المفارقة في حل مشكلة فقر الطاقة العالمي

الطاقــةاستدامة

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

يوليو 14th، 2021

كانت التنمية الأساسية للأمم والبشر مدفوعة بالطاقة التي تعمل بالوقود الأحفوري منذ الثورة الصناعية. كانت الآثار الجانبية الناتجة كارثية. يتسبب تغير المناخ في إحداث الفوضى في جميع أنحاء العالم ، سواء كان ذلك في موجات الفيضانات الأخيرة ، أو الحرائق المدمرة ، أو حقيقة أن مدننا أصبحت غير صالحة للعيش بعد الآن.

 

بقلم هاربريت كور


 

مع تزايد عدد المكالمات الدولية لاستفسارات الطاقة وندرتها ، سنجد أنفسنا في أسفل كارثة طاقة محتملة في الثلاثين عامًا القادمة إن لم يكن قبل ذلك. سيصبح البترول أحد أكثر الموارد غلاءً وأندرها في نفس الوقت. كما أن المنشآت النووية المتطورة كانت ستصل إلى نهاية عمرها المفيد.

 

مع التطور والتقدم التقني ، ازدادت نسبة الأشخاص الذين يحصلون على الكهرباء بشكل مطرد على مدى العقود القليلة الماضية. في عام 1990 ، كان حوالي 71 ٪ من سكان العالم يتمتعون بإمكانية الوصول ؛ بحلول عام 2016 ، ارتفعت هذه النسبة إلى 87٪. هذا يعني أن ما يقرب من 940 مليون شخص (13٪) لم يحصلوا على الكهرباء في عام 2016.

 

الرقم 1.

.

 

ومع ذلك ، فإن جهودنا لحل أزمة الطاقة هذه بأساليب إنتاج الطاقة التقليدية قد ولدت تحديًا آخر. اليوم ، "تغير المناخ" هو القضية الرئيسية التي تهدد محيطنا ورفاهيتنا الحالية ورفاهية الأجيال القادمة. إنتاج الطاقة هو المسؤول عن 87% من انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري في العالم.

 

دعونا نفحص هذه السخرية من نوع ما بمزيد من التفصيل:

 

تحدي فقر الطاقة العالمي

يشار إلى عدم القدرة على الوصول إلى خدمات الطاقة الحديثة على أنه فقر الطاقة العالمي. القدرة على الحصول على الطاقة هي مطلب للتنمية البشرية. يُفترض أن البلدان ذات الدخل المرتفع - أو البلدان التي حددتها الأمم المتحدة على أنها "متطورة" لديها معدل كهربة يبلغ 100٪ منذ السنة الأولى التي دخلت فيها الدولة هذه الفئة.

 

لذلك ، كان الوصول المتزايد إلى الطاقة العالمي مدفوعًا بالاقتصادات المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل. كان هذا الاتجاه مذهلاً في العديد من البلدان: فقد زاد الوصول في الهند ، على سبيل المثال ، من 43 في المائة إلى ما يقرب من 85 في المائة. تقترب إندونيسيا من إجمالي الكهربة (وصلت إلى ما يقرب من 98 في المائة) - ارتفاعًا من 62 في المائة في عام 1990. بالنسبة للبلدان ذات النمو السكاني القوي ، فإن مثل هذه التحسينات في نسبة السكان الذين يمكنهم الوصول إليها تعد أكثر إثارة للإعجاب.

 

الرقم 2.

.

في حين أن الاتجاه تصاعدي في معظم البلدان ، لا يزال هناك عدد متخلف بشدة. في الطرف الأدنى من الطيف ، فقط 8.8٪ من سكان تشاد يحصلون على الكهرباء.

 

بالنسبة لبعض البلدان ، ستظل التحسينات الكبيرة في الوصول إلى الطاقة تمثل تحديًا ملحًا على مدى العقود القليلة القادمة. في عام 2016 ، كان 60٪ فقط من سكان العالم يحصلون على الوقود النظيف.

 

الرقم 3.

.

 

يعتبر الوصول إلى الوقود النظيف أدنى مستوياته في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء حيث كان 14٪ فقط من الأسر في عام 2016 قادرة على الوصول إليه. كان التقدم أكثر أهمية في جنوب آسيا وشرق آسيا على مدى العقد الماضي ، مع وصول 18٪ و 16٪ من الأسر الإضافية ، على التوالي. عندما لا يتمكن الناس من الحصول على الطاقة الحديثة للطبخ والتدفئة ، فإنهم يعتمدون على الوقود الصلب ، وخاصة الخشب والسماد والفحم والنفايات النباتية.

 

الرقم 4.

.

 

في عام 1980 ، استخدم ما يقرب من ثلثي سكان العالم الوقود الصلب في الطبخ. بعد 30 عامًا ، انخفض هذا إلى 41٪. تظهر البيانات أنها مشكلة مرتبطة بالفقر.

 

في أوروبا وأمريكا الشمالية الأكثر ثراءً ، تكون الحصة أقل بكثير مما هي عليه في بقية العالم ؛ وفي البلدان ذات الدخل المرتفع في العالم ، أصبح استخدام الوقود الصلب بالكامل شيئًا من الماضي.

 

إن استخدام الوقود الصلب آخذ في الانخفاض في جميع مناطق العالم. لكن نجاح التطور السريع في جنوب شرق آسيا مثير للإعجاب بشكل خاص ، حيث انخفضت الحصة من 95٪ إلى 61٪.

 

تدفع صحة الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في فقر الطاقة ثمناً باهظاً بسبب تلوث الهواء الداخلي ، والذي تصفه منظمة الصحة العالمية بأنه "أكبر مخاطر صحية بيئية في العالم". بالنسبة لأفقر الناس في العالم ، يعد هذا أكبر عامل خطر للوفاة المبكرة والموت العالمي.

 

تظهر الأبحاث الصحية أن تلوث الهواء الداخلي يسبب 1.6 مليون حالة وفاة كل عام ، أي أكثر من ضعف عدد الوفيات الناجمة عن سوء الصرف الصحي.

 

وفقًا للتقارير الأخيرة الصادرة عن منظمة الأغذية والزراعة للأمم المتحدة (الفاو) ، فإن استخدام الخشب كوقود هو أهم عامل في تدهور الغابات. يوفر الخشب أكثر من نصف الطاقة في شرق وغرب ووسط إفريقيا.

 

الجانب الآخر لزيادة الحصول على الطاقة: انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري

المفارقة في هذا الوضع هي أن زيادة فرص الحصول على الطاقة يعني زيادة انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري. من الواضح أن الدول الأكثر ثراءً لديها بصمات انبعاث أعلى.

 

الرقم 5.

.

 

الرقم 6.

انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري وسيناريوهات الاحترار العالمي

.

 

استمر إنتاج الطاقة من الوقود الأحفوري في الانخفاض ببطء منذ عام 2010 ، ومع ذلك فهو لا يزال أكبر مصدر منفرد للطاقة. في عام 2020 ، شكل إنتاج الطاقة من الوقود الأحفوري أكثر من 50٪ من إجمالي إنتاج الطاقة. كما ارتفع إنتاج الطاقة من مصادر الطاقة المتجددة ، ولكن يجب زيادة حصتها في إجمالي إنتاج الطاقة بشكل كبير من أجل الاستدامة على المدى الطويل.

 

يذكر تقرير إيفانوفا وود أنه في البلدان المتقدمة مثل ألمانيا وأيرلندا واليونان ، أكثر من 60% من الأسر يبلغ نصيب الفرد السنوي من الانبعاثات فيها 2.4 طن.

 

يصدر العالم حوالي 50 مليار طن من غازات الاحتباس الحراري كل عام [مقاسة بمكافئ ثاني أكسيد الكربون (CO2eq)].

 

لمعرفة كيف يمكننا الحد من الانبعاثات بشكل أكثر فاعلية وما هي الانبعاثات التي يمكن وما لا يمكن القضاء عليها باستخدام التقنيات الحالية ، نحتاج أولاً إلى فهم مصدر انبعاثاتنا.

 

الرقم 7.

فقر الطاقة العالمي: انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري حسب القطاع

.

 

ما يقرب من ثلاثة أرباع الانبعاثات تأتي من استخدام الطاقة ؛ ما يقرب من الخمس من الزراعة واستخدام الأراضي [يزداد هذا إلى الربع عندما نأخذ في الاعتبار نظام الغذاء ككل - بما في ذلك المعالجة والتعبئة والنقل والبيع بالتجزئة] ؛ و 8٪ المتبقية من الصناعة والنفايات.

 

1. (الكهرباء والحرارة والنقل): 73.2٪

2. العمليات الصناعية المباشرة: 5.2٪

3. النفايات: 3.2٪

4. الزراعة والحراجة واستخدام الأراضي: 18.4٪

 

إذن كيف نحاول تقليل انبعاثات الاحتباس الحراري؟

لا يمكن للعالم أن يعيش بدون طاقة ، والمضي قدمًا سنحتاج فقط إلى المزيد منها ، وليس أقل. هل هذا يعني أن انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة ستظل تشكل تحديًا؟

 

يمكننا أن نرى أمثلة عديدة لبلدان ذات مستويات معيشية عالية ، والتي نجحت في الحد من الانبعاثات. هذه إشارة واضحة على أنه من الممكن إحراز تقدم. لكن السؤال الرئيسي هنا ربما لا يكون: "هل يمكننا إحراز تقدم؟" ، ولكن بدلاً من ذلك "هل يمكننا إحراز تقدم بسرعة كافية؟". فيما يلي بعض الحلول البديلة التي يمكن أن تحل مشكلة أزمة الطاقة العالمية:

 

التحول إلى الموارد المتجددة: أفضل حل هو تقليل اعتماد العالم على الموارد غير المتجددة. تم إنشاء معظم العصر الصناعي باستخدام الوقود الأحفوري ، ولكن هناك أيضًا تقنيات معروفة تستخدم الطاقة المتجددة ، مثل الطاقة المائية والكتلة الحيوية والطاقة الحرارية الأرضية والمد والجزر والطاقة الشمسية وطاقة الرياح.

 

الانتقال إلى النقل الكهربائي: من الصعب إزالة الكربون من بعض قطاعات الطاقة - على سبيل المثال ، النقل. لذلك نحن بحاجة إلى تحويل هذه الأشكال نحو الكهرباء حيث لدينا تقنيات قابلة للتطبيق منخفضة الكربون.

 

الهيدروجين الأخضر: يتم إنتاج الهيدروجين الأخضر من مصادر الطاقة المتجددة. يساعد على استقرار إمدادات الكهرباء والحرارة مع تقليل انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون أيضًا. أصبح معترفًا به على نطاق واسع باعتباره أحد الأصول القيمة لإزالة الكربون في وسائل النقل.

 

تطوير تقنيات منخفضة التكلفة للطاقة والبطاريات: للقيام بذلك بسرعة ، والسماح للبلدان منخفضة الدخل بتجنب مسارات التنمية عالية الكربون ، يجب أن تكون الطاقة منخفضة الكربون فعالة من حيث التكلفة والخيار الافتراضي.

 

تحسين كفاءة الطاقة: يمكن أن تساعد تكنولوجيا الطاقة المتجددة في تحقيق أهداف الحد من انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري ولكن تحسين كفاءة الطاقة هو الأسلوب الأكثر فعالية من حيث التكلفة والأكثر فورية لتقليل استخدام الوقود الأحفوري. بعض طرق تحسين كفاءة الطاقة مذكورة أدناه:

 

1. تعد عمليات تدقيق الطاقة إحدى أكثر التقنيات فعالية في الصناعة لتحقيق كفاءة الطاقة.

2. يمكن للصناعات مراقبة استهلاكها للطاقة باستخدام نظام استهلاك كهربائي مثل ENERTEQ حيث أن تقليل استهلاك الكهرباء هو أحد أكثر الطرق فاعلية لتصبح أكثر كفاءة في استخدام الطاقة.

3. يمكنك تقليل الفاقد وتوفير تكلفة الطاقة عن طريق جدولة استخدام الآلات بشكل صحيح.

 

استخدام تقنيات معالجة غازات المداخن الحديثة في القطاع الصناعي: معالجة غاز المداخن هي معالجة لتقليل كمية الملوثات الناتجة عن احتراق الوقود الأحفوري في موقع صناعي. إلى جانب هذا العلاج ، هناك العديد من التقنيات الحديثة المتاحة لتقليل انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري:

 

1. التقاط الكربون وتخزينه تحت الأرض: التقاط الكربون وتخزينه (CCS) هي تقنية لالتقاط انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون (CO2) من العمليات الصناعية مثل تصنيع الصلب والأسمنت ، وكذلك احتراق الوقود الأحفوري في توليد الطاقة. ثم يتم نقل الكربون عن طريق السفن أو خطوط الأنابيب من حيث تم تكوينه ودفنه في أعماق التكوينات الجيولوجية.

 

2. عملية التقاط واستخدام الميثان: التقاط الميثان واستخدامه هو أسلوب لالتقاط الميثان من مدافن النفايات قبل دخوله إلى الغلاف الجوي. وبالتالي ، يتم حرق الميثان لتوليد الكهرباء أو الحرارة.

 

التقليل وإعادة التدوير وإعادة الاستخدام: تقلل إعادة التدوير من استخدام الطاقة ، مما يساعد على تقليل انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري. يقلل استخدام الموارد المعاد تدويرها في تصنيع عناصر جديدة من الطلب على المواد الخام غير المستخدمة. هذا يمنع إطلاق غازات الدفيئة التي قد تأتي من استخراج أو تعدين الموارد الخام مثل النحاس والألمنيوم والرصاص والزنك والحديد. يتطلب استخراج المواد ونقلها ومعالجتها طاقة أقل لإنتاج العناصر عند إعادة استخدامها. وبالتالي ، فإن 3Rs ستكون بالتأكيد حاسمة في الحد من انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري.

 

الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست WorldRef.


 

انقر فوق الرابط أدناه لاستكشاف خدمات WorldRef وفقًا لمتطلباتك.

 

مراجعة الطاقة | حلول الطاقة المائية | الطاقة الشمسية | أنظمة الكهربائية | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك

The Irony Of Solving Global Energy Poverty

EnergySustainability

Sharing is caring

 

July 14th, 2021

The basic development of nations and human beings has been driven by fossil fuel fired energy since the industrial revolution. Resultant side effects have been catastrophic. Climate change is wreaking havoc across the globe, be it recent spates of floods, or ravaging fires, or the simple fact that our cities are unfit to live anymore.

 

By Harpreet Kaur


 

As the number of international calls for energy inquiries and scarcity increases, we will find ourselves at the bottom of a likely energy disaster in the next 30 years if not before. Petroleum will become one of the most highly-priced resources and scarce at the same time. Also, cutting-edge nuclear installations would have reached the end of their beneficial life.

 

With development and technical advancement, the percentage of people with access to electricity has been steadily increasing over the last few decades. In 1990, around 71% of the world’s population had access; by 2016 this had increased to 87%. This means nearly 940 million people (13%) did not have access to electricity in 2016.

 

Figure 1.

.

 

However, our efforts to solve this energy crisis with conventional energy production methods has given birth to another challenge. Today, “Climate Change” is the main issue that threatens our surroundings, our current well-being, and the well-being of future generations. Energy production is responsible for 87% of the world’s greenhouse gas emissions.

 

Let us inspect this irony of sorts in little more detail:

 

The Challenge of Global Energy Poverty

Lack of access to modern energy services is referred to as global energy poverty. The ability to get energy is a requirement for human development. High-income countries – or countries defined by the UN to be ‘developed’ are assumed to have an electrification rate of 100% from the first year the country entered that category.

 

Therefore, the increasing global energy access has been driven by low and middle-income economies. In many countries, this trend has been striking: access in India, for example, increased from 43 percent to almost 85%. Indonesia is close to total electrification (sitting at almost 98 percent) – up from 62% in 1990. For countries with strong population growth, such improvements in the share of the population with access is even more impressive.

 

Figure 2.

.

Whilst the trend is upward for most countries, a number are still severely lagging. At the lowest end of the spectrum, only 8.8% of Chad’s population has electricity access.

 

For some countries, significant improvements in energy access will remain a pressing challenge over the next few decades. In 2016, only 60% of the world population had access to clean fuels.

 

Figure 3.

.

 

Access to clean fuels are lowest in Sub-Saharan Africa where only 14% of households in 2016 had access. Progress has been much more significant in South Asia and East Asia over the last decade, with 18% and 16% of additional households gaining access, respectively. When people cannot obtain modern energy for cooking and heating, they rely on solid fuels, especially wood, manure, coal and plant waste.

 

Figure 4.

.

 

In 1980 almost two thirds of the world’s population used solid fuels for their cooking. 30 years later this is down to 41%. Data shows that it is a problem associated with poverty.

 

In richer Europe and North America the share  is much lower than in the rest of the world; and in the high income countries of the world the use of solid fuels is entirely a thing of the past.

 

The use of solid fuels is going down in all of the world’s regions. But the success of rapidly developing South East Asia is particularly impressive, where the share fell from 95% to 61%.

 

The health of people living in energy poverty pays a huge price due to indoor air pollution, which the World Health Organization (WHO) describes as “the world’s greatest environmental health risk.” For the poorest people in the world, this is the greatest risk factor for premature death and global death.

 

Health research shows that indoor air pollution causes 1.6 million deaths each year, more than twice the number of deaths caused by poor sanitation.

 

According to recent reports of the Food and Agriculture Organization of United Nations (FAO), using wood as a fuel is the most important factor in forest degradation. Wood provides more than half of the energy in East, West and Central Africa.

 

The Flip Side of Increasing Energy Access : Greenhouse Gas Emissions

The irony of the situation is that having greater access to energy means higher emissions of greenhouse gases. Evidently, it’s the wealthiest countries who have the higher emission footprints.

 

Figure 5.

.

 

Figure 6.

Global greenhouse gas emissions and warming scenarios

.

 

The energy production from fossil fuels has continued to decrease slowly since 2010, however it is still the single largest source of energy. In 2020, energy production from fossil fuels accounted for more than 50% of total energy production. Energy production from renewables has also gone up but its share in total energy production needs to increase significantly for long term sustainability.

 

The report by Ivanova and Wood states that in developed countries such as Germany, Ireland, and Greece, more than 60% of households have annual per capita emissions that reach 2.4 tonnes.

 

The world emits around 50 billion tonnes of greenhouse gases each year [measured in carbon dioxide equivalents (CO2eq)].

 

To figure out how we can most effectively reduce emissions and which emissions can and can’t be eliminated with current technologies, we need to first understand where our emissions come from.

 

Figure 7.

Global Energy Poverty: Global greenhouse gas emissions by sector

.

 

Almost three-quarters of emissions come from energy use; almost one-fifth from agriculture and land use  [this increases to one-quarter when we consider the food system as a whole – including processing, packaging, transport and retail]; and the remaining 8% from industry and waste.

 

1. (electricity, heat and transport): 73.2%

2. Direct Industrial Processes: 5.2%

3. Waste: 3.2%

4. Agriculture, Forestry and Land Use: 18.4%

 

So How Do We Attempt To Reduce Greenhouse Emissions?

The World can not live without energy, and going further we will only need more of it, not less. Does that mean greenhouse emissions will continue to remain a challenge?

 

We can see numerous examples of countries, with high standards of living, which have been successful in reducing emissions. This is a clear signal that it is possible to make progress. But the key question here is probably not: “can we make progress?”, but rather “can we make progress fast enough?”. Here are some alternative solutions which can solve the problem of the global energy crisis:

 

Switch to renewable resources: The best solution is to reduce the world’s dependence on non-renewable resources. Most of the industrial age was created using fossil fuels, but there are also well-known technologies that use renewable energy, such as hydro, biomass, geothermal, tidal, solar, and wind energy.

 

Move to electricity driven transport: Some energy sectors are harder to decarbonize – for example, transport. We therefore need to shift these forms towards electricity where we have viable low-carbon technologies.

 

Green Hydrogen: Green hydrogen is produced from renewable energy sources. It helps to stabilise the electricity and heat supply while also lowering CO2 emissions. It’s becoming more widely recognised as a valuable asset for transport decarbonization.

 

Develop low-cost low-carbon energy and battery technologies: To do this quickly, and allow lower-income countries to avoid high-carbon development pathways, low-carbon energy needs to be cost-effective and the default choice.

 

Improve Energy Efficiency: Renewable energy technology can help in achieving the greenhouse emission reduction goals but improving energy efficiency is the most cost-effective and the most immediate approach to reduce fossil fuels use. Some of the methods for improving energy efficiency are listed below:

 

1. Energy audits are one of the most effective techniques for industry to achieve energy efficiency.

2. Industries can monitor their energy consumption by using an electrical consumption system like ENERTEQ as reducing electricity consumption is one of the most effective ways to become more energy efficient.

3. You can reduce the waste and save energy cost by properly scheduling the use of machinery.

 

Using modern flue gas treatment technologies in the industrial sector: Flue gas treatment is a treatment for reducing the amount of pollutants produced from the combustion of fossil fuels at an industrial site. Along with this treatment, there are many modern technologies available for reducing greenhouse gas emissions:

 

1. Carbon Capture and Underground Storage: Carbon capture and storage (CCS) is the technique of capturing carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions from industrial operations such as steel and cement manufacture, as well as fossil fuel combustion in power generation. The carbon is then transferred by ship or pipeline from where it was created and buried deep down in geological formations.

 

2. Methane Capture and Use process: Methane Capture and Use is the technique of capturing methane from landfills  before it enters the atmosphere. Thus, methane is burned in order to generate electricity or heat.

 

Reduce, recycle and reuse: Recycling reduces energy usage, which helps to minimise greenhouse gas emissions. The use of recycled resources in the manufacture of new items minimises the demand for unused raw materials. This prevents the release of greenhouse gases that would otherwise come from the extraction or mining of raw resources such as copper, aluminium, lead, zinc and iron. It takes less energy to extract, transport, and process materials to produce items when we reuse them. Thus, the 3R’s will most certainly be critical in reducing the greenhouse gas emissions.

 

The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not the WorldRef.


 

Click the link below to explore WorldRef services as per your requirements.

 

Energy Audit | Hydro Power Solutions | Solar Power | Electrical Systems | Thermal Power & Cogeneration