يعتبر المستثمرون من القطاع الخاص أمرًا بالغ الأهمية لمستقبل ESG. إليك كيف يمكنهم العثور على أصواتهم

الطاقــةIT Gالاستثمارات

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

7 فبراير، 2022

تُظهر الأبحاث الحديثة أن المستثمرين من القطاع الخاص يركزون بشكل متزايد على قضايا البيئة والمجتمع والحوكمة - ولكن كيف يمكنهم التأثير على قرارات الاستدامة في الشركات المالية؟

 

By

الرئيس التنفيذي لبنك جوليوس باير


 

  • يمكن للمستثمرين من القطاع الخاص ، الذين تبلغ قيمتها 42 تريليون دولار في جميع أنحاء العالم ، أن يكونوا وكلاء للتغيير في قضايا البيئة والمجتمع والحوكمة.
  • تدعم ثروة الأسرة ذات الثروات العالية المشاركة طويلة الأجل التي يتطلبها الاستثمار في ESG.
  • الشفافية والاختيار والثقة ضرورية لإطلاق العنان لقوة مستثمري القطاع الخاص في تشكيل الاستدامة.

 

نظرًا لأن المستثمرين في جميع أنحاء العالم يطالبون بقدر أكبر من الشفافية ومواءمة استراتيجيات الشركات مع سياسات ESG ، يلعب مستثمرو القطاع الخاص دورًا متزايد الأهمية في ضمان التزام استثماراتهم بنفس المعايير. من الناحية التاريخية ، كان التحريض على التغيير حكرًا إلى حد كبير على المستثمرين المؤسسيين الكبار ، ولكن أصبح الآن في أيدي المستثمرين من القطاع الخاص ليصبحوا من المؤثرين الرئيسيين في استجابة أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين لحل التحديات الملحة المتعلقة بالحوكمة البيئية والاجتماعية والمؤسسية.

 

وفقًا  مجموعة بوسطن الاستشارية، بلغ إجمالي قاعدة الأصول المؤسسية في العالم 61 تريليون دولار في عام 2020. ومع ذلك ، مثل الأفراد مجموعة أصول مماثلة ، بلغ مجموعها حوالي 42 تريليون دولار. هذا المجتمع هو الذي يمكن لأصحاب رأس المال أن يكون لهم رأي في اتخاذ قرارات الشركات وبالتالي سن التغيير الذي يريدون رؤيته. يتحدث القادة السياسيون ورجال الأعمال بصوت عالٍ حول الحاجة إلى وقف الاحتباس الحراري وإبقاء العالم على مسار 1.5 درجة مئوية - ولكن غالبًا مع خطط غامضة حول كيفية الوصول إلى هناك.

 

إذا أردنا الانتقال من الكلام إلى العمل ، فكل شخص لديه مساهمة ليقدمها. يمكن للمستثمرين ، على سبيل المثال ، ببساطة بيع أسهم الشركات الملوثة. لكن بدلاً من ذلك ، يمكنهم ممارسة أصواتهم أو حتى الانخراط بشكل مباشر وغير مباشر مع إدارة الشركة للضغط من أجل اتخاذ إجراء مسؤول. البحث عن "نظرية الخروج مقابل الصوت ينص على أن هذا الأخير ، وهو ممارسة صوت المساهمين ، هو أكثر قوة في معالجة العوامل الخارجية التي تؤثر على موقف الشركة ESG من قيام المستثمرين بالتخلي عن حصصهم.

 

تعتبر الثروة الصافية العالية ، وخاصة ثروة الأسرة ، مناسبة بشكل مثالي لنوع النهج الذي يتطلبه الاستثمار في ESG. هذه المجموعة لديها مجموعات كبيرة من رأس المال والأهداف متعددة الأجيال التي تدعم استراتيجية طويلة الأجل. لديهم سلطة تقديرية أكبر في قرارات الاستثمار مقارنة بالمؤسسات التي قد تكون عرضة لضغوط أو سياسات تجارية ، أو التي لديها صناديق استئمانية تفرض قيودًا على اتخاذ قراراتها. يمكن للأفراد الأثرياء والمكاتب العائلية أن يكونوا مرنين في كيفية تعاملهم مع الاستثمارات من حيث الحجم ، والمناطق الجغرافية ، وفئات الأصول بطريقة قد لا يفعلها المستثمر المؤسسي العادي. إنهم في وضع متميز وفريد ​​من نوعه للاستفادة من رأس المال الخاص للمساعدة في توسيع نطاق قطاع ESG ، ودعم الأهداف والطموحات المجتمعية طويلة الأجل. ومن استطلاعنا الذي شمل أكثر من 500 من ممارسي الصناعة الذين يعملون مع العائلات الثرية ، نعلم أنهم يهتمون بالفعل: وفقًا لنا مقياس الأسرة، الموضوع الذي نمت أهميته على مدى السنوات الخمس الماضية هو موضوع مستدام ، ESG ، ويؤثر على الاستثمار.

 

الرقم: أصبح الاستثمار المستدام والحوكمة البيئية والاجتماعية والمؤثرة والاستثمارات المؤثرة قطاعات ذات أولوية عالية بالنسبة للمستثمرين من القطاع الخاص

أصبح الاستثمار المستدام والحوكمة البيئية والاجتماعية والمؤثرة والاستثمار المؤثر قطاعات ذات أولوية عالية بالنسبة للمستثمرين من القطاع الخاص

 

الأفراد الأثرياء هم أكثر بكثير من مجرد مستثمرين: فهم مديرين تنفيذيين أو رواد أعمال ، يتمتعون بصلاحيات كبيرة في اتخاذ القرار ، ويؤثرون على المنتجات التي سنستهلكها غدًا ، والشركات التي تنتجها ، وموظفيهم وعائلاتهم ، والمجتمعات التي يعملون فيها. . علاوة على ذلك ، هؤلاء الأفراد لديهم تأثير قوي كمستهلكين واعين. هم مواطنون وناخبون ، وكذلك آباء أو قدوة ، ينقلون القيم إلى الأجيال القادمة. إذن ما الذي يتطلبه الأمر بالنسبة لصناعة إدارة الثروات لإطلاق العنان لقوة عملائها؟ تكمن الإجابة في حوار مبني على الشفافية والاختيار والثقة.

 

الركيزة الأولى شفافية، يتعلق بفهم عالمنا والتأثير الذي نحدثه نحن وعملائنا عليه ، من خلال جعل المشكلات والحلول ملموسة وقابلة للقياس. على الرغم من أن قول هذا قد يكون أسهل من فعله ، إلا أن الاستسلام لمجرد صعوبة ذلك أمر خاطئ: تحتاج المؤسسات المالية إلى استخدام جميع البيانات المتاحة لها اليوم للإبلاغ عن قضايا ESG ومناقشتها مع عملائها. سيؤدي هذا فقط إلى بدء دائرة حميدة من التعليم والحوار والتحسين ، مما يساعد على توافر البيانات وجودتها ، مما يؤدي في النهاية إلى ظهور معايير وتصنيفات موحدة. الشفافية هي أيضًا الخطوة الأولى لرسم خرائط العوامل الخارجية لأسعار السوق ، وهي مفتاح لتحقيق تخصيص أفضل للموارد.

 

بمجرد توفير الشفافية ، يجب منح المستثمرين من القطاع الخاص خيار. إنهم بحاجة إلى الحلول الصحيحة للتعبير عن آرائهم وقناعاتهم وقيمهم بطريقة مؤثرة. على مدار الخمسة عشر عامًا الماضية ، تطورت مجموعة منتجات "إدارة الثروات المسؤولة" المتاحة بشكل كبير ، مما أدى إلى خلق خيارات أكثر من أي وقت مضى. ومع ذلك ، ربما أدى ذلك إلى مزيد من التعقيد والارتباك. ما زلنا بعيدين عن معايير محددة بوضوح ومقبولة عالميًا.

 

وأخيرًا ، عند الحديث عن الاختيار ، يجب تمكين المستثمرين من القطاع الخاص من التعبير عن آرائهم ليس فقط من خلال تخصيص رأس مالهم ("الخروج") ، ولكن أيضًا من خلال التصويت النشط على إستراتيجية ESG للشركة ("الصوت"): بينما المستثمرون الأفراد في عام 2020 امتلكوا 29٪ من الأسهم في الولايات المتحدة ، ومن المعروف أنهم صوتوا فقط على جزء بسيط منها. مع تطوير عمليات أبسط أيضًا للصناديق المتداولة في البورصة في كل مكان ، فإن السؤال المتبقي بالنسبة للمستثمرين من القطاع الخاص يتعلق بجوهر تصويتهم: هل هم على دراية كافية بمجلس إدارة الشركة ، وآثار قراراتها على البيئة والمجتمع ؟ هذه مهمة طبيعية لصناعة إدارة الثروات: تسهيل مشاركة عملائها في ديمقراطية المساهمين ، من الناحية التشغيلية ، وأكثر من أي شيء آخر ، كمستشارين مطلعين.

 

تمويل التنمية المستدامة

 

تستوعب اقتصادات العالم بالفعل تكاليف تغير المناخ ونهج "العمل كالمعتاد" الذي عفا عليه الزمن. تسلط كل من الأدلة العلمية وتهجير الناس الضوء على الحاجة الملحة لخلق مستقبل مستدام وشامل وقادر على التكيف مع تغير المناخ.

 

سيتطلب هذا ما لا يقل عن تحويل نموذجنا الاقتصادي الحالي إلى نموذج يولد قيمة طويلة الأجل من خلال موازنة الظروف الطبيعية والاجتماعية والبشرية والمالية. سيكون التعاون بين مختلف أصحاب المصلحة أمرًا حيويًا لتطوير الاستراتيجيات والشراكات والأسواق المبتكرة التي ستقود هذا التحول وتسمح لنا بجمع تريليونات الدولارات من الاستثمارات المطلوبة.

 

لمواجهة هذه التحديات ، تمويل التنمية المستدامة هو أحد مجالات التركيز الأربعة في المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي لعام 2019 قمة تأثير التنمية المستدامة. ستسلط مجموعة من الجلسات الضوء على النماذج المالية المبتكرة والحلول الرائدة وأفضل الممارسات القابلة للتطوير التي يمكنها تعبئة رأس المال لتحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة في العالم. وسيركز على الظروف التي يجب أن تهيئها المؤسسات العامة والخاصة للتمكين من تمويل التنمية المستدامة على نطاق واسع. كما سيستكشف الدور الذي يمكن أن تلعبه الحكومات والشركات والمستثمرون وأصحاب الخير والمستهلكون لتقديم طرق جديدة لتمويل التنمية المستدامة.

 

كل ما سبق يعكس الدور التقليدي لمديري الثروات كخبراء ، تأسس على نموذج يتطلب منهم التفكير لعملائهم - توفير البيانات في عالم من المعلومات غير المتماثلة ، وتقديم التوصيات ، واختيار المنتجات ، وإدارة المحافظ. هذا له مزاياه ، ولكن لبناء دائم الثقة - الركيزة الثالثة في الجهود المبذولة لإطلاق العنان لقوة العملاء من القطاع الخاص - يجب أن تخطو جهودنا خطوة إلى الأمام. سنحتاج إلى أن نصبح ميسرين يتواصلون مع العملاء ونمكنهم من الإبداع المشترك. سيعني تصميم الحلول مع العملاء وليس فقط لهم ؛ جعل العملاء ، ونحن ، جزءًا من شبكة أكبر من السياسة والتنظيم والصناعة والمجتمع. سيعني ذلك توسيع تعريف إدارة الثروات إلى ما هو أبعد من المالية البحتة إلى تعريف يرتبط ويتعاون. أفضل طريق لدينا هو إحداث فرق جوهري والدخول في تغيير إيجابي.

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 05 يناير 2022 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

خدمات للبائعين  |  خدمات للمشترين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | التعدين والمعادن | التحكم في تلوث الهواء | أنظمة مناولة المواد | معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي | قطع الغيار والأدوات والمواد الاستهلاكية |  حلول محطة توليد الكهرباء  |  حلول الطاقة المتجددة مع التمويل

Private investors are crucial to the future of ESG. Here’s how they can find their voice

EnergyESGInvestments

Sharing is caring

February 7th, 2022

Recent research shows that private investors are increasingly focused on ESG issues – but how do they exert influence on financial companies’ sustainability decisions?

 

By

Chief Executive Officer, Bank Julius Baer


 

  • Private investors, worth $42 trillion worldwide, could be agents of change on ESG issues.
  • High net-worth family wealth supports the long-term engagement ESG investment will require.
  • Transparency, choice, and trust are needed to unlock the power of private investors in shaping sustainability.

 

As investors worldwide demand greater transparency and alignment of companies’ strategies with ESG policies, private investors have an increasingly important role to play in ensuring their investments are held to the same standards. Historically, agitating for change has largely been the preserve of large institutional investors, but it is now in the hands of private ones to become key influencers in a multistakeholder response to solving pressing ESG challenges.

 

According to the Boston Consulting Group, the world’s institutional asset base totaled $61 trillion in 2020. Yet private individuals represented a similar asset pool, totaling almost $42 trillion. It is this community who as capital owners could have a say in corporate decision-making and thereby enact the change they want to see. Political and business leaders are very vocal about the need to arrest global warming and keep the world on a 1.5C pathway – but often with opaque plans on how to get there.

 

If we want to move from talk to action, everybody has a contribution to make. Investors, for example, could simply sell the shares of polluting companies. But alternatively, they could exercise their votes or even engage directly and indirectly with a company’s management to push for responsible action. Research on the “exit vs. voice” theory states that the latter, the exercise of shareholders’ voice, is more powerful in addressing externalities that impact a company’s ESG stance than investors simply divesting their stakes.

 

High net-worth wealth, and especially family wealth, is ideally suited to the kind of approach that ESG investment requires. This group has large pools of capital and multigenerational objectives that support a long-term strategy. They have greater discretion in investment decisions compared to institutions that may be subject to commercial pressures or policies, or that have mandated trusts limiting their decision-making. Wealthy individuals and family offices can be flexible in how they approach investments in terms of size, geographies, and asset classes in a way that the average institutional investor may not. They are in a privileged and unique position to leverage private capital to help scale the ESG sector, supporting long-term societal goals and ambitions. And, from our survey of over 500 industry practitioners working with wealthy families, we know they actually care: According to our Family Barometer, the topic that has most grown in importance over the past five years is sustainable, ESG, and impact investing.

 

Figure: Sustainable, ESG, and impact investing are becoming high-priority sectors for private investors

Sustainable, ESG and impact investing are becoming high-priority sectors for private investors

 

Wealthy individuals are much more than just investors: They are executives or entrepreneurs themselves, with great decision-making powers, who affect the products we will consume tomorrow, the companies that produce them, their employees and families, and the societies in which they operate. What’s more, these individuals have a powerful impact as conscious consumers. They are citizens and voters, as well as parents or role models, passing on values to the next generation. So what does it take for the wealth management industry to unlock its clients’ power? The answer lies in a dialogue built on transparency, choice, and trust.

 

The first pillar, transparency, is about understanding our world and the impact we and our clients have on it, by making problems and solutions tangible and measurable. While this may be easier said than done, giving up just because it is hard is wrong: Financial institutions need to use all the data available to them today to report and discuss ESG issues with their clients. Only this will start a virtuous circle of education, dialogue, and improvement, helping the availability and quality of data, ultimately leading to the emergence of unified standards and taxonomies. Transparency is also the first step to mapping externalities to market prices, a key to achieving better resource allocation.

 

Once transparency has been provided, private investors need to be given choice. They need the right solutions to express their opinions, convictions, and values in an impactful way. Over the past 15 years, the range of “responsible wealth management” products available has evolved hugely, creating more choices than ever before. However, this may have led to even more complexity and confusion. We are still a long way from clearly defined and universally accepted standards.

 

And finally, when speaking about choice, private investors should be enabled to express their views not just through the allocation of their capital (“exit”), but also by actively voting on a company’s ESG strategy (“voice”): While individual investors in 2020 owned 29% of shares in the US, it is known that they only voted on a fraction of them. With the development of simpler processes also for the ubiquitous exchange-traded funds, the remaining question for private investors is regarding the substance of their vote: Are they sufficiently familiar with a company’s board, and with the implications of its decisions on the environment and society? Here is a natural task for the wealth management industry: to facilitate the participation of its clients in shareholder democracy, operationally and, more than anything, as knowledgeable advisors.

 

Financing Sustainable Development

 

The world’s economies are already absorbing the costs of climate change and a “business as usual” approach that is obsolete. Both scientific evidence and the dislocation of people are highlighting the urgent need to create a sustainable, inclusive, and climate-resilient future.

 

This will require no less than a transformation of our current economic model into one that generates long-term value by balancing natural, social, human, and financial conditions. Cooperation between different stakeholders will be vital to developing the innovative strategies, partnerships, and markets that will drive this transformation and allow us to raise the trillions of dollars in investments that are needed.

 

To tackle these challenges, Financing Sustainable Development is one of the four focus areas at the World Economic Forum’s 2019 Sustainable Development Impact summit. A range of sessions will spotlight the innovative financial models, pioneering solutions, and scalable best practices that can mobilize capital for the world’s sustainable development goals. It will focus on the conditions that both public and private institutions should create to enable large-scale financing of sustainable development. It will also explore the role that governments, corporations, investors, philanthropists, and consumers could play to deliver new ways of financing sustainable development.

 

All of the above is reflective of the traditional role of wealth managers as experts, founded on a model that requires them to think for their clients – providing data in a world of asymmetric information, making recommendations, selecting products, and managing portfolios. This has its merits, but to build lasting trust – the third pillar in the effort to unlock the power of private clients – our efforts need to go a step further. We will need to become facilitators who connect with clients and enable them to co-create. It will mean designing solutions with clients rather than just for them; making clients, and us, part of a larger network of politics, regulation, industry, and society. It will mean expanding the definition of wealth management beyond purely financial to one that connects and collaborates. To make a material difference and usher in positive change is the best route we have.

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on January 05, 2022, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Services for Sellers  |  Services for Buyers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Thermal Power and Cogeneration | Mining and Minerals | Air Pollution Control | Material Handling Systems | Water and Waste Water Treatment | Spares, Tools and Consumables |  Power Plant Solutions  |  Renewable Power Solutions with Financing