كيف بدا إنتاج الصلب العالمي على مدار الخمسين عامًا الماضية

التعدين والمعادنالفولاذاستدامة

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

25 يناير، 2022

الصلب هو أساس مبانينا ومركباتنا وصناعاتنا ، حيث تم إنتاج 1,864،2020 مليون طن متري من الفولاذ الخام في عام XNUMX ، وفقًا لجمعية الصلب العالمية.

 

By

كاتب ، بصري رأسمالي


 

  • الصلب هو أساس مبانينا ومركباتنا وصناعاتنا ، حيث تم إنتاج 1,864،2020 مليون طن متري من الفولاذ الخام في عام XNUMX.
  • تضاعف إنتاج الصلب العالمي بأكثر من ثلاثة أضعاف خلال الخمسين عامًا الماضية ، على الرغم من قيام دول مثل الولايات المتحدة وروسيا بتخفيض إنتاجها المحلي.
  • تكمن القوة الحقيقية للصلب في قابليتها لإعادة التدوير اللانهائي مع عدم فقدان الجودة كما أنها أقوى 1,000 مرة.

 

الرقم 1: تضاعف إنتاج الصلب ثلاث مرات في الخمسين عامًا الماضية.

تضاعف إنتاج الصلب ثلاث مرات في الخمسين عامًا الماضية

 

تصور 50 عامًا من إنتاج الصلب العالمي

 

من العصر البرونزي إلى العصر الحديدي ، حددت المعادن عصور من تاريخ البشرية. إذا كان لابد من تعريف عصرنا الحالي بالمثل ، فإنه سيعرف بلا شك باسم عصر الفولاذ.

 

الصلب هو أساس مبانينا ومركباتنا وصناعاتنا ، وغالبًا ما يُنظر إلى معدلات إنتاجه واستهلاكه على أنها مؤشرات لتنمية الدولة. اليوم ، هو المعدن الأكثر استخدامًا في العالم وأكثر المواد المعاد تدويرها ، مع 1,864 مليون إنتاج طن متري من الصلب الخام في عام 2020.

 

يستخدم هذا الرسم البياني بيانات من الرابطة العالمية للصلب لتصور 50 عامًا من إنتاج الصلب الخام ، لإظهار الإبداع الذي لا يلين في عالمنا لهذه المادة الأساسية.

 

حالة إنتاج الصلب

 

تضاعف إنتاج الصلب العالمي بأكثر من ثلاثة أضعاف خلال الخمسين عامًا الماضية ، على الرغم من قيام دول مثل الولايات المتحدة وروسيا بتقليص إنتاجها المحلي والاعتماد بشكل أكبر على الواردات. وفي الوقت نفسه ، نمت الصين والهند باستمرار إنتاجهما لتصبحا أكبر دولتين منتجين للصلب.

 

الرقم 2: أكبر الدول المنتجة للصلب الخام في العالم بحلول عام 2020

أكبر الدول المنتجة للصلب الخام في العالم حاليًا بحلول عام 2020

 

على الرغم من هيمنتها الحالية ، يمكن أن تستعد الصين لذلك تقليص إنتاج الصلب المحلي للحد من مخاطر الإنتاج المفرط وضمان قدرته على الوصول إلى الحياد الكربوني بحلول عام 2060.

 

مع ارتفاع أسعار خام الحديد والصلب في العام الماضي ، قد ينخفض ​​الطلب الأمريكي قريبًا اعتمادًا على إجراءات إدارة بايدن. من شأن مشروع قانون محتمل للبنية التحتية أن يجلب الاستثمار في مصانع الصلب الأمريكية لبناء الإمدادات من أجل المستقبل ، وأي مضايقة بشأن التعريفات الجمركية لإدارة ترامب لعام 2018 على الصلب المستورد يمكن أن تزيد من تخفيف قيود التوريد.

 

سر الصلب: قابلية لا نهائية لإعادة التدوير

 

يتكون الفولاذ بشكل أساسي من خام الحديد ، وهو عبارة عن سبيكة تحتوي أيضًا على أقل من 2٪ كربون و 1٪ منجنيز وعناصر أثرية أخرى. في حين أن الاختلاف المحدد قد يبدو صغيرًا ، يمكن أن يكون الفولاذ أقوى 1,000 ​​مرات من الحديد.

 

ومع ذلك ، تكمن القوة الحقيقية للصلب في قابلية إعادة التدوير اللانهائية مع عدم فقدان الجودة. بغض النظر عن الدرجة أو التطبيق ، يمكن دائمًا إعادة تدوير الفولاذ ، بمنتجات فولاذية جديدة تحتوي على 30٪ من الفولاذ المعاد تدويره في المتوسط.

 

تجعل الخصائص المغناطيسية للسبائك من السهل التعافي من تيارات النفايات ، ويمكن استخدام ما يقرب من 100٪ من المنتجات المشتركة لصناعة الصلب في الصناعات الأخرى أو توليد الكهرباء.

 

من المناسب إذن أن يشكل الفولاذ أجزاء أساسية من تقنيات الطاقة المستدامة المختلفة:

 

  • متوسط ​​توربينات الرياح مصنوعة من الفولاذ بنسبة 80٪ في المتوسط ​​(140 طنًا متريًا).
  • يستخدم الفولاذ في القاعدة والمضخات والخزانات والمبادلات الحرارية لمنشآت الطاقة الشمسية.
  • يعتبر الفولاذ الكهربائي أساس مولدات ومحركات المركبات الكهربائية والهجينة.

 

الاستدامة المستقبلية لصناعة الصلب

 

بالنظر إلى الدور الحاسم الذي يلعبه الفولاذ في كل صناعة تقريبًا ، فلا عجب أن الأسعار ترتفع إلى مستويات قياسية. ومع ذلك ، يفكر منتجو الصلب في الاستدامة على المدى الطويل ، ويعملون على تحقيق ذلك الفولاذ الخالي من الوقود الأحفوري حقيقة واقعة عن طريق إزالة الفحم تمامًا من عملية التعدين.

 

في حين أن الصناعة قد خفضت بالفعل متوسط ​​كثافة الطاقة لكل طن متري يتم إنتاجه من 50 جيجا جول إلى 20 جيجا جول منذ الستينيات ، فإن الشركات العملاقة المنتجة للصلب مثل ArcelorMittal تمضي إلى أبعد من ذلك وتضع خططها لـ انبعاثات الكربون إنتاج الصلب بحلول عام 2050.

 

من المقرر أن يستمر استهلاك الصلب والطلب عليه في الارتفاع مع إعادة فتح الاقتصاد العالمي تدريجياً ، خاصةً في ريو تينتو تطور جديد يمكن أن يؤدي استخدام مسحوق الفولاذ المُتذبذب إلى التطور التالي في الطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد.

 

مع استمرار الصناعة في الابتكار في كل من الاستدامة وقابلية الاستخدام ، سيستمر الفولاذ في كونه مادة حيوية عبر الصناعات التي يمكننا إعادة تدويرها والاعتماد عليها بلا حدود.

 

نُشر هذا المقال في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي بالتعاون مع Visual Capitalist ، في 08 يونيو 2021 ، وتم إعادة نشره وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.

 


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد

What global steel production has looked like over the last 50 years

Mining and MineralsSteelSustainability

Sharing is caring

January 25th, 2022

Steel is the foundation of our buildings, vehicles, and industries, with 1,864 million metric tons of crude steel produced in 2020, according to the World Steel Association.

 

By

Writer, Visual Capitalist


 

  • Steel is the foundation of our buildings, vehicles, and industries, with 1,864 million metric tons of crude steel produced in 2020.
  • Global steel production has more than tripled over the past 50 years, despite nations like the U.S. and Russia scaling down their domestic production.
  • Steel’s true strength lies in its infinite recyclability with no loss of quality and it being 1,000x stronger.

 

Figure 1: Steel production has tripled in the last 50 years.

Steel production has tripled in the last 50 years

 

Visualizing 50 years of global steel production

 

From the bronze age to the iron age, metals have defined eras of human history. If our current era had to be defined similarly, it would undoubtedly be known as the steel age.

 

Steel is the foundation of our buildings, vehicles, and industries, with its rates of production and consumption often seen as markers for a nation’s development. Today, it is the world’s most commonly used metal and most recycled material, with 1,864 million metric tons of crude steel produced in 2020.

 

This infographic uses data from the World Steel Association to visualize 50 years of crude steel production, showcasing our world’s unrelenting creation of this essential material.

 

The state of steel production

 

Global steel production has more than tripled over the past 50 years, despite nations like the U.S. and Russia scaling down their domestic production and relying more on imports. Meanwhile, China and India have consistently grown their production to become the top two steel-producing nations.

 

Figure 2: The world’s current top crude steel-producing nations by 2020 production

The world’s current top crude steel producing nations by 2020 production

 

Despite its current dominance, China could be preparing to scale back domestic steel production to curb overproduction risks and ensure it can reach carbon neutrality by 2060.

 

As iron ore and steel prices have skyrocketed in the last year, U.S. demand could soon lessen depending on the Biden administration’s actions. A potential infrastructure bill would bring investment into America’s steel mills to build supply for the future, and any walkbalk on the Trump administration’s 2018 tariffs on imported steel could further soften supply constraints.

 

Steel’s secret: Infinite recyclability

 

Made up primarily of iron ore, steel is an alloy which also contains less than 2% carbon and 1% manganese and other trace elements. While the defining difference might seem small, steel can be 1,000x stronger than iron.

 

However, steel’s true strength lies in its infinite recyclability with no loss of quality. No matter the grade or application, steel can always be recycled, with new steel products containing 30% recycled steel on average.

 

The alloy’s magnetic properties make it easy to recover from waste streams, and nearly 100% of the steel industry’s co-products can be used in other manufacturing or electricity generation.

 

It’s fitting then that steel makes up essential parts of various sustainable energy technologies:

 

  • The average wind turbine is made of 80% steel on average (140 metric tons).
  • Steel is used in the base, pumps, tanks, and heat exchangers of solar power installations.
  • Electrical steel is at the heart of the generators and motors of electric and hybrid vehicles.

 

The steel industry’s future sustainability

 

Considering the crucial role steel plays in just about every industry, it’s no wonder that prices are surging to record highs. However, steel producers are thinking about long-term sustainability, and are working to make fossil-fuel-free steel a reality by completely removing coal from the metallurgical process.

 

While the industry has already cut down the average energy intensity per metric ton produced from 50 gigajoules to 20 gigajoules since the 1960s, steel-producing giants like ArcelorMittal are going further and laying out their plans for carbon-neutral steel production by 2050.

 

Steel consumption and demand is only set to continue rising as the world’s economy gradually reopens, especially as Rio Tinto’s new development of atomized steel powder could bring about the next evolution in 3D printing.

 

As the industry continues to innovate in both sustainability and usability, steel will continue to be a vital material across industries that we can infinitely recycle and rely on.

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum in collaboration with Visual Capitalist, on June 08, 2021, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.

 


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems