هل الصين هي بطل العولمة الجديد؟

الصينالعولمة او الوافدين الاجانب
[أمراض القلب الاجتماعية]

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

مسيرة 5th، 2021

هل يمكن للصين أن تعلن بمصداقية فضائل العولمة لتحقيق الانسجام والتوازن في نظام دولي إذا لم تلتزم بالقانون الدولي؟

 

 

يوم 25 يناير ، مخاطبة افتراضية المنتدى الاقتصادي العالميلم يدافع الرئيس الصيني شي جين بينغ بقوة عن نهج متعدد الأطراف تجاه جائحة COVID-19 فحسب ، بل أصر على مزايا وفوائد نظام التجارة الحرة والعولمة. وحذر شي من أن تعريض هذه العناصر للخطر قد يؤدي إلى حدوث صراع في النظام الدولي ، مشيرًا بوضوح إلى الولايات المتحدة ، وإن لم يذكرها.

 

ليست هذه هي المرة الأولى التي يعتبر فيها شي نفسه "بطل العولمة" ، لا سيما عند حضوره اجتماعات دافوس. في عام 2017 ، في الأيام الأولى لرئاسة دونالد ترامب ، مع الظل الطويل للحواجز التجارية والسياسات الانعزالية التي بدأت للتو في الظهور في الأفق ، أدلى الرئيس الصيني بتصريحات مهمة مشجع التجارة الحرة وفتح الأسواق.

 

ومع ذلك ، مع خروج ترامب وجو بايدن الآن في المكتب البيضاوي ، يبدو أن هناك القليل مما يوحي بأي شيء تغيير جوهري في سياسة الولايات المتحدة ، على الأقل في المستقبل المنظور. إذا لم تكن الولايات المتحدة حريصة بشكل خاص على العمل مع الصين نحو التجارة الحرة والتعاون متعدد الأطراف ، فقد اختار الاتحاد الأوروبي ، وألمانيا على وجه الخصوص ، بسرعة نهجًا مختلفًا تمامًا ، حيث وقع اتفاق استثمار رئيسي مع بكين في نهاية العام الماضي. الاتفاقية الشاملة للاستثمار (CAI) ستمنح للمستثمرين مستوى أكبر من الوصول إلى الأسواق أكثر من أي وقت مضى ، بما في ذلك افتتاح أسواق جديدة ومهمة.

 

لم تفوت واشنطن فرصة التعبير عن مخاوفها من صفقة مفاجئة وغير متوقعة تهميش الولايات المتحدة في وقت ، بعد أربع سنوات من الفوضى النسبية والانتهازية ، إعادة العلاقات عبر الأطلسي يجب أن تكون أولوية. الكتابة في Financial Times ، جديون راشمان أشار مؤخرًا إلى مدى عدم جدوى الاعتماد على ضمان أمني أمريكي في أوروبا أثناء تقويض سياستها الأمنية في المحيط الهادئ ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار مدى استفادة أوروبا من حقيقة أنه على مدار السبعين عامًا الماضية ، كانت أقوى دولة في العالم الديمقراطية الليبرالية. في الواقع ، كانت ألمانيا قادرة على مدى العقود الماضية على ممارسة دور فريد من نوعه زيفيلماخت (القوة المدنية) من خلال تأطير مصلحتها الوطنية من حيث الجغرافيا الاقتصادية ، وتشجيع الصادرات الألمانية في جميع أنحاء العالم الاستعانة بمصادر خارجية للدفاع للوجود المطمئن للقوات الأمريكية.

 

لفهم موقف شي شبه الإمبراطوري بشكل أفضل في المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، يجب وضعه ليس فقط على خلفية الأحداث الأخيرة. صفقات الاستثمار مع الاتحاد الأوروبي أو مع 15 دولة في منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ ، ولكن في الأخبار الكبيرة أن الصين في طريقها لتجاوز الولايات المتحدة أكبر اقتصاد في العالم بحلول عام 2028 ، أي قبل خمس سنوات من التوقعات السابقة ، ويرجع ذلك أساسًا إلى التأثير غير المتكافئ لـ COVID-19.

 

في حين أنه من الواضح أن الصين قد نجحت في احتواء تفشي فيروس Sars-Cov-2 وأن الاقتصاد الصيني يتعافى الآن بسرعة سرعة أعلى من البلدان الأخرى ، فمن الصحيح أيضًا أن أ انعدام الشفافية وساهم التأخير في مشاركة المعلومات مع المجتمع الدولي حول الفيروس في تسريع انتشار الوباء على المستوى العالمي.

 

   حديقة يويوان بالليل في شنغهاي ، الصين | صور جيتي

 

ومع ذلك ، في الجدل الحالي حول تشكيل سياسات طوارئ أكثر كفاءة ، لا تزال الصين تبرز كنموذج يجب اتباعه وتقليده ، على الرغم من كونها لا تحظى بشعبية. ليس هناك شك في أنه في "الخيال الاجتماعي" للمجتمعات الليبرالية ، كما ورد في التقارير  أوروبا و US تشير إلى أن الأنظمة الاستبدادية ينظر إليها من قبل الكثيرين على أنها أكثر كفاءة وأكثر استعدادًا للتعامل مع الأزمات من الديمقراطيات. ومع ذلك ، يجب ألا ننسى أن هذه الكفاءة تأتي على حساب حتمي للحقوق السياسية والمدنية.

 

يدرك شي جين بينغ جيدًا أن إدارة بايدن يمكنها أخيرًا تغيير مسار الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها ، وتشكيل جبهة موحدة وتقدمية بعد سنوات من السياسات الشعبوية والوطنية والاستبدادية. ربما يمكن أن يساعد هذا العنصر في فهم تأكيد شي في المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي بشكل أفضل من النجاحات الاقتصادية الأخيرة.

 

بعد كل شيء ، الحقوق السياسية والمدنية هي كعب أخيل للصين. إن انتقاد الحزب الشيوعي ، ناهيك عن الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان الأساسية مثل حرية التعبير أو سيادة القانون ، يؤدي بلا هوادة إلى قمع يقع بنفس القسوة في العاصمة الغنية في هونغ كونغ والمناطق الفقيرة في شينجيانغ، تجتاح المواطنين العاديين والمليارديرات على حد سواء ، من جوشوا وونج إلى جاك ما.

 

هل يمكن للصين أن تعلن بمصداقية فضائل العولمة لتحقيق الانسجام والتوازن في نظام دولي إذا لم تلتزم بالقانون الدولي؟ هل يمكن لبكين التحدث عن التعاون لحل المشاكل العالمية عندما حجبت معلومات حيوية حول تهديد جائحة كوفيد -19؟ مع استمرار شي جين بينغ في توجيه المملكة الوسطى للخروج من عزلتها التاريخية ، سيكون من الصعب تجنب تحدي الولايات المتحدة للحصول على منصب زعيم العالم ، بالنظر إلى التركيبة السكانية والوضع الاقتصادي للصين.

 

هل هذين Weltanschauungen، مفهومان مختلفان بشكل شامل عن العالم ، سيوفران للمجتمع الدولي ، عاجلاً أم آجلاً ، خيارًا؟

 

"هذا البند تم نشره في الأصل في Fair Observer في 11 فبراير 2021. "

الآراء الواردة في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف ولا تعكس وجهات نظر WorldRef أو آراءها أو سياساتها.

 


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل واقتصادية!

خدمات للبائعين  |  خدمات للمشترين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  خدمات القوى العاملة  |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  حلول محطة توليد الكهرباء  |  حلول الطاقة المتجددة مع التمويل

Is China the New Champion of Globalization?

ChinaGlobalisation

Sharing is caring

March 5th, 2021

Can China credibly profess the virtues of globalization to achieve harmony and balance in an international system if it doesn’t adhere to international law?

 

 

On January 25, addressing a virtual World Economic Forum, China’s President Xi Jinping not only strongly advocated for a multilateral approach to the COVID-19 pandemic but insisted on the virtues and systemic benefits of free trade and globalization. Jeopardizing those elements may introduce conflict into the international system, Xi warned, clearly referring to, although not mentioning, the United States.

 

This is not the first time Xi has credited himself as the “champion of globalization,” in particular when attending meetings in Davos. In 2017, in the early days of Donald Trump’s presidency, with the long shadow of barriers to trade and isolationist policies just starting to appear on the horizon, China’s president made important remarks encouraging free trade and opening up the markets.

 

However, with Trump out and Joe Biden now in the Oval Office, there seems little to suggest any substantial change in US policy, at least in the foreseeable future. If the US isn’t particularly eager to work with China toward free trade and multilateral cooperation, the European Union, and Germany in particular, quickly opted for a completely different approach, signing a key investment deal with Beijing at the end of last year. The Comprehensive Agreement on Investment (CAI) will grant a greater level of market access for investors than ever before, including new important market openings.

 

Washington did not miss the opportunity to express its concerns about a deal that suddenly and unexpectedly sidelined the United States at a moment when, after four years of relative anarchy and opportunism, restarting transatlantic relations should be a priority. Writing in the Financial Times, Gideon Rachman recently pointed out how little sense it makes to rely on a US security guarantee in Europe while undermining its security policy in the Pacific, considering how much Europe has benefitted from the fact that for the past 70 years, the world’s most powerful nation has been a liberal democracy. Germany, in fact, was able over the last decades to exercise a sui generis role of Zivilmacht (civilian power) by framing its national interest in geoeconomic terms, encouraging German exports worldwide while outsourcing its defense to the reassuring presence of US troops.

 

To better understand Xi’s quasi-imperial stance at the World Economic Forum, it has to be placed not only against the backdrop of the recent investment deals with the European Union or with the 15 countries of the Asia-Pacific region, but on the big news that China is on course to overtake the US as the world’s biggest economy by 2028, five years ahead of earlier predictions, mainly due to the asymmetric impact of COVID-19.

 

While it is clear that China has successfully contained the Sars-Cov-2 outbreak and the Chinese economy is now recovering at a higher speed than other countries, it is also true that a lack of transparency and delays in sharing information with the international community about the virus have contributed to an acceleration of the pandemic at a global level.

 

   Yuyuan Garden at night in Shanghai, China  |  Getty Images

 

Nonetheless, in the current debate over shaping more efficient emergency policies, China is still emerging as the model to follow and imitate, despite being unpopular. There is little doubt that in the “social imaginary” of liberal societies, as reports from Europe and the US suggest, authoritarian regimes are seen by many as more efficient and better prepared to deal with crises than democracies. Yet we must not forget that this efficiency comes at the inevitable cost of political and civil rights.

 

Xi Jinping is well aware that the Biden administration can finally change course for the US and its allies, forging a united and progressive front after years of populist, nativist and authoritarian politics. Perhaps this element can help understand Xi’s assertiveness at the World Economic Forum better than the recent economic successes.

 

After all, political and civil rights are China’s Achilles’ heel. Criticism of the Communist Party, let alone advocating for basic human rights such as freedom of speech or the rule of law, inexorably leads to repression that falls with equal severity on the rich metropolis of Hong Kong and the poor areas of Xinjiang, sweeping up ordinary citizens and billionaires alike, from Joshua Wong to Jack Ma.

 

Can China credibly profess the virtues of globalization to achieve harmony and balance in an international system if it doesn’t adhere to international law? Can Beijing speak of cooperation to solve global problems when it has withheld vital information about the threat of the COVID-19 pandemic? As Xi Jinping continues to steer the Middle Kingdom out of its historical isolation, avoiding challenging the United States for the position of world leader will be difficult, given China’s demographics and economic status.

 

Will these two Weltanschauungen, two comprehensively different conceptions of the world, sooner or later present the international community with a choice?

 

“This article was originally published on Fair Observer on 11 Feb 2021.”

The views expressed in this article are the author’s own and do not reflect WorldRef’s views, opinions or policies.

 


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and economical!

Services for Sellers  |  Services for Buyers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Manpower Services  |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Power Plant Solutions  |  Renewable Power Solutions with Financing