هذا هو تأثير الروبوتات على الاقتصادات النامية

اقتصاد العالم

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

6 مايو، 2022

هل الأتمتة تشكل فرصة أو تهديدًا للبلدان النامية؟ تشير البيانات الواردة من إندونيسيا إلى التأثير الإيجابي للروبوتات في مكان العمل.

 

By

خبير اقتصادي تجاري ، مجموعة البنك الدولي


 

  • هل تقنيات الأتمتة تشكل فرصة أو تهديدًا للبلدان النامية؟
  • باستخدام بيانات عن شركات التصنيع الإندونيسية ، وثق المؤلفون تأثيرًا إيجابيًا على توظيف تبني الروبوتات.
  • تتناقض هذه النتيجة مع الأدلة الموجودة على الآثار السلبية في الاقتصادات في مراحل متقدمة نسبيًا من الأتمتة.

 

تقدم تقنيات الأتمتة الأكثر انتشارًا في كل مكان الاقتصادات التي تتبناها مع مفاضلة واضحة بين مكاسب الإنتاجية على مستوى الشركة (Acemoglu et Restrepo 2020 ، Koch et al. 2019) والآثار السلبية على العمالة بسبب طبيعة الأتمتة الموفرة للعمالة ( Acemoglu and Restrepo 2020، Dauth et al. 2017). تم توثيق هذه المقايضة حتى الآن في بلدان تمر بمرحلة متقدمة نسبيًا من الأتمتة.

 

ومع ذلك ، ليس من الواضح ما إذا كانت الأدلة الحالية على تأثيرات الأتمتة توفر إرشادات مفيدة للبلدان في مراحل مبكرة من الأتمتة ، والتي تشمل معظم البلدان النامية اليوم. نظرًا لأن تقنيات الأتمتة قد تخضع لعوائد متناقصة قوية (Graetz and Michaels 2018) ، فقد يكون من المرجح أن يؤدي اعتمادها إلى زيادة الطلب على العمالة في البلدان في المراحل الأولى من اعتمادها. يقدم الشكل 1 بعض الأدلة الموحية لدعم هذه الفكرة مع التركيز على الروبوتات الصناعية ، وهي فئة مهمة من تكنولوجيا الأتمتة. ويظهر أن العلاقة بين اختراق الروبوت والتوظيف سلبية بالنسبة لدول منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية ، التي لديها اختراق أعلى للروبوتات ، وإيجابية للدول غير الأعضاء في منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية.

 

الشكل 1 اختراق الروبوتات والتغيرات في التوظيف: منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية مقابل البلدان غير الأعضاء في منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية

 

هذا هو تأثير الروبوتات على الاقتصادات النامية

 

هذه فجوة معرفية مهمة حيث من المتوقع أن ينمو تغلغل الأتمتة في البلدان النامية بشكل كبير خلال العقود القادمة (Hallward-Driemeier and Nayyar 2017). في ورقة بحثية حديثة (Calì and Presidente 2022) ، نساعد في سد هذه الفجوة من خلال دراسة تأثير اعتماد الروبوتات على التوظيف في التصنيع الإندونيسي. نحن نركز على أواخر العقد الأول من القرن الحادي والعشرين وأوائل العقد الأول من القرن الحادي والعشرين ، عندما كان تغلغل الروبوتات في إندونيسيا أقل بكثير مما هو عليه في البلدان الأخرى ذات الأدلة الدقيقة المتاحة.

 

يوضح الشكل 2 مدى هذا التناقض من خلال رسم عدد الروبوتات لكل مليون عامل تصنيع في أول (كلما كان ذلك متاحًا) والسنوات الأخيرة من التحليلات الموجودة في كل من هذه البلدان. تأتي البيانات الخاصة بالروبوتات من الاتحاد الدولي للروبوتات (IFR) ، الذي يجمع البيانات عن واردات الروبوتات من كل جمعية وطنية للروبوتات. بيانات العمالة في التصنيع مأخوذة من منظمة العمل الدولية (ILO) ، وبالنسبة للصين ، من منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتنمية الصناعية (UNIDO). بالنظر إلى السنوات الأخيرة من التحليلات ، على سبيل المثال ، والتي كانت قريبة من النطاق بالنسبة لمعظم البلدان ، كان اختراق الروبوت في إندونيسيا هو الأدنى في العينة بعامل يتراوح بين 9 (بالنسبة للمكسيك في 2015) و 99 (بالنسبة إلى ألمانيا في 2014) ). وتنطبق اختلافات مماثلة أيضًا عند أخذ السنوات الأولى من التحليلات.

 

الشكل 2 اختراق الروبوت في إندونيسيا مقابل البلدان الأخرى مع وجود أدلة على تأثير الأتمتة

 

 

ميزة أخرى مثيرة للاهتمام في السياق الإندونيسي هي أن العدد الإجمالي للروبوتات زاد بشكل ملحوظ بعد عام 2010 ، مع زيادة إجمالي المخزون بمقدار عشرة أضعاف تقريبًا بين عامي 2008 و 2015. كان هذا التسارع غير متجانس للغاية عبر القطاعات. بحلول نهاية فترة العينة في عام 2015 ، كان تغلغل الروبوتات في معظم الصناعات الآلية ، مثل السيارات ، مشابهًا للاقتصادات المتقدمة. الصناعات الأخرى ، مثل المنسوجات ، لم تشهد أي اختراق طوال الفترة.

 

التأثير الإيجابي على التوظيف للروبوتات على أسواق العمل المحلية في إندونيسيا

 

لتحديد آثار اختراق الروبوت على التوظيف المحلي ، فإننا نركز على المقاطعات ، وهي المستوى الثاني من التقسيم الإداري دون الوطني في إندونيسيا وتقريبًا لأسواق العمل المحلية بشكل معقول. قياس التعرض للروبوت من خلال التفاعل بين حصص الصناعة الأساسية في التوظيف على مستوى المنطقة مع واردات الروبوت السنوية الخاصة بالصناعة (Acemoglu and Restrepo 2 ، Dauth et al. 2020). ثم نقوم بعد ذلك بالتراجع عن التغييرات في التوظيف على مستوى الوصاية في 2017-2008 على التغييرات في تعرض الروبوت هذا خلال نفس الفترة ، والتحكم في العديد من العوامل الثابتة والمتغيرة بمرور الوقت. نتناول أيضًا التجانس المعقول لمقياس الروبوت من خلال تجهيزه بمتوسط ​​تغلغل الروبوت الخاص بالصناعة في دول منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية ، والتي تتفوق على إندونيسيا من حيث اعتماد الروبوت.

 

على عكس الأدلة الجزئية المتوفرة في البلدان الأخرى ، يوثق تحليلنا تأثير التوظيف الإيجابي في التصنيع لاعتماد الروبوت في أسواق العمل المحلية الإندونيسية. يشير حجم المعامل المقدر في المواصفات المفضلة لدينا إلى أن التوظيف نما بنسبة 31 نقطة مئوية أكثر في المقاطعات باستخدام روبوت إضافي واحد لكل 1000 عامل في السنة الأساسية خلال الفترة 2008-15 (مهم عند مستوى 1٪). نقوم بتقييم صحة تحديد الهوية بالتفصيل (Goldsmith-Pinkham et al. 2020) ونجري مجموعة كبيرة من الاختبارات ، مما يوفر الثقة في قوة تأثير التوظيف الإيجابي للروبوتات.

 

تناقص عوائد الأتمتة والأثر الإيجابي على العمالة

 

ما الذي يمكن أن يفسر الاختلاف مع النتائج التجريبية الحالية من البلدان الأخرى؟ كما تم التلميح أعلاه ، يمكن أن تكون نتيجة إندونيسيا متسقة مع تناقص العوائد لاعتماد الروبوت في سياق منخفض اختراق الروبوت خلال فترة التحليل.

 

نموذج بسيط قائم على المهام على غرار Acemoglu و Restrepo (2018) يجسد الحدس الأساسي. ضع في اعتبارك اقتصادًا به مجموعة ثابتة من المهام التي يؤديها العمال مرتبة حسب مستوى التعقيد المتزايد (أي من المهام الروتينية إلى المهام المعقدة للغاية). في المستويات المنخفضة من الأتمتة (أي مع انخفاض نسبة المهام الآلية) ، يمكن أن يحل روبوت إضافي محل العمال في مهمة روتينية حيث يتمتع البشر بميزة نسبية منخفضة. ونتيجة لذلك ، فإن المكاسب الإنتاجية لاعتماد الروبوتات كبيرة نسبيًا. تصبح المكاسب أصغر في المستويات الأعلى من الأتمتة ، حيث تقوم الروبوتات بإزاحة العمال بمستويات متزايدة من الميزة النسبية في أداء مهامهم. في الوقت نفسه ، يزداد تأثير الإزاحة للروبوتات مع تقلص نطاق المهام التي يؤديها البشر بسبب الأتمتة ، وبالتالي ينخفض ​​الناتج الهامشي للعمالة عندما يصبح العمال زائدين عن الحاجة. مع انخفاض مكاسب الإنتاجية وزيادة تأثيرات الإزاحة مع الأتمتة ، يتضاءل صافي عوائد اعتماد الروبوت ، وبالتالي تصبح تأثيرات التوظيف أكثر سلبية.

 

نختبر هذه الفرضية باستخدام بيانات لوحة شاملة من إندونيسيا لمصانع التصنيع. على عكس الدراسات الأخرى في البلدان ذات الدخل المرتفع ، لا نلاحظ استخدام الروبوتات في النباتات. بدلاً من ذلك ، قمنا بتطوير مقياس للتعرض على مستوى النبات للروبوتات بناءً على تعريف Graetz and Michaels (2018) للمهن "قابلية الاستبدال" بواسطة الروبوتات. باستخدام بيانات مسح القوى العاملة الإندونيسية ، نوثق أن العمال الحاصلين على تعليم ثانوي يسيطرون على المهن المعرضة لخطر كبير من الأتمتة في إندونيسيا. نستخدم هذه الملاحظة لإنشاء مقياس خاص بالمصنع للتعرض للأتمتة ، من خلال التفاعل مع واردات الروبوت السنوية الخاصة بالصناعة مع الحصة الأساسية للعمال الثانويين على مستوى المصنع. نحن نقدم أدلة مختلفة تتفق مع النتيجة التي تفيد بأن المهن المعرضة لخطر الأتمتة يهيمن عليها العمال الحاصلون على تعليم ثانوي. على سبيل المثال ، اعتمدت الصناعات التي لديها نسبة كبيرة أولية من العمال الحاصلين على تعليم ثانوي روبوتات أكثر نسبيًا في السنوات اللاحقة. وبالمثل ، فإن متوسط ​​استثمار الصناعة في الآلات والمعدات ، والذي يشمل الاستثمار في الروبوتات ، يرتبط ارتباطًا إيجابيًا بواردات الصناعة من الروبوتات.

 

نحن نتراجع عن التوظيف على مستوى المصنع سنويًا على مقياس التعرض للروبوت الذي يتحكم في مجموعة واسعة من التأثيرات الثابتة ، بما في ذلك تأثيرات سنة الصناعة والتعرض للروبوتات ومؤشر التطور التكنولوجي على مستوى المصنع لالتقاط الإرباكات المحتملة. تشير النتائج إلى أنه في المتوسط ​​، يزيد وجود روبوت إضافي واحد لكل 1,000 عامل من توظيف المصنع بنسبة 1٪. ويبدو أن سبب التأثيرات هو الزيادات الكبيرة في الإنتاجية الناتجة عن الأتمتة. في المتوسط ​​، يعمل روبوت إضافي واحد لكل 1,000 عامل على زيادة الإنتاجية الإجمالية للعوامل (من حيث الكمية) بنسبة 7٪ ويقلل من التكاليف الهامشية الحقيقية بنسبة 10٪.

 

يدعم التحليل أيضًا فرضية تناقص عوائد الأتمتة. تصبح مرونة التوظيف لاعتماد الروبوت أقل إيجابية بالنسبة للنباتات فوق العشر الثامن من توزيع التعرض الأولي للروبوتات (الشكل 8). بالنسبة للنباتات في العشر الأعلى ، يرتبط روبوت إضافي واحد لكل 3 عامل بمرونة توظيف إيجابية ولكنها ليست ذات دلالة إحصائية لاعتماد الروبوت. نلاحظ نمطًا مشابهًا للإنتاجية.

 

وبالتالي ، يبدو أن التأثير الإيجابي لاعتماد الروبوت على التوظيف المحلي في التصنيع مدفوعًا بمصانع ذات مستويات عالية من إمكانيات الأتمتة غير المستغلة. في بلد في المرحلة الأولى من الأتمتة ، مثل إندونيسيا ، تمثل هذه المصانع الجزء الأكبر من إجمالي سكان قطاع التصنيع.

 

الشكل 3 تأثير التعرض للروبوتات على العمالة بالنسبة للنباتات الأقل تعرضًا ، حسب التوزيع العشري للتعرض الأولي للروبوتات

 

 

الروبوتات من أجل التنمية الاقتصادية؟

 

أخيرًا ، نقوم بفحص الصلاحية الخارجية المحتملة لهذه النتائج. ولتحقيق هذه الغاية ، نقوم بتحليل العلاقة بين واردات العمالة والروبوتات عبر 61 من اقتصادات منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية وغير الأعضاء في منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية في 12 صناعة خلال الفترة 2007-15. يعتمد التحليل على مقدر 2SLS ، حيث يقوم بكثافة الروبوت باستخدام متوسط ​​ترك مكون من أزواج نفس الصناعة في بلدان أخرى. تشير النتائج إلى تناقص كبير في عوائد الأتمتة عبر البلدان أيضًا. يرتبط استخدام الروبوتات بشكل سلبي بالتوظيف في التصنيع في دول منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية - لا سيما عند مستويات الاختراق العالية - وبشكل إيجابي في البلدان غير الأعضاء في منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية (الشكل 4).

 

الشكل 4 تأثير الروبوتات على العمالة في 61 دولة و 12 صناعة ، 2007-2015

 

 

 

وبينما توحي هذه النتائج ببعض الشكوك حول فكرة أن اعتماد تقنيات الأتمتة في البلدان النامية يضعف طلبها على العمالة لأنها تنتقل من معدلات الأتمتة المنخفضة جدًا إلى معدلات الأتمتة الأعلى (Diao et al. 2021). سيكون من الضروري الحصول على بيانات إضافية حول اعتماد الروبوتات على مستوى الشركة في الاقتصادات النامية ، ولا سيما تلك الموجودة في المراحل المبكرة من التصنيع ، لاختبار هذه الفرضية في سياقات أخرى.

 

مراجع

 

  • Acemoglu، D، C Lelarge and P Restrepo (2020) ، "التنافس مع الروبوتات: أدلة على مستوى الشركة من فرنسا" ، أوراق وإجراءات AEA 110: 383–88.
  • Acemoglu ، D and P Restrepo (2020) ، "الروبوتات والوظائف: دليل من أسواق العمل الأمريكية" ، مجلة الاقتصاد السياسي 128 (6): 2188-2244.
  • Acemoglu ، D and P Restrepo (2018) ، "السباق بين الإنسان والآلة: انعكاسات التكنولوجيا على النمو وحصص العوامل والتوظيف" ، American Economic Review 108 (6): 1488-1542.
  • Artuc، E، L Christiaensen and H Winkler (2019) ، "هل الأتمتة في البلدان الغنية تضر البلدان النامية؟: أدلة من الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك. دليل من الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك "، ورقة عمل خاصة ببحوث سياسات البنك الدولي رقم 8741 ، 14 فبراير.
  • Calì، M and G Presidente (2022) "Robots for Economic Development"، Kiel، Hamburg: ZBW- Leibniz Information Centre for Economics.
  • Dauth، W، S Findeisen، J Suedekum and N Woessner (2017) ، "صعود الروبوتات في سوق العمل الألماني" ، VoxEU.org ، 19 سبتمبر.
  • Diao و X و M Ellis و MS McMillan و D Rodrik (2021) ، "لغز التصنيع في إفريقيا: دليل من الشركات التنزانية والإثيوبية" ، ورقة عمل NBER رقم w28344.
  • Giuntella، O and T Wang (2019)، “Is a Army of robots in the market of the Chinese jobs؟”، mimeo.
  • Goldsmith-Pinkham، P، I Sorkin and H Swift (2020)، "Bartik Instruments: What، when، why، and how"، American Economic Review 110 (8): 2586–2624.
  • Graetz، G and G Michaels (2018)، “Robots at work”، Review of Economics and Statistics 100 (5): 753–768.
  • Hallward-Driemeier ، M and G Nayyar (2017) ، "مشكلة في صنع؟ مستقبل التنمية التي يقودها التصنيع "، البنك الدولي.
  • Koch، M، I Manuylov and M Smolka (2019)، "Robots and Companies"، VoxEU.org، 1 July.

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 15 مارس 2022 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

This is the impact robots will have on developing economies

World Economy

Sharing is caring

May 6th, 2022

Does automation constitute an opportunity or a threat for developing countries? Data from Indonesia indicates a positive impact from workplace robots.

 

By

Trade Economist, World Bank Group


 

  • Do automation technologies constitute an opportunity or a threat for developing countries?
  • Using data on Indonesian manufacturing firms, the authors documented a positive impact on employment of adopting robots.
  • This finding contrasts with the existing evidence of negative impacts in economies at relatively advanced stages of automation.

 

Ever-more ubiquitous automation technologies present the economies that adopt them with an apparent trade-off between firm-level productivity gains (Acemoglu et Restrepo 2020, Koch et al. 2019) and adverse employment impacts due to the labour-saving nature of automation (Acemoglu and Restrepo 2020, Dauth et al. 2017). This trade-off has so far been documented in countries at a relatively advanced stage of automation.

 

Yet, it is not clear that the existing evidence on the impacts of automation provides useful guidance for countries at earlier stages of automation, which include most developing countries today. Given that automation technologies may be subject to strong diminishing returns (Graetz and Michaels 2018), their adoption may be more likely to increase labour demand in countries at early stages of adoption. Figure 1 provides some suggestive evidence in support of this idea focusing on industrial robots, an important class of automation technology. It shows that the correlation between robot penetration and employment is negative for OECD countries, which have higher robot penetration, and positive for non-OECD countries.

 

Figure 1 Robot penetration and employment changes: OECD vs non-OECD countries

 

This is the impact robots will have on developing economies

 

This is an important knowledge gap as the penetration of automation in developing countries is expected to grow significantly over the coming decades (Hallward-Driemeier and Nayyar 2017). In a recent paper (Calì and Presidente 2022), we help to fill this gap by examining the impact of robots’ adoption on employment in Indonesian manufacturing. We focus on the late 2000s-early 2010s, when the penetration of robots in Indonesia was considerably lower than in the other countries with available micro evidence.

 

Figure 2 illustrates the extent of this discrepancy by plotting the number of robots per million manufacturing workers in the first (whenever available) and last years of the existing analyses in each of these countries. The data for robots come from the International Federation of Robotics (IFR), which collects data on robot imports from each national robotics association. The data for manufacturing employment are from the International Labour Organization (ILO) and, for China, from the United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO). Taking the last years of the analyses, for example, which are close in range for most countries, Indonesia’s robot penetration was the lowest in the sample by a factor ranging between 9 (relative to Mexico in 2015) and 99 (relative to Germany in 2014). And similar differences apply also when taking the first years of the analyses.

 

Figure 2 Robot penetration in Indonesia vs other countries with evidence on the impact of automation

 

 

Another interesting feature of the Indonesian context is that the total number of robots increased significantly after 2010, with the total stock increasing almost ten-fold between 2008 and 2015. This acceleration was highly heterogeneous across sectors. By the end of the sample period in 2015, the penetration of robots in the most automated industries, such as Motor Vehicles, was comparable to that of advanced economies. Other industries, such as Textiles, have seen no penetration throughout the period.

 

The positive employment impact of robots on Indonesia’s local labour markets

 

To identify the effects of robot penetration on local employment, we focus on regencies, which are the second level of sub-national administrative division in Indonesia and approximate local labour markets reasonably well.2 In line with previous literature, we construct a regency-specific robot exposure measure by interacting baseline industry shares in employment at the regency level with annual industry-specific robot imports (Acemoglu and Restrepo 2020, Dauth et al. 2017). We then regress changes in regency-level employment in 2008-15 on changes in this robot exposure over the same period, controlling for various time-invariant and time-varying factors. We also address the plausible endogeneity of the robot measure by instrumenting it with the average industry-specific robot penetration in OECD countries, which are ahead of Indonesia in terms of robot adoption.

 

In contrast to the available micro evidence in other countries, our analysis documents a positive manufacturing employment effect of robot adoption across Indonesian local labour markets. The magnitude of the estimated coefficient in our preferred specification implies that employment grew 31 percentage points more in regencies with one additional robot per 1000 base-year workers over the 2008–15 period (significant at the 1% level). We assess in detail the validity of the identification (Goldsmith-Pinkham et al. 2020) and perform a large battery of tests, which provides confidence on the robustness of the positive employment effect of robots.

 

Diminishing returns to automation and the positive employment impact

 

What can explain the difference with the existing empirical results from other countries? As hinted above, Indonesia’s result could be consistent with diminishing returns to robot adoption in a context with low robot penetration during the period of analysis.

 

A simple task-based model along the lines of Acemoglu and Restrepo (2018) captures the key intuition. Consider an economy with a fixed set of tasks performed by workers ordered by increasing level of complexity (i.e. from routine to highly sophisticated tasks). At low levels of automation (that is, with low shares of automated tasks), an additional robot would replace workers in a routine task where humans have low comparative advantage. As a result, the productivity gains of robot adoption are relatively large. The gains become smaller at higher levels of automation, as robots displace workers with increasing levels of comparative advantage at performing their tasks. At the same time, the displacement effect of robots increases as the range of tasks performed by humans shrinks due to automation, and so the marginal product of labour decreases as workers become redundant. With productivity gains decreasing and displacement effects increasing with automation, the net returns to robot adoption diminish, and hence the employment effects become more negative.

 

We test this hypothesis using Indonesia’s extensive panel data of manufacturing plants. Unlike other studies in high-income countries, we do not observe the use of robots by plants. Instead, we develop a measure of plant-level exposure to robots based on Graetz and Michaels’ (2018) definition of occupations’ ‘replaceability’ by robots. Using Indonesian labour force survey data, we document that secondary-educated workers dominate occupations at high risk of automation in Indonesia. We use this observation to construct a plant-specific measure of exposure to automation, by interacting industry-specific annual robot imports with the baseline share of secondary workers at the plant level. We provide various pieces of evidence consistent with the finding that occupations at risk of automation are dominated by secondary-educated workers. For instance, industries with an initial large share of secondary-educated workers adopted relatively more robots in subsequent years. Similarly, industry average investment in machinery and equipment, which includes investment in robots, is positively correlated with industry imports of robots.

 

We regress yearly plant-level employment on the robot exposure measure controlling for a wide array of fixed effects, including plant and industry-year effects, downstream exposure to robots and a plant-level index of technological sophistication to capture possible confounders. The results imply that on average, one additional robot per 1,000 workers increases the plant’s employment by 1%. The effects appear to be driven by the large increases in productivity resulting from automation. On average, one additional robot per 1,000 workers increases total factor productivity (in quantity terms) by 7% and reduces real marginal costs by 10%.

 

The analysis also supports the hypothesis of diminishing returns to automation. The employment elasticity of robot adoption becomes less positive for plants above the 8th decile of the distribution of initial exposure to robots (Figure 3). For plants in the top decile, one additional robot per 1,000 workers is associated with a positive but not statistically significant employment elasticity of robot adoption. We observe a similar pattern for productivity.

 

Thus, the positive impact of robot adoption on local manufacturing employment appears to be driven by plants with high levels of untapped automation possibilities. In a country at the initial stage of automation, such as Indonesia, these plants represent the bulk of the entire manufacturing sector population.

 

Figure 3 Employment impact of exposure to robots relative to less exposed plants, by decile of the distribution of initial exposure to robots

 

 

Robots for economic development?

 

Finally, we examine the possible external validity of these results. To that end, we analyse the relation between employment and robot imports across 61 OECD and non-OECD economies in 12 industries over the 2007-15 period. The analysis is based on a 2SLS estimator, instrumenting robot density with a leave-out mean constructed from the same industry-year pairs in other countries. The findings suggest significant diminishing returns to automation across countries as well. Robot adoption is negatively associated with manufacturing employment in OECD countries – particularly at high levels of penetration – and positively in non-OECD countries (Figure 4).

 

Figure 4 Employment impact of robots in 61 countries and 12 industries, 2007-2015

 

 

 

While suggestive, these results cast some doubt on the idea that adoption of automation technologies in developing countries impairs their demand for labour as they move from very low to higher automation rates (Diao et al. 2021). Additional data on firm-level robot adoption in developing economies, particularly those at early stages of industrialisation, would be necessary to test this hypothesis in other contexts.

 

References

 

  • Acemoglu, D, C Lelarge and P Restrepo (2020), “Competing with robots: Firm-level evidence from France”, AEA Papers and Proceedings 110: 383–88.
  • Acemoglu, D and P Restrepo (2020), “Robots and jobs: Evidence from US labor markets”, Journal of Political Economy 128(6): 2188–2244.
  • Acemoglu, D and P Restrepo (2018), “The race between man and machine: Implications of technology for growth, factor shares, and employment”, American Economic Review 108(6): 1488–1542.
  • Artuc, E, L Christiaensen and H Winkler (2019), “Does automation in rich countries hurt developing ones?: Evidence from the US and Mexico. Evidence from the US And Mexico”, World Bank Policy Research Working Paper 8741, 14 February.
  • Calì, M and G Presidente (2022) “Robots for economic development”, Kiel, Hamburg: ZBW- Leibniz Information Centre for Economics.
  • Dauth, W, S Findeisen, J Suedekum and N Woessner (2017), “The rise of robots in the German labour market”, VoxEU.org, 19 September.
  • Diao, X, M Ellis, M S McMillan and D Rodrik (2021), “Africa’s manufacturing puzzle: Evidence from Tanzanian and Ethiopian firms”, NBER Working paper No. w28344.
  • Giuntella, O and T Wang (2019), “Is an army of robots marching on Chinese jobs?”, mimeo.
  • Goldsmith-Pinkham, P, I Sorkin and H Swift (2020), “Bartik instruments: What, when, why, and how”, American Economic Review 110(8): 2586–2624.
  • Graetz, G and G Michaels (2018), “Robots at work”, Review of Economics and Statistics 100(5): 753–768.
  • Hallward-Driemeier, M and G Nayyar (2017), “Trouble in the Making? The Future of Manufacturing-Led Development”, World Bank.
  • Koch, M, I Manuylov and M Smolka (2019), “Robots and firms”, VoxEU.org, 1 July.

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on March 15, 2022, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions