ستحد هذه الاستراتيجيات من تأثير الديون الخاصة على الانتعاش الاقتصادي العالمي

اقتصاد العالم

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

11 مايو، 2022

استخدمت الحكومات السياسات المالية والنقدية لتقليل التأثير الاقتصادي للوباء ، لكن هذا أدى إلى زيادة الديون الخاصة. ماذا يمكنهم أن يفعلوا بعد ذلك؟

 

By

خبير اقتصادي ، قسم الدراسات الاقتصادية العالمية التابع لإدارة البحوث بصندوق النقد الدولي


 

  • اتخذت الحكومات في جميع أنحاء العالم تدابير لتقليل تأثير الوباء على اقتصاداتها.
  • ومع ذلك ، نتيجة لنجاح هذه السياسات ، ارتفع الدين الخاص العالمي.
  • قد يؤدي هذا إلى إبطاء الانتعاش الاقتصادي ، لكن عبء النمو سيختلف عبر البلدان وداخلها.
  • سيظل الدعم المالي الاستراتيجي مهمًا للكثيرين خلال فترة انتقال التعافي.
  • لتجنب إجراء التعديلات التي تسبب اضطرابًا طويل الأجل ، يُنصح صانعو السياسات بأن يكونوا على دراية بأي تطورات سلبية في القطاع المالي.

 

نجحت الحكومات في تخفيف الآلام الاقتصادية للوباء من خلال توفير الكثير من السيولة لإصابة المستهلكين والشركات من خلال ضمانات الائتمان والإقراض الميسر ووقف مدفوعات الفائدة.

 

ولكن على الرغم من أن هذه السياسات أثبتت فعاليتها في دعم الميزانيات العمومية ، إلا أنها أدت أيضًا إلى ارتفاع في الدين الخاص ، مما أدى إلى زيادة مطردة في الرافعة المالية حفزتها الظروف المالية الداعمة منذ الأزمة المالية العالمية في عام 2008.

 

ارتفع الدين الخاص العالمي بنسبة 13 في المائة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي العالمي في عام 2020 - أسرع من الارتفاع الملحوظ خلال الأزمة المالية العالمية وبسرعة تقارب الدين العام.

 

نحن نقدر أن المستويات الأخيرة من الرافعة المالية يمكن أن تبطئ الانتعاش الاقتصادي بنسبة تراكمية 0.9 في المائة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في الاقتصادات المتقدمة و 1.3 في المائة في الأسواق الناشئة في المتوسط ​​على مدى السنوات الثلاث المقبلة.

 

زيادة الديون

 

ومع ذلك ، فإن الأرقام الإجمالية لا تروي القصة كاملة. اختلف تأثير الوباء على الموارد المالية للأسر والشركات عبر البلدان وداخلها ، مما يعكس الاختلافات في استجابات السياسات والتكوين القطاعي لاقتصاداتها.

 

على سبيل المثال ، الخدمات التي تتطلب اتصالاً مكثفًا مثل الترفيه يتم التعاقد عليها مع بقاء الناس في منازلهم ، ولكن توسع إنتاج وتصدير أجهزة الكمبيوتر والبرامج والسلع الأخرى مع زيادة إنفاق المستهلكين على الأجهزة. اختلف التأثير على الميزانيات العمومية للمستهلكين والشركات ، وخاصة أولئك الأكثر تعرضًا للوباء ، اعتمادًا كبيرًا على الدعم المقدم من الحكومات.

 

يُظهر تحليلنا أن عبء النمو بعد الجائحة يمكن أن يكون أكبر بكثير في البلدان التي (1) تتركز فيها المديونية بشكل أكبر بين الأسر المعيشية التي تعاني من ضغوط مالية والشركات الضعيفة ، (2) الحيز المالي محدود ، (3) نظام الإعسار غير فعال ، و (4) السياسة النقدية بحاجة إلى تشديد سريع.

 

عادة ما تكون الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض والشركات الضعيفة (الشركات المثقلة بالديون وغير المربحة والتي تكافح من أجل سداد مدفوعات الفائدة) أقل قدرة على تحمل مستوى مرتفع من الديون. نتيجة لذلك ، من المرجح أن يقوموا بإجراء تخفيضات أكثر حدة في الإنفاق الاستهلاكي والاستثماري في المستقبل. لذلك ، من المتوقع أن يكون التأثير الأكبر على النمو المستقبلي أكبر في البلدان التي شهدت أكبر زيادة في المديونية بين الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض والشركات الضعيفة خلال الوباء.

 

شهد المستهلكون في الصين وجنوب إفريقيا أكبر زيادة في نسب ديون الأسر بين البلدان التي تتوافر عنها بيانات مفصلة. لكن تجربة الأسر في هذين البلدين كانت مختلفة تمامًا: في الصين ، ازدادت الرافعة المالية بشكل أكبر بين الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض ، في حين شكلت الأسر ذات الدخل المرتفع معظم الزيادة في جنوب إفريقيا.

 

من بين الاقتصادات المتقدمة ، شهدت الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض في الولايات المتحدة وألمانيا والمملكة المتحدة زيادات أكبر نسبيًا في الديون مقارنة بتلك الموجودة في فرنسا وإيطاليا ، حيث انخفضت الرافعة المالية فعليًا للأسر الفقيرة.

 

ستحد هذه الاستراتيجيات من تأثير الديون الخاصة على الانتعاش الاقتصادي العالمي

 

تباين تأثير الوباء على الأعمال التجارية أيضًا. غالبًا ما تقترض الشركات الضعيفة - التي تتركز بشكل كبير في الخدمات كثيفة الاتصال - لتنجو من الانخفاض في الإيرادات الناجم عن الوباء. لذلك من المرجح أن يكون الاستثمار المستقبلي أقل في البلدان ذات الحصة الأكبر من القطاعات كثيفة الاتصال.

 

ارتفاع معدلات التضخم والفوائد

 

مع تعافي الاقتصادات وتسارع التضخم ، يجب على الحكومات أن تأخذ في الاعتبار تأثير تشديد السياسة المالية والنقدية على المستهلكين والشركات الأكثر ضغوطًا ماليًا عند تحديد خطوات الخروج من سياسات الدعم غير العادية.

 

على سبيل المثال ، نقدر أن التشديد المفاجئ بمقدار 100 نقطة أساس من شأنه أن يبطئ الاستثمار من قبل الشركات الأكثر فاعلية بمقدار 6.5 نقطة مئوية تراكمية على مدى عامين - أربع نقاط مئوية أكثر من أقلها رافعة مالية.

 

حيثما يسير التعافي على قدم وساق وتكون الميزانيات العمومية في حالة جيدة ، يمكن تخفيض الدعم المالي بشكل أسرع ، مما يسهل عمل البنوك المركزية. في أماكن أخرى ، يجب على الحكومات أن توجه الدعم المالي للفئات الأكثر ضعفاً في الانتقال إلى التعافي مع الاستمرار في ذلك أطر مالية ذات مصداقية متوسطة الأجل.

 

لمنع التشديد السريع للسياسة النقدية من التسبب في اضطرابات كبيرة وربما طويلة الأمد ، يجب على صانعي السياسات إيلاء اهتمام وثيق للتطورات المعاكسة في القطاع المالي.

 

هذا مهم بشكل خاص في البلدان حيث يمكن أن تمتد موجة الإفلاس في القطاعات التي تضررت بشدة من الوباء إلى بقية الاقتصاد. يمكن للحكومات في هذه البلدان تحفيز إعادة الهيكلة على التصفية ، وعند الضرورة ، تمديد دعم الملاءة.

 

الإفلاس وإعادة هيكلة الأنظمة

 

يجب على السلطات أيضًا تعزيز آليات إعادة الهيكلة والإعسار (من خلال إعادة الهيكلة المخصصة خارج المحكمة ، على سبيل المثال) لتشجيع إعادة تخصيص رأس المال والعمالة بسرعة نحو الشركات الأكثر إنتاجية.

 

وبالمثل ، إذا كانت الديون الأسرية الكبيرة تهدد الانتعاش ، فيجب على الحكومات النظر في برامج إعادة هيكلة الديون ذات التكلفة الفعالة والتي تهدف إلى تحويل الموارد إلى الأفراد الضعفاء نسبيًا والذين من المرجح أن ينفقوا دخولهم. يجب أن تسعى هذه البرامج ، من خلال تصميمها ، إلى تقليل المخاطر الأخلاقية.

 

باختصار ، تشكل الزيادة الأخيرة في مديونية الأسر والشركات مخاطر على وتيرة الانتعاش. ومع ذلك ، فإن هذه المخاطر ليست موزعة بالتساوي. تعد المراقبة الدقيقة في الوقت الحقيقي للميزانيات العمومية للأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض والشركات الضعيفة عاملاً أساسياً في معايرة فك إجراءات الدعم. هذا يمكن أن يمنع حدوث ضائقة مفاجئة عند تشديد الأوضاع المالية.

 

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 22 أبريل 2022 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

These strategies will limit the impact of private debt on the global economic recovery

World Economy

Sharing is caring

May 11th, 2022

Governments have used fiscal and monetary policies to lessen the economic impact of the pandemic, but this has increased private debt. What can they do next?

 

By

Economist, The World Economic Studies Division of the IMF Research Department


 

  • Governments around the world took measures to lessen the impact of the pandemic on their respective economies.
  • However, as a result of the success of these policies, global private debt has surged.
  • This could slow the economic recovery, but the drag on growth will vary across countries and within them.
  • Strategic fiscal support will continue to be crucial for many during the recovery transition.
  • To avoid making adjustments that cause long-term disruption, policymakers are advised to be aware of any adverse developments in the financial sector.

 

Governments succeeded in lessening the economic pain of the pandemic by providing plenty of liquidity to stricken consumers and businesses through credit guarantees, concessional lending and moratoriums on interest payments.

 

But although these policies proved effective in supporting balance sheets, they also led to a spike in private debt, extending a steady increase in leverage spurred by supportive financial conditions since the global financial crisis of 2008.

 

Global private debt surged by 13 percent of the world’s gross domestic product in 2020—faster than the rise seen during the global financial crisis and almost as fast as public debt.

 

We estimate that recent levels of leverage could slow economic recovery by a cumulative 0.9 percent of GDP in advanced economies and 1.3 percent in emerging markets on average over the next three years.

 

Greater debt drag

 

Aggregate figures do not tell the whole story, however. The impact of the pandemic on the finances of households and firms has varied across countries and within them, reflecting differences in their policy responses and the sectoral composition of their economies.

 

For example, contact-intensive services such as entertainment contracted as people stayed at home, but production and exports of computers, software and other goods expanded as consumers spent more on appliances. The impact on consumer and business balance sheets, especially those most exposed to the pandemic, differed greatly depending on the support provided by governments.

 

Our analysis shows that the post-pandemic drag on growth could be much larger in countries where (1) indebtedness is more concentrated among financially stretched households and vulnerable firms, (2) fiscal space is limited, (3) the insolvency regime is inefficient, and (4) monetary policy needs to be tightened rapidly.

 

Low-income households and vulnerable firms (highly indebted and unprofitable businesses that are struggling to make interest payments) are typically less able to withstand a high level of debt. As a result, they are likely to make sharper cuts to consumption and investment spending in the future. The drag on future growth is therefore expected to be greatest in countries that experienced the largest increases in indebtedness among low-income households and vulnerable firms during the pandemic.

 

Consumers in China and South Africa saw the largest increases in household debt ratios among the countries for which detailed data are available. But the experience of households in these two countries was very different: in China leverage increased the most among lower-income households whereas households with higher incomes accounted for most of the increase in South Africa.

 

Among advanced economies, low-income households in the United States, Germany, and the United Kingdom saw comparatively larger increases in debt than those in France and Italy, where leverage actually declined for poorer households.

 

These strategies will limit the impact of private debt on the global economic recovery

 

The impact of the pandemic on businesses varied, too. Vulnerable firms—highly concentrated in contact-intensive services—often borrowed to survive the drop in revenues caused by the pandemic. Future investment is therefore likely to be lower in countries with a higher share of contact-intensive sectors.

 

Rising inflation and interest rates

 

As economies recover and inflation accelerates, governments should take account of the impact of fiscal and monetary policy tightening on the most financially stretched consumers and businesses when pacing the exit from extraordinary support policies.

 

For example, we estimate that a surprise tightening of 100 basis points would slow investment by the most leveraged firms by a cumulative 6.5 percentage points over two years—four percentage points more than for the least leveraged.

 

Where the recovery is well underway and balance sheets are in good shape, fiscal support could be reduced faster, facilitating the work of central banks. Elsewhere, governments should target fiscal support to the most vulnerable in the transition to recovery while keeping within credible medium-term fiscal frameworks.

 

To prevent rapid tightening of monetary policy from causing large and potentially long-lasting disruptions, policymakers should pay close attention to adverse developments in the financial sector.

 

This is especially important in countries where a wave of bankruptcies in sectors heavily hit by the pandemic could spill over to the rest of the economy. Governments in these countries could incentivize restructuring over liquidation and, where necessary, extend solvency support.

 

Insolvency, restructuring regimes

 

Authorities should also enhance restructuring and insolvency mechanisms (through dedicated out-of-court restructuring, for instance) to promote a rapid reallocation of capital and labor toward the most productive firms.

 

Similarly, if large household debts threaten recovery, governments should consider cost-effective debt restructuring programs aimed at transferring resources to relatively vulnerable individuals who are more likely to spend their income. These programs should, by their design, seek to minimize moral hazard.

 

In short, the recent surge in indebtedness of households and firms poses risks to the pace of recovery. Yet this risk is not equally distributed. Careful, real-time monitoring of the balance sheets of low-income households and vulnerable firms is key to calibrating the unwinding of support measures. This could prevent sudden distress when financial conditions tighten.

 

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on April 22, 2022, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions