كيف يمكن لتيسير التجارة أن يدعم تنوع سلسلة التوريد في عالم ما بعد الجائحة

سلسلة التوريد

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

11 أبريل، 2022

تضررت الاقتصادات النامية بشدة من اضطراب سلسلة التوريد المرتبط بالوباء. يمكن أن تساعد إصلاحات تيسير التجارة في إزالة الروتين وتساعد على التعافي.

 

By

مدير التحالف العالمي لتيسير التجارة ؛ عضو اللجنة التنفيذية ، المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي


 

  • كشف الوباء عن نقاط ضعف في سلسلة التوريد العالمية.
  • كانت الاقتصادات النامية الأكثر تضررا من هذا الاضطراب.
  • يمكن أن تساعد جهود القطاعين العام والخاص في تنفيذ إصلاحات تيسير التجارة.

 

بعد عامين من تفشي جائحة عالمي ، تعرضت التجارة الدولية للكدمات والضربات. أصبحت الآلية المضبوطة بعناية التي نسميها سلسلة التوريد غير منتظمة ، مما أثر على جميع أنحاء العالم. لقد بالغنا في تقدير متانة النظام وقللنا من تقدير تكاليف الخلل الوظيفي. بينما تظل التجارة الدولية مرنة ، فمن المحتمل أن يتخذ انتعاشها شكلاً معدلًا.

 

تتحمل الاقتصادات الناشئة وطأة الوباء الذي تسبب فيه اضطراب التجارة. البلدان التي استثمرت بشق الأنفس في الانضمام إلى سلسلة القيمة الدولية لإنتاج المنسوجات وقطع غيار الآلات والمكونات الإلكترونية والمنتجات الزراعية تشعر بالضيق.

 

يتراكم الموز في الموانئ البحرية بسبب نقص الحاويات والصناديق الكرتونية ؛ يفتقد مصنعو قطع غيار السيارات إلى اتفاقيات مستوى الخدمة الخاصة بهم بسبب تأخر وصول الشحنات إلى مصانع التجميع ؛ والشركات الصغيرة الناشئة في مجال التجارة الإلكترونية تكافح لأنها تواجه زيادة في تكاليف النقل.

 

يعمل COVID-19 على إعادة تشكيل سلاسل التوريد العالمية

 

وراء الإحصائيات والعناوين ، هناك أشخاص. تهدد سلاسل التوريد الممتدة الاستقرار الوظيفي ، وتقليص خطط التوسع في الأعمال التجارية ، وتقليل الاستثمار ، وتقويض عائدات الضرائب الحكومية في نفس البلدان الأقل قدرة على تخفيف الضربة من خلال دعم القطاع الخاص حتى التعافي.

 

يمكننا مواجهة هذا الاضطراب من خلال زيادة جهودنا لخفض التأخيرات غير الضرورية والروتين على الحدود التي لا تزال تسبب الإحباط وتؤدي إلى تكاليف غير ضرورية وتؤثر على سبل العيش. ما كان يعتبر في السابق إزعاجًا ، أو تكلفة ممارسة الأعمال التجارية ، يهدد بإلحاق الضرر النهائي بالقدرة التنافسية للدول النامية في سلاسل التوريد.

 

لكن يمكن أن تكون الأزمة أيضًا حافزًا للتغيير ، ويمثل الحجم الهائل لهذا الوباء فرصة غير مسبوقة للإصلاح. تسعى الشركات الكبيرة ، التي تدرك هشاشة عملياتها الإنتاجية ، إلى إعادة التفكير في عملياتها. يدرس التنفيذيون في مجلس الإدارة توزيع المخاطر بين العديد من مصانع الإنتاج ، ومضاعفة موردي المكونات ، وتقصير المسافات بين مرافق الإنتاج والتجميع ، وتقريب التصنيع إلى عملائهم.

 

لم يكن من الممكن تصور مثل هذه الحلول قبل انتشار الوباء ولكنها الآن قيد الدراسة الجادة. نظرًا لأن تكاليف الإنتاج لم تعد معيار القرار الوحيد ، فإن البلدان النامية - خاصة تلك الأقرب إلى أسواق الاستهلاك الرئيسية - تقدم إمكانية أن تصبح مراكز تصنيع وتوزيع ، على سبيل المثال شمال إفريقيا لأوروبا ومنطقة البحر الكاريبي لأمريكا الشمالية.

 

لكن القرب الجغرافي لا يكفي. لتحقيق النجاح ، تحتاج هذه البلدان إلى تطوير رؤية سريعة لتحسين الخدمات اللوجستية وتنفيذ خطط مدعومة بالتزام ثابت من كل أصحاب المصلحة في القطاع العام المشاركين في التجارة والاستثمار ، من وزراء الحكومة إلى مسؤولي الجمارك. لم يعد هناك مساحة للوائح غير واضحة ، وعمليات غير متوقعة ، وجبال من الأعمال الورقية ، وأنظمة رقمية نصف منفذة ، ومدفوعات التسهيلات ، وغيرها من العوائق المستوطنة التي تعترض التجارة.

 

تيسير التجارة يمكن أن يدعم الانتعاش

 

خلال سنوات عمله الست ، اكتسب التحالف العالمي لتيسير التجارة رؤى عميقة وخبرة في دعم تلك البلدان الملتزمة تمامًا بإصلاح تيسير التجارة. لقد تعلمنا أن نظل مركزين ، ونبني الحلول خطوة بخطوة ، خطوة بخطوة. لقد شهدنا كيف يمكن للقطاع الخاص والحكومة إنشاء علاقات متبادلة المنفعة تساهم في الرفاهية الاقتصادية. لا ينبغي أن يكون تقديم تيسير التجارة أمرًا معقدًا ولا يجب أن يكون مكلفًا ، ولكنه يتطلب حسن النية والخبرة والمثابرة.

 

توفر اتفاقية تيسير التجارة لمنظمة التجارة العالمية (TFA) ، وأطر تيسير التجارة ذات الصلة في منطقة التجارة الحرة القارية الأفريقية (AfCFTA) وأماكن أخرى ، الزخم والتوجيه والأدوات اللازمة لتسهيل التجارة. وتستند هذه الجهود إلى تمويل المانحين والمساعدة التقنية. بينما تحتفل اتفاقية إطار العمل بالذكرى السنوية الخامسة لتأسيسها ، يبدو أن هناك إجماعًا عامًا على أن التقدم يتم إحرازه بنتائج إيجابية قابلة للقياس. بينما يواصل المجتمع التجاري هذه العملية ، يتطلع أعضاء منظمة التجارة العالمية والقطاع الخاص بشكل متزايد إلى رؤية تأثير ملموس متسارع.

 

حان الوقت الآن للعمل - عن طريق العمل. لم يكن هناك وقت أفضل من الآن لاغتنام الفرصة لتسهيل التجارة.

 

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 11 فبراير 2021 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

How trade facilitation can support supply chain diversity in a post-pandemic world

Supply Chain

Sharing is caring

April 11th, 2022

Developing economies have been hard hit by pandemic-related supply chain disruption. Trade facilitation reforms can help remove red-tape and aid recovery.

 

By

Director, Global Alliance for Trade Facilitation; ExCom Member, World Economic Forum


 

  • The pandemic has exposed vulnerabilities in the global supply chain.
  • Developing economies have been hardest hit by this disruption.
  • Public-private efforts can help deliver trade facilitation reforms.

 

After two years of a global pandemic, international trade is bruised and battered. The carefully tuned machinery we call the supply chain has become erratic, impacting all parts of the world. We overestimated the sturdiness of the system and underestimated the costs of dysfunction. While international trade remains resilient, its recovery will probably take an adjusted form.

 

Emerging economies are bearing the brunt of the pandemic inflicted trade disruption. Countries that painstakingly invested in joining the international value chain producing textiles, machinery parts, electronic components and agricultural produce are feeling the pinch.

 

Bananas are piling up in seaports due to shortages of containers and carton boxes; vehicle parts manufacturers are missing their service level agreements due to late arrival of consignments at the assembly plants; and emerging e-commerce micro-enterprises are struggling as they face increasing transportation costs.

 

COVID-19 is reshaping global supply chains

 

Behind the statistics and the headlines, there are people. Stretched supply chains threaten job stability, downsize business expansion plans, reduce investment, and undermine government tax revenues in the very countries that can least afford to cushion the blow by supporting the private sector through to recovery.

 

We can counter this disruption by increasing our efforts to cut the unnecessary delays and red tape at borders that continues to cause frustration, generate unnecessary costs and affect livelihoods. What used to be considered an inconvenience, or the cost of doing business, risks terminally damaging developing nations competitiveness in supply chains.

 

But a crisis can also be a catalyst for change and the sheer scale of this pandemic presents an unprecedented opportunity for reform. Large enterprises, realising the fragility of their production processes, are scrambling to rethink their operations. Boardroom executives are considering spreading risk among multiple production plants, multiplying component suppliers, shortening the distances between production and assembly facilities, and bringing their manufacturing closer to their customers.

 

Such solutions would have been unthinkable before the pandemic but are now under serious consideration. With production costs no longer the sole decision criterion, developing countries – especially those closer to main consumption markets – offer the potential to become manufacturing and distribution hubs, e.g. North Africa for Europe and the Caribbean for North America.

 

Yet geographical proximity isn’t enough. To succeed, these countries need to rapidly develop a vision for logistics improvement and implement plans backed by steadfast commitment from every public sector stakeholder involved in trade and investment, from government ministers to customs officials. There is no more space for unclear regulations, unpredictable processes, mountains of paperwork, half-implemented digital systems, facilitation payments and other endemic obstacles to trade.

 

Trade facilitation can support recovery

 

During its six years in operation, the Global Alliance for Trade Facilitation has gained deep insights and experience into supporting those countries fully committed to trade facilitation reform. We have learned to remain focused, building solutions block-by-block, one step at a time. We have witnessed how private sector and government can create mutually beneficial relationships that contribute to economic wellbeing. Delivering trade facilitation should not be complex nor does it need to be costly, but it requires goodwill, experience and persistence.

 

The WTO Trade Facilitation Agreement (TFA), and related trade facilitation frameworks in the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) and elsewhere, provide the impetus, guidance, and the necessary tools to make trade easier. These efforts are underpinned by donor funding and technical assistance. As the TFA celebrates its fifth anniversary, there appears to be a general consensus that progress is being made with measurable, positive results. As the trade community continues this process, WTO members and the private sector are increasingly eager to see accelerating tangible impact.

 

Now is the time to act – by doing. There has never been a better time to seize the opportunity to facilitate trade.

 

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on February 11, 2021, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions