المالكين من إنشاء جدول مياه فعال للحفاظ على صحة النباتات والتحكم عن بعد في أنظمتها باستخدام الأجهزة الذكية.

 

إنه مفيد بشكل خاص في المناطق المجهدة بالمياه حيث يتيح الحفاظ على موارد المياه المحدودة.

 

يمكن اتخاذ بعض الإجراءات الأخرى لحل مشكلة مياه الشرب في المناطق الريفية ، مثل تركيب وحدات التناضح العكسي (RO) ، والتعرض للأشعة فوق البنفسجية ، ومعالجة النفايات الزراعية ، واستخدام عجلات المياه ، وعوامل التلبد (الجيلاتين ، وصمغ الغوار ، إلخ.).

 

على مدى العقدين الماضيين ، كان هناك العديد من التحسينات في جميع أنحاء العالم فيما يتعلق بالحصول على المياه النظيفة. ومع ذلك ، أدى ارتفاع عدد السكان إلى زيادة استهلاك المياه مما أدى إلى ندرتها. وإذا واصلنا اتباع نفس الاتجاه ، فسيأتي وقت لا يتوفر فيه ما يكفي من المياه لإرواء عطش سكان العالم.

 

الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست WorldRef.


 

انقر فوق الرابط أدناه لاستكشاف الحلول الصناعية وفقًا لمتطلباتك

 

معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي

785 Million People Don’t Have Access To Safe Drinking Water in 2021

GlobalisationSafe Drinking WaterWaterWater Treatment

July 10th, 2021

Human beings can survive three weeks without food, but they cannot survive for even 3 to 4 days without water. Clean water is a necessity of life, but the percentage of clean water available to us is drastically dropping day by day due to its contamination.

 

By Arpit Saxena


 

As of 2021, 785 million people do not have access to basic drinking water services i.e. 1 in 10 people, including the 144 million who drink untreated surface water.

 

Is the world running out of clean water?
This image apprises us about the future of the world in the coming years. How the world is running out of clean water.

 

Public Health Hazards Due to Unsafe Drinking Water

Mere access is not enough, the quality of water matters the most. There is a huge gap in providing basic drinking water services. Consumption of contaminated water leads to the transmission of hazardous diseases such as cholera, diarrhea, dysentery, hepatitis A, typhoid, and many more.

 

Diarrhea is the most widely known hazardous disease which is transmitted by consumption of contaminated water. Consumption of contaminated water causes 485 000 diarrheic deaths every year. In 2017, around 220 million people were in need of preventive treatment for schistosomiasis – a chronic disease caused by parasitic worms which are transmitted through the consumption of infected water.

 

Figure-1

.

 

Contaminated drinking water not only leads to the transmission of fatal diseases but also leads to death. Around 1.23 million people died as a result of the consumption of unsafe water in 2017 (Figure- 1).

 

Unsafe water has been ranked 19th, surpassing drug usage and poor sanitation to become one of the biggest causes and risk factors for deaths around the world.

 

Income is a Major Factor in Determining the Level of Access to Clean Water

Income is an important criteria to determine the level of access to improved water sources.

 

From 1990 to 2015 there was no change in the access to improved water sources among the high-income share of the population. The high-income group still enjoys 100% access to these sources. While access for the low-income share of the population was around 46% in 1990 and it rose to 66% in 2015 (Figure- 2).

 

Figure- 2

.

 

The Disparity Between Developed and Developing Countries in Terms of Access to Improved Drinking Water Sources

In 2017, 90% of the world population had access to improved water sources. This number is increasing day by day due to the enhancement of improved drinking water technologies which results in water free from contamination.

 

Figure- 3


.

 

The share of the population with access to improved drinking water has not changed in the United Kingdom as people were already enjoying 100% access to these sources. In countries like India, Brazil, and Ireland the situation is getting better. In Kenya, the situation has improved a lot over the past 25 years. The access to improved water sources rose from 43% in 1990 to 63% in 2015. (Figure- 3)

 

The share of the population with access to improved drinking sources across the world rose from 76% in 1990 to 91% in 2015. Over the past 25 years, the number of people with access to improved drinking water sources increased by 107 million every year on average. On an everyday basis, 290,000 people gained access to drinking water. (Figure- 4)

 

Figure- 4


.

 

Rural Households Often Lack Access To Drinking Water

Almost half of the population in Asia and Africa still live in rural areas and belong to the low-income group. Poor families in rural communities are most at risk of being left behind.

 

Figure- 5


.

 

All the countries lie above the line of parity ( if a country lies along this line then the share of the urban and rural population is the same (For example- Israel)) with very few exceptions ( notably- Bangladesh). In Ethiopia, the share of the urban population that has access to safely managed drinking water was around 39% while for rural it was around 4%. In Uganda, the share of the urban population was around 18% and for the rural, it was around 4%. The share of the population having access to safely managed drinking water is more inclined towards urban areas than rural areas (Figure- 5).

 

Number of People Who Don’t Have Access to Improved Drinking Water Sources by Region

In 1990, almost 42% of those who didn’t have access to improved drinking water sources were from East Asia & the Pacific. By 2015, this number had fallen to 20%. In the Middle East & North Africa, around 1.17 billion didn’t have access to improved drinking water sources in 1990. This number had fallen to 600 million in 2015 due to the economic growth in the Middle East & North Africa (Figure- 6)

 

Figure- 6


.

 

The percentage of people without access to improved drinking water sources has fallen across all the regions over the past 25 years, with the exception of Sub-Saharan Africa.

 

In 2015, the access to improved water sources remained lowest in Sub-Saharan Africa, where rates ranged from 40% to 80% of households. The number of Sub-Saharan Africans without access to drinking water sources increased from 271 million in 1990 to 326 million in 2015.

 

This unavailability of access to drinking water in Sub-Saharan Africa can be attributed to economic scarcity, rapid population growth, and climate change.

 

Low-Cost Solutions for Improving Access to Clean Drinking Water

1. Boiling 

The simplest and the cheapest method to purify water is to boil it for a good amount of time. Boiling at high temperatures causes the bacteria and virus to dissipate, removing all the impurities from the water and then straining it through a microporous sieve making water fit for drinking.

 

2. Implementing Rainwater Harvesting

Accumulating rainwater from surfaces on which it falls and subsequently storing it is a practice that has been carried out by humans for centuries.

 

It is a useful way of reducing the reliance on municipal water supply systems and providing water to remote rural areas that may not be connected to the conventional water supply.

 

3. Filtration of Water

This method uses chemical and physical processes to purify water and make it safe for drinking purposes. Filtration eliminates both large compounds and small, and dangerous contaminants that cause diseases with a simple and quick filtration process.

 

Since filtration does not deplete all the mineral salts, water that has been filtered is considered healthier compared to water purified using other methods. The factor that makes filtration less costly is that it does not require a lot of energy as compared to the energy needed in reverse osmosis and distillation.

 

4. Chlorination

a) Using Chlorine Tablets

Chlorine being a disinfectant makes the water fit for drinking purposes. The use of chlorine tablets is one of the cheapest ways to improve the quality of water.

 

b)Electrochlorination

Electrochlorination is a highly effective and economical technique for disinfecting water. Unsurprisingly,  it is used all over the world, at all scales, from personal electrochlorination units in remote locations to huge industrial plants treating potable water for an entire city.

 

Electrochlorination Water Treatment Process
This image apprises us of the importance of electrochlorination in remote areas. How it is really beneficial for the remote areas where electric power is not available,

 

The advantages of using Electrochlorination to improve access to clean drinking water are mentioned below:

 

a) The process is relatively inexpensive compared to other processes.

 

b) It is one of the most effective processes to desalinate seawater.

 

c) It has simple operational requirements which can easily be handled by even a non-technical person.

 

d) This process only requires three things: electric current, water, and common salt.

 

5. Using Smart Irrigation Controllers

By replacing traditional automatic system timers, smart irrigation controllers have been developed to reduce outdoor water usage by enabling owners to create an efficient water schedule to keep plants healthy and remotely control their systems using smart devices.

 

It is particularly useful in water-stressed areas where it enables the conservation of limited water resources.

 

Some more measures can be taken to solve the drinking water problem in rural areas, such as installing reverse osmosis (RO) units, exposure to UV radiation, treatment of agricultural waste, use of water wheels, and flocculating agents (Gelatin, Guar gum, etc.).

 

Over the past two decades, there have been several improvements across the world regarding access to clean water. However, the rise in population has resulted in an increase in the consumption of water leading to its scarcity. And if we keep on following the same trend, then a time will come when there won’t be enough water to quench the thirst of the world’s population.

 

The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not the WorldRef.


 

Click the link below to explore industrial solutions as per your requirements

 

Water & Waste Water Treatment