إجراءات سياسية متنوعة

 

في بداية الوباء ، كان صناع السياسات في جميع أنحاء العالم متزامنين في التيسير الكبير للسياسة النقدية وتوسيع السياسة المالية. ساعدت هذه الإجراءات في منع حدوث أزمة مالية عالمية ، على الرغم من عمليات الإغلاق والصدمات الصحية التي تسببت في ركود تاريخي. أدى التقاء التضخم المنخفض للغاية والطلب الضعيف إلى توفير مبرر قوي لسياسات نقدية سهلة.

 

في وقت سابق من هذا العام ، عندما ارتفع التضخم بشكل حاد ، كان مدفوعا بالتضخم المرتفع بشكل استثنائي في عدد قليل من القطاعات مثل الطاقة والسيارات ، والتي كان من المتوقع أن ينعكس معظمها بحلول نهاية العام مع تراجع الاضطرابات المرتبطة بالوباء. يمكن للبنوك المركزية ، التي تتمتع بسجل طويل في الحفاظ على معدلات التضخم منخفضة ومستقرة ، أن "تنظر" بشكل مناسب في تصاعد التضخم وأن تحافظ على أسعار الفائدة منخفضة لدعم الانتعاش الاقتصادي.

 

ومع ذلك ، فإن مخاطر زيادة تسارع التضخم التي تم تحديدها سابقًا في إصداراتنا العالمية وتقاريرنا الخاصة بكل بلد تتجسد ، مع استمرار اضطرابات العرض وارتفاع الطلب لفترة أطول من المتوقع. من المرجح أن يكون التضخم أعلى لفترة أطول مما كان يُعتقد سابقًا ، مما يعني أن المعدلات الحقيقية أقل من ذي قبل ، مما يعني وجود موقف توسعي متزايد للسياسة النقدية.

 

في حين أننا ما زلنا نتوقع أن الاختلالات بين العرض والطلب سوف تتضاءل العام المقبل ، فإن التركيز الوحيد للسياسة النقدية على دعم الانتعاش قد يغذي ضغوط تضخمية كبيرة ومستمرة ، مع بعض مخاطر فك توقعات التضخم. وبناءً على ذلك ، في البلدان التي يكون فيها الانتعاش الاقتصادي أكثر طولًا وتكون الضغوط التضخمية أكثر حدة ، سيكون من المناسب تسريع تطبيع السياسة النقدية.

 

يحتمل أن يكون تحديا للتداعيات

 

إن التحدي المتمثل في معالجة صدمات العرض الكبيرة والمستمرة أكبر بالنسبة للبنوك المركزية في الأسواق الناشئة. وبالنظر إلى الخطر الأكبر لفك تثبيت توقعات التضخم بالنسبة للاقتصادات المتقدمة ، فإنهم يرون الحاجة إلى تجاوز الضغوط التضخمية ، وقد رفع البعض - مثل البرازيل وروسيا - معدلات السياسة النقدية بشكل حاد. يأتي هذا التشديد وسط عجز كبير في الإنتاج المرتبط بـ COVID ويمكن أن يزيد من انخفاض الإنتاج والتوظيف. تواجه الأسواق الناشئة تداعيات صعبة محتملة إذا تسبب التشديد من قبل الاقتصادات المتقدمة في تدفقات رأس المال الخارجة وضغوط أسعار الصرف التي قد تتطلب منهم المزيد من التشديد.

 

أخيرًا ، لا يزال هناك قدر هائل من عدم اليقين بشأن تطور الوباء وعواقبه الاقتصادية. إن البديل الذي يقلل بشكل كبير من فعالية اللقاح يمكن أن يؤدي إلى مزيد من الاضطرابات في سلسلة التوريد وتقلص في عرض العمالة مما يؤدي إلى زيادة الضغوط التضخمية ، في حين أن انخفاض الطلب يمكن أن يكون له آثار معاكسة. يعتبر الانخفاض الحاد في أسعار النفط بعد اكتشاف Omicron والفرض السريع لقيود السفر من قبل البلدان علامة على التقلبات المقبلة.

 

باختصار ، يجب على صانعي السياسات معايرة استجابتهم للبيانات الواردة بعناية. تُظهر ظروف التضخم المتغيرة وقوة الاسترداد عبر البلدان سبب الحاجة إلى تكييف استجابة السياسة مع الظروف الخاصة بكل بلد ، نظرًا لارتفاع درجة عدم اليقين المرتبط بأوميكرون. الاتصالات الواضحة للبنك المركزي هي أيضًا مفتاح تعزيز التعافي العالمي الدائم.

 

كما حذرنا في التقارير الأخيرة مثل آفاق الاقتصاد العالمي، يمكن أن تؤدي استجابة البنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي التي تحمل عبءًا أوليًا على مخاطر التضخم الضعيفة إلى تقلبات السوق وخلق صعوبات في أماكن أخرى - خاصة في الاقتصادات الناشئة والنامية. لتجنب ذلك ، يجب أن يتم إرسال التحولات السياسية بشكل جيد ، كما كان الحال حتى الآن. يجب أن تستعد الأسواق الناشئة والاقتصادات النامية أيضًا للزيادات في أسعار الفائدة في الاقتصادات المتقدمة من خلال تمديد أجل استحقاق الديون حيثما كان ذلك ممكنًا ، وبالتالي تقليل احتياجات التجديد ، كما ينبغي للمنظمين التركيز على الحد من تراكم العملات غير المتطابقة في الميزانيات العمومية.

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 10 ديسمبر 2021 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

Varied policy action

 

At the onset of the pandemic, policymakers around the world were synchronized in dramatically easing monetary policy and expanding fiscal policy. These actions helped prevent a global financial crisis, despite lockdowns and health shocks causing a historic recession. The confluence of very low inflation and weak demand provided a strong rationale for easy monetary policies.

 

Earlier this year, when inflation picked up sharply, it was driven by exceptionally high inflation in a few sectors such as energy and autos, much of which was expected to reverse by the end of the year as pandemic related disruptions declined. Central banks, with a long track record of keeping inflation low and stable could appropriately “look through” the runup in inflation and keep interest rates low to support the economic recovery.

 

However, risks of a further acceleration of inflation previously flagged in our global publications and country-specific reports are materializing, with supply disruptions and elevated demand lasting longer than expected. Inflation is likely to be higher for longer than previously thought, which means that real rates are even lower than before, implying an increasingly expansionary stance of monetary policy.

 

While we still anticipate that supply-demand imbalances will wane next year, a singular focus of monetary policy on supporting recovery may well fuel substantial and persistent inflationary pressures, with some risk of de-anchoring inflation expectations. Accordingly, in countries where economic recoveries are further along and inflationary pressures more acute it would be appropriate to accelerate the normalization of monetary policy.

 

Potentially challenging spillovers

 

The challenge of addressing large and persistent supply shocks is even greater for emerging market central banks. Given the greater risk to de-anchoring of inflation expectations relative to advanced economies, they see the need to get ahead of inflationary pressures and some—such as Brazil and Russia—have raised policy rates sharply. Such tightening comes amid large COVID-related output shortfalls and could further depress output and employment. Emerging markets face potentially challenging spillovers if tightening by advanced economies causes capital outflows and exchange rate pressures that could require them to tighten even more.

 

Lastly, there remains tremendous uncertainty around the evolution of the pandemic and on its economic consequences. A variant that significantly reduces vaccine efficacy could lead to further supply chain disruptions and contractions in labor supply pushing up inflationary pressures, while lower demand could have opposing effects. The sharp fall in oil prices following the discovery of Omicron and the rapid imposition of travel restrictions by countries is a sign of the volatility ahead.

 

In sum, policymakers must carefully calibrate their response to incoming data. Varying inflation conditions and strength of recoveries across countries show why the policy response needs to be tailored to country specific circumstances, given sharply higher uncertainty associated with Omicron. Clear central bank communication, too, is key to fostering a durable global recovery.

 

As we warned in recent reports such as the World Economic Outlook, a more frontloaded Fed response to dampen inflation risks could result in market volatility and create difficulties elsewhere—especially in emerging and developing economies. To avoid that, policy shifts need to be telegraphed well, as has so far been the case. Emerging market and developing economies should also prepare for increases in advanced economy interest rates through debt maturity extensions where feasible, thereby reducing their rollover needs, and regulators should also focus on limiting the buildup of currency mismatches on balance sheets.

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on December 10, 2021, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions