ابدأ بالتصنيع إذا كنت ترغب في دفع النمو الاقتصادي الشامل.

تصنيعاقتصاد العالم

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

11 فبراير، 2022

قد يكون تنشيط الصناعة التحويلية في الولايات المتحدة عاملاً رئيسيًا في مكافحة عدم المساواة الجغرافية في جميع أنحاء البلاد مع دفع النمو الاقتصادي الشامل المستدام.

 

By

شريك إداري ، أمريكا الشمالية ، McKinsey & Company


 

  • أدى تراجع الصناعة التحويلية في الولايات المتحدة إلى عدم المساواة وأضر بقدرتها التنافسية العالمية.
  • إن تنشيط التصنيع يمكن أن يضيف 1.5 مليون وظيفة جيدة الأجر إلى الاقتصاد وتنشيط المجتمعات المهمشة.
  • يمكن أن يطلق الابتكار والرقمنة نهضة صناعية.

 

قبل وقت طويل من سيطرة COVID-19 على قاموسنا وحياتنا ، كان نموذج النمو في الولايات المتحدة يظهر علامات الإجهاد.

 

مع سنوات من النمو غير المتكافئ عبر القطاعات والمناطق الجغرافية ، ازدهرت بعض الصناعات بينما تعثر البعض الآخر. ازدهرت المحاور الرئيسية ، ولكن سقط عدد لا يحصى من المجتمعات الصغيرة من خلال الشقوق. سوق العمل لديه تصبح مستقطبة بشكل متزايد، مع تزايد عدد الأشخاص في الوظائف ذات الأجور المرتفعة والمنخفضة ، بينما انخفض عدد الأشخاص في الوظائف ذات الأجور المتوسطة.

 

أدت هذه القوى إلى إذكاء عدم المساواة ، ولم يؤد الوباء إلا إلى تفاقم هذا الاتجاه. إذا لم نتحرك ، فسيُترك المزيد من الناس وسيعاني الاقتصاد الأمريكي بسبب ذلك.

 

التصنيع: جزء أساسي من الحل

 

إن إعادة تنشيط التصنيع في الولايات المتحدة - وهي صناعة كانت في يوم من الأيام القلب النابض لاقتصاد البلاد - يمكن أن يكون أمرًا أساسيًا لحل هذه التفاوتات مع دفع النمو الشامل والمستدام.

 

اليوم ، يمثل قطاع التصنيع فقط 10٪ من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي والوظائف في الولايات المتحدة ولكنها تدفع 20٪ من الاستثمار الرأسمالي للدولة ، و 35٪ من نمو الإنتاجية ، و 60٪ من الصادرات ، و 70٪ من نفقات البحث والتطوير في مجال الأعمال.

 

على الرغم من مساهمتها الضخمة في الاقتصاد ، لم يتمتع التصنيع بنفس الازدهار مثل القطاعات الأخرى في السنوات الأخيرة. وبينما نمت بالقيمة المطلقة ، انخفضت حصتها العالمية النسبية من 25٪ إلى 17٪ في العقدين الماضيين.

 

مع انخفاض التصنيع ، ازداد عدم المساواة. اليوم ، تحمل الولايات المتحدة لقب أكثر الاقتصادات انعدامًا للمساواة في مجموعة السبع.

 

بحث من معهد ماكينزي العالمي وجدت أن استعادة النمو والقدرة التنافسية في 16 صناعة تحويلية رئيسية يمكن أن تعزز الناتج المحلي الإجمالي السنوي بأكثر من 15٪. يمكن أن يؤدي تعزيز القطاع أيضًا إلى معالجة مشكلات سلسلة التوريد المنتشرة التي تعيث فوضى في جميع أنحاء العالم ، وتخفيف الاضطراب قصير الأجل الناجم عن الوباء مع تحسين القدرة التنافسية العالمية على المدى المتوسط ​​إلى المدى الطويل.

 

الرقم: استعادة النمو والقدرة التنافسية في 16 صناعة تحويلية رئيسية يمكن أن تعزز الناتج المحلي الإجمالي السنوي بأكثر من 15٪

استعادة النمو والقدرة التنافسية في 16 صناعة تحويلية رئيسية يمكن أن تعزز الناتج المحلي الإجمالي السنوي بأكثر من 15٪

 

فتح اجتماعي واقتصادي

 

قطاع التصنيع مليء بالشركات التي تحقق قيمة كبيرة للمساهمين. يجب أن يبدأ المستثمرون وأسواق رأس المال في الانتباه.

 

إن تجديد مخزون رأس المال في التصنيع الأمريكي يمكن أن يساعد الصناعة على تحقيق إمكاناتها الكاملة والحصول على مليارات الدولارات من الاستثمار المتدفق. لن يؤدي ذلك إلى تحديث ورقمنة البنية التحتية للتصنيع فحسب ، بل سيؤدي أيضًا إلى إطلاق دورة حميدة من النشاط الاقتصادي المتزايد في المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

 

يمكن أن يلعب تعزيز الاستثمارات في هذا القطاع أيضًا دورًا رئيسيًا في معالجة عدم المساواة في المكان من الساحل إلى الساحل - لا سيما في المجتمعات التي تُركت خارج صناعات التكنولوجيا والتمويل المزدهرة.

 

يعد التصنيع بالفعل المحرك الاقتصادي الرئيسي ورب العمل الأساسي في حوالي 500 مقاطعة عبر البلاد. في تلك المجتمعات ، توظف الصناعة شريحة أوسع من إجمالي السكان - وهي تفعل ذلك بشكل أكثر شمولية. في معظم الحالات ، لا يحتاج الموظفون إلى شهادة لمدة أربع سنوات ، ويتمتعون برواتب أعلى من وظائف الخدمات - مما يجعل التصنيع أداة رئيسية لفتح المزيد من الفرص لمزيد من الأشخاص. تقدم لنا هذه المقاطعات مخططًا للنجاح.

 

يمكن أن يؤدي إحياء التصنيع أيضًا إلى 1.5 مليون وظيفة، لا سيما بين العمال ذوي المهارات المتوسطة ، مما يساعد على إعادة ضبط سوق العمل في الولايات المتحدة ودعم الطبقة الوسطى.

 

إن تنشيط التصنيع يعني تنشيط المجتمعات.

 

ضرورات النمو

 

سيتطلب إدراك فوائد الصناعة التحويلية الديناميكية تركيزًا مزدوجًا على التحديث وتطوير القوى العاملة.

 

تشهد الصناعة تحولات زلزالية نحو مستقبل رقمي وآلي ومتقدم ومستدام ، لكن العديد من اللاعبين الصغار يفتقرون إلى الأدوات التي يحتاجون إليها لمواكبة ذلك. سوف يتطلب الأمر الابتكار والمشاركة عبر الاقتصاد لتزويد هذه الشركات بالأفراد ورأس المال الذي تحتاجه لتزدهر. يمكن لقادة القطاع الخاص والعام أن يلعبوا دورًا في تحديث عمليات التصنيع الأصغر من خلال تقديم البرامج المالية ومسرعات الأعمال المستهدفة.

 

مع ترسخ الرقمنة ، يجب أن يجتذب التصنيع المزيد من المواهب إلى خط الأنابيب وتطوير مهارات القوى العاملة الحالية.

 

هناك رقم قياسي من وظائف مفتوحة في التصنيع في الولايات المتحدة اليوم. في أكتوبر من العام الماضي ، تجاوز هذا الرقم المليون - وهو أعلى رقم مسجل وأكثر من إجمالي سكان سان فرانسيسكو.

 

سيتطلب جذب المواهب الجديدة تعزيز سمعة الصناعة بين العمال. ولتحقيق هذه الغاية ، يجب على الشركات التعامل مع المدارس والمجتمعات من خلال شراكات جامعية وتمويل المدارس التجارية. من خلال القيام بذلك ، سوف يجتذبون الشباب إلى ابتكارات الصناعة والمزايا التي توفرها للعمال ، وربما الأهم من ذلك وظائف قابلة للتطبيق مع فرص للتقدم الوظيفي.

 

لكن جذب الوافدين الجدد إلى القوى العاملة وحده لن يكون كافياً - يجب أن يكون بناء مهارات العمال الحاليين ، لا سيما في مجال الرقمنة ، من الأولويات أيضًا. بدون ذلك ، ستتسع الهوة بين القدرات التي يمتلكها الناس اليوم وتلك التي تتطلبها العديد من الوظائف الشاغرة. إلى جانب التدريب المناسب للعمال ، يمكن للرقمنة أن تجعل القوى العاملة أكثر إنتاجية ، وعملهم أكثر إمتاعًا ، والصناعة أكثر تنافسية.

 

لحظة من الفرص

 

يمكن أن تصطف النجوم قريبًا. يتزايد تصميم القطاعين العام والخاص على دعم صناعة لطالما كانت ركيزة أساسية للنسيج الاقتصادي للولايات المتحدة.

 

قطاع التصنيع مهيأ لاستئناف موقعه كقوة للاقتصاد ، لكن يجب على القادة تركيز طاقتهم الجماعية على ثلاثة إجراءات:

 

  1. حث المستثمرين وأسواق رأس المال على توجيه اهتمامهم إلى التصنيع
  2. استقطاب المواهب الجديدة وتدريب القوى العاملة على وظائف الغد
  3. تحديث ورقمنة البنية التحتية للتصنيع في الولايات المتحدة

 

إذا استفادت الصناعة التحويلية من هذه الفرصة من خلال الاستثمار في الابتكار وتطوير القوى العاملة ، فإن المكاسب ستدفع النمو المستدام والشامل بينما تغذي في الوقت نفسه القدرة التنافسية للولايات المتحدة على المسرح العالمي.

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 12 يناير 2022 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

خدمات للبائعين  |  خدمات للمشترين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  خدمات القوى العاملة  |  حلول الصناعية  |  خدمات توظيف القوى العاملة  |  خدمات مقاولات القوى العاملة  |  خدمات إيفاد القوى العاملة

Start with manufacturing if you want to drive inclusive economic growth.

ManufacturingWorld Economy

Sharing is caring

February 11th, 2022

Revitalizing the U.S. manufacturing industry could be key to fighting geographic inequality across the country while driving sustainable inclusive economic growth.

 

By

Managing Partner, North America, McKinsey & Company


 

  • The decline of the United States’ manufacturing industry has driven inequality and hurt its global competitiveness.
  • Revitalizing manufacturing could add 1.5 million well-paid jobs to the economy and reinvigorate marginalized communities.
  • Innovation and digitization could spark a manufacturing renaissance.

 

Long before COVID-19 came to dominate our lexicon and our lives, the United States’ growth model was showing signs of strain.

 

With years of uneven growth across sectors and geographies, some industries have flourished while others have faltered. Major hubs have boomed, but countless smaller communities have fallen through the cracks. The labor market has become increasingly polarized, with the number of people in high- and low-wage jobs growing, while the number of people in middle-wage jobs has declined.

 

These forces have stoked inequality, and the pandemic has only served to exacerbate this trend. If we do not act, more people will be left behind and the U.S. economy will suffer for it.

 

Manufacturing: A key part of the solution

 

A revitalization of U.S. manufacturing — an industry that was once the beating heart of the country’s economy — could be fundamental to resolving these inequities while driving sustainable, inclusive growth.

 

Today, the manufacturing sector represents just 10% of U.S. GDP and jobs but drives 20% of the nation’s capital investment, 35% of productivity growth, 60% of exports, and 70% of business research and development expenditure.

 

Despite its outsized contribution to the economy, manufacturing has not enjoyed the same prosperity as other sectors in recent years. While it has grown in absolute terms, its relative global share has dropped from 25% to 17% in the past two decades.

 

As manufacturing has declined inequality has increased. Today, the U.S. bears the title of the most unequal economy in the G7.

 

Research from the McKinsey Global Institute found that restoring growth and competitiveness in 16 key manufacturing industries could boost annual GDP by more than 15%. Strengthening the sector could also address the pervasive supply chain issues wreaking havoc all over the world, easing short-term disruption caused by the pandemic while improving global competitiveness in the mid-to long term.

 

Figure: Restoring growth and competitiveness in 16 key manufacturing industries could boost annual GDP by more than 15%

Restoring growth and competitiveness in 16 key manufacturing industries could boost annual GDP by more than 15%

 

A social and economic unlock

 

The manufacturing sector is full of companies driving significant shareholder value. Investors and capital markets should start paying attention.

 

Renewing capital stock in U.S. manufacturing could help the industry realize its full potential and get billions of dollars of investment flowing. This would not only serve to modernize and digitize manufacturing infrastructure, but also trigger a virtuous cycle of increased economic activity in communities across the country.

 

Bolstering investments in this sector could also play a major role in tackling place-based inequalities from coast to coast — especially in communities left out of the booming tech and finance industries.

 

Already, manufacturing is the main economic engine and primary employer in approximately 500 counties across the nation. In those communities, the industry employs a broader swath of the overall population — and it does it more inclusively. In most cases, employees don’t need a four-year degree, and they enjoy higher salaries than service jobs — making manufacturing a key tool to unlocking more opportunities for more people. These counties give us a blueprint for success.

 

Reviving manufacturing could also add up to 1.5 million jobs, particularly among middle-skill workers, helping to recalibrate the U.S. labor market and bolster the middle class.

 

Revitalizing manufacturing means revitalizing communities.

 

The imperatives for growth

 

Realizing the benefits of dynamic manufacturing industry will require a dual focus on modernization and workforce development.

 

The industry is undergoing seismic shifts toward a digital, automated, advanced, and sustainable future, but many smaller players lack the tools they need to keep up. It will take innovation and participation across the economy to deliver these businesses the people and capital they need to thrive. Private and public sector leaders can play a role in modernizing smaller manufacturing operations by offering financial programs and targeted business accelerators.

 

As digitization takes hold, manufacturing must draw more talent into the pipeline and develop the skills of its existing workforce.

 

There are a record number of open jobs in U.S. manufacturing today. In October last year that figure topped one million — the highest on record and more than the entire population of San Francisco.

 

Attracting new talent will require strengthening the industry’s reputation among workers. To this end, companies should engage with schools and communities through university partnerships and trade school funding. In doing so, they will draw young people to the industry’s innovations and the advantages it provides workers, perhaps most importantly its viable jobs with opportunities for career progression.

 

But attracting new entrants to the workforce alone will not be enough — skill-building for existing workers, particularly in digitization, must also be a priority. Without this, the chasm between the capabilities people have today and those that many vacant jobs require will only widen. Coupled with the right worker training, digitization can make the workforce more productive, their work more enjoyable, and the industry more competitive.

 

A moment of opportunity

 

The stars could soon align. The public and private sectors are increasingly resolved to shore up an industry that has long been a pillar of the United States’ economic fabric.

 

The manufacturing sector is primed to resume its position as a powerhouse of the economy, but leaders must focus their collective energy on three actions:

 

  1. Urging investors and capital markets to turn their attention to manufacturing
  2. Enticing new talent and training the workforce for tomorrow’s jobs
  3. Updating and digitizing the U.S. manufacturing infrastructure

 

If the manufacturing industry capitalizes on this opportunity by investing in innovation and workforce development, the gains will propel sustainable and inclusive growth while simultaneously fueling the United States’ competitiveness on the global stage.

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on January 12, 2022, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Services for Sellers  |  Services for Buyers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Manpower Services  |  Industrial Solutions  |  Manpower Recruitment Services  |  Manpower Contracting Services  |  Manpower Deputation Services