كيف جعلت القرارات التي يتخذها الإنسان جاكرتا أسرع مدينة غارقة في العالم

بيئـــــــة وتدويــــــرجاكرتاغرق المدينةاستدامةفيديو
[أمراض القلب الاجتماعية]

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

مسيرة 21st، 2021

جاكرتا ، التي يبلغ عدد سكانها 30 مليون نسمة ، هي أسرع مدينة غارقة في العالم. بهذا المعدل (25 سم / سنة) ، يمكن أن تكون أجزاء كبيرة من المدينة الضخمة تحت الماء تمامًا بحلول عام 2050.

 

بقلم جايديب سينغ مان

 


جاكرتا ، حيث قضيت نصف عقد حافل بالأحداث ، ومدينة قريبة جدًا من قلبي ، هي أسرع مدينة غارقة في العالم. خلال العديد من بعثات التصوير الفوتوغرافي للهواة ، غالبًا ما شاهدت مواقع كان البحر فيها يصل إلى عنق المدينة ، في محاولة لعبور الجدران الواهية التي تحرس جاكرتا. غرقت شمال جاكرتا 2.5 مليون في السنوات العشر الماضية ، أي أكثر من ضعف المتوسط ​​العالمي للمدن الكبرى المماثلة.

 

ما قد يحطم قلب أي شخص يحب هذه المدينة هو أن الأسباب التي أدت إلى هذه الكارثة من صنع الإنسان بالكامل. لقد تُركت القرارات والسياسات الخاطئة بدون تصحيح لفترة طويلة لدرجة أنه قد لا يكون هناك أي عودة إلى الوراء الآن!

 

Sالأرض الممتلئة ، وبحر جاوة ، و 13 نهراً يمر عبرها تجعل جاكرتا عرضة للفيضانات ، وقد أصبح حدثًا سنويًا في السنوات الأخيرة. يمكن للبشرية وحدها أن تتصدى للفيضانات ببعض الطرق. لكن السؤال هو "هل يمكن إنقاذ هذه المدينة الضخمة ، التي تختفي حرفيًا تحت الأرض؟" 

 

يبدو أن الحكومة قد استسلمت ، كما يتضح من خططهم لتحويل العاصمة إلى شرق كاليمانتان. تفسر الحكومة أن هذا يهدف إلى الترويج لكاليمانتان كموقع استراتيجي أكبر بأربعة أضعاف من جافا تقريبًا ، ولكنه يمثل أقل من عُشر الناتج المحلي الإجمالي. بالمقارنة، جاوة هي موطن 60٪ من سكان البلاد وأكثر من 50٪ من ناتجها المحلي الإجمالي.

 

قد يكون السبب الحقيقي هو أن عاصمتها الحالية تغرق ، وقد لا تكون الإدارة في وضع يمكنها من فعل أي شيء لإنقاذ مدينتهم من مستويات المياه التي ترتفع بشكل كبير مع مرور كل عام.

 

حسب أ تقرير في Wired ، تم إلقاء عشرين كيلومترًا من الجدران البحرية حول خليج جاكرتا في السنوات الثلاث الماضية ، إلى جانب العديد من التعزيزات الأخرى على طول ضفاف النهر ، وهي المرحلة الأولى من محاولة يائسة لتحصين المناطق الشمالية المغمورة بالمياه في المدينة. في الأماكن الواقعة على طول الساحل ، انحسرت الأرض بمقدار أربعة أمتار خلال العقود القليلة الماضية ، مما يعني أن الحواجز الخرسانية هي الشيء الوحيد الذي يمنع مجتمعات بأكملها من أن يغمرها البحر.

 

لكن ما أدى إلى مذكرة الإعدام الحالية في جاكرتا أمر محير للغاية. يبدو أن الأسباب تنبع من المواقف التي كانت من صنع الإنسان بالكامل وكانت موجهة إلى مكاسب قصيرة الأجل من قبل السلطات المعنية خلال فترة حكمهم.

 

تتبع إحدى النظريات بشكل منطقي جذور هذه المشكلة للحكم الهولندي في القرن السابع عشر. لقد صمموا العاصمة (باتافيا) ونظام المرافق العامة الخاص بها لفصل السكان. نتج عن هذا الفصل وجود نظام منحرف لأنابيب مياه الشرب استبعد معظم المواطنين الأصليين. أجبرهم ذلك على إيجاد طرق أخرى للحصول على المياه ، أسهلها هو ضخها من الأرض.

 

لقد أدى ضخ المياه الجوفية إلى خفض أساسات المدينة ، مما تسبب في هبوط واسع النطاق. غرقت بعض المناطق في الشمال أربعة أمتار على مدى العقدين الماضيين ، مما جعلها أقل بكثير من مستوى سطح البحر بحيث لا يوجد مكان لتصريف المياه.

 

شاهد الفيديو للقصة كاملة:

 

 

الآراء الواردة في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف ولا تعكس وجهات نظر WorldRef أو آراءها أو سياساتها.

How man-made decisions made Jakarta the fastest Sinking City in the world

EnvironmentJakartasinking citySustainabilityvideo

Sharing is caring

March 21st, 2021

Jakarta, a megacity of 30 million people, is the fastest sinking city in the world. At this rate (25cm/year), major parts of the megacity could be completely underwater by 2050.

 

By Jaideep Singh Mann

 


Jakarta, where I have spent half an eventful decade, and a city that is quite close to my heart, is the fastest sinking city in the world. During many of my amateur photography expeditions, I often witnessed locations where the sea was up to the neck of the city, in a bid to cross over the flimsy walls guarding the Jakartans. North Jakarta has sunk 2.5m in the last 10 years, more than double the global average of similar megacities.

 

What would break anyone’s heart who loves this city, is that the reasons leading to this catastrophe are completely man-made. The wrong decisions and policies have been left uncorrected for so long that now there might not be any turning back!

 

Swampy land, the Java Sea, and 13 rivers running through it make Jakarta prone to flooding, and it has become an annual event in recent years. Flooding alone could be tackled by mankind in some ways. But, the question is ‘Can this massive city, which is literally disappearing into the ground, be saved?’ 

 

The government seems to have given up, indicated by their plans to shift the capital to East Kalimantan. Government reasons that this to promote Kalimantan as a strategic location that is almost four times bigger than Java, but accounts for less than a tenth of the GDP. In comparison, Java is home to 60% of the country’s population and more than 50% of its GDP.

 

The real reason might be that its current capital is sinking, and the administration might not be in a position to do anything to save their city from the water levels that rise significantly with every passing year.

 

As per a report in Wired, Twenty kilometers of sea walls have been thrown up around Jakarta Bay in the past three years, along with many more reinforcements along river banks, the first phase of a desperate attempt to fortify the city’s waterlogged northern districts. In places along the coastline, the ground has subsided by four meters over the last few decades, meaning that the concrete barricades are the only thing preventing whole communities from being engulfed by the sea.

 

But what led to this present-day death warrant for Jakarta is quite mind-boggling. The reasons seem to stem from situations that were completely man-made and were directed at short-term gains by the respective authorities during their reigns.

 

One theory quite logically traces the roots of this problem to the Dutch rule in the 1600s. They designed the capital city (Batavia) and its public utility system to segregate the population. That segregation resulted in a skewed drinking water piping system that excluded most indigenous citizens. This forced them to find other ways to get water, the easiest of which was to pump it out of the ground.

 

Pumping out the groundwater has quite literally lowered the city’s foundations, causing widespread subsidence. Some areas in the north have sunk four meters over the past two decades, putting them so far below the level of the sea that there is nowhere for the water to drain out.

 

Watch the video for the complete story:

 

 

The views expressed in this article are the author’s own and do not reflect WorldRef’s views, opinions, or policies.