الأعمال الغامضة لتقرير ممارسة أنشطة الأعمال الصادر عن البنك الدولي

الصيناقتصاد العالم

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

24 سبتمبر، 2021

أوقف البنك الدولي تقرير ممارسة أنشطة الأعمال بعد الإبلاغ عن مخالفات في البيانات في مراجعة أخلاقية لممارسة أنشطة الأعمال 2018 و 2020. اكتشف كيف كان مشروع ممارسة أنشطة الأعمال ، وكيف نجح ، وما الخطأ الذي حدث!

 

بقلم جايديب سينغ مان


 

في 16 سبتمبر 2021 ، أصدر البنك الدولي ملف بيان إعلان التوقف عن تقرير ممارسة الأعمال (DBR) ، وهو تقرير سنوي رئيسي تنشره المؤسسة المالية الدولية منذ عام 2002.

 

يأتي ذلك بعد الإبلاغ عن "مخالفات البيانات" داخليًا في مراجعة أخلاقية لممارسة أنشطة الأعمال 2018 و 2020 ، في يونيو من هذا العام. ودفعت المنظمة إلى تعليق التقارير في أغسطس / آب أثناء إجراء تحقيق داخلي. كشفت نتائج التحقيق أن كبار قادة البنك الدولي ، بمن فيهم الرئيسة التنفيذية آنذاك كريستالينا جورجيفا ، مارسوا "ضغطًا لا داعي له" على الموظفين لتعزيز ترتيب الصين في تقرير "ممارسة أنشطة الأعمال 2018" للبنك.

 

إنها صفقة كبيرة وتستحق شرحًا لما كان عليه مشروع ممارسة أنشطة الأعمال (DBP) ، وكيف نجح ، وما الخطأ الذي حدث!

 

حقق البنك في البيئات القانونية والتنظيمية للدول لتحديد مدى ملاءمة تلك الدولة "لممارسة الأعمال التجارية". كانت البيانات تهدف إلى المساعدة في شرح بيئة الأعمال ، لكن المؤشرات قدمت أيضًا طريقة لترتيب الدول. كان الهدف هو "تحفيز" الإصلاحات من خلال المقارنة المعيارية للدولة ، ولكن أيضًا إبلاغ الدول حول الإصلاحات الضرورية واقتراح التصاميم المستقبلية. في البداية ، اتخذ البنك الدولي الموقف القائل بنعم - عندما يتعلق الأمر بالأعمال التجارية "حجم واحد * يمكن * أن يناسب الجميع".

 

تقيس المؤشرات الوقت والتكاليف في كل ما يتعلق بإجراء الأعمال ، على سبيل المثال. لفرض العقد. يجسد معدل 2020 DBR 294 إصلاحًا تنظيميًا تم تنفيذه في 2018-2019. تبحث المؤشرات في مستويات الفساد ، وكيفية بدء عمل تجاري ، والحواجز التي تعترض السوق ، وما إلى ذلك.

 

كان أساس المشروع هو الرؤية القائلة بأن تعزيز العمليات والمؤسسات الإدارية والقضائية من شأنه أن يؤدي إلى النمو الاقتصادي. قرأت هنا حول "جنون الإصلاح" الذي استندت إليه مؤشرات DB في البلدان النامية.

 

كان DBP بمثابة "مانع الصواعق" للانتقادات. اشتكى العلماء والحكومات والمنظمات غير الحكومية من أن المؤشرات متحيزة لصالح النهج النيوليبرالية - التي تُفهم ، تقريبًا ، على أنها وصفة ضيقة للتنمية مدفوعة بالأسواق الحرة وتحرير التجارة والتمويل.

 

أماندا بيري كيساريس لديها مكتوبة على نطاق واسع على هذه المؤشرات، مشيرًا إلى الكيفية التي يغذي بها جدول الأعمال "التنمية مظهر ووسيلة للإمبريالية الاقتصادية." رأى البنك نفسه في البداية في هذا العمل على أنه "منتج معرفي". ومع ذلك ، أثار بيري كيساريس مخاوف بشأن الكيفية التي تؤدي بها المنافسة في التصنيف "باستمرار إلى إثارة الدول ضد بعضها البعض ، وضد ذواتهم التاريخية".

 

كما ارتبطت المؤشرات ببرامج المساعدة ، وكيف أن الإصلاحات التي تم إجراؤها مرتبطة بتلقي كميات أكبر من المساعدات متعددة الأطراف والمساعدات المصرفية. في أغسطس 2020 ، أبلغ البنك عن مشكلة كبيرة. تم العثور على مخالفات في البيانات. تم استدعاء تدقيق مستقل. موظفو البنك الداخليون متهمون بالتلاعب بالبيانات!

 

بنك عالمي

 

في ديسمبر 2020 ، صحيفة وول ستريت جورنال أبلغت عن نتيجة التدقيق من 2017/2019 DBR في ديسمبر 2020. تأثرت بيانات من أربع دول: الصين وأذربيجان والمملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة. أظهرت البيانات تحسنًا في التصنيف العالمي للصين والسعودية. بعد تصحيح الأخطاء ، فإن مكانة الصين في تقرير ممارسة أنشطة الأعمال الصادر عن البنك الدولي لعام 2017 كان من الممكن أن ينخفض ​​من رقم 78 إلى 85.

 

وجد تحقيق البنك الدولي ، الذي أجرته شركة المحاماة الأمريكية WilmerHale ، أن موظفي الرئيس آنذاك جيم يونغ كيم عقدوا اجتماعات لإيجاد طرق لتحسين تصنيف الصين في عام 2018. ثم انخرطت جورجيفا في تطوير طريقة لجعل الصين تبدو أفضل. دون التأثير على ترتيب الدول الأخرى. تشير نتائج التحقيق إلى أن كيم مارس ضغطًا "مباشرًا وغير مباشر" على الموظفين من أجل "تغيير المنهجية في محاولة لتعزيز درجة الصين".

 

قبل وقت طويل من اكتشاف المخالفات رسميًا ، انقسم الناس في الدراية حول ما إذا كانت هذه البيانات مفيدة أو ضارة للحكومات. جادل البعض بأن المقارنة المعيارية ودراسات الحالة المحددة ينبغي أن تساعد الحكومة على فهم كيفية تعزيز أفضل بيئة تنظيمية ممكنة. جادل آخرون بأن المؤشرات كانت أدوات للقوة.

 

الخطوات التالية؟ وفقًا للبنك ، سيعملون على نهج جديد لتقييم مناخ الأعمال والاستثمار. سيكون هذا جهدًا صعبًا للغاية ، مع وجود معايير ومؤسسات وممارسات قانونية متعددة ومتعددة المستويات تتفاعل في شبكة عالمية متحركة.

 

الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل توسعك العالمي أسهل واقتصاديًا!

 

المشتريات الصناعية | شراء طارئ | الرقمنة الصناعية | الهندسة والتصميم | الاتصال بالقوى العاملة العالمية | بعثة القوى العاملة العالمية | حلول المشاريع الجاهزة | البناء المدني | تطوير الاعمال العالميه | مساعدة التصدير والاستيراد

The murky business of World Bank’s ‘Doing Business Report’​

ChinaGlobalisationWorld EconomyWorldbank

Sharing is caring

September 24th, 2021

The World Bank discontinued its Doing Business Report after data irregularities were reported in an ethics review of Doing Business 2018 and 2020. Find out how what the Doing Business Project was, how it worked, and what went wrong!

 

By Jaideep Singh Mann


 

On 16th Sept 2021, the World Bank released a statement declaring discontinuation of its Doing Business Report (DBR), an annual flagship report that the international financial institution has been publishing since 2002.

 

This comes after “data irregularities” were reported internally in an ethics review of Doing Business 2018 and 2020, in June this year. It prompted the organisation to hold the reports in August while an internal investigation was being carried out. The findings of the investigation revealed that top World Bank leaders, including then-Chief Executive Kristalina Georgieva, applied “undue pressure” on staff to boost China’s ranking in the bank’s “Doing Business 2018” report.

 

It’s a big deal and worthy of an explanation as to what the Doing Business Project (DBP) was, how it worked, and what went wrong!

 

The Bank investigated nations’ legal and regulatory environments to determine how conducive that State was for “doing business.” The data was meant to help explain the business environment, but the indicators also offered a way to rank the nations. The goal was to “motivate” reforms through country benchmarking, but also inform the nations as to what reforms were necessary and suggest future designs. Initially, the WB took the position that yes – when it comes to business “one size *can* fit all.”

 

The indicators measure time and costs on everything related to conducting business, eg. to enforce a contract. The 2020 DBR captures 294 regulatory reforms implemented 2018-2019. The indicators look at levels of corruption, how to start a business, barriers to a market, etc.

 

Underlying the project was the vision that the enhancement of administrative and judicial processes and institutions would lead to economic growth. Read here about a “frenzy of reform” that the DB indicators invoked in developing countries.

 

The DBP was a “lightning rod” for criticisms. Scholars, governments, and NGOs complained the indicators are biased in favour of neoliberal approaches – understood, roughly, as a narrow recipe for development driven by free markets & liberalisation trade & finance.

 

Amanda Perry-Kessaris has written extensively on these indicators, noting how the agenda fuels “development [a]s both a manifestation and a means, of economics imperialism.” The Bank itself initially saw this work as a “knowledge product”. Yet, Perry-Kessaris raised concerns as to how the competition of rankings “continuously pit nations against each other, and against their historical selves.”

 

The indicators also linked to aid programs, with how reforms taken linked up to receiving greater amounts of multilateral and Bank aid. In August 2020, the Bank reported a big problem. Data irregularities were found. An independent audit was called. Internal Bank staff were accused of manipulating data!

 

World Bank

 

In Dec 2020, Wall Street Journal reported on the outcome of the audit from the 2017/2019 DBR in December 2020. Data from four countries were affected: China, Azerbaijan, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates. The data had shown improvements in China and Saudi Arabia’s global rankings. After correcting for inaccuracies, China’s standing in the World Bank’s 2017 Doing Business report would have dropped from No. 78 to 85.

 

The World Bank’s investigation, which was conducted by US law firm WilmerHale, found that the staff of then-President Jim Yong Kim held meetings to find ways to improve China’s ranking in 2018. Georgieva then got involved to develop a way to make China look better without affecting the rankings of other countries. The investigation’s findings state that both “direct and indirect” pressure was applied on staff by Kim to “change the methodology in an effort to boost China’s score”.

 

Long before the irregularities were officially found people in the know-how have been divided on whether this data is helpful or harmful to governments. Some argued the benchmarking and specific case studies should help a government understand how to foster the best regulatory environment possible. Others argued the indicators were tools of power.

 

Next steps? According to the Bank, they will be working on a new approach for assessing the business and investment climate. This will be an incredibly difficult effort, with multiple, multi-level legal norms, institutions, & practices interacting in a moving global network.

 

The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global expansion easier and economical!

 

Industrial Procurement | Emergency Purchase | Industrial Digitalisation | Engineering and Design | Global Manpower Contacting | Global Manpower Deputation | Turnkey Project Solutions | Civil Construction | International Business Development | Export-Import Assistance