ثلاث طرق يمكن أن يساعدنا بها الابتكار التكنولوجي في تحقيق أهداف المناخ

تغير المناختقنية

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

14 يونيو، 2022

الذكاء الاصطناعي ، والطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد ، والحوسبة الكمومية هي الابتكارات التكنولوجية التي يمكن أن تساعد جميعها في تحقيق أهداف المناخ ، ولكن يجب أن تلعب الشركات والحكومة دورًا أيضًا.

 

By

مدير عام المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي


 

  • تحتاج الاقتصادات والمجتمعات إلى الانتقال إلى صافي انبعاثات صفرية من أجل الحد من الاحترار العالمي إلى 1.5 درجة مئوية فوق مستويات ما قبل العصر الصناعي.
  • ستؤدي الابتكارات التي تحركها الطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد والذكاء الاصطناعي والحوسبة الكمومية وتحرير الجينات إلى تسريع عملية الانتقال.
  • لكن التكنولوجيا وحدها لا تستطيع حل أزمة المناخ - فلدى الأعمال والحكومة أيضًا دور كبير يتعين عليهما القيام به.

 

لتجنب الآثار الأكثر ضررًا لتغير المناخ وتأمين مستقبل أكثر أمانًا ، يحتاج العالم إلى التحول بسرعة إلى اقتصاد منخفض الكربون.

 

وفقًا لأحدث تقييم للهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ (IPCC) ، يجب أن تبلغ انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري ذروتها بحلول عام 2025 وأن تنخفض بسرعة بعد ذلك ، إذا كان الاحترار الإضافي إلى 1.5 درجة مئوية فوق مستويات ما قبل الصناعة سيكون محدودًا.

 

مفتاح تحقيق أهداف المناخ

 

سيتطلب الوصول إلى هذا الهدف أن نوسع نطاق حلول الطاقة النظيفة الحالية بسرعة ، وأن نطور طرقًا جديدة لصنع وتخزين الطاقة النظيفة ، واستكشاف طرق لعكس الانبعاثات التاريخية. سيلعب الابتكار التكنولوجي دورًا مهمًا في كل مرحلة.

 

إليك ما سيكون مفتاحًا لتحقيق أهدافنا المناخية:

 

1. توسيع نطاق حلول الطاقة النظيفة الحالية

 

لقد كان للابتكار بالفعل دور فعال في تقديم حلول طاقة نظيفة ورخيصة مثل طاقة الرياح والطاقة الشمسية والنووية. للاستفادة من هذه المصادر الحالية للطاقة النظيفة ، نحتاج إلى زيادة انتشارها والاستمرار في زيادة كفاءتها. ستلعب التطورات في الطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد والذكاء الاصطناعي (AI) دورًا مهمًا.

 

تُستخدم نماذج الذكاء الاصطناعي بالفعل لتحسين شكل شفرات توربينات الرياح والتنبؤ بعدم القدرة على التنبؤ بإنتاج طاقة الرياح لإدارة التقلبات في العرض والطلب.

 

وفي الوقت نفسه ، تتيح الطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد للمصنعين إنتاج ألواح شمسية أخف وزناً بمساحات سطحية أكبر ، مما يعزز الكفاءة ويقلل من تكلفة الطاقة الشمسية. ستسمح هذه التقنية أيضًا للمصنعين بإنشاء تصميمات معقدة للجيل القادم من المفاعلات النووية التي يمكن نمذجة النماذج الأولية واختبارها وطرحها في السوق بسرعة.

 

2. تطوير طرق جديدة لصنع وتخزين الطاقة النظيفة

 

إن تكثيف الحلول المناخية اليوم سيساعدنا فقط على تحقيق أهدافنا المناخية. سيتطلب الوصول إلى صافي الصفر تقنيات وحلول ناشئة غير متاحة على نطاق واسع أو بأسعار معقولة.

 

إذا كانت مصادر الطاقة المتجددة المتقطعة مثل الرياح والطاقة الشمسية ستحل محل انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة الكبيرة ، فإن هناك حاجة إلى حلول أفضل لتخزين الطاقة. على الرغم من أن التطورات الحديثة في تكنولوجيا البطاريات مشجعة ، إلا أن هناك حاجة لتطوير بطاريات أكثر أمانًا وأخف وزنًا لا تعتمد على المواد النادرة.

 

إنها الأيام الأولى ، لكن الحوسبة الكمومية قد تساعد في فتح مجموعات أفضل من خصائص المواد والتصاميم لبطاريات الجيل التالي.

 

بالإضافة إلى إيجاد طرق جديدة لتخزين الطاقة ، هناك حاجة للاستفادة من مصادر جديدة للطاقة مثل الاندماج النووي ، والذي لطالما اعتبر "الكأس المقدسة" لأبحاث الطاقة مع قدرتها على توفير مصدر غير محدود من مصادر الطاقة الآمنة والمستدامة ومصدر طاقة فعال.

 

على عكس المفاعلات النووية الحالية التي تقسم اليورانيوم والذرات الثقيلة الأخرى إلى نوى أصغر في عملية تعرف باسم الانشطار النووي ، يعمل الاندماج النووي عن طريق الجمع بين الذرات الأخف مثل الهيدروجين لتوليد بلازما أكثر سخونة من لب الشمس.

 

البلازما غير مستقرة بطبيعتها ، مما يجعل من الصعب الحفاظ على العملية المطلوبة للاندماج النووي داخل المفاعل. لكن المعالم البارزة مثل استخدام DeepMind لتعلم التعزيز العميق لاكتشاف طرق جديدة للتحكم في تفاعلات الاندماج توفر الأمل في أن الاندماج النووي أصبح مصدر طاقة قابل للتطبيق في المستقبل.

 

الانتقال إلى مستقبل صافي صفر لا يمكن حله بالكامل باستخدام مصادر الطاقة المتجددة والبطاريات الحالية والمستقبلية. يتطلب النقل لمسافات طويلة ناقلات طاقة ذات كثافة طاقة عالية جدًا.

 

لذلك ، لا يزال الشحن والطيران يعتمدان على الوقود بدلاً من الكهرباء المخزنة. يمكن أن يساعد الهيدروجين الأخضر والوقود الحيوي الاصطناعي هذه الصناعات التقليدية عالية التلوث على الانتقال إلى طاقة أنظف.

 

من المحتمل أن يفتح التقدم في تحرير الجينات والبيولوجيا التركيبية إمكانيات جديدة لتحسين كفاءة إنتاج الوقود الحيوي ، عن طريق تعديل جينات النباتات المستخدمة في صنعها.

 

3. عكس مسار الانبعاثات التاريخية لتلافي أزمة المناخ

 

حتى مع جهود التحول الطموحة في مجال الطاقة ، من المرجح أن يكون سحب غازات الاحتباس الحراري عن قصد من البيئة أداة حاسمة لموازنة الانبعاثات التاريخية ، فضلاً عن موازنة الانبعاثات من الصناعات البطيئة إلى التي تمر بمرحلة انتقالية.

 

تتضمن إزالة ثاني أكسيد الكربون (CDR) مجموعة واسعة من الأساليب التي تلتقط ثاني أكسيد الكربون مباشرة من البيئة وتخزنه في خزانات طبيعية أو من صنع الإنسان لتوليد انبعاثات سلبية.

 

تتراوح التطورات البحثية من النباتات المصممة لتخزين المزيد من ثاني أكسيد الكربون في جذورها ، إلى تقنيات معالجة المياه التي تخزن الكربون من المحيط في الصخور. ولكن ستكون هناك حاجة إلى استثمارات ضخمة لنشر هذه التقنيات وغيرها من تقنيات CDR على نطاق واسع وفي الوقت المناسب لتلبية الاحتياجات الملحة لأزمة المناخ.

 

تعتبر مبادرات مثل إطلاق النار على الأرض بشأن إزالة الكربون نقطة انطلاق جيدة ، ولكن ستكون هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من التعبئة بين القطاعين العام والخاص.

 

الأفكار المبتكرة اللازمة لمعالجة تغير المناخ

 

من خلال الجمع بين الشركات الناشئة المبتكرة مع الشركات الأكثر رسوخًا ، يسهل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي تبادل الأفكار والحلول التي ستشكل التحولات في قطاع الطاقة وخارجه.

 

يسعدنا الترحيب بأكثر من 100 خبير ورجل أعمال من بين رواد التكنولوجيا ومجتمعات المبتكرين العالميين في الاجتماع السنوي 2022 في دافوس.

 

يلعب مركز المنتدى للثورة الصناعية الرابعة (C4IR) أيضًا دورًا في تشكيل مشهد الابتكار في الذكاء الاصطناعي و blockchain ومجالات التكنولوجيا الأخرى من خلال تسهيل التعاون بين الشركات الناشئة والشركات القائمة والحكومات والمجتمع المدني.

 

من خلال شبكتها سريعة النمو من المراكز الوطنية ودون الوطنية ، تساعد C4IR في تجريب الحلول التكنولوجية وتكرارها وتوسيع نطاقها بما في ذلك توصيل الإمدادات الطبية بطائرات بدون طيار في رواندا وصيانة مسارات السكك الحديدية باستخدام الذكاء الاصطناعي في البرازيل.

 

لن تحل أزمة المناخ بالتكنولوجيا وحدها. سيتطلب تحقيق الأهداف المناخية الطموحة جهدًا هائلًا من الحكومات والشركات والأفراد. لكنني متفائل بأن الابتكار يمكن أن يساعدنا في تقليل الانبعاثات الآن ، واستخراج الانبعاثات في المستقبل القريب.

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 25 مايو 2022 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

3 ways technological innovation can help us meet climate goals

Climate ChangeTechnology

Sharing is caring

June 14th, 2022

Artificial intelligence, 3D printing, and quantum computing are the technological innovation can all help in meeting climate goals, but business and government must also play a role.

 

By

Managing Director, World Economic Forum


 

  • Economies and societies need to transition to net zero emissions in order to limit global warming to 1.5ºC above pre-industrial levels.
  • Innovations that are driven by 3D printing, artificial intelligence, quantum computing and gene editing will speed up the transition.
  • But technology alone can’t solve the climate crisis – business and government also have a big role to play.

 

To avert the most damaging impacts of climate change and secure a safer future, the world needs to rapidly shift to a low-carbon economy.

 

According to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) latest assessment, greenhouse gas emissions must peak by 2025 and decline rapidly thereafter, if further warming to 1.5C above pre-industrial levels is to be limited.

 

The key to achieving climate goals

 

Reaching that goal will require us to rapidly scale up existing clean energy solutions, develop new ways to make and store clean energy, and explore ways to reverse historical emissions. Technological innovation will play a crucial role at every stage.

 

Here’s what will be key to meeting our climate goals:

 

1. Scaling up existing clean energy solutions

 

Innovation has already been instrumental in bringing us clean and cheap energy solutions like wind, solar and nuclear power. To take advantage of these existing sources of clean energy, we need to scale up their deployment and continue to increase their efficiency. Advancements in 3D printing and artificial intelligence (AI) will play a crucial role.

 

AI models are already being used to optimize the shape of wind turbine blades and forecast the unpredictability of wind-energy production to manage fluctuations in supply and demand.

 

Meanwhile, 3D printing is enabling manufacturers to produce lighter solar panels with greater surface areas, boosting the efficiency and lowering the cost of solar power. The technology will also allow manufacturers to create complex designs of next generation nuclear reactors that can be rapidly prototyped, tested and brought to market.

 

2. Developing new ways to make and store clean energy

 

Ramping up today’s climate solutions will only get us so far towards our climate goals. Reaching net zero will require emerging technologies and solutions not yet widely available or affordable.

 

If intermittent renewables like wind and solar are to displace significant greenhouse gas emissions, better energy storage solutions are required. While recent advances in battery technology are encouraging, there is a need to develop safer and lighter batteries that don’t rely on rare materials.

 

It’s early days, but quantum computing may help unlock better combinations of material properties and designs for next generation batteries.

 

In addition to finding new ways to store energy, there is a need to tap into new sources of energy like nuclear fusion, which has long been considered the “holy grail” of energy research with its potential to provide a limitless source of safe, sustainable and efficient energy source.

 

Unlike existing nuclear reactors which split uranium and other heavy atoms into smaller nuclei in a process known as nuclear fission, nuclear fusion works by combining lighter atoms like hydrogen to generate a plasma hotter than the core of the sun.

 

Plasma is inherently unstable, making it challenging to sustain the process required for nuclear fusion inside a reactor. But milestones like DeepMind’s use of deep reinforcement learning to discover new ways to control fusion reactions offer hope that nuclear fusion is becoming a viable energy source for the future.

 

Transitioning to a net zero future can’t be fully solved with existing and future renewables and batteries. Long-distance transportation requires energy carriers with a very high energy density.

 

Shipping and aviation, therefore, continue to rely on fuels rather than stored electricity. Green hydrogen and synthetic biofuels could help these traditionally high-polluting industries transition to cleaner energy.

 

Advances in gene editing and synthetic biology will likely open new possibilities to improve the efficiency of biofuel production, by tweaking the genes of the plants used to make them.

 

3. Reversing historical emissions to avert climate crisis

 

Even with ambitious energy transition efforts, deliberately pulling greenhouse gases out of the environment will likely be a critical tool for counterbalancing historical emissions, as well as off-setting emissions from slower-to-transition industries.

 

Carbon dioxide removal (CDR) encapsulates a wide array of approaches that capture CO2 directly from the environment and store it in natural or man-made reservoirs to create negative emissions.

 

Research developments range from plants designed to store extra carbon dioxide in their roots, to water treatment technologies that store carbon from the ocean in rock. But huge investment will be required for these and other CDR technologies to be deployed at scale and in time to meet the urgent needs of the climate crisis.

 

Initiatives like the Earthshot on carbon removal are a good starting point, but greater public-private mobilization will be required.

 

Innovative ideas needed to tackle climate change

 

By bringing together innovative start-ups with more established companies, the World Economic Forum facilitates the sharing of ideas and solutions that will shape transformations in the energy sector and beyond.

 

We’re excited to welcome more than 100 experts and entrepreneurs among the Technology Pioneers and Global Innovators communities at the Annual Meeting 2022 in Davos.

 

The Forum’s Centre for the Fourth Industrial Revolution (C4IR) also plays a role in shaping the innovation landscape in artificial intelligence, blockchain and other technology domains by facilitating collaboration between startups, established businesses, governments and civil society.

 

Via its fast-growing network of national and sub-national centres, the C4IR helps pilot, iterate and scale technological solutions including drone delivery of medical supplies in Rwanda and railway track maintenance using AI in Brazil.

 

The climate crisis won’t be solved by technology alone. Meeting ambitious climate targets will require a massive effort from governments, businesses and individuals. But I’m optimistic that innovation can help us reduce emissions now, and extract emissions in the near future.

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on May 25, 2022, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions