هل الهند جاهزة لتيسلا؟

أعلنت شركة تسلا ، أكبر منتج للسيارات الكهربائية في العالم ، عن نيتها دخول الهند. لكن يبدو أن الخبراء يعتقدون أن هناك ضجيجًا أكثر مما قد يقدمه الواقع.

العولمة او الوافدين الاجانبالهندتسلا
[أمراض القلب الاجتماعية]

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

22 مايو، 2021

أعلنت شركة تسلا ، أكبر منتج للسيارات الكهربائية في العالم ، عن نيتها دخول الهند. لكن يبدو أن الخبراء يعتقدون أن هناك ضجيجًا أكثر مما قد يقدمه الواقع.

 

بقلم أكس كولديب سينغ


 

هناك ثورة في السيارات الكهربائية تجتاح العالم والهند أيضًا متعطشة للانضمام إلى سباق السيارات الكهربائية على الرغم من أن سوق السيارات الكهربائية في الهند اليوم في مرحلة ناشئة جدًا.

 

أشار Elon Musk في عدة مناسبات إلى أن Tesla من المقرر أن تدخل الهند في عام 2021. في الثامن من يناير ، اتخذت Tesla خطوة أخرى نحو الانطلاق في الهند من خلال تسجيل Tesla Motors India و Energy Private Limited في بنغالورو ، وهي مركز للعديد من شركات التكنولوجيا العالمية. يأمل تسلا في تأسيس موطئ قدم مع انتقال الهند إلى التنقل الكهربائي. لكن يبدو أن الخبراء يعتقدون أن هناك ضجيجًا أكثر مما قد يقدمه الواقع.

 

كانت الهند تتودد إلى تسلا بعرض تكاليف إنتاج أرخص من الصين ، لكن الإرادة الكافية هي أمر يحتاج إلى النظر فيه بمزيد من التفصيل. هناك تحديات واضحة أمام دخول Tesla تتراوح من الافتقار إلى البنية التحتية للشحن إلى انضباط حارة القيادة.

 

تحديات لدخول تسلا

إذا ومتى أتت تسلا إلى الهند في النهاية ، فلن يكون الأمر سهلاً. لن يكون مثل سوق الصين على سبيل المثال. توجد شركات مثل هوندا أو تويوتا أو فورد أو فولكس فاجن في السوق الهندية منذ عقود ولكن لديها حصة في السوق من 1 إلى 2 ٪.

 

الهند ، على الرغم من كونها واحدة من أكثر الدول اكتظاظًا بالسكان ، فهي لا تشبه أي دولة أخرى نجحت فيها تسلا. السوق الهندي بشكل عام هو سوق سيارات صغيرة. لا تقارن مع أمثال الصين التي لديها سوق سيارات ضخم. 80٪ من السيارات المباعة في السوق الهندي سعرها أقل من 12,000 دولار أمريكي.

 

لا تزال ملكية السيارات أقل نسبيًا مقارنة بالولايات المتحدة على سبيل المثال. يمتلك 22 فقط من كل 1000 هندي سيارة ركاب والأكثر شهرة في الطرف الأدنى. تهيمن الدراجات النارية والدراجات البخارية على سوق السيارات الهندي والتي تشكل غالبية مبيعات السيارات. يعتمد معظم الناس على عجلتين وثلاث عجلات لتلبية احتياجات سفرهم اليومية.

 

صناعة السيارات في الهند تنمو. إنها الآن خامس أكبر سوق للسيارات في العالم بعد ألمانيا واليابان والولايات المتحدة والصين. ومن المتوقع أن ينمو بنسبة 5٪ من عام 11.3 إلى عام 2020 ، لكن ملكية السيارة بشكل عام غير شائعة. ضمن فئة سيارات الركاب ، يتم التحكم في السوق في الغالب من قبل عدد قليل من اللاعبين الكبار.

 

ماروتي سوزوكي المملوكة لسوزوكي هو اللاعب الأول في الهند. إنها تسيطر على ما يقرب من 1 ٪ من حصة السوق وهي خبير في صنع سيارات صغيرة رخيصة الثمن حقًا تكلف حوالي 50 دولار أمريكي. أكثر من نصف السيارات في السوق الهندية بهذا الحجم في هذا النطاق السعري.

 

الهند سوق واعية للغاية من حيث التكلفة لأن لديها العديد من البدائل الأرخص المتاحة.

 

قطاع الرفاهية صغير ولكن من المتوقع أن ينمو بنسبة 6٪ تقريبًا خلال السنوات الخمس المقبلة. هناك لاعبون راسخون مثل Mercedes و BMW يحتلون المرتبة الأولى والثانية في السوق ، لكن سوق السيارات الفاخرة لا يمثل سوى 5٪ من إجمالي سوق سيارات الركاب.

 

لا يوجد الكثير من المركبات الكهربائية ولكن هذا بدأ يتغير. لا يزال سوق السيارات الكهربائية في الهند في طور النشوء. كما أنها تفتقر إلى البنية التحتية اللازمة لاعتماد المركبات الكهربائية على نطاق واسع. أطلق اللاعبون الحاليون مثل Tata Motors و Toyota للتو سياراتهم الكهربائية في السوق ، كما بدأ المنافسون الآخرون في القيام بذلك.

 

حصة السيارات الكهربائية من مبيعات السيارات حسب الوضع والسيناريو في الهند ، 2030
حصة السيارات الكهربائية من مبيعات السيارات حسب الوضع والسيناريو في الهند ، 2030

 

حصة السيارات الكهربائية من مبيعات السيارات حسب الوضع والسيناريو في الصين ، 2030
حصة السيارات الكهربائية من مبيعات السيارات حسب الوضع والسيناريو في الصين ، 2030

 

حصة السيارات الكهربائية من مبيعات السيارات حسب الوضع والسيناريو في أوروبا ، 2030
حصة السيارات الكهربائية من مبيعات السيارات حسب الوضع والسيناريو في أوروبا ، 2030

 

حصة السيارات الكهربائية من مبيعات السيارات حسب الوضع والسيناريو في بقية العالم ، 2030
حصة السيارات الكهربائية من مبيعات السيارات حسب الوضع والسيناريو في بقية العالم ، 2030

 

هل تنجح شركة تسلا في الهند؟

إن دخول Tesla إلى الهند متوقع للغاية ولكن سياراتها ستكون بعيدة المنال بالنسبة لمعظم المستهلكين.

 

لا يوجد فعليًا سوق ممتاز للسيارات الكهربائية في الهند وإمكانات قليلة جدًا على الأقل على المدى القصير لبيع تسلا بأعداد كبيرة في الهند. بعد كل شيء ، الشخص العادي من الطبقة المتوسطة لن يشتري سيارة تسلا في الهند.

 

عندما تأتي Tesla إلى الهند ، فإنها ستدخل سوق المركبات الكهربائية في مهدها. تفتقر البنية التحتية للشحن ولا تزال معظم شبكات الكهرباء في الهند تعمل بالفحم ، كما أن انقطاع التيار الكهربائي ، خاصة خلال موسم الرياح الموسمية ، شائع جدًا.

 

قد لا تكون بعض ميزات توقيع Tesla متاحة أيضًا. قد لا تعمل الكثير من التقنيات التي تمتلكها Tesla مثل القيادة الآلية والقيادة الذاتية في الهند.

 

أحد الجوانب التي ستساعد Tesla هو أن التعرف على علامتها التجارية في الهند قوي مع اتباع علامة تجارية صغيرة ولكن مخلصين. ولكن من الصعب القول هل سيترجم ذلك إلى مبيعات في هذا الوقت من الزمن.

 

يعتقد بعض الخبراء أن الاستيراد إلى الهند قد يكون أفضل خطوة لشركة Tesla. لكن التعريفات الجمركية على الواردات والتوتر مع الصين يمكن أن يرفع التكلفة. إن وجود مصنع تجميع في الهند هو أحد الطرق للتغلب على ذلك ، ويمكنهم بالفعل استيراد مجموعات أدوات مفككة حتى يتمكنوا بالفعل من تحقيق أقصى استفادة من القوى العاملة الرخيصة.

 

مع نمو سوق المركبات الكهربائية ، يمكن لـ Tesla إنشاء التصنيع داخل الهند. يمكنهم التصنيع في الهند للتصدير إلى الأسواق الآسيوية الأخرى وحول العالم.

 

تم استخدام الحوافز والسياسات الحكومية في الصين والولايات المتحدة وأوروبا لتحفيز الصناعة في تلك البلدان. لذلك ، لا تستطيع الهند تحمل تكاليف التحول إلى الكهرباء حتى الآن ما لم تقفز الحكومة الهندية وتقرر تمويل هذا التحول.

 

أعلنت الحكومة خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية عن بعض المبادرات لتحفيز منتجي البطاريات على إنشاء متجر في الهند وتقديم حوافز لشراء المركبات الكهربائية. كما أنها تريد تحفيز شركات صناعة السيارات المحلية لإنتاج المزيد من السيارات الكهربائية من خلال فرض تعريفات على السيارات المستوردة. من وجهة نظر ضريبية ، يتم فرض رسوم على المركبات الكهربائية بنسبة 5٪ فقط ، بينما يتم فرض رسوم على جميع مركبات الركاب الأخرى بنسبة 28٪ ، ولكن يلزم فعل المزيد.

 

 

مع التكلفة العالية المرتبطة بالمركبات الكهربائية اليوم ، قد تظل أكبر منافسة تسلا أرخص - السيارات التي تعمل بالبنزين والديزل. لا تزال مركبات الاحتراق الداخلي تحظى بشعبية كبيرة في الهند لأنها أرخص نسبيًا وبالتالي ستكون هناك منافسة من هؤلاء المنتجين المحليين وكذلك السيارات الأجنبية المستوردة.

 

ولكن إذا كانت تسلا ستصنع سيارة كهربائية ميسورة التكلفة ، فقد تمنح تسلا الميزة التنافسية التي تحتاجها. تريد الهند احتضان المركبات الكهربائية لكنها ستفعل ذلك بنقاط سعر منخفضة جدًا مثل أقل من 10,000 دولار.

 

نظرًا لجميع التحديات التي تواجهها الهند ، يبدو من غير المرجح أن ينطلق سوق السيارات الكهربائية في الهند في المستقبل المنظور.

 

انخفض نمو الهند من حافة الهاوية العام الماضي بسبب جائحة فيروس كورونا ، وبالتالي فإن الأولوية العاجلة الآن هي إعادة هذا النمو إلى مساره الصحيح. ربما يمكن دمج بعض من ذلك في مساحة السيارة الكهربائية ولكن يبقى أن نرى ذلك.
الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل توسعك العالمي أسهل واقتصاديًا!

 

مراجعة الطاقة | العلامات التجارية العالمية | حضور الأعمال الدولية | الخدمات اللوجستية الدولية | قطع الغيار والأدوات والمواد الاستهلاكية | الهندسة والتصميم | تطوير الاعمال العالميه | حلول المشاريع الجاهزة | التعجيل والمراقبة | التحقق من الأعمال التجارية العالمية | دعم خدمة ما بعد البيع

Is India Ready For Tesla ?

Tesla, the world’s leading producer of EVs has announced its intentions to enter India. But experts seem to believe that there is more hype than what reality might offer.

GlobalisationIndiaTesla

Sharing is caring

May 22nd, 2021

Tesla, the world’s leading producer of electric vehicles has announced its intentions to enter India. But experts seem to believe that there is more hype than what reality might offer.

 

By Aks Kuldeep Singh


 

There’s an electric vehicle revolution sweeping the world and India is also hungry to join the EV race even though the market for EVs in India today is at a very nascent stage.

 

Elon Musk has indicated on several occasions that Tesla is set to enter India in 2021. On Jan 8th, Tesla took another step towards launching in India by registering Tesla Motors India and Energy Private Limited in Bengaluru, a hub for several global technology companies. Tesla hopes to establish a foothold as India transitions to electric mobility. But experts seem to believe that there is more hype than what reality might offer.

 

India has been wooing Tesla with an offer of cheaper production costs than China but will that suffice is something that needs to be looked at in greater detail. There are obvious challenges to Tesla’s entry ranging from lack of charging infrastructure to driving lane discipline.

 

Challenges To Tesla’s Entry

If and when Tesla does eventually come to India it won’t be easy. It’s not going to be like a China market for instance. Companies like Honda, Toyota, Ford or Volkswagen have been in the Indian market for decades but they’re having market shares of 1 to 2%.

 

India, despite being one of the most populous, is unlike any other country where Tesla has been successful. The Indian market overall is a small car market. It doesn’t compare to the likes of China which has a huge car market. 80% of the cars sold in the Indian market are priced at or under 12,000 USD.

 

Car ownership is still comparatively much lower when compared to the United States for instance. Only 22 out of every 1000 Indians have a passenger vehicle and the most popular are on the lower end. The Indian vehicle market is dominated by motorcycles and mopeds which make up a majority of vehicle sales. Most people rely on 2 and 3 wheelers for their daily travel needs.

 

India’s auto industry has been growing. It’s now the 5th largest auto market in the world behind Germany, Japan, the US, and China. And it’s expected to grow 11.3% from 2020 to 2027 but overall car ownership is uncommon. Within the passenger vehicle category, the market is mostly controlled by a few big players.

 

Maruti Suzuki which is owned by Suzuki is the No. 1 player in India. It controls almost 50% of the market share and it is an expert in making mini- vehicles which are really cheap costing around 10,000 USD. More than half of the cars in the Indian market are of that size in that price range.

 

India is a very cost-conscious market because it has so many cheaper alternatives available.

 

The luxury segment is small but it’s expected to grow at about 6% over the next 5 years. There are entrenched players like Mercedes and BMW who are no.1 and no.2 players in the market but the luxury car market accounts for only one percent of the overall passenger vehicle market.

 

There are not many EVs but that is starting to change. The EV market in India is still at a very nascent stage. It also lacks the infrastructure needed for widespread EV adoption. Existing players like Tata Motors and Toyota have just launched their EVs in the market and other competitors are also beginning to do so.

 

Electric Vehicles Share of Vehicle Sales by Mode and Scenario in India, 2030
Electric Vehicles Share of Vehicle Sales by Mode and Scenario in India, 2030

 

Electric Vehicles Share of Vehicle Sales by Mode and Scenario in China, 2030
Electric Vehicles Share of Vehicle Sales by Mode and Scenario in China, 2030

 

Electric Vehicles Share of Vehicle Sales by Mode and Scenario in Europe, 2030
Electric Vehicles Share of Vehicle Sales by Mode and Scenario in Europe, 2030

 

Electric Vehicles Share of Vehicle Sales by Mode and Scenario in The Rest of The World, 2030
Electric Vehicles Share of Vehicle Sales by Mode and Scenario in The Rest of The World, 2030

 

Can Tesla Succeed in India?

Tesla’s entry into India is highly anticipated but its cars will be out of reach for most consumers.

 

There is virtually no premium market for EVs in India and very little potential at least in the short term for Tesla to sell in large numbers in India. After all the average middle-class person is not going to buy a Tesla in India.

 

When Tesla does come to India it will be entering the EV market in its infancy. Charging infrastructure is lacking and most of India’s power grids are still coal-powered and power outages, especially during monsoon season, are very common.

 

Some of Tesla’s signature features may not be available either. A lot of technologies that Tesla does have like autopilot and autonomous driving may not work in India.

 

One aspect which will help Tesla is that its brand recognition in India is strong with a small but loyal brand following. But will that translate into sales is hard to say at this point in time.

 

Some experts think that importing into India may be the best move for Tesla. But import tariffs and tension with China could drive up the cost. Having an assembly plant in India is one way around that and they could actually import knock-down kits so they actually make the most of the cheap labor force.

 

As the EV market grows, Tesla could then set up manufacturing within India. They could manufacture in India for export to other Asian markets and around the world.

 

Government incentives and policies were used in China, the US, and Europe to jumpstart the industry in those countries. So, India can’t afford to go electric yet unless the Indian government jumps in and decides to fund this transition.

 

The government has over the past few years announced some initiatives to incentivize battery producers to set up shop in India and to give incentives to buy EVs. It is also wanting to incentivize the local carmakers to produce more electric vehicles by imposing tariffs on imported ones. From a tax point of view, the EVs are charged only 5% whereas all other passenger vehicles are charged 28% but more needs to be done.

 

 

With the high cost associated with EVs today, Tesla’s biggest competition may still be cheaper – petrol & diesel-powered cars. Internal combustion vehicles are still very popular in India because they are comparatively cheaper and so there’d be competition from these local producers as well as the foreign imported cars.

 

But if Tesla were to build a more affordable EV it could give Tesla the competitive advantage it needs. India wants to embrace EVs but they’ll do it at very low price points like less than $10,000.

 

Given all the challenges that India does have, it seems highly unlikely that the EV market in India will take off in the foreseeable future.

 

India’s growth fell off a cliff last year because of the coronavirus pandemic and so the immediate priority right now is to get that growth back on track. Maybe some of that can be incorporated into the electric vehicle space but that remains to be seen.
The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global expansion easier and economical!

 

Energy Audit | Global Branding | International Business Presence | International Logistics | Spares, Tools & Consumables | Engineering & Design | International Business Development | Turnkey Project Solutions | Expediting & Monitoring | Global Business Verification | After- Sales Service Support