5 حواجز لاستخدام المواد المعاد تدويرها لتعزيز الاقتصاد الدائري

اقتصاد العالم

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

مسيرة 29th، 2022

تعد المواد المعاد تدويرها المشتقة من النفايات خيارًا رئيسيًا لاستعادة القيمة عبر سلسلة التوريد بينما نواصل السير على الطريق المؤدي إلى الاقتصاد الدائري.

 

By

محاضر ، جامعة ديكين


 

  • يمكن استخدام المواد المعاد تدويرها عبر التصنيع لجعل عمليات الإنتاج أكثر خضرة واستدامة.
  • ومع ذلك ، لا تزال هناك تحديات كبيرة فيما يتعلق بكسب تأييد واسع النطاق من الشركات المصنعة لاستخدام المواد المعاد تدويرها بدلاً من المواد الخام البكر.
  • سيكون الاستثمار لتوسيع نطاق عمليات إنتاج المواد المعاد تدويرها ، واستخدام البيانات عالية الجودة ، وتطوير الطلب المستقر على المنتجات الصديقة للبيئة ، مفتاحًا لحل العديد من هذه الحواجز.

 

في اقتصاد دائري مثالي ، لن ننتج نفايات ، لكننا ننتج في اقتصاد خطي. تعد إعادة استخدام هذه النفايات لاستخدامها في منتجات جديدة إحدى الطرق لاستعادة قيمتها بينما يواصل العالم السير على طريق بناء اقتصاد دائري.

 

يعزز الاقتصاد الدائري الحقيقي تصميم منتجات أولية أكثر استدامة ، بدلاً من إيجاد طرق لاستعادة النفايات وإعادة استخدامها. يمكن لإعادة استخدام المواد المشتقة من النفايات بعناية أن يدعم ذلك من خلال ربط سلاسل القيمة الأولية والنهائية للمنتجات. قد يؤدي ذلك إلى تحسينات متكررة في تصميم المنتج تسهل استعادة المكونات والمواد لإعادة استخدامها. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكن أن تشجع هذه المنتجات تطوير أسواق أكثر اخضرارًا وزيادة الوعي بالخيارات المستدامة الجديدة.

 

هل المواد المعاد تدويرها رديئة؟

 

لسوء الحظ ، هناك تصورات عميقة الجذور بأن المواد المشتقة من النفايات أو المعاد تدويرها أو المستعادة أدنى من المواد البكر. ومع ذلك ، فإن مفهوم "الجودة" في هذا السياق يعتمد بشكل أساسي على الاستخدام. نظرًا لأن العمليات الصناعية الحالية مصممة ومعايرة لاستخدام المواد الخام ، فإن المواد المعاد تدويرها أو المستردة يمكن أن تعطل سلاسل القيمة. ومع ذلك ، مع بعض التعديلات على عملياتهم ، سيكون من الممكن للمصنعين الحصول على قيمة من استخدام المواد المستردة.

 

سلسلة القيمة للركام الخرساني المعاد تدويره باستخدام مادة الخرسانة المستعادة.

 

خذ على سبيل المثال ركام الخرسانة المعاد تدويره (RCA). يمكن أن تحل محل الركام الطبيعي في صناعة البناء ، ولكن هناك 5 حواجز رئيسية يجب التغلب عليها قبل أن تضيف قيمة حقيقية لعملية إنتاج الخرسانة:

 

1) تلوث المنتج وتنوعه

 

عندما يتم إنتاج الخرسانة ، عادة ما يتم جمع النفايات في مجرى مختلط يحتوي على مستوى عالٍ من التلوث وخصائص متنوعة. يمكن أن تتقلب جودة المنتج المعاد تدويره ولا تتوافق دائمًا مع معايير الجودة of المواد الخام البكر النموذجية.

 

لحدوث إعادة التدوير ، يجب تحديد استخدام محدد للمواد المعاد تدويرها في مرحلة تصميم المنتج - بعد ذلك ستحدث إعادة التدوير وفقًا لذلك. على سبيل المثال ، يتم حاليًا إعادة تدوير معظم الخرسانة المهدمة لإنتاج الخرسانة المكسرة. يحتوي هذا على الركام الخشن والأسمنت الناعم وجزيئات الملاط والأنقاض والطوب وغيرها من الملوثات. تُستخدم هذه الخرسانة المكسرة لتحل محل الصخور عند بناء الطرق وتعتبر دورة سفلية لأن المواد المستعادة تحل محل مادة ذات قيمة سلعة أقل.

 

يجب أن يخضع تيار المواد هذا - الناتج عن إعادة التدوير ويتكون من عدة مواد مختلطة مع نطاق جودة واسع إلى حد معقول - لترشيح صارم للتأهل كمادة خام في عملية إنتاج أخرى. هذه الأنشطة ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع الحاجة إلى الحفاظ على هوامش أمان أعلى ، تزيد من تكلفة استخدام المواد المعاد تدويرها لشركات التصنيع.

 

أبحاث يوضح أن الفصل القوي للنفايات عند مصدر التوليد وإدارة البيانات والتتبع على طول سلسلة القيمة يمكن أن يساعد في التغلب على هذا الحاجز.

 

2) الحفاظ على العرض المستمر

 

تعتبر مواكبة الطلب عندما تصبح المواد المعاد تدويرها أو المحتوى المسترد مادة خام في سلسلة توريد أخرى أمرًا صعبًا. تتطلب مطابقة احتياجات العرض والطلب لسلسلتي توريد تخطيطًا دقيقًا للمخزون لتجنب نقص أو زيادة العرض. هذه يقود تكاليف الاحتفاظ بالمخزون. ينتج عن تصميم عمليات الإنتاج مع المرونة في التحول إلى المواد الخام البكر أثناء اضطرابات الإمداد نقص في استخدام الأصول ويزيد من تكاليف رأس المال العامل.

 

مرة أخرى ، تعد الإدارة القوية للبيانات والتعاون مع شركاء التوريد أمرًا أساسيًا للتغلب على هذا الحاجز.

 

 

3) تعديل عملية الإنتاج

 

إذا كانت خصائص المادة الجديدة مختلفة عن خصائص المادة الأصلية أو التقليدية ، فقد تتطلب عملية التصنيع نفسها تعديلًا لاستيعابها. في حالة استخدام الخرسانة المعاد تدويرها ، والتي تحتوي على بقايا ملاط ​​الأسمنت على السطح ، يحتاج المنتجون إلى أن يكونوا قادرين على إدارة امتصاص الماء المتزايد نتيجة لذلك.

 

ستكون هناك حاجة إلى بنية تحتية جديدة لمعالجة تدفق المواد الإضافية إذا استبدلت المواد المستعادة جزئيًا المواد الخام التقليدية في هذا المنتج. هذه التغييرات عادة ما تكون كثيفة رأس المال و تتطلب الاستثمار. على سبيل المثال ، ستكون هناك حاجة إلى أدوات وطرق جديدة لنمذجة وتقييم شامل لشكوك العرض والطلب المرتبطة باستخدام المواد المعاد تدويرها. في الوقت نفسه ، سيؤدي الحصول على بيانات دقيقة حول جودة وكمية التدفقات الواردة دورًا محوريًا في المساعدة على تبرير أي استثمار في توسيع نطاق هذه العمليات.

 

4) معالجة الطلب غير المؤكد

 

عدم اليقين من الطلب شيء آخر قضية رئيسية للصناعة. إذا قام المصنعون بتمرير التكاليف والمخاطر الإضافية لتوفير منتج أكثر مراعاة للبيئة في السوق ، فاطلب على هذا المنتج قد لا تكون عالية بما فيه الكفاية لخلق سوق مستقرة.

 

هذا خطر عدم الاستقرار تثني المنتجين من الاستثمار لتوسيع نطاق عملياتهم للوصول إلى وفورات الحجم. سيؤدي إنشاء جذب ثابت ومتسق في السوق لهذه المنتجات إلى تزويد المنتجين الذين يستخدمون المواد المعاد تدويرها بالاستقرار اللازم للعمل ، فضلاً عن زيادة الإنتاجية للمنافسة.

 

5) تكييف برامج الحوافز

تستخدم مؤسسات التصنيع التقليدية عمليات موحدة لمساعدتها على الإنتاج بكفاءة أكبر مع الحفاظ على جودة المنتج. ومع ذلك ، فإن إدخال مواد بديلة جديدة مشتقة من النفايات أو مستعادة أو معاد تدويرها يمكن أن يعطل هذه العمليات عالية المعايير أو المحسّنة.

 

عادة ما ترتبط مؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية (KPI) لموظفي الإنتاج بالحد من اختلافات عملية الإنتاج. إن تحفيز الموظفين على الحفاظ على الوضع الراهن بهذه الطريقة يزيد من إنتاجية الأصول ويشجعهم على تحقيق أهداف الإنتاج. ومع ذلك ، يصعب الحفاظ على هذا النوع من النهج عند استخدام المواد المعاد تدويرها أو المستردة بسبب التأثير على عمليات الإنتاج من الاختلافات التي نوقشت في النقاط السابقة.

 

ما لم يتم تغيير مخططات الحوافز التقليدية للسماح بهذه الاضطرابات - ربما حتى الترحيب بها باعتبارها ابتكارات أو جزء من مبادرة خضراء أوسع - فإن نظام الأداء التقليدي سيعارض هذا النوع من التغيير أو التحول.

 

إيجاد الحلول

 

هذه الحواجز لديها مجموعة متنوعة من الحلول. بينما يتطلب البعض تحويل سلسلة التوريد ، يحتاج البعض الآخر إلى تعاون وتعاون مكثفين مع شركاء سلسلة القيمة لتقليل المخاطر أو إعادة تصميم المنتجات لتحقيق التكامل الأمثل.

 

يعد توليد البيانات عالية الجودة وإدارتها وتبادلها حلاً شاملاً. يعد تطوير الطلب المستقر على المنتجات الأكثر مراعاة للبيئة من بين أبرز الحلول لحل معظم الحواجز الأخرى. في النهاية ، يجب أن نعترف بأن إنشاء اقتصاد دائري سيستغرق عقودًا وخطوات تكرارية متعددة. يعد إدخال المواد المشتقة من النفايات أو المستعادة أو المعاد تدويرها إلى المنتجات علامة فارقة مبكرة في هذا المسار الطويل نحو اقتصاد دائري.

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 10 ديسمبر 2021 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

5 barriers to using recycled materials to boost the circular economy

World Economy

Sharing is caring

March 29th, 2022

Waste-derived recycled materials are a key option for recovering value throughout the supply chain as we continue along the path to a circular economy.

 

By

Lecturer, Deakin University


 

  • Recycled materials could be used across manufacturing to make production processes greener and more sustainable.
  • Significant challenges remain in terms of gaining widespread buy-in from manufacturers to use of recycled materials instead of virgin raw materials, however.
  • Investment to scale up recycled material production processes, the use of high-quality data and the development of stable demand for greener products will be key to resolving many of these barriers.

 

In an ideal circular economy we would not produce waste, but in a linear economy we do. Repurposing this waste to use in new products is one way to recover its value as the world continues along the path to build a circular economy.

 

A true circular economy promotes more sustainable upstream product design, rather than finding ways to recover and repurpose waste. Careful repurposing of waste-derived material could support this by connecting the upstream and downstream value chains of products. This could lead to iterative improvements in product design that would make it easier to recover components and materials for reuse. Additionally, these products could encourage the development of greener markets and raise awareness of new sustainable choices.

 

Are recycled materials inferior?

 

Unfortunately, there are deep-rooted perceptions that waste-derived, recycled or recovered materials are inferior to virgin materials. However, the concept of “quality” in this context mainly depends on use. Since current industrial processes are designed and calibrated to use virgin materials, recycled or recovered materials can disrupt value chains. With some adjustments to their processes, however, it would be possible for manufacturers to gain value from using recovered materials.

 

The value chain of recycled concrete aggregate using recovered concrete material.

 

Take, for example, recycled concrete aggregate (RCA). It could replace natural aggregate in the construction industry, but there are 5 major barriers to overcome before it can add real value to the concrete production process:

 

1) Product contamination and variation

 

When concrete is produced, waste is usually gathered in a mixed stream that has a high level of contamination and varied properties. The quality of the recycled product can fluctuate and does not always meet the quality standards of typical virgin raw materials.

 

For upcycling to occur, a specific use for the recycled material must be identified at the product design stage – recycling would then happen accordingly. For example, most demolished concrete is currently recycled to produce crushed concrete. This contains coarse aggregate, fine cement, mortar particles, rubble, brick and other contaminants. This crushed concrete is used to replace rock when building roads and is considered a down-cycle because the recovered material replaces a material with lower commodity value.

 

Such a material stream – resulting from recycling and consisting of several mixed materials with a reasonably wide quality range – must undergo stringent filtering to qualify as a raw material in another production process. These activities, along with the need to keep higher safety margins, increase the cost of using recycled materials for manufacturing businesses.

 

Research shows that strong segregation of waste at the source of generation, data management and tracking along the value chain could help to overcome this barrier.

 

2) Maintaining constant supply

 

Keeping up with demand when recycled material or recovered content becomes a raw material in another supply chain is challenging. Matching the supply and demand needs of two supply chains requires careful inventory planning to avoid under- or oversupply. This drives up inventory holding costs. Designing production processes with the flexibility to switch to virgin raw material during supply disruptions results in asset under-utilisation and drives up working capital costs.

 

Once again, robust data management and cooperation with supply partners is key to overcoming this barrier.

 

 

3) Modifying the production process

 

If the properties of the new material are different to that of the virgin or traditional material, the manufacturing process itself might require modification to accommodate it. In the case of using recycled concrete, which contains residue cement mortar on the surface, producers need to be able to manage increased water absorption as a result.

 

New infrastructure will be needed to process the additional material stream if recovered material partially replaces traditional raw materials in this product. These changes are usually capital intensive and require investment. For example, new tools and methods will be needed to comprehensively model and evaluate supply and demand uncertainties linked to the use of recycled material. At the same time, getting accurate data on the quality and quantity of incoming streams will play a pivotal role in help to justify any investment in scaling up these processes.

 

4) Addressing demand uncertainty

 

Uncertainty of demand is another major issue for the industry. If manufacturers pass on the additional costs and risks of providing a greener product to the market, demand for that product may not be high enough to create a stable market.

 

This instability risk discourages producers from investing to scale up their operations to reach economies of scale. Creating a stable and consistent market pull for those products will provide producers using recycled materials with the necessary stability to operate, as well as to drive up productivity to compete.

 

5) Adapting incentive programs

Traditional manufacturing organisations use standardised processes to help them produce more efficiently while maintaining product quality. The introduction of new waste-derived, recovered or recycled alternative materials could disrupt these highly-standardised or optimised processes, however.

 

The key performance indicators (KPI) of the production staff are usually tied to limiting production process variations. Incentivising staff to maintain the status quo in this way increases asset productivity and encourages them to meet production targets. However, this kind of approach is difficult to maintain when using recycled or recovered material due to the impact on production processes of the variations discussed in the previous points.

 

Unless traditional incentive schemes are changed to allow for these disruptions – perhaps even welcoming them as innovations or part of a wider green initiative – the traditional performance system will oppose this kind of change or transformation.

 

Finding the solutions

 

These barriers have a variety of solutions. While some require supply chain transformation, others need extensive collaboration and cooperation with value chain partners to reduce risks or redesign products for optimal integration.

 

Generating, managing and exchanging high-quality data is a universal solution. Developing stable demand for greener products is among the most prominent solutions to resolving most of the other barriers. Ultimately, we must acknowledge that establishing a circular economy will take decades and multiple iterative steps. Introducing waste-derived, recovered or recycled material to products is an early milestone in this long path towards a circular economy.

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on December 10, 2021, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions