لقد جعلنا الاختراق الكبير في الاندماج النووي خطوة أقرب إلى الطاقة "اللانهائية"

الطاقــة

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

16 سبتمبر، 2021

لإنشاء مصدر طاقة مستدام بقدرة غير محدودة وآمن واقتصادي وصديق للبيئة. يسعى العلماء حاليًا لإنشاء مفاعل اندماجي يمكنه إنتاج طاقة أكثر مما يستهلك. يبدو أن هذا ممكن.

 

By جريج دي تمرمان

باحث مشارك في Mines ParisTech-PSL. العضو المنتدب لأبحاث Zenon ، Mines ParisTech


 

مختبر لورنس ليفرمور الوطني أعلنت طفرة كبيرة في الاندماج النووي ، باستخدام الليزر القوي لإنتاج 1.3 ميغا جول من الطاقة - حوالي 3 ٪ من الطاقة الموجودة في 1 كجم من النفط الخام.

 

لطالما كان يُنظر إلى الاندماج النووي على أنه طاقة المستقبل - مصدر "لانهائي" للطاقة لا يعتمد على الحاجة إلى حرق الكربون. ولكن بعد عقود من البحث ، ما زال عليها أن تفي بوعدها المثير.

 

إلى أي مدى يقترب هذا الاختراق الجديد من النتائج المرجوة؟ فيما يلي نظرة عامة موجزة لوضع هذا التقدم العلمي الجديد في منظوره الصحيح.

 

ما هو الاندماج النووي؟

 

هناك طريقتان لاستخدام الطاقة النووية: الانشطار ، الذي يستخدم في محطات الطاقة النووية الحالية ، والاندماج.

 

في حالة الانشطار ، يتم تكسير ذرات اليورانيوم الثقيل إلى ذرات أصغر لإطلاق الطاقة. الاندماج النووي هو العملية المعاكسة: تتحول ذرات الضوء إلى ذرات أثقل لإطلاق الطاقة ، وهي نفس العملية التي تحدث داخل لب البلازما للشمس.

 

يعمل مفاعل الاندماج على تضخيم الطاقة: يجب أن ينتج التفاعل المثير طاقة أكثر مما هو مطلوب لتسخين بلازما الوقود لإنتاج الطاقة - وهذا ما يعرف بالاشتعال. لا أحد تمكن من هذا حتى الآن. تم تحقيق الرقم القياسي الحالي في عام 1997 من قبل Torus الأوروبية المشتركة في المملكة المتحدة ، حيث تم توليد 16 ميغاواط من الطاقة عن طريق الاندماج المغناطيسي ، لكن الأمر استغرق 23 ميغاواط لتشغيله.

 

داخل غرفة الاندماج في DIII-D tokamak ، سان دييغو ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. Rswilcox، CC BY-SA
داخل غرفة الاندماج في DIII-D tokamak ، سان دييغو ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. Rswilcox، CC BY-SA

 

هناك طريقتان محتملتان لتحقيق الاندماج النووي: الحصر المغناطيسي ، الذي يستخدم مغناطيسات قوية لحصر البلازما لفترات طويلة جدًا ، والحبس بالقصور الذاتي ، والذي يستخدم نبضات ليزر قوية جدًا وقصيرة لضغط الوقود وبدء تفاعل الاندماج.

 

تاريخيا ، تم تفضيل الاندماج المغناطيسي لأن التكنولوجيا اللازمة للاندماج بالقصور الذاتي ، وخاصة الليزر ، لم تكن متاحة. يتطلب الاندماج بالقصور الذاتي أيضًا مكاسب أعلى بكثير للتعويض عن الطاقة التي يستهلكها الليزر.

 

الحبس بالقصور الذاتي

 

أكبر مشروعين للقصور الذاتي هما مرفق الإشعال الوطني في مختبر لورانس ليفرمور الوطني في الولايات المتحدة و ليزر MégaJoule في فرنسا ، والتي تكون طلباتها عسكرية بشكل أساسي وتمولها برامج الدفاع. كلا المرفقين يحاكيان التفجيرات النووية لأغراض بحثية ، على الرغم من أن مرفق الإشعال الوطني يقوم أيضًا بإجراء أبحاث حول الطاقة.

 

يستخدم مرفق الإشعال الوطني 192 حزمة ليزر تنتج ما مجموعه 1.9 ميغا جول من الطاقة لفترة تدوم بضع نانو ثانية لتحفيز تفاعل الاندماج. يتم وضع الوقود داخل كبسولة معدنية يبلغ قطرها بضعة مليمترات ، والتي ، عند تسخينها بواسطة الليزر ، تنبعث منها أشعة سينية تسخن وتضغط الوقود.

 

كانت هذه العملية هي التي حققت ، في 8 أغسطس 2021 ، إنتاجًا تاريخيًا للطاقة قدره 1.3 ميغا جول ، وهي أعلى قيمة سجلت على الإطلاق من خلال نهج القصور الذاتي: أي أقرب نقطة وصلنا إليها للاشتعال.

 

المكسب الإجمالي البالغ 0.7 يساوي الرقم القياسي الذي حققته شركة Joint European Torus في عام 1997 باستخدام الحبس المغناطيسي ، ولكن في هذه الحالة ، امتص الوقود 0.25 ميغا جول من الطاقة وولد 1.3 ميغا جول: وبالتالي ، ولّد الاندماج جزءًا كبيرًا من الحرارة اللازمة للحرارة. رد فعل يقترب من نقطة الاشتعال.

 

ومع ذلك ، يجب أن يحقق المفاعل مكاسب أعلى بكثير (أكثر من 100) ليكون جذابًا اقتصاديًا.

 

الحبس المغناطيسي

 

يعد نهج الحصر المغناطيسي بآفاق تطوير أفضل ، وبالتالي فهو الطريق المفضل لإنتاج الطاقة حتى الآن.

 

الغالبية العظمى من الأبحاث تركز على توكاماك، مفاعلات الاندماج التي تم اختراعها في الاتحاد السوفيتي في الستينيات ، حيث يتم حصر البلازما بواسطة مجال مغناطيسي قوي.

 

ايتر، مفاعل تجريبي قيد الإنشاء في جنوب فرنسا يضم 35 دولة ، يستخدم تكوين توكاماك. سيكون أكبر مفاعل اندماجي في العالم ، ويهدف إلى إظهار مكاسب قدرها 10 - سيتم تسخين البلازما بمقدار 50 ميغاواط من الطاقة ومن المفترض أن تولد 500 ميغاواط. ومن المتوقع الآن رسميًا ظهور أول بلازما بحلول نهاية عام 2025 ، مع توقع ظهور اندماج في أواخر عام 2030.

 

أطلقت المملكة المتحدة مؤخرًا مشروع STEP (التوكاماك الكروية لإنتاج الكهرباء) ، الذي يهدف إلى تطوير مفاعل يتصل بشبكة الطاقة في الأربعينيات من القرن الماضي. الصين تسعى أيضا إلى برنامج طموح لإنتاج نظائر التريتيوم والكهرباء في الأربعينيات. أخيرًا ، تخطط أوروبا لفتح دولة أخرى متظاهر توكاماك نسخة تجريبية ، في خمسينيات القرن الماضي.

 

تكوين آخر يسمى النجم ، مثل ألمانيا Wendelstein-7X، تظهر نتائج جيدة جدًا. على الرغم من أن الأداء المتميز أقل مما يمكن أن يحققه التوكاماك ، إلا أن استقراره الجوهري ونتائجه الحديثة الواعدة تجعله بديلاً جادًا.

 

مستقبل الانصهار

 

في غضون ذلك ، ازدهرت مشاريع الاندماج النووي الخاصة في السنوات الأخيرة. يتصور معظمهم رد فعل اندماجي في السنوات العشر إلى العشرين القادمة وقد اجتذبوا معًا 2 مليار دولار في التمويل لتتفوق على قطاع التنمية التقليدية.

 

سيناريوهان مختلفان لنشر الاندماج النووي ، مقارنةً بالرياح والانشطار الشمسي والنووي. رصيد الصورة: G De Temmerman، D Chuard، J -B. Rudelle for Zenon Research (المؤلف مقدم)

 

في حين أن هذه المبادرات تستخدم تقنيات مبتكرة أخرى للوصول إلى الاندماج وبالتالي يمكن أن تقدم بشكل جيد مفاعلات تشغيلية بسرعة ، فإن نشر أسطول من المفاعلات في جميع أنحاء العالم لا بد أن يستغرق وقتًا.

 

إذا اتبعت التنمية هذا المسار المتسارع ، فقد يصل الاندماج النووي إلى حوالي 1 ٪ من الطلب العالمي على الطاقة بحلول عام 2060.

 

لذا ، في حين أن هذا الاختراق الجديد مثير ، يجدر بنا أن نضع في اعتبارنا أن الاندماج سيكون مصدرًا للطاقة في الجزء الثاني من القرن - في أقرب وقت ممكن.

 

تم نشر هذا المقال في الأصل بواسطة The Conversation ، أستراليا ، في 26 أغسطس 2021 ، وتم إعادة نشره وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا وقد تم نشره في الأصل في الفرنسية. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل توسعك العالمي أسهل واقتصاديًا!

الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | التعدين والمعادن | التحكم في تلوث الهواء | أنظمة مناولة المواد | معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي |

المعدات الصناعية المستعملة | قطع الغيار والأدوات والمواد الاستهلاكية | المشتريات الصناعية

A major breakthrough in nuclear fusion has brought us a step closer to ‘infinite’ energy

Clean EnergyEnergyNuclearSustainability

September 16th, 2021

To create a sustainable energy source with virtually unlimited capacity, safe, economical, and environmentally friendly. Scientists are currently driving to create a fusion reactor that can produce more energy than it consumes. This seems to be possible.

 

By Greg De Temmerman

Associate researcher at Mines ParisTech-PSL. Managing Director of Zenon Research, Mines ParisTech


 

The Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory has announced a major breakthrough in nuclear fusion, using powerful lasers to produce 1.3 megajoules of energy – about 3% of the energy contained in 1kg of crude oil.

 

Nuclear fusion has long been thought of as the energy of the future – an “infinite” source of power that does not rely on the need to burn carbon. But after decades of research, it has yet to deliver on its exciting promise.

 

How much closer does this new breakthrough bring us to the desired results? Here is a brief overview to put this new scientific advance into perspective.

 

What’s nuclear fusion?

 

There are two ways of using nuclear energy: fission, which is used in current nuclear power plants, and fusion.

 

In fission, heavy uranium atoms are broken into smaller atoms to release energy. Nuclear fusion is the opposite process: light atoms are transformed into heavier atoms to release energy, the same process that occurs within the plasma core of the Sun.

 

A fusion reactor amplifies power: the reaction triggered must produce more energy than is needed to heat up the fuel plasma for energy production to occur – this is known as ignition. No one has managed this yet. The current record was achieved in 1997 by the Joint European Torus in the United Kingdom, where 16 megawatts of power were generated by magnetic fusion, but it took 23 megawatts to trigger it.

 

Inside the fusion chamber of the DIII-D tokamak, San Diego, USA. Rswilcox, CC BY-SA
Inside the fusion chamber of the DIII-D tokamak, San Diego, USA. Rswilcox, CC BY-SA

 

There are two possible ways of achieving nuclear fusion: magnetic confinement, which uses powerful magnets to confine the plasma for very long periods of time, and inertial confinement, which uses very powerful and brief laser pulses to compress the fuel and start the fusion reaction.

 

Historically, magnetic fusion has been favored because the technology needed for inertial fusion, particularly the lasers, was not available. Inertial fusion also requires much higher gains to compensate for the energy consumed by the lasers.

 

Inertial confinement

 

The two largest inertial projects are the National Ignition Facility at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in the United States and the Laser MégaJoule in France, whose applications are mainly military and funded by defense programs. Both facilities simulate nuclear explosions for research purposes, though the National Ignition Facility also carries out research on energy.

 

The National Ignition Facility uses 192 laser beams that produce a total of 1.9 megajoules of energy for a period lasting a few nanoseconds to trigger the fusion reaction. Fuel is placed inside a metal capsule a few millimeters across, which, when heated by lasers, emits X-rays that heat up and compress the fuel.

 

It was this process that, on 8 August 2021, achieved the landmark energy production of 1.3 megajoules, the highest value ever recorded by the inertial approach: that is, the closest we have come to ignition.

 

The overall gain of 0.7 equals the record achieved by Joint European Torus in 1997 using magnetic confinement, but in this case, the fuel absorbed 0.25 megajoules of energy and generated 1.3 megajoules: fusion, therefore, generated a good part of the heat needed for the reaction, approaching the point of ignition.

 

Still, a reactor will have to achieve much higher gains (more than 100) to be economically attractive.

 

Magnetic confinement

 

The magnetic confinement approach promises better development prospects and is thus the preferred route for energy production so far.

 

The vast majority of research focuses on tokamaks, fusion reactors invented in the Soviet Union in the 1960s, where the plasma is confined by a strong magnetic field.

 

ITER, a demonstration reactor under construction in the south of France involving 35 countries, uses the tokamak configuration. It will be the world’s largest fusion reactor, and aims to demonstrate a gain of 10 – the plasma will be heated by 50 megawatts of power and should generate 500 megawatts. The first plasma is now officially expected by the end of 2025, with a demonstration of fusion expected in the late 2030s.

 

The UK has recently launched the STEP project (Spherical Tokamak for Electricity Production), which aims to develop a reactor that connects to the energy grid in the 2040s. China is also pursuing an ambitious program to produce tritium isotopes and electricity in the 2040s. Finally, Europe plans to open another tokamak demonstrator, DEMO, in the 2050s.

 

Another configuration called the stellarator, like Germany’s Wendelstein-7X, is showing very good results. Though stellarator performances are lower than what a tokamak can achieve, its intrinsic stability and promising recent results make it a serious alternative.

 

Future of fusion

 

Meanwhile, private nuclear fusion projects have been booming in recent years. Most of them envision a fusion reaction in the next ten to 20 years and together have attracted $2 billion in funding to outpace the traditional development sector.

 

Two different nuclear fusion deployment scenarios, compared with wind, solar and nuclear fission. Photo credit: G De Temmerman, D Chuard, J -B. Rudelle for Zenon Research (Author provided)

 

While these initiatives use other innovative technologies to reach fusion and could thus very well deliver operational reactors fast, deploying a fleet of reactors throughout the world is bound to take time.

 

If development follows this accelerated track, nuclear fusion could amount to about 1% of global energy demand by 2060.

 

So while this new breakthrough is exciting, it is worth keeping in mind that fusion will be an energy source for the second part of the century – at the earliest.

 

This article was originally published by The conversation, Australia, on August 26, 2021, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here and It is originally published in French. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global expansion easier and economical!

Thermal Power and Cogeneration | Mining and Minerals | Air Pollution Control | Material Handling Systems | Water and Waste Water Treatment |

Used Industrial Equipment | Spares, Tools and Consumables | Industrial Procurement