كيف يمكن للممرات الخضراء أن تتيح الانتقال إلى الشحن الخالي من الانبعاثات

تغير المناخالشحن

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

مسيرة 1st، 2022

تقدم الممرات الخضراء طريقة لتوسيع نطاق حلول صناعة الشحن الخالية من الانبعاثات لتلبية الأهداف المناخية بحلول عام 2050. ندرس كيف يمكن أن يعمل طريقان تجاريان.

 

By

رئيس قسم البحث والتحليل المنتدى البحري العالمي

و

مشارك ، لجنة انتقالات الطاقة


 

  • سيتعين نشر أنواع الوقود والسفن عديمة الانبعاثات على نطاق واسع خلال العقد القادم لتحقيق أهداف الانبعاثات بحلول عام 2050.
  • تقدم الممرات الخضراء حلاً لتوسيع نطاق الطيارين والعروض التوضيحية للشحن المستدام في حلول على مستوى الصناعة.
  • المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي يختبر هذه الفرضيات في الموجة التالية: الممرات الخضراء، من خلال فحص طريقين تجاريين محتملين: أستراليا - اليابان وآسيا - أوروبا.

 

إن إزالة الكربون عن النقل البحري - المسؤول عن 3٪ من انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة العالمية (GHG) ولكن أكثر من 80٪ من التجارة العالمية - يتقدم بسرعة في جدول الأعمال ، بالنسبة لواضعي السياسات والصناعة على حدٍ سواء. في الخريف الماضي ، وقعت أكثر من 200 منظمة من النظام البيئي البحري على الوصول إلى صفر من التحالف دعوة للعمل من أجل شحن إزالة الكربون، يحث على اعتماد هدف على مستوى القطاع يتمثل في عدم وجود انبعاثات بحلول عام 2050 والنشر التجاري للسفن عديمة الانبعاثات بحلول عام 2030.
النبأ السار هو أن التقنيات المستخدمة في إنتاج الوقود والسفن عديمة الانبعاثات تكاد تكون جاهزة في السوق. تجري عمليات تجريبية وعروض إيضاحية للسفن عديمة الانبعاثات ، وينبغي أن تكون التقنيات الرئيسية لأكبر السفن متاحة بحلول نهاية عام 2024. ومع ذلك ، فإن نشر هذه الحلول عالميًا على نطاق واسع أمر معقد: صناعة النقل البحري متنوعة ومصنفة ومنظمة عالميًا من قبل المنظمة البحرية الدولية (IMO) لصالح 174 دولة عضو. في حين أن العمل العالمي سيكون حاسمًا على المدى الطويل ، فمن الأهمية بمكان أن نبدأ من مكان ما.

 

كيف يمكن أن تعمل الممرات الخضراء من حيث المبدأ

 

يمكن أن يؤدي إنشاء ممرات خضراء - طرق تجارية محددة بين محاور الموانئ الرئيسية حيث يتم دعم الحلول الخالية من الانبعاثات وإثباتها - إلى تجاوز هذا التعقيد. تتمثل الفكرة بشكل أساسي في تقليص التحدي المتمثل في التنسيق بين البنية التحتية للوقود والسفن ، في سلسلة القيمة وبين البلدان ، وصولاً إلى حجم يسهل إدارته ، مع الاحتفاظ بالمقياس اللازم لإحداث التأثير.

 

على طول الممر الأخضر ، يمكن لواضعي السياسات وضع أنظمة بيئية تمكينية مع تدابير تنظيمية مستهدفة وحوافز مالية وأنظمة سلامة ، والتي تمكن مجموعة فرعية من الصناعة من اتخاذ خطواتها الأولى. يمكن للصناعة اختيار مسار الوقود وإنشاء أنظمة لتعبئة الطلب وتقاسم التكاليف والفوائد بين مجموعة محدودة من الجهات الفاعلة بدرجة عالية من الثقة والثقة. ويمكن أن يكون لهذه الممرات "تأثيرات غير مباشرة" يمكن أن تؤدي إلى تقليل انبعاثات الشحن على الممرات الأخرى.

 

في تقريرنا الموجة التالية: الممرات الخضراء، نحن نختبر هذه الفرضيات من خلال فحص ممران أخضران محتملان ، وكلاهما يمكن أن يكون بمثابة محفزات عالية التأثير للانتقال إلى الشحن عديم الانبعاثات عالميًا.

 

ممر خام الحديد بين أستراليا واليابان

 

65 مليون طن من خام الحديد يتم تصديرها سنويًا من أستراليا إلى اليابان ، مما يجعلها واحدة من أكبر طرق تجارة المواد الجافة في العالم. كممر محتمل أول محتمل ، يستفيد المسار من ظروف الإنتاج المواتية لإنتاج الهيدروجين الأخضر ، حيث أعلنت الشركات النشطة في أستراليا بالفعل عن خطط لبناء ما يقرب من 30 جيجاواط من قدرة المحلل الكهربائي للهيدروجين بحلول عام 2030 ، مع وجود الكثير من هذه السعة بالقرب من مراكز انتاج خام الحديد والموانئ التي يشحن منها. بالنظر إلى أنه من المحتمل أن تكون أنواع وقود الشحن الخالية من الانبعاثات من مشتقات الهيدروجين الأخضر ، فمن المحتمل أن يستفيد المستثمرون في السفن عديمة الانبعاثات على هذا الطريق من مزايا التوريد والتكلفة.

 

ومع ذلك ، فإن السفن عديمة الانبعاثات هنا حيث سيكون تشغيلها في كل مكان أكثر تكلفة من السفن التي تعمل بالوقود الأحفوري - ونقدر زيادة بنسبة 50-65٪ في التكلفة الإجمالية لملكية مشغلي السفن في عام 2030. ويمكن تقليل فجوة التكلفة ، مع ذلك ، من خلال تشكيل مشاريع مشتركة و / أو استخدام آليات مبتكرة لتقاسم التكاليف وخفض الانبعاثات بين عدد قليل نسبيًا من الشركات في سلسلة القيمة على طول هذا الطريق. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكن أيضًا استخدام آليات السياسة مثل العقود مقابل الفروقات لسد فجوة التكلفة. إذا كانت هذه الآلية تستهدف هذا المسار تحديدًا ، فيمكنها سد فجوة التكلفة بأكملها بتكلفة سنوية تتراوح بين 250 و 350 مليون دولار.

 

ممر الحاويات بين آسيا وأوروبا

 

من بين أكبر ممرات الشحن في العالم ، يعتبر طريق الحاويات بين آسيا وأوروبا مسؤولاً عن توليد المزيد من انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة أكثر من أي طريق تجاري عالمي واحد. على الرغم من حجمها والعدد الكبير نسبيًا من الشركات التي لها حصة في تشغيلها ، فهي أيضًا مرشح واعد لتطوير ممر أخضر.

 

يحتوي المسار على العديد من الموانئ المحتملة للتزود بالوقود (مثل إعادة التزود بالوقود) ، بحيث يمكن أن يكون مصدر إمدادات الوقود من أوروبا أو الشرق الأوسط أو أستراليا (يتم نقله إلى الموانئ الآسيوية ذات الصلة). بالنظر إلى قدرة المحلل الكهربائي للهيدروجين المعلن عنها بحلول عام 2030 عبر المناطق الثلاث التي تجاوزت بالفعل 60 جيجاوات ، فمن المرجح أن تكون إمدادات الوقود متاحة لجهود إزالة الكربون الأولية على الطريق. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، هناك طلب متزايد على إزالة الكربون عبر سلسلة القيمة للطريق ، بما في ذلك أصحاب البضائع. علاوة على ذلك ، يمكن لخصائص جزء كبير من الشحن المشحون على الطريق أن تسمح لأصحاب البضائع بمشاركة التكاليف مع المستهلكين النهائيين دون زيادات كبيرة في أسعار التجزئة.

 

حتى مع افتراض أن إمدادات الوقود عديمة الانبعاثات للطريق سيتم الحصول عليها من مواقع منخفضة التكلفة مثل الشرق الأوسط أو أستراليا ، فمن المتوقع أن تزيد التكلفة الإجمالية للملكية بنسبة 35-45٪ لمشغلي السفن في عام 2030. الطلب المتوقع من أصحاب البضائع - تم إثباته مؤخرًا من قبل بيان طموح coZEV 2040 - آليات مثل ائتلافات الطلب المستهدفة ونظام الدفتر والمطالبات المحدد للممر يمكن أن تمكن من تقاسم التكلفة الإضافية عبر سلسلة القيمة. في حين أن مثل هذه الآليات معقدة لتطويرها وتنفيذها على الصعيد العالمي ، فإن مجموعة من الاتفاقيات الخاصة بالممر بين الشركات ذات المصلحة المشتركة في تخضير الممر يمكن أن تخفض عتبة العمل وتساعد في وضع نموذج لحل عالمي.

 

يمكن للسياسة أيضًا أن تلعب دورًا مهمًا - بينما يمس الممر عددًا أكبر من البلدان من مسار خام الحديد ، فإن تنفيذ حزمة الاتحاد الأوروبي "Fit for 55" وحدها يمكن أن يقلل فجوة التكلفة بنسبة 25٪ ، أو إذا تم إعادة تدوير الإيرادات من الممر لدعم الصفر. سفن الانبعاثات ، والقضاء عليها تماما.

 

خطوات نحو مستقبل الشحن الخالي من الانبعاثات

 

استكشف الممران بعمق تقرير ليست الخيارات الوحيدة: في الواقع ، يشير تحليلنا إلى وجود عدد من البدائل الممكنة. لكن هذين المثالين يقدمان دروسًا مهمة لانتقال الصناعة. من أجل استخلاص هذه الدروس بأكبر قدر ممكن من الوضوح ، اقترحنا حتى خارطة طريق لبناء هذه الممرات ، ورسم الخطوات اللازمة للتغلب على الحواجز الأولية وتمكين بدء تنفيذ الممرات بشكل هادف بحلول عام 2030.

 

الرقم: خارطة طريق طموحة وذات مصداقية محتملة لإزالة الكربون من ممر خام الحديد.

خارطة طريق طموحة وذات مصداقية محتملة لإزالة الكربون من ممر خام الحديد

 

الرقم: خارطة طريق طموحة وذات مصداقية محتملة لإزالة الكربون من ممر الحاويات.

خارطة طريق طموحة وذات مصداقية محتملة لإزالة الكربون من ممر الحاويات

 

سيكون الانتقال العالمي إلى الشحن الخالي من الانبعاثات معقدًا للجميع: المنظمة البحرية الدولية والحكومات الوطنية والصناعة البحرية. ولكن إذا كانت أفضل طريقة لأكل فيل هي لدغة واحدة في كل مرة ، فقد تكون الممرات الخضراء بالحجم المناسب لهذه اللحظة: كبيرة بما يكفي للصناعة لإغراق أسنانها فيها ، ولكنها ليست أكبر من أن تبتلعها. يشير عملنا إلى وجود فرص مجدية وعالية التأثير لبناء ممرات خضراء ، وأن هذه يمكن أن تفعل الكثير لتوليد الزخم نحو الشحن الخالي من الانبعاثات.

 

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 05 يناير 2022 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

How green corridors can enable the transition to zero-emission shipping

Climate ChangeShipping

Sharing is caring

March 1st, 2022

Green corridors offer a way to scale zero-emission shipping industry solutions to meet climate targets by 2050. We examine how two trade routes could work.

 

By

Head, Research and Analysis, Global Maritime Forum

And

Associate, Energy Transitions Commission


 

  • Zero-emission fuels and vessels will need to be deployed at scale over the next decade to meet emissions targets by 2050.
  • Green corridors offer a solution to scale pilots and demonstrations for sustainable shipping into industry-wide solutions.
  • World Economic Forum test these hypotheses in The Next Wave: Green Corridors, by examining two potential trade routes: Australia-Japan and Asia-Europe.

 

The decarbonization of shipping – responsible for 3% of global greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions but more than 80% of global trade – is rapidly moving up the agenda, for policymakers and industry alike. Last autumn more than 200 organizations from the maritime ecosystem signed the Getting to Zero Coalition’s Call to Action for Shipping Decarbonization, urging the adoption of a sector-wide goal of zero emissions by 2050 and the commercial deployment of zero-emission vessels by 2030.
The good news is that the technologies to produce zero-emission fuels and vessels are nearly market ready. Pilots and demonstrations of zero-emission vessels are underway, and the key technologies for the largest ships should be available by the end of 2024. Yet deploying these solutions globally at scale, is complex: the shipping industry is diverse, disaggregated, and globally regulated by the International Maritime Organization (IMO) in the interests of 174 member countries. While global action will be crucial in the long run, it is just as crucial to start somewhere.

 

How green corridors could work in principle

 

The creation of green corridors – specific trade routes between major port hubs where zero-emission solutions are supported and demonstrated – can cut through this complexity. Essentially, the idea is to shrink the challenge of coordination between fuel infrastructure and vessels, in the value chain and between countries, down to a more manageable size, while still retaining the scale necessary to create impact.

 

Along a green corridor, policymakers can put in place enabling ecosystems with targeted regulatory measures, financial incentives, and safety regulations, that enable a subset of the industry to take its first steps. Industry can choose a fuel pathway and create systems for mobilizing demand and sharing costs and benefits among a more limited set of actors, with a high degree of trust and confidence. And these corridors can have “spill-over effects” that can result in the reduction of shipping emissions on other corridors.

 

In our report The Next Wave: Green Corridors, we test these hypotheses by examining two potential green corridors, both of which could serve as high-impact catalysts for the transition to zero-emission shipping globally.

 

The Australia-Japan iron-ore corridor

 

The 65 million tonnes of iron ore exported annually from Australia to Japan, make this one of the largest dry-bulk trade routes in the world. As a potential first mover corridor, the route benefits from favourable production conditions for green hydrogen production, with companies active in Australia already having announced plans to build approximately 30GW of hydrogen electrolyser capacity by 2030, with much of this capacity located near to the centres of iron ore production and ports from which it is shipped. Given that zero-emission shipping fuels are likely to be derivatives of green hydrogen, investors in zero-emission ships on this route could potentially benefit from security of supply and cost advantages.

 

Nonetheless, zero-emission ships here as everywhere will be more expensive to operate than fossil-fuelled vessels – we estimate a 50-65% increase in the total cost of ownership for vessel operators in 2030. The cost gap can be reduced, however, by forming joint ventures and/or utilising innovative mechanisms to share costs and emission reductions among the relatively few companies in the value chain along this route. Additionally, policy mechanisms such as contracts for difference can also be used to bridge the cost gap. If such a mechanism specifically targeted this route, it could bridge the entire cost gap at an annual cost of $250-350 million.

 

The Asia-Europe container corridor

 

Among the largest shipping lanes in the world, the Asia-Europe container route is responsible for generating more GHG emissions than any other single global trading route. Despite its size and the comparatively large number of companies with a stake in its operation, it too is a promising candidate for developing a green corridor.

 

The route has multiple potential bunkering (e.g. refuelling) ports, so that fuel supply could originate from Europe, the Middle East or Australia (transported to relevant Asian ports). Given the announced hydrogen electrolyser capacity by 2030 across the three regions have already exceeded 60GW, fuel supply is likely to be available for initial decarbonization efforts on the route. Additionally, there is growing demand for decarbonization across the route’s value chain, including cargo owners. Moreover, the characteristics of a significant part of the freight shipped on the route can allow cargo owners to share costs with end consumers without significant increases in retail prices.

 

Even with the assumption that zero-emission fuel supply for the route will be sourced from low-cost locations such as the Middle East or Australia, a 35-45% increase in total cost of ownership is expected for vessel operators in 2030. Given the expected demand from cargo owners – recently evidenced by the coZEV 2040 Ambition Statement – mechanisms such as targeted demand coalitions and a corridor specific book-and-claim system could enable sharing of the additional cost across the value chain. While such mechanisms are complex to develop and implement globally, a set of corridor-specific agreements between companies with a shared interest in greening the corridor could lower the threshold for action and help set a template for a global solution.

 

Policy can also play a significant role – while the corridor touches more countries than the iron ore route, the implementation of the EU’s Fit for 55 package alone could reduce the cost gap by 25%, or if revenues from the corridor were recycled to support zero emissions ships, eliminate it completely.

 

Steps towards the future of zero-emission shipping

 

The two corridors explored in depth the report are not the only options: indeed, our analysis suggests that a number of feasible alternatives exist. But these two examples provide important lessons for the industry’s transition. In order to draw those lessons as clearly as possible, we have even proposed a roadmap for building these corridors, plotting the steps needed to overcome initial barriers and enable a meaningful roll-out of the corridors by 2030.

 

Figure: A potential credible, ambitious roadmap for decarbonization of the iron ore corridor.

A potential credible, ambitious roadmap for decarbonization of the iron ore corridor

 

Figure: A potential credible, ambitious roadmap for decarbonization of the containership corridor.

A potential credible, ambitious roadmap for decarbonization of the containership corridor

 

A global transition to zero-emission shipping will be complex for everyone: the IMO, national governments, and the maritime industry. But if the best way to eat an elephant is one bite at a time, green corridors may be the right size for this moment: big enough for the industry to sink its teeth into, but not too big to swallow. Our work suggests that feasible, high-impact opportunities to build green corridors exist, and that these could do a great deal to generate momentum towards zero-emission shipping.

 

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on January 05, 2022, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions