إنتاج مواد بناء مستدامة من الرماد البركاني والصخور

استدامة

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

مسيرة 14th، 2022

هل يمكن للحطام من جبل إتنا أن يمهد الطريق لمصدر جديد لمواد البناء المستدامة المتجددة والصديقة للبيئة؟ يعتقد الباحثون والعلماء في صقلية ذلك.

 

By

كاتب أول ، المحتوى التكويني


 

  • يستغرق التخلص من الرماد البركاني وقتًا طويلاً ومكلفًا - وقد يكون إعادة تدويره خيارًا أفضل.
  • يعد استخدام هذا الرماد كمواد بناء طريقة مستدامة لاستخدامه.
  • حتى الرومان القدماء استخدموا هذه المواد.

 

عندما ينفجر بركان ، يواجه الأشخاص الذين يعيشون بالقرب منه خطر إلحاق الضرر بالممتلكات وفقدان الأرواح وحتى تدمير مدن بأكملها. الآن ، وجد باحثون من مدينة كاتانيا الإيطالية ، صقلية ، طريقة لإعادة تدوير الرماد الناتج أثناء ثوران البركان كمواد بناء.

 

على الجانب الشرقي من جزيرة صقلية يقف أكثر بركان أوروبا تقلبًا - إتنا ، أو مونسيبيو ، كما يعرفه السكان المحليون - والذي بدأ في الثوران مرة أخرى في فبراير 2021 ولا يزال يرسل الرماد والدخان والشرارات في السماء. عندما يسقط هذا الرماد على الأرض ، يجب إزالته وإرساله إلى مواقع دفن النفايات. ولكن إذا كان من الممكن إعادة تدويرها ، يعتقد العلماء أنها يمكن أن تصبح مصدرًا جديدًا للمواد الخام المتجددة.

إنتاج مواد بناء مستدامة من الرماد البركاني والصخور

من الدمار إلى البناء المستدام

 

هذه الجولة الأخيرة من النشاط البركاني تم ترويضها بالمقارنة مع الأحداث الماضية. منذ حوالي 8,000 عام ، تسبب ثوران بركاني ضخم في إتنا في حدوث انهيار أرضي وانهيار جليدي تسبب في حدوث تسونامي أكبر من مبنى مكون من 10 طوابق. هو - هي "انتشر عبر البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​بأكمله ، ليصطدم بشواطئ ثلاث قارات في غضون ساعات قليلة، "وفقًا لـ Live Science ، التي تستشهد بالعمل الذي قام به المعهد الوطني الإيطالي للجيوفيزياء وعلم البراكين.
فريق من جامعة كاتانيا ، المدينة التي بنيت تقريبا في ظل البركان ، لديه حددت طريقة لإعادة تدوير الرماد من ثوران إتنا. تشمل الاستخدامات المحتملة للرماد المستعاد أسطح الطرق والبناء.

 

خصائص الرماد تجعله مناسبًا تمامًا للبناء. توفر أعداد كبيرة من الثقوب الصغيرة داخل الصخور عزلًا حراريًا ، على سبيل المثال ، بحيث يمكن استخدامها لإحداث تأثير جيد في الكتل الحرارية أو الألواح العازلة.

 

عرف الرومان بالفعل عن خصائص الرماد البركاني الذي يخلطونه مع مواد أخرى لبناء الجدران. اكتشف العلماء الذين قاموا بتحليل تكوين الجدران البحرية الرومانية القديمة ، والتي صمدت أمام اختبار الزمن ، مادة تقوية تسمى الألومنيوم توبرموريت ، والتي تبلورت عندما تعرض خليط الرماد لمياه البحر.

 

تعزيز صداقة البناء مع البيئة

 

هناك نوعان من الفوائد الرئيسية لإعادة تدوير الحطام من الانفجارات البركانية. إنه يقلل من الحاجة إلى المواد الخام لتصنيع منتجات جديدة - في هذه الحالة ، الكتل والطوب والعزل - مما يجعل إنتاجها أكثر استدامة. كما يعني أيضًا إيجاد استخدام مثمر لشيء كان من الضروري جمعه والتخلص منه بخلاف ذلك.

 

وفقًا لـ برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة (UNEP). وهناك عمل كبير يتعين القيام به. في أبريل 2021 ، الأمم المتحدة للبيئة وحذر من أن القطاع "ليس على المسار الصحيح" لبلوغ أهداف اتفاق باريس.

وهناك مخاوف أكثر تحديدًا أيضًا. ارتفع الطلب على الخرسانة - والرمل الذي يدخل فيها. 2018 تقرير الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة يشير إلى أن الركام (الرمل والحصى) هو أكثر المواد الملغومة في العالم - وكل ذلك له آثار على البيئة وكوكبنا. في الواقع ، أ منظور عام 2017 في مجلة Science يشير إلى أن الاستغلال المفرط للرمل لا يضر بالبيئة فحسب ، بل يعرض المجتمعات للخطر ويخاطر بنزاعات عنيفة.

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 26 يوليو 2021 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

Producing sustainable building materials from volcanic ash and rocks

Sustainability

Sharing is caring

March 14th, 2022

Can debris from Mount Etna pave the way for a new source of renewable, eco-friendly sustainable building material? Researchers and scientists in Sicily think so.

 

By

Senior Writer, Formative Content


 

  • Disposing of volcanic ash is time-consuming and costly – recycling it could be a better option.
  • Using that ash as a building material is a sustainable way of using it.
  • Even the ancient Romans used this material.

 

When a volcano erupts, people living nearby face the threat of damage to property, loss of life and even the destruction of entire towns. Now, researchers from the Italian city of Catania, Sicily, have found a way to recycle ash produced during an eruption as a building material.

 

On the eastern side of the island of Sicily stands Europe’s most volatile volcano – Etna, or Muncibeḍḍu, as the locals know it – which began erupting again in February 2021 and is still sending ash, smoke and sparks into the sky. When that ash falls to earth, it must be cleared away and sent to landfill sites. But if it could be recycled, scientists think it could become a new source of renewable raw materials.

Producing sustainable building materials from volcanic ash and rocks

From destruction to sustainable construction

 

This recent round of volcanic activity is tame by comparison with past events. Some 8,000 years ago, a massive eruption at Etna caused a landslide and an avalanche that triggered a tsunami bigger than a 10-story building. It “spread across the entire Mediterranean Sea, slamming into the shores of three continents in only a few hours,” according to Live Science, which cites work carried out by Italy’s National Institute of Geophysics and Volcanology.
A team from the University of Catania, the city built almost in the shadow of the volcano, has identified a way to recycle ash from Etna’s eruptions. Potential uses for the recovered ash include road surfaces and construction.

 

The properties of the ash make it well suited to construction. High numbers of tiny holes inside the rocks give them thermal insulation, for example, so they could be used to good effect in thermal blocks or insulating panels.

 

The Romans already knew about the characteristics of volcanic ash, which they mixed with other materials to build walls. Scientists analyzing the composition of ancient Roman sea walls, which have withstood the test of time, have detected a strengthening substance called aluminium tobermorite, which crystallized when the ash mixture was exposed to seawater.

 

Boosting construction’s eco-friendliness

 

There are two key benefits of recycling debris from volcanic eruptions. It reduces the need for raw materials to manufacture new products – in this case, blocks, bricks and insulation – making their production more sustainable. It also means finding a productive use for something that would otherwise have to be collected and disposed of.

 

In 2019, the buildings and construction sector was connected to 38% of total global energy related CO2 emissions, according to the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP). And, there’s significant work to be done. In April 2021, UNEP warned that the sector is ‘not on track’ to reach the targets of the Paris Agreement.

And there are more specific concerns too. Demand for concrete – and the sand that goes into it – has risen. A 2018 WWF report suggests that aggregate (sand and gravel) is the most mined material in the world – all with implications for the environment and our planet. Indeed, a 2017 perspective in the journal Science suggests that overexploitation of sand is not just damaging to the environment, but also endangers communities and risks violent conflict.

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on July 26, 2021, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions