كيف يمكن للذكاء الاصطناعي دعم التنوع والإنصاف والشمول؟

التنوع والشمول

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

29 أبريل، 2022

هناك تاريخ من عدم الثقة بين مجتمعات اللون والتقنيات الناشئة مثل الذكاء الاصطناعي. كيف يمكننا إعادة بناء الثقة والتأكد من استخدام الذكاء الاصطناعي بشكل أخلاقي؟

 

By

اخصائي تصميم المشاريع والاتصالات ، التحالف العالمي للذكاء الاصطناعي ، المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي


 

  • يقام شهر التاريخ الأسود خلال شهر فبراير في الولايات المتحدة وكندا والمملكة المتحدة.
  • إن حركة الحقوق المدنية في الولايات المتحدة والتكنولوجيا الناشئة متشابكتان بشكل وثيق ، لا سيما من منظور موجه نحو العدالة.
  • يجب أن يكون الذكاء الاصطناعي أخلاقيًا ومنصفًا في منهجه لضمان تمكين المجتمعات وإفادة المجتمع.

 

التحيز في الخوارزميات هو إشراف بشري مكلف. مكلفة بسبب تأثيرها الهائل على المجتمعات المهمشة والممثلة تمثيلا ناقصا. مع استمرار الذكاء الاصطناعي (AI) في التوسع عبر الصناعات والوظائف ، يمكن أن يكون مليئًا بالتحيزات اللاواعية التي تضر أكثر مما تنفع.

 

بينما يتحدث أخصائيو أخلاقيات الذكاء الاصطناعي وممارسو الذكاء الاصطناعي المسؤولون غالبًا عن الحاجة إلى مزيد من الشفافية والمساءلة في دورة حياة الذكاء الاصطناعي ، غالبًا ما يكون شهر التاريخ الأسود هو الوقت الذي تقوم فيه المنظمات بتقييم العمل الهائل الذي تم إنجازه والذي لا يزال يتعين القيام به.

 

نحن نثق في الذكاء الاصطناعي، وهو بودكاست شارك في استضافته ميريام فوجل من EqualAI و Kay Firth-Butterfield من المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، يستكشف الفرص والتحديات المتعلقة بتوسيع نطاق الذكاء الاصطناعي المسؤول. في حلقة شهر التاريخ الأسود لهذا العام ، كيف يؤثر (ويجب) على الذكاء الاصطناعي أن يؤثر على احتفالنا في BHM ، انضم إليهم رينيه كامينغز ، عالم أخلاقيات الذكاء الاصطناعي ، عالم الجريمة ، عالم مجتمع جامعة كولومبيا ، ومؤسس Urban AI.

 

تركز الحلقة على أهمية الإنصاف والشمول في الذكاء الاصطناعي ، وكذلك روابطها بالعدالة والمشاركة المدنية.

 

تاريخ التكنولوجيا في المجتمعات السوداء

داخل المجتمعات الملونة في الولايات المتحدة ، هناك تاريخ من عدم الثقة في التكنولوجيا - فقد أظهر تطبيق القانون ، والخدمات الاجتماعية ، والإسكان ، والرعاية الصحية جميعًا تفاوتًا وانعدامًا للمساواة خاصة خلال جائحة COVID-19. يوضح كامينغز أنه حتى في التاريخ الحديث ، تم استخدام العديد من المجتمعات كـ "خنازير غينيا" في البحث ، لذا فإن مستويات عدم الثقة تعتمد على الأجيال والصدمات. يتطلب نشر التقنيات الجديدة ، مثل الذكاء الاصطناعي ، بناء واستعادة تلك الثقة والعدالة.

 

نظرًا لأن الذكاء الاصطناعي يهدف إلى مساعدة التفاعلات البشرية وتكرارها ، فإن آخر شيء يجب أن تفعله التكنولوجيا هو دعم التحيزات البشرية القديمة وإدامة الصور النمطية الضارة وغير الدقيقة. الأنظمة القديمة التي تستمر في تقويض مستقبل الأفراد ، وخاصة السود والسكان الأصليين والأشخاص الملونين (BIPOC) ، ليست أداة يجب مراعاتها لنشرها.

 

نظرًا لأن الذكاء الاصطناعي بدأ في المساعدة في وظائف مثل تحديد من يحصل على المنح الدراسية ، والرهون العقارية ، وفرص بناء رأس المال الاقتصادي ، فقد أصبح من الواضح لماذا يجب أن يكون الذكاء الاصطناعي - دون شك - غير متحيز وشامل. عند تكرار التفاعلات البشرية ، يجب أن تكون أفضل ما تقدمه البشرية ، وليس الأسوأ.

 

تصف منظمة العفو الدولية وأنت ، وهي منظمة غير ربحية تقوم بمهمة إشراك المجتمعات المهمشة وتثقيفها حول الذكاء الاصطناعي ، التحيز:

 

"الذكاء الاصطناعي ليس على علم بالأشياء التي نعرضها ، لكنه يحاول فهمها رغم ذلك ، ولذا إذا كانت الأشياء التي نعرضها للذكاء الاصطناعي هي نفسها تحيزات ، سواء كان ذلك بطريقة عنصرية أو معادية للأجانب ، على سبيل المثال ، سوف يعيد الذكاء الاصطناعي إنتاج هذا السلوك حتمًا ".

 

كان أحد الأمثلة الهامة والحديثة على تسليح التكنولوجيا أثناء احتجاجات Black Lives Matter لعام 2020 ، حيث "تم استخدام تقنية المراقبة لتتبع وتعقب وترهيب العديد من الصحفيين والمتظاهرين والناشطين - كنا نشهد العديد من التحديات عندما جاءت إلى عدم وجود نهج عادل أو عدم وجود نهج متنوع ، "يصف كامينغز.

 

إذا كانت التكنولوجيا التي تعمل بالذكاء الاصطناعي والتي تتيح التعرف على الوجه والصوت وتعقبهما منحازة بطبيعتها بسبب بياناتها وتصميمها ، فإن مجتمعات BIPOC المستهدفة تتعرض للضرر دون أن تدرك ذلك. إذا كان للذكاء الاصطناعي أن يكون قابلاً للتطوير ، فيجب أن يكون أخلاقيًا ومنصفًا في منهجه.

 

تكنولوجيا الثقة العامة والمشاركة المدنية

يحدث الكثير من الذكاء الاصطناعي دون علم الجمهور ، وبالتالي ، دون إشراك الجمهور في هذه العملية. تعتبر Renee Cummings من أشد المؤيدين للمشاركة المدنية والمجتمعية في تصميم ونشر التكنولوجيا الجديدة والناشئة مثل الذكاء الاصطناعي. من أجل بناء الثقة ، يحتاج الجمهور إلى المشاركة في "تقنية الثقة العامة".

 

يقول كامينغز ، بصفته أوصياء على الصالح العام ، يتحمل كل شخص المسؤولية الجماعية لضمان أن يكون الذكاء الاصطناعي مسؤولاً وجديرًا بالثقة. وبما أن المجتمعات هي في النهاية منتجة البيانات والمعرفة التي تسمح بتشغيل أنظمة الذكاء الاصطناعي ، فمن المنطقي تضمين أصواتهم في مراحل التصميم.

 

علاوة على ذلك ، لخلق مستقبل مستدام ، فإن التعليم والأصوات المتنوعة مطلوبة من أجل ابتكار أكثر شمولاً ، لا سيما فيما يتعلق بالأمن والسلامة العامة. إذا كان لدى المجتمع ، على سبيل المثال ، ارتياب دائم في إنفاذ القانون ، فعندما ينشر تطبيق القانون تقنية ، حتى لو كانت مفيدة ، فسيتم اعتبارها غير جديرة بالثقة.

 

لا يوجد أبدًا موقف يستدعي فيه نشر التكنولوجيا أو يجب أن يؤدي إلى حدوث أزمة في أي مجتمع. بدلاً من ذلك ، عند نشر أداة جديدة (من بين جميع الأدوات الموجودة) تكون هادفة ومقصودة في الشمولية ، يجب عليها تمكين المجتمعات وتقديم فائدة للمجتمع بأسره.

 

 

أربع طرق للتأكد من أن الذكاء الاصطناعي شامل

  • التنوع: مطلوب طوال دورة حياة الذكاء الاصطناعي بأكملها ، بدءًا من التفكير والتصميم والتطوير وحتى النشر ومراقبة ما بعد الإطلاق. كتب الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Appen Mark Brayan للمنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي أن "إنشاء ذكاء اصطناعي شامل يتطلب تحولًا كاملاً في العقلية طوال عملية التنمية بأكملها".
  • الشفافية: ليس فقط في مرحلة التفكير أو التصميم ، ولكن أيضًا عند اختيار الاستثمارات ورأس المال المناسبين للمشاريع. الانفتاح على ما يتم تصميمه ، والأهم من ذلك ، لمن وتأثيراته ضروري لأي تقنية جديدة.
  • التعليم: تعليم وتجهيز المجتمعات غير الممثلة تمثيلا ناقصا بالأدوات والمهارات اللازمة لفهم (والعمل) في مجال الذكاء الاصطناعي. شارك الدكتور برانديز مارشال ، مؤسس DataEdX ، وزميل ممارس في Stanford PACS ، وزميل أبحاث شريك في Siegel Family Endowment ، في محادثة مجتمعية مفادها أن الوصول إلى مجتمعات BIPOC يتطلب تمثيلًا: "إذا لم ترها ، فلن تكون كذلك - وهذا أمر حيوي للغاية لجذب المزيد من الأشخاص إلى هذا التخصص ".
  • الدعوة: دعم ومتابعة عمل المنظمات والأفراد في الفضاء مثل Black in AI ، التي أزالت برامجها الحواجز التي يواجهها السود حول العالم في مجال الذكاء الاصطناعي ، وتحالف العمل العالمي للذكاء الاصطناعي (GAIA).

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 01 مارس 2022 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

How can AI support diversity, equity and inclusion?

Diversity & Inclusion

Sharing is caring

April 29th, 2022

There is a history of distrust between communities of colour and emerging technologies such as AI. How can we rebuild trust and ensure AI is used ethically?

 

By

Project Design and Communications Specialist, Global AI Action Alliance, World Economic Forum


 

  • Black History Month takes place during the month of February in the US, Canada and the UK.
  • The civil rights movement in the US and emerging technology are closely intertwined, especially from a justice-oriented perspective.
  • AI must be ethical and equitable in its approach to ensure it empowers communities and benefits society.

 

Bias in algorithms is a costly human oversight. Costly due to its immense impact on marginalized and underrepresented communities. As artificial intelligence (AI) continues to scale across industries and functions, it can be riddled with unconscious biases that do more harm than good.

 

While AI ethicists and responsible AI practitioners often speak about the need for more transparency and accountability in the AI lifecycle, Black History Month is often the time when organizations evaluate the tremendous work that has been done and that remains to be done.

 

In AI We Trust, a podcast co-hosted by Miriam Vogel of EqualAI and Kay Firth-Butterfield of the World Economic Forum, explores the opportunities and challenges of scaling responsible AI. For this year’s Black History Month episode, How AI Does (& Should) Impact Our BHM Celebration, they were joined by Renee Cummings, an AI ethicist, criminologist, Columbia University community scholar, and founder of Urban AI.

 

The episode focuses on the importance of equity and inclusion in AI, but also its links to justice and civic engagement.

 

History of technology in Black communities

Within communities of colour in the US, there is a history of distrust in technology – law enforcement, social services, housing, and healthcare have all displayed disparity and inequity especially during the COVID-19 pandemic. Cummings explains that even in recent history, many communities were used as “guinea pigs” in research so levels of distrust are generational and trauma based. Deployment of new technologies, such as AI, requires the building and restoration of that trust and justice.

 

As AI is meant to assist and replicate human interactions, the last thing technology should be doing is upholding old human biases and perpetuating harmful and inaccurate stereotypes. Old systems that continue to undermine the future of individuals, specifically Black, Indigenous, and People of Colour (BIPOC), is not a tool that should be considered for deployment.

 

Because AI has begun to assist in functions such as deciding who gets scholarships, mortgages, and opportunities to build economic capital, it becomes apparent as to why AI must – without question – be unbiased and inclusive. When replicating human interactions, it ought to be the best that humanity has to offer, rather than the worst.

 

AI&You, a nonprofit on a mission to engage and educate marginalized communities about AI, describes bias:

 

“The AI isn’t aware of the things we are showing it, but it tries to understand them nonetheless, and so if the things we are showing the AI are themselves biases, be it in a racist or xenophobic way, for example, the AI will inevitably reproduce that behaviour.”

 

A critical and recent example of the weaponization of technology was during the Black Lives Matter protests of 2020, where “surveillance technology was used to track and trace and terrorize many journalists, protestors, and activists – we were seeing many of the challenges when it came to the lack of an equitable approach or the lack of a diverse approach,” describes Cummings.

 

If AI-powered technology that enables facial and voice recognition and tracing is inherently biased because of its data and design, targeted BIPOC communities are put in harm’s way without even realizing it. If AI is to be scaleable, it must be ethical and equitable in its approach.

 

Public trust technology and civic engagement

Much of AI happens without the public knowing, and therefore, without the public being involved in the process. Renee Cummings is a big proponent of civic and community engagement in designing and deploying new and emerging technology like AI. In order to build trust, the public needs to be involved in “public trust technology.”

 

As custodians of the public good, Cummings says, everyone has the collective responsibility to ensure AI is responsible and trustworthy. And since communities are ultimately the producers of the data and knowledge that allow AI systems to run, it makes sense to include their voices in the design phases.

 

Further, to create a sustainable future, education and diverse voices are required for more inclusive innovation, especially as it pertains to public security and safety. If a community, for example, has a standing distrust with law enforcement, then when law enforcement deploys a technology, even if it’s beneficial, it is going to be deemed untrustworthy.

 

There is never a situation in which deploying technology warrants or should create a crisis in any community. Rather, when deploying a new tool (amongst all the existing tools) that is purposeful and intentional in its inclusivity, it must empower communities and present a benefit to all of society.

 

 

Four ways to ensure AI is inclusive

  • Diversity: required throughout the entire AI lifecycle, from ideation, design, and development to deployment and post-launch monitoring. Appen’s Chief Executive Officer Mark Brayan wrote for the World Economic Forum that “creating AI that’s inclusive requires a full shift in mindset throughout the entirety of the development process.”
  • Transparency: not just in the ideation or design phase, but also when choosing the right investments and capital for projects. Being open about what is being designed, and most importantly, for whom and its impacts is necessary for any new technology.
  • Education: teaching and equipping underrepresented communities with the tools and skills to understand (and work) in the AI space. Dr. Brandeis Marshall, Founder of DataEdX, Stanford PACS Practitioner Fellow, and Partner Research Fellow at Siegel Family Endowment, shared in a community conversation that reaching BIPOC communities requires representation: “If you don’t see it, you won’t be it – and that is so vital in order to bring more people into this discipline.”
  • Advocacy: supporting and following the work of organizations and individuals in the space such as Black in AI, whose programmes have removed barriers faced by Black people around the world in the field of AI, and the Global AI Action Alliance (GAIA).

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on March 01, 2022, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions