كيف يمكن للقادة أن ينجحوا في التحول إلى الطاقة النظيفة؟

تغير المناخطاقة شمسية

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

مسيرة 23rd، 2022

يفترض العديد من القادة أن الحد من الانبعاثات وتنمية اقتصادات بلدانهم ليسا أهدافًا متوافقة. لن يكون الانتقال إلى الطاقة النظيفة أمرًا سهلاً.

 

By

أستاذ الطاقة وتغير المناخ ، UCL


 

  • يفترض العديد من القادة أن الحد من الانبعاثات وتنمية اقتصادات بلدانهم ليسا أهدافًا متوافقة ، كما كتب أستاذ في تغير المناخ.
  • لقد نجحت العديد من البلدان بما يفوق التوقعات في انتقالها إلى الطاقة النظيفة من خلال النظر إلى ما وراء النهج الاقتصادية التقليدية للتكلفة والعائد.
  • يجب أن يتبنى القادة عدم اليقين حول المخاطر والفرص قد تواجه البلدان نتيجة لإجراء تحولات منخفضة الكربون.

 

سيتطلب الحد من تغير المناخ القيام بحركة عالمية غير مسبوقة تقنيات منخفضة الكربون القاعدة. COP26 - أظهر مؤتمر المناخ للأمم المتحدة الذي عقد في تشرين الثاني (نوفمبر) الماضي في غلاسكو - أن العالم للأسف بعيد عن الاستعداد لمثل هذه الحركة. لا يزال العديد من القادة افترض أن الحد من الانبعاثات وتنمية اقتصادات بلدانهم ليسا أهدافًا متوافقة.

 

لكن في العديد من الأماكن ، نجح الانتقال إلى تقنيات الطاقة النظيفة بما يتجاوز التوقعات. منذ عام 2010 ، نمت طاقة الرياح من توفير أقل من 1٪ إلى توفير 10٪ من الكهرباء في البرازيل ، وقدمت 15٪ من الاتحاد الأوروبي الطلب على الكهرباء في عام 2019. الطاقة الشمسية - وصفت بأنها "أغلى طريقة لتقليل انبعاثات الكربون" مؤخرًا 2014 - تكلف الآن 85٪ أقل مما كانت عليه قبل عقد من الزمن ، مما يجعلها على نحو متزايد أرخص كهرباء في التاريخ.

 

وفي الهند ، أدت برامج الحصول على الطاقة بأسعار معقولة إلى زيادة المبيعات عالية الكفاءة لمبات LED من 3 ملايين فقط في عام 2012 إلى 670 مليونًا في عام 2018 ، مع انخفاض الأسعار أيضًا بنسبة 85٪. تقدم هذه التقنيات الثلاث الآن بعضًا من أرخص الطرق لإنتاج الكهرباء أو الضوء في معظم أنحاء العالم.

 

المهم هو أن كل هذه التحولات تضمنت إجراءات حكومية مهمة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، ذهب معظمهم إلى الأمام على الرغم من حقيقة أنه في كثير من الحالات ، اقترحت الحسابات الاقتصادية المبكرة أن تطوير مصادر الطاقة المتجددة سيكون وسيلة مكلفة بشكل خاص لخفض الانبعاثات.

 

بدلا من الاعتماد على البحث والتطوير لخفض التكاليف من خلال ابتكار اختراعات جديدة - أو ترك السوق يقوم بذلك من تلقاء نفسه منافسة - الحكومات تستخدم الإعانات و المشتريات العامة البرامج (الالتزامات الحكومية بشراء حجم معين من منتج جديد) للإبقاء على التكاليف منخفضة وزيادة الاستيعاب.

 

أصبحت الطاقة الشمسية رخيصة بشكل متزايد.

 

تظهر هذه النتائج المثيرة للإعجاب أن النماذج التقليدية للتقييم الاقتصادي - حساب التكاليف والفوائد كما لو كانت قابلة للتنبؤ بها إلى حد ما - غير كافية لصنعها حقًا. التحويلية التغيير في قطاعات مثل الطاقة والصناعة والنقل والمباني.

 

التحديات

 

عالمي انتقال منخفض الكربون ستشمل تغييرات متعددة غير متوقعة على طريقة تشغيل هذه القطاعات. والقليل من أهم فوائد الانتقال ، مثل التقنيات الأنظف و سلاسل التوريدوظائف جديدةو هواء نقي، يمكن قياسها بسهولة مسبقًا.

 

كانت تكاليف طاقة الرياح والطاقة الشمسية ومصابيح LED مبدئيًا أعلى من ذلك بكثير من التقنيات الراسخة (مثل فحم- والكهرباء التي تعمل بالغاز) التي استفادت من أكثر من قرن من التنمية. ولكن كما رأينا في الاقتصادات الناشئة الرئيسية ، وكذلك في أوروبا ، تعمل هذه التقنيات الجديدة الآن على خفض تكاليف الطاقة في الواقع.

 

تحليلنا يوضح أنه عند اتخاذ قرار بشأن كيفية إجراء انتقالات منخفضة الكربون ، يحتاج القادة إلى النظر إلى ما هو أبعد من التقليدية التكاليف والفوائد النهج الاقتصادية - ويجب احتضان عدم اليقين حول المخاطر والفرص قد تواجه البلدان نتيجة لذلك.

 

يحتاج القادة والباحثون أيضًا إلى تحديد كيفية إنشاء "النقاط الحرجة"التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى تغييرات متتالية نحو اقتصادات منخفضة الكربون. على سبيل المثال ، التحسينات المستمرة في تكنولوجيا البطارية تجعل السيارات الكهربائية قادرة على المنافسة بشكل متزايد مع السيارات التي تعمل بالبنزين.

 

سياسات للبناء بشكل أفضل شحن البنية التحتية وخفض سعر المركبات الكهربائية يمكن أن يقودنا بسرعة أكبر نحو مستقبل النقل الكهربائي. تشمل فوائد هذا المستقبل مدنًا أنظف ، وتقليل الاعتماد على النفط ، وحتى القدرة على ذلك متجر الكهرباء الزائدة في بطاريات السيارات الكهربائية لدعم الشبكة الوطنية عند الحاجة.

 

تاريخيًا ، كان يُفترض على نطاق واسع أن تقليل الانبعاثات قد يعني إتلاف اقتصادات البلدان. ومن المؤكد أن التحولات منخفضة الكربون تنطوي على عوامل اجتماعية واقتصادية التحديات.

 

لكن السياسات المصممة جيدًا - مثل تلك المستخدمة لقيادة الثورات في مجال طاقة الرياح والطاقة الشمسية ومصابيح LED - لديها القدرة على خلق فوائد ضخمة للبلدان المشاركة ، وليس فقط لمناخنا. إذا أردنا حل مشكلة تغير المناخ ، نحتاج أولاً إلى تحويل تفكيرنا الاقتصادي.

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 21 نوفمبر 2021 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

How can leaders succeed in the clean energy transition?

Climate ChangeSolar Energy

Sharing is caring

March 23rd, 2022

Many leaders assume that reducing emissions and growing their countries’ economies aren’t compatible goals. The clean energy transition won’t be easy.

 

By

Professor of Energy and Climate Change, UCL


 

  • Many leaders assume that reducing emissions and growing their countries’ economies aren’t compatible goals, writes a professor of climate change.
  • Many countries have succeeded beyond expectations in their transitions to clean energy by looking beyond traditional cost-benefit economic approaches.
  • Leaders must embrace uncertainty around the risks and opportunities countries might face as a result of making low-carbon transitions.

 

Limiting climate change will require an unprecedented global movement to make low-carbon technologies the norm. COP26 – the UN climate conference held last November in Glasgow – showed that unfortunately, the world is far from ready for such a movement. Many leaders still assume that reducing emissions and growing their countries’ economies aren’t compatible goals.

 

Yet in many places, transitions to clean energy technologies have succeeded far beyond expectations. Since 2010, wind power has grown from providing under 1% to providing 10% of electricity in Brazil, and provided 15% of the EU’s electricity demand in 2019. Solar power – described as “the most expensive way to reduce carbon emissions” as recently as 2014 – now costs 85% less than it did a decade ago, increasingly making it the cheapest electricity in history.

 

And in India, affordable energy access programmes drove sales of high-efficiency LED bulbs from just 3 million in 2012 to 670 million in 2018, with prices also falling by 85%. These three technologies now offer some of the cheapest ways to produce electricity or light across much of the world.

 

What’s crucial is that these transitions all involved significant government action. Plus, most went ahead despite the fact that in many cases, early economic calculations suggested that developing renewables would be an especially expensive way to cut emissions.

 

Rather than relying on research and development to bring down costs through coming up with new inventions – or leaving the market to do so on its own through competition – governments used subsidies and public procurement programmes (government commitments to buy a certain volume of a new product) to keep costs down and boost uptake.

 

Solar power is becoming increasingly cheap.

 

These impressive outcomes show that traditional models of economic appraisal – calculating costs and benefits as if they were fairly predictable – are inadequate for making truly transformative change in sectors like energy, industry, transport and buildings.

 

Challenges

 

A global low-carbon transition will involve multiple, unpredictable changes to the way these sectors are run. And few of a transition’s most important benefits, like cleaner technologies and supply chainsnew jobs, and fresher air, can be easily quantified in advance.

 

The costs of wind power, solar power and LEDs were initially much higher than established technologies (like coal- and gas-powered electricity) that had benefited from more than a century of development. But as seen in major emerging economies, as well as in Europe, these new technologies are now actually cutting energy costs.

 

Our analysis shows that, when deciding how to make low-carbon transitions, leaders need to look beyond traditional cost-benefit economic approaches – and must embrace uncertainty around the risks and opportunities countries might face as a result.

 

Leaders and researchers also need to identify how to create “tipping points” that can trigger cascading changes towards low-carbon economies. For example, continued improvements in battery technology are making electric vehicles (EVs) increasingly competitive with gasoline cars.

 

Policies to build better charging infrastructure and reduce EVs’ price could tip us more rapidly towards an electric transport future. The benefits of that future include cleaner cities, reduced oil dependence and even the ability to store excess electricity in EV batteries to support the national grid when needed.

 

Historically, it’s been widely assumed that reducing emissions would mean damaging countries’ economies. And low-carbon transitions do, of course, involve social and economic challenges.

 

But well-designed policies – such as those used to drive the revolutions in wind, solar and LEDs – have the potential to create huge benefits for participating countries, not just for our climate. If we want to solve climate change, we first need to transform our economic thinking.

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on November 21, 2021, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions