هذه هي الطريقة التي يمكن أن تصبح بها مزارع الرياح البحرية ملاذات للحياة البحرية

طاقة متجددةاستدامةطاقة الرياح

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

8 فبراير، 2022

تم اكتشاف نظام بيئي بحري مزدهر في وحول أكبر مزارع الرياح البحرية في الولايات المتحدة. لكن الحياة البرية معرضة أيضًا للخطر من هذه المزارع - فما الذي يمكن فعله؟

 

By

كاتب أول ، المحتوى التكويني


 

  • أصبحت توربينات الرياح قبالة سواحل الولايات المتحدة شعابًا اصطناعية توفر موطنًا جديدًا للحياة في المحيطات.
  • لكن يمكن أن يكون لمزارع الرياح تأثير سلبي على الحياة البرية الأخرى ، مثل مخزون الأسماك وطيور المحيط.
  • سيكون التخطيط التعاوني المدرك للتنوع البيولوجي للمشاريع أمرًا أساسيًا مع توسع الرياح البحرية لتحقيق أهداف مناخية خالية من الصفر.

 

سميت مزارع الرياح البحرية بالعديد من الأشياء - فالمواطن البحرية ليست بالضرورة واحدة منها. لكن هذا بالضبط ما يحدث قبالة ساحل فرجينيا في الولايات المتحدة.

 

بالاعتماد على نجاح الرياح البحرية في أوروبا ، فإن انتشار مزارع الرياح يتسارع الآن أيضًا على طول سواحل الولايات المتحدة ، بدعم من الحكومة، والتي حددت هدفًا للحصول على كهرباء خالية من الكربون بنسبة 100٪ بحلول عام 2035.

 

كجزء من مشروع تجريبي ، تم تركيب أول توربينات رياح بحرية للولايات المتحدة قبالة ساحل فيرجينيا بيتش في عام 2020، على بعد حوالي 27 ميلاً من البر الرئيسي. منذ أن بدأ العمل في أكتوبر من ذلك العام ، أصبحت أسس التوربينات الفولاذية موطنًا لمجموعة من أنواع المحيطات.

 

وفقًا لصحيفة Virginian-Pilot ، فقد ربطت الطحالب وبلح البحر نفسها بالهياكل بينما تدور الآن مجموعات الأسماك - بما في ذلك الماهي وقاروص البحر وأسماك الطعم - حول الأساسات. كما تم رصد السلاحف البحرية وسمك الشمس بالقرب من التوربينات. بل إن بعض المخلوقات البحرية جعلت من موطنها داخل الأبنية مستفيدة من فتحات التهوية ، تقارير الصحيفة.

 

الرقم: سد فجوة الرياح البحرية بحلول عام 2050

سد فجوة الرياح البحرية بحلول عام 2050

 

شعاب اصطناعية للحياة البرية في المحيطات

 

تم اكتشاف هذا النظام البيئي المحيط الناشئ عندما قام مشغل مزرعة الرياح ، Dominion Energy ، بمراجعة مقاطع فيديو المراقبة للموقع.

 

بدأ التوربينات في العمل في أكتوبر الماضي كبرنامج تجريبي لأكبر مشروع لتنمية الرياح البحرية في الأمريكتين حتى الآن ، ومن المقرر أن يزود أكثر من 650,000 ألف منزل بالطاقة بحلول عام 2026. كجزء من مراقبة وتقييم الموقع التجريبي وتأثير التوربينات على بيئتها البحرية ، التقط دومينيون مقاطع فيديو تحت الماء لأساسات الصلب على فترات كل ستة أشهر.

 

كشفت مقارنة تغييرات كبيرة في الحياة البحرية بالقرب من الموقع خلال تلك الفترة الزمنية. في تطور شوهد أيضًا في مواقع الرياح البحرية ومنصات النفط الأخرى ، أصبح الهيكلان موطنًا جديدًا للأسماك والأنواع الأخرى التي لن تستقر عادةً في البحر بعيدًا.

 

أصبحت أسس التوربينات شعابًا اصطناعية توفر لأنواعًا مثل بلح البحر ، التي تتطلب أسطحًا صلبة لتلتصق بها ، البيئة المناسبة لتزدهر. في المقابل ، فإن وجودهم يجذب الأسماك بحثًا عن مصدر للغذاء.

 

على الرغم من هذا التأثير الإيجابي على التنوع البيولوجي للمحيطات ، فإن للشعاب الاصطناعية أيضًا جوانب سلبية كبيرة. أثناء إنشاء موائل جديدة لبعض الأنواع ، يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير سلبي على الأنواع الأخرى ، وفقًا لورقة بحثية حديثة في علم المحيطات. من المحتمل أن يشمل ذلك مخزون الأسماك التجارية ، التي قد تغزو مزارع الرياح موائلها. توصي الورقة البحثية بالتفكير في التأثيرات المرغوبة وغير المرغوبة في وقت مبكر.

 

الطيور البحرية في خطر

 

تعمل Dominion Energy مع معهد فيرجينيا للعلوم البحرية لتصميم دراسات علمية في الموقع التجريبي ، بما في ذلك تقييم تأثيرات التوربينات على مصايد الأسماك المحلية ، على سبيل المثال. تستخدم الشركة بالفعل آليات مثل "ستارة فقاعية كبيرة" لتجنب ضوضاء البناء والاهتزازات التي تنتقل وتسبب الضرر لسكان المحيطات.

 

لكن ليست الحيوانات البحرية وحدها هي التي تتأثر بمزارع الرياح في البحر.

 

فيما يهدف الاتحاد الأوروبي إلى توسيع نطاق الرياح البحرية إلى 25 ضعف قدرتها الحالية بحلول عام 2050، تقرير جديد من BirdLife يحذر من أن مثل هذا التوسع يشكل تهديدًا لمجموعات الطيور البحرية.

 

وتحذر على وجه الخصوص من ضرورة اتخاذ تدابير لتجنب اصطدام الطيور بتوربينات الرياح البحرية. هذا ينطبق بشكل خاص على سلالات مثل طائر الجانيت الشمالي و kittiwake ذات الأرجل السوداء ، والتي تم تحديدها على أنها معرضة لخطر الاصطدام حيث تلمس مزارع الرياح مناطق تكاثرها أو هجرتها أو فصل الشتاء.

 

تسلط الدراسة الضوء على الحاجة إلى تخطيط مكاني قوي لتقليل هذه التأثيرات على الطيور البحرية حيث تستمر الرياح البحرية في التوسع. اقترح المعهد النرويجي لأبحاث الطبيعة ذلك ببساطة دهان إحدى ريش التوربينات باللون الأسود يمكن أن تحدث فرقًا كبيرًا في بقاء الطيور أيضًا.

 

الرقم: هذا هو المكان الذي يمكن أن يتم فيه بناء 2,000 جيجاواط من الرياح البحرية بحلول عام 2050.

هذا هو المكان الذي يمكن أن يتم فيه بناء 2,000 جيجاواط من الرياح البحرية بحلول عام 2050.

 

التزاوج بين التنوع البيولوجي وإزالة الكربون

 

من الآن وحتى عام 2050 ، من المقرر أن تكون الرياح البحرية هي الركيزة المركزية لإزالة الكربون على الصعيد العالمي، في صميم تحويل مساحات كبيرة من نظام الطاقة لدينا. لتحقيق هدف صافي الانبعاثات الصفرية بحلول عام 2050 وكبح جماح تغير المناخ بما يتماشى مع اتفاق باريس، ستحتاج السعة البحرية إلى التوسع من 35 جيجاوات (GW) في عام 2020 إلى 2,000 جيجاوات في العقود الثلاثة القادمة ، كما يقول المجلس العالمي لطاقة الرياح.

 

لزيادة تعزيز التقنيات المتاحة لإبقاء العالم على مسار صافي الصفر ، مركز التعهيد الجماعي للابتكار التابع للمنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، الإرسال، مبادرة لإيجاد حلول جديدة لـ "تسريع تحولات الطاقة النظيفة". هذا يتضمن حلا ل استخدام الرياح بشكل أكثر فعالية.

 

مع الترابط الوثيق بين التنوع البيولوجي وتغير المناخ ، سيكون التحدي هو تحقيق التوازن بين احتياجات كليهما عندما يتعلق الأمر ببناء المزيد من طاقة الرياح البحرية.

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 11 نوفمبر 2021 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد

This is how offshore wind farms can become havens for marine life

Renewable EnergySustainabilityWind Power

Sharing is caring

February 8th, 2022

A blossoming marine ecosystem has been discovered in and around the largest offshore wind farms in the US. But wildlife is also at risk from these farms – so, what can be done?

 

By

Senior Writer, Formative Content


 

  • Wind turbines off the US coast have become artificial reefs, offering a new habitat for ocean life.
  • But wind farms can have a negative effect on other wildlife, such as fish stocks and ocean birds.
  • Collaborative, biodiversity-aware planning of projects will be key as offshore wind expands to meet net-zero climate targets.

 

Offshore wind farms have been called many things – a marine habitat is not necessarily one of them. But that’s exactly what’s happening off the coast of Virginia in the United States.

 

Drawing on the success of offshore wind in Europe, the rollout of wind farms is now also accelerating along US coastlines, supported by the government, which has set a goal of 100% carbon-free electricity by 2035.

 

As part of a pilot project, the US’s first two offshore wind turbines were installed off the coast of Virginia Beach in 2020, some 27 miles from the mainland. Since starting to operate in October that year, the turbines’ steel foundations have become a habitat for a range of ocean species.

 

According to the Virginian-Pilot newspaper, algae and mussels have attached themselves to the structures while schools of fish – including mahi, sea bass and bait fish – now circle the foundations. Sea turtles and sunfish have also been spotted near the turbines. Some marine creatures have even made their home inside the structures, benefitting from venting holes, the newspaper reports.

 

Figure: Closing the offshore wind gap by 2050

Closing the offshore wind gap by 2050

 

Artificial reefs for ocean wildlife

 

This emerging ocean ecosystem was discovered when wind farm operator, Dominion Energy, reviewed monitoring videos of the site.

 

The two turbines started operating last October as a pilot for the largest offshore wind development in the Americas to date, set to power more than 650,000 homes by 2026. As part of monitoring and evaluating the pilot site and the turbines’ impact on their marine environment, Dominion took underwater videos of the steel foundations in six-monthly intervals.

 

A comparison revealed significant changes to the marine life near the site over that time period. In a development also seen at other offshore wind sites and oil rigs, the two structures have become a new habitat for fish and other species that wouldn’t typically settle this far out at sea.

 

The turbine foundations have become artificial reefs that give species like mussels, which require hard surfaces to attach to, the right environment to thrive. In turn, their presence attracts fish in search of a food source.

 

Despite this positive impact on the oceans’ biodiversity, artificial reefs also have significant downsides. While creating new habitats for some species, they can have a negative effect on others, according to a recent paper in Oceanography. This potentially includes commercial fish stocks, whose habitats wind farms may invade. Both desired and undesired effects need to be thought through early on, the paper recommends.

 

Seabirds at risk

 

Dominion Energy is working with the Virginia Institute of Marine Science to design scientific studies at the pilot site, including evaluating the turbines’ effects on local fisheries, for example. The company already uses mechanisms such as a “large bubble curtain” to avoid construction noise and vibrations travelling and causing harm to ocean dwellers.

 

But it’s not only marine animals that are affected by wind farms at sea.

 

With the European Union aiming to scale offshore wind to 25 times its current capacity by 2050, a new report from BirdLife warns that such an expansion poses a threat to seabird populations.

 

In particular, it cautions, measures must be put in place to avoid birds colliding with offshore wind turbines. This is especially true for breeds like the northern gannet and the black-legged kittiwake, which have been identified as being at high risk of collision where wind farms touch their breeding, migration or wintering grounds.

 

The study highlights the need for strong spatial planning to reduce these effects on seabirds as offshore wind continues to expand. The Norwegian Institute for Nature Research has suggested that simply painting one of the turbine blades black could make a significant difference to bird survival, too.

 

Figure: This is where 2,000 GW of offshore wind could be built by 2050.

This is where 2,000 GW of offshore wind could be built by 2050.

 

Marrying biodiversity and decarbonization

 

Between now and 2050, offshore wind is set to be the central pillar for global decarbonization, at the core of transforming large swathes of our energy system. To achieve the net-zero emissions target by 2050 and rein in climate change in line with the Paris Agreement, offshore capacity will need to expand from 35 gigawatts (GW) in 2020 to 2,000 GW in the next three decades, says the Global Wind Energy Council.

 

To further boost technologies available to keep the world on the net-zero pathway, the World Economic Forum’s innovation crowdsourcing hub, UpLink, has launched an initiative to source new solutions for “Accelerating Clean Energy Transitions”. This includes a solution for using wind more effectively.

 

With biodiversity and climate change inextricably linked, the challenge will be to balance the needs of both when it comes to building more offshore wind capacity.

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on November 11, 2021, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems