انتعشت العولمة والتجارة العالمية من تأثير COVID 19

كوفيد 19العولمة او الوافدين الاجانب

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

4 أبريل، 2022

لقد أثبتت التنبؤات بأن الوباء قد يؤدي إلى نهاية العولمة أنها بعيدة كل البعد عن الواقع. في الواقع ، يبدو أن التجارة العالمية للسلع قد تعافت.

 

By

كاتب أول ، المحتوى التكويني


 

  • أكد تقرير الترابط العالمي أن التقارير عن زوال العولمة بسبب COVID-19 كانت سابقة لأوانها.
  • ارتفعت التجارة العالمية للبضائع إلى مستويات ما قبل الوباء على الرغم من مشاكل سلسلة التوريد.
  • لكن العديد من البلدان تواجه معدلات تضخم عالية وتكافح الدول النامية للتعافي ، مع محدودية فرص الحصول على اللقاحات.

 

لم يقوض COVID-19 العولمة كما توقع البعض. على الرغم من تضرر السفر والسياحة بشدة ، فقد ارتفعت التجارة الدولية خلال الوباء ، وفقًا لما ذكرته دراسة جديدة للترابط العالمي.

 

عادت التجارة وتدفقات رأس المال وحركة الإنترنت العالمية إلى مستويات ما قبل الوباء أو حتى أعلى منها. تسبب COVID-19 أيضًا في وقف مؤقت لإطلاق النار في حروب التجارة الدولية ، مع الولايات المتحدة والصين ، على سبيل المثال ، يتداولان خلال الوباء أكثر من ذي قبل.

 

هذه بعض النتائج التي توصل إليها تحديث مؤشر DHL Global Connectedness 2021 ، الذي شارك في تأليفه الدكتور ستيفن أ.ألتمان وكارولين آر باستيان ، وكلاهما باحثان في كلية ستيرن للأعمال بجامعة نيويورك. تستخدم الدراسة 3.5 مليون نقطة بيانات لتخطيط صحة العولمة من خلال قياس التدفقات الدولية للتجارة ورأس المال والمعلومات والأشخاص.

 

تشير البيانات حتى الآن إلى أن COVID-19 كان له تأثير أقل بكثير على العولمة من الأزمة المالية العالمية 2008-09 ، حيث من المقرر أن تصل معدلات الترابط إلى أعلى مستوى لها على الإطلاق في عام 2021 ، كما يقول التقرير.

 

ارتدت العولمة والتجارة العالمية من تأثير COVID-19:

 

يقول الدكتور ألتمان: "مع اقتراب عام 2021 من نهايته ، تبدو العولمة أقوى بكثير مما كانت عليه في المراحل الأولى من أزمة COVID-19".

 

ويضيف: "إن الانتعاش السريع للتجارة والتدفقات الأخرى يسلط الضوء على كيفية زيادة الروابط الدولية من قدرتنا على التغلب على التحديات".

 

"تراجعت معظم التدفقات حيث صدم الوباء العالم ، لكن العديد منهم عادوا أيضًا للعب أدوارًا حاسمة في مكافحة الفيروس وفي الانتعاش الاقتصادي."

 

طفرة في التجارة

 

على وجه الخصوص ، قفزت تجارة السلع فوق مستويات ما قبل الوباء مع تسارع وتيرة التعافي. هذا على الرغم من مشاكل سلسلة التوريد التي تسببها نقص الحاويات والسفن التي تنقلها والتوترات الدولية المستمرة ، كما يقول التقرير.

 

 

توقع بعض الخبراء أن الوباء سوف تقود الشركات إلى المصدر من داخل منطقتهم المحلية وليس عالميا. ولكن وفقًا للتقرير ، فإن التدفق الدولي للسلع ينمو بوتيرة أسرع من التدفقات داخل المناطق.

 

تحسن الترابط العالمي بشكل عام ، لكن حركة الناس لا تزال بطيئة.
 

كما تجاوزت تدفقات رأس المال التوقعات. استنادًا إلى بيانات مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة للتجارة والتنمية (أونكتاد) ، يقول التقرير إن معدل الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر يسير على الطريق الصحيح للوصول إلى مستويات ما قبل الجائحة في عام 2021.

 

يأتي هذا على الرغم من انخفاضه بأكثر من الثلث (35٪) خلال عام 2020 حيث أرجأت الشركات قرارات الاستثمار الأجنبي في مواجهة حالة عدم اليقين الاقتصادي ، وتفاقم ظروف الاقتصاد الكلي والقيود المفروضة على سفر الأعمال.

 

ربما تضاعفت معدلات نمو حركة المرور الدولية على الإنترنت في عام 2020 ، مع اتصال الأشخاص رقميًا بدلاً من الاتصال وجهاً لوجه ، لكنها انخفضت مع تسارع وتيرة التعافي. ويقول التقرير إن هذا يتماشى مع الاتجاه العام للتباطؤ الذي شهدناه قبل الوباء.

 

ومع ذلك ، تراجعت قيمة التجارة العالمية في الخدمات بمقدار الخمس في عام 2020 ، والذي كان بالكامل تقريبًا بسبب الانهيار في السفر والسياحة ، كما يوضح التقرير. في الربع الأخير من عام 2021 ، لا يزال السفر الدولي أقل بنسبة تزيد عن 80٪ عن مستواه السابق للوباء.

 

صورة إقليمية مختلطة

 

في حين لم يكن هناك "تراجع بالجملة عن النشاط الدولي" ، فإن حالة التعافي تختلف بشكل كبير من منطقة إلى أخرى ، كما يقول مؤلفو التقرير.

 

يجب أن يكون تعزيز أسس عالم متصل وتحقيق تكامل أفضل لأفقر بلدان العالم من الأولويات العاجلة في السياق الحالي.

 

لا تزال معظم البلدان أقل بكثير من مسارات النمو التي كانت عليها قبل انتشار الوباء ، ويواجه العديد منها ارتفاعًا في معدلات التضخم.

 

"الترابط العالمي الأقوى يمكن أن يساعد البلدان على النمو بشكل أسرع ويقلل بعض الضغط على مستويات الأسعار. في نهاية المطاف ، يوفر العالم المتصل - بالاستفادة من نقاط القوة المتنوعة التي يمكن لكل بلد تحقيقها - أفضل الاحتمالات لتحقيق انتعاش قوي ومستدام ".

 

يوفر توقعات كبار الاقتصاديين للمنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي في نوفمبر 2021 حذر من أن ظهور سلالات جديدة من COVID-19 يمكن أن يعرقل الانتعاش العالمي ، كما حذر صانعي السياسة من مخاطر ارتفاع التضخم.

 

وسلطت إحاطة المنتدى الضوء على فجوة اللقاحات كسبب رئيسي وراء تخلف الدول النامية عن الركب اقتصاديًا. وأشارت إلى أن 3.7٪ فقط من السكان في البلدان منخفضة الدخل قد تلقوا جرعة واحدة على الأقل مقارنة بـ 61٪ من الأشخاص في البلدان ذات الدخل المرتفع.

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 07 ديسمبر 2021 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

Globalization and world trade bounce back from the impact of COVID 19

Covid 19Globalisation

Sharing is caring

April 4th, 2022

Predictions the pandemic would spell the end of globalization have proved wide of the mark. In fact, it appears world trade of goods has recovered.

 

By

Senior Writer, Formative Content


 

  • Reports of the demise of globalization due to COVID-19 have proved premature, says global connectedness report.
  • World trade of goods has surged to pre-pandemic levels despite supply chain problems.
  • But many countries are facing high inflation rates and developing nations are struggling to recover, with limited access to vaccines.

 

COVID-19 has not undermined globalization as much as some had predicted. Although travel and tourism have been hard hit, international trade has surged during the pandemic, according to a new study of global connectedness.

 

Trade, capital flows and global internet traffic are back at, or even above, pre-pandemic levels. COVID-19 also caused a temporary ceasefire in international trade wars, with the United States and China, for example, trading more during the pandemic than before.

 

These are some of the findings of the DHL Global Connectedness 2021 Index Update, co-authored by Dr Steven A. Altman and Caroline R. Bastian, both research scholars at New York University’s Stern School of Business. The study uses 3.5 million data points to plot the health of globalization by measuring international flows of trade, capital, information and people.

 

The data so far suggests COVID-19 has had a much smaller impact on globalization than the 2008-09 global financial crisis, with rates of connectedness set to reach an all-time high in 2021, says the report.

 

Globalization and world trade bounce back from the impact of COVID-19:

 

“As 2021 draws to a close, globalization looks far stronger than it did in the early stages of the COVID-19 crisis,” says Dr Altman.

 

“The swift recoveries of trade and other flows highlight how international connections expand our capacity to overcome challenges,” he adds.

 

“Most flows plummeted as the pandemic shocked the world, but many have also roared back to play crucial roles in the fight against the virus and in the economic recovery.”

 

A surge in trade

 

In particular, trade in goods has surged above pre-pandemic levels as the recovery has gathered pace. This is in spite of supply chain problems caused by a shortage of containers and the ships to carry them and ongoing international tensions, the report says.

 

 

Some experts predicted the pandemic would lead companies to source from within their local region rather than globally. But, according to the report, the international flow of goods is growing faster than flows within regions.

 

Global connectedness has improved overall, but the movement of people remains slow.
 

Capital flows have also defied expectations. Based on UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) data, the report says the rate of foreign direct investment is on track to reach pre-pandemic levels in 2021.

 

This is despite having dropped by over a third (35%) during 2020 as firms deferred foreign-investment decisions in the face of economic uncertainty, worsening macroeconomic conditions and restrictions on business travel.

 

Growth rates for international internet traffic may have doubled in 2020, with people connecting digitally rather than face-to-face, but have dropped as the recovery has gained pace. This is in line with the general slowing trend seen before the pandemic, the report says.

 

However, the value of world trade in services dropped by a fifth in 2020, which was almost entirely due to the collapse in travel and tourism, the report explains. In the fourth quarter of 2021, international travel is still more than 80% below its pre-pandemic level.

 

A mixed regional picture

 

While there has been “no wholesale retreat from international activity”, the recovery situation varies significantly region-to-region, the authors of the report say.

 

“Bolstering the foundations of a connected world and better integrating the world’s poorest countries should be urgent priorities in the present context.

 

“Most countries remain far below their pre-pandemic growth trajectories, and many are confronting high inflation.

 

“Stronger global connectedness could help countries grow faster and reduce some of the pressure on price levels. Ultimately, a connected world – leveraging the diverse strengths each country can bring to bear – offers the best prospects for a strong and sustainable recovery.”

 

The World Economic Forum’s November 2021 Chief Economists Outlook warned the emergence of new strains of COVID-19 could derail the global recovery and also cautioned policymakers to beware the dangers of rising inflation.

 

The Forum’s briefing highlighted the vaccine gap as a major cause of developing nations being left behind economically. It noted that only 3.7% of the population in low-income countries had received at least one dose compared to 61% of people in high-income countries.

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on December 07, 2021, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions