هل ازداد عدم المساواة في الدخل العالمي في المائة عام الماضية؟

عدم المساواة في الدخل العالمي

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

يوليو 15th، 2021

على مدى المائة عام الماضية ، كان هناك إصلاح حيوي في توزيع الدخل العالمي مما يدل على أننا نتجه نحو إنهاء عدم المساواة في الدخل العالمي في المستقبل القريب.

 

بقلم كونال كوشال


 

هل التفاوت في الدخل العالمي يتناقص أم يزداد سوءًا؟ منذ الثورة الصناعية ، انخفض التفاوت في الدخل العالمي. تشير الدراسات إلى أن النمو الاقتصادي على نطاق عالمي أدى إلى تراجع التفاوت في الدخل العالمي.

 

على مدى المائة عام الماضية ، كان هناك إصلاح حيوي في توزيع الدخل العالمي مما يدل على أننا نتجه نحو إنهاء عدم المساواة في الدخل العالمي في المستقبل القريب.

 

بين عامي 2008 و 2013 ، انخفض التفاوت العالمي بشكل كبير لأول مرة منذ الثورة الصناعية.

 

كانت البلدان المكتظة بالسكان مثل الهند والصين السبب الرئيسي وراء هذا الانخفاض التاريخي في عدم المساواة العالمية حيث كان هناك نمو كبير في متوسط ​​الدخل في هذه البلدان.

 

على الرغم من هذا التقدم ، لا يزال ثلثا سكان العالم يواجهون تفاوتًا في الدخل العالمي بسبب الاختلافات في متوسط ​​الدخل بين البلدان.

 

منذ عام 1956 ، حدث انخفاض كبير في عدم المساواة في الدخل في العديد من البلدان. انخفض عدم المساواة في الدخل في بلدان مثل الأرجنتين والمكسيك وبيرو والبرازيل والإكوادور والهند والولايات المتحدة ، بينما كان يميل إلى الزيادة في بعض البلدان مثل باراغواي وكوستاريكا وفنزويلا (الرسم البياني 1).

 

الرسم البياني 1-

.

 

معامل جيني-

يُشار إلى معامل جيني غالبًا بمؤشر جيني أو نسبة جيني هو مقياس لتوزيع الثروة عبر السكان. إنه يمثل عدم المساواة في الثروة أو الدخل داخل بلد ما أو بين مجموعة سكانية معينة.

 

تم تطويره من قبل الإحصائي الإيطالي كورادو جيني في عام 1912. يقاس المعامل بالقيمة بين 0 إلى 1 أو 0٪ إلى 100٪ ، ويعني معامل الصفر أن هناك توزيعًا متساويًا للثروة والدخل داخل بلد أو عدد سكان بينما معامل واحد يشير إلى وجود توزيع غير متكافئ للثروة أو الدخل.

 

ومع ذلك ، فإن معامل جيني ليس مقياسًا مطلقًا للثروة أو الدخل. إنه يقيس فقط تشتت الدخل أو الثروة.

 

يوضح الرسم البياني 2 معامل جيني للبلدان لعام 2019.

 

الرسم البياني 2-

.

 

توزيع الدخل حول العالم

من الصعب جدًا تصديق أنه حتى في هذا العصر المتقدم ، 85% من سكان العالم يعيشون على أقل من $30 في اليوم يعيش ثلثاهم على أقل من $10 في اليوم وكل عاشر يعيش على أقل من $1.90 في اليوم. لا يزال المليارات من الناس يحاولون تدبير أمورهم وتحقيق الضروريات الأساسية مثل الغذاء والماء والمأوى.

 

توزيع الدخل في جميع أنحاء العالم غير متكافئ. تتمتع الدول القوية اقتصاديًا مثل الولايات المتحدة واليابان والصين بنصيب الفرد من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي أعلى مقارنة بالدول الفقيرة مثل أفغانستان وبوروندي وأوغندا.

 

توزيع السكان حسب مستويات الدخل-

يمكن تقسيم السكان إلى ثلاثة أقسام بناءً على مستويات الدخل:

1. السكان ذوي الدخل المنخفض
2. السكان ذوي الدخل المتوسط
3. السكان ذوي الدخل المرتفع

 

حدث التغيير الأبرز بين عامي 2001 و 2011. خلال هذه الفترة انخفض الفقر بشكل ملحوظ. في عام 2001 كان السكان الفقراء في 1.6 مليار، ولكن بحلول عام 2011 انخفض العدد إلى 949 مليون.

 

في عام 2001 ، كان السكان ذوي الدخل المتوسط 398 مليون وبحلول عام 2011 ، ارتفع إلى 783 مليون عرض زيادة ملحوظة. خلال نفس الفترة الزمنية ارتفع عدد السكان ذوي الدخل المرتفع من 340 مليون ل 428 مليون.

 

ارتفعت مستويات الدخل لمختلف قطاعات المجتمع من عام 1960 إلى عام 2017. وقد شهد السكان ذوو الدخل المرتفع ، وفوق الدخل المتوسط ​​، والدخل المتوسط ​​الأدنى ، والسكان ذوي الدخل المنخفض ارتفاعًا هائلاً في مستويات دخلهم من 1960 إلى 2017.

 

الرسم البياني 3-

.

 

كيف تغيرت المداخيل حول العالم؟

على مدى العقود الأربعة الماضية ، تغير الدخل العالمي بشكل جذري. جلبت التطورات في التكنولوجيا والصناعة فرص عمل وفرت للناس دخلاً أعلى لعملهم وعملهم الشاق. نما العديد من البلدان الفقيرة في جنوب شرق آسيا بشكل أسرع من العديد من البلدان الغنية الأخرى.

 

نصيب الدخل للفقراء 10% زاد من 260 الولايات المتحدة دولار ل 480 الولايات المتحدة دولار وقد انتقل متوسط ​​الدخل من $1100 إلى $2010 (الرسم البياني 4).

 

الرسم البياني 4-

توزيع الدخل

 

التغيير في توزيع الدخل العالمي-

لقد أحدثت العولمة والتصنيع والتكنولوجيا العديد من التغييرات في السياسات الاقتصادية وتوزيع الدخل في جميع أنحاء العالم. أعطى النمو الاقتصادي العديد من الفرص للشركات والصناعات الجديدة لتزدهر وترسخ جذورها في السوق العالمية.

 

زاد تدفق الدخل من متوسط ​​راتب أفراد الطبقة الوسطى. ساعد التخفيف الضريبي والسياسات الاقتصادية الأخرى التي قدمتها الحكومة القطاعات الأضعف في المجتمع على الاستقرار المالي. رغم كل هذا ، لماذا لا يزال 3.4 مليار شخص يكافحون من أجل الضروريات الأساسية وتقريباً 63% من الناس يعيشون على أقل من $10 في اليوم؟

 

إنه بسبب التوزيع غير المتكافئ للدخل. البلدان ذات الدخل القومي المنخفض والنمو الاقتصادي المنخفض لديها توزيع غير عادل للثروة على السكان.

 

إذا كان متوسط ​​دخل الأشخاص في بلد ما منخفضًا ، فإن غالبية السكان سيحصلون على أجور منخفضة مقابل عملهم. ستأخذ الفئات ذات الدخل المرتفع من السكان غالبية دخل البلاد لأنها تتحكم في السياسات الاقتصادية للبلاد التي تعود بالفائدة على نفسها في هذه العملية.

 

متوسط ​​دخل الناس في العديد من البلدان منخفض للغاية وهو ما يحتاج إلى زيادة إذا أردنا معالجة الفقر العالمي ، وهذا لا يمكن أن يحدث إلا مع النمو الاقتصادي الكبير.

 

التوقعات المستقبلية للدخل العالمي

بحلول عام 2035 ، من المتوقع أن ينخفض ​​التفاوت في الدخل العالمي بشكل كبير ، مما يؤدي إلى إصلاح مستويات معيشتنا. سيعزز النمو الاقتصادي في اقتصادات الأسواق الناشئة الدخل العالمي. في العقود القادمة ، سينمو عدد سكان العالم ودخله بشكل كبير مما يؤدي إلى تغييرات سريعة في الاقتصاد العالمي. من المتوقع أن ينخفض ​​معامل جيني العالمي من 65 في شنومك ل 61 في 2035.

 

لقد تغير الدخل العالمي بشكل كبير خلال العقود القليلة الماضية ، ويبدو أن التوقعات المستقبلية للدخل العالمي تزدهر. الوتيرة التي نتحرك بها ستقلل بالتأكيد من عدم المساواة العالمية مما يجعل الطبقة الوسطى قوية ومستقرة ماليًا

 

الرسم البياني 5-

توزيع الدخل في 2003 و 2013 والتوقعات لعام 2035

 

هل تنمو الدول الفقيرة بشكل أسرع من الدول الغنية؟

في علم الاقتصاد ، يوضح مصطلح "التقارب" أن الدول الفقيرة تميل إلى النمو بمعدلات أسرع من الدول الغنية ، والمعروف أيضًا باسم تأثير اللحاق بالركب. تستند هذه النظرية إلى قانون تناقص العائدات الحدية المطبق على الاستثمارات.

 

ستعمل البلدان ذات الخلفيات الاقتصادية الفقيرة على تطوير سياساتها الاقتصادية والتجارية من خلال الحصول على تكنولوجيا جديدة والمشاركة في الأسواق العالمية والتي بدورها ستعزز اقتصاد بلدانها. سوف يجتذبون الاستثمارات من الدول الأجنبية من خلال جعل سياساتهم التجارية مربحة. وهذا بدوره سيؤدي إلى نمو اقتصادي كبير في بلدهم.

 

أظهرت دول مثل هونغ كونغ وسنغافورة وأيرلندا نموًا كبيرًا في الدخل من عام 1950 إلى عام 2010 بينما حققت دول مثل الولايات المتحدة نموًا ثابتًا في الدخل (الرسم البياني 6)

 

الرسم البياني 6-

 

فيما يتعلق بالحد من عدم المساواة في الدخل العالمي ، فقد تحسننا بشكل كبير ولكن لا تزال هناك دول تفتقر إلى مستويات المعيشة الأساسية. لقد نمت دول مثل الهند والصين وسنغافورة بقوة اقتصادية بمرور الوقت ، لكن دولًا مثل الصومال والسودان وبوروندي لا تزال تكافح لتلبية احتياجاتها.

 

على مدى العقود القليلة الماضية ، ارتفع متوسط ​​الدخل السنوي من $3,300 في شنومك ل $14,574 في عام 2016. أصبح الشخص العادي الآن أغنى 4.4 مرة مما كان عليه في عام 1950.

 

على وجه الدقة ، انخفض عدم المساواة في الدخل العالمي على مدار المائة عام الماضية ، وإذا ألقينا نظرة على الصورة الأكبر ، فقد أحرزنا تقدمًا هائلاً مع مرور الوقت ، لكن إنهاء عدم المساواة العالمية يحتاج إلى المزيد.

 

الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل توسعك العالمي أسهل واقتصاديًا!

 

العلامات التجارية العالمية | المشاركة في العطاءات العالمية | التحقق من الأعمال التجارية العالمية | خدمات مقاولات القوى العاملة العالمية | بعثة القوى العاملة العالمية | خدمات التوظيف العالمية | الاستثمار والتمويل | استشارات التمويل الدولي | الاستشارات القانونية والضريبية | دعم خدمة ما بعد البيع

Has Global Income Inequality Increased in the Last 100 Years?

gini indexGlobal Income Inequalityincome distribution

Sharing is caring

July 15th, 2021

Over the last 100 years there has been vital reformation in global income distribution which shows that we are heading towards ending global income inequality in the near future.

 

By Kunal Kaushal


 

Is global income inequality decreasing or becoming worse? Ever since the industrial revolution global income inequality has decreased. Studies show that economic growth on a global scale has resulted in the decline of global income inequality.

 

Over the last 100 years there has been vital reformation in global income distribution which shows that we are heading towards ending global income inequality in the near future.

 

Between 2008 and 2013, global inequality fell significantly for the first time since the industrial revolution.

 

Populous countries like India and China were the main reason behind this historic fall in global inequality as there was significant growth in average incomes in these countries.

 

Despite this progress, two-thirds of the world’s population is still facing global income inequality due to the differences in average incomes between countries.

 

Since 1956 there has been a significant decrease in income inequality across many countries. Inequality of income has decreased in countries like Argentina, Mexico, Peru, Brazil, Ecuador, India and the United States whereas it has tended to increase in some countries like Paraguay, Costa Rica and Venezuela (Graph 1).

 

Graph 1-

.

 

Gini Coefficient-

Gini coefficient often referred to as the Gini index or Gini ratio is a measure of the distribution of wealth across a population. It represents the wealth or income inequality within a country or over a certain population.

 

It was developed by Italian statistician Corrado Gini in 1912. The coefficient is measured in the value between 0 to 1 or 0% to 100%, a coefficient of zero implies that there is equal distribution of wealth and income within a country or population whereas a coefficient of one indicates that there is an unequal distribution of wealth or income.

 

However, a Gini coefficient is not an absolute measure of wealth or income. It only measures the dispersion of income or wealth.

 

Graph 2 shows the Gini coefficient of countries for the year 2019.

 

Graph 2-

.

 

Income Distribution Around the Globe

It is quite difficult to believe that even in this advanced era, 85% of the world population lives on less than $30 per day out of which two-thirds of them live on less than $10 per day and every tenth person lives on less than $1.90 per day. Billions of people are still trying to make ends meet and achieve basic necessities such as food, water and shelter.

 

The income distribution around the globe is uneven; economically strong countries like the United States, Japan and China have higher GDP per capita compared to poor countries like Afghanistan, Burundi and Uganda.

 

Distribution of Population Based on Income Levels-

Population can be divided into three sections based on income levels:

1. Low-income population
2. Middle-income population
3. High-income population

 

The most remarkable change happened between 2001 to 2011. During this period poverty decreased significantly. In 2001 the poor population was at 1.6 billion, but by 2011 the number fell to 949 million.

 

In 2001, the middle-income population was 398 million and by 2011, it moved up to 783 million showing a notable increase. During the same time period the high-income population increased from 340 million to 428 million.

 

Income levels of different sections of society have increased from 1960 to 2017. High income population, upper middle income, lower middle income, and low income population had a huge spike in their income levels from 1960 to 2017.

 

Graph 3-

.

 

How Have Incomes Changed Around the World?

Over the last four decades, world income has changed drastically. The advancements in technology and industry have brought job opportunities providing people higher incomes for their labor and hard work. Many poor countries in Southeast Asia have grown faster than many other rich countries.

 

The income share of the poorest 10% has increased from 260 US dollars to 480 US dollars and the median income has moved from $1100 to $2010 (Graph-4).

 

Graph 4-

Income distribution

 

View expanded version: Download Here

 

Change in Global Income Distribution-

Globalization, industrialization and technology has brought many changes in economic policies and income distributions around the world. Economic growth gave many opportunities to new businesses and industries to flourish and embed their roots in the global market.

 

The flow of income increased the average salary of middle class people. The tax relaxation and other economic policies provided by the government helped the weaker sections of the society to become financially stable. Despite all this, why do 3.4 billion people still struggle for basic necessities and almost 63% of people have to live on less than $10 per day?

 

It is because of the unequal distribution of income. Countries with low national income and less economic growth have uneven distribution of wealth over a population.

 

If the average income of people in a country is low then the majority of the population will get low wages for their work. High-income groups of the population will take the majority of the country’s income as they control the country’s economic policies benefiting themselves in the process.

 

The average income of people in many countries is very low which needs to increase if we want to tackle global poverty, and that can only happen with substantial economic growth.

 

Future Projections of Global Income

By 2035, global income inequality is projected to decline significantly, reforming our standards of living. The economic growth in emerging- market economies will boost global income. In the coming decades the world population and income will grow exponentially bringing rapid changes in the world economy. The global Gini coefficient is predicted to decline from 65 in 2013 to 61 in 2035.

 

Global income has drastically changed over the last few decades, and the future projections of global income seem to be thriving. The pace at which we are moving will certainly decrease global inequality making the middle class financially strong and stable.

 

Graph 5-

Income distribution in 2003, 2013 and projection for 2035

 

View expanded version: Download Here

 

Will Poor Countries Grow Faster Than Rich Countries?

In economics, the term ‘Convergence’ explains that poor countries will tend to grow at faster rates than the rich countries, also known as the catch- up effect. This theory is based on the law of diminishing marginal returns, applied to investments.

 

Countries with poor economic backgrounds will develop their economic and trading policies by acquiring new technology and participating in global markets which in turn will enhance the economy of their respective countries. They will attract investments from foreign countries by making their trading policies lucrative. This in turn will bring major economic growth in their country.

 

Countries like Hong Kong, Singapore and Ireland have shown significant income growth from 1950 to 2010 whereas countries like the United States had constant income growth (Graph 6)

 

Graph 6-

 

View expanded version: Download Here

 

In terms of reducing global income inequality we have improved significantly but there are still countries that lack basic standards of living. Countries like India, China and Singapore have grown economically strong with time however countries like Somalia, Sudan and Burundi are still struggling to meet their needs.

 

Over the last few decades the average annual income increased from $3,300 in 1950 to $14,574 in 2016. An average person is now 4.4 times richer than they were in 1950.

 

To be precise, global income inequality over the last 100 years has decreased and if we take a look at the bigger picture we have made huge progress with time but ending global inequality needs much more to it.

 

The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global expansion easier and economical!

 

Global Branding | Global Tender Participation | Global Business Verification | Global Manpower Contracting Services | Global Manpower Deputation | Global Recruitment Services | Investment & Financing | International Finance Advisory | Legal & Tax Advisory | After- Sales Service Support