ما هو التمويل المستدام وكيف يغير العالم

تغير المناخالاستثمارات

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

19 أبريل، 2022

لقد نضج التمويل المستدام ، فاق الاستثمارات التقليدية في الأداء وساعد في معالجة تغير المناخ. إليك ما تحتاج إلى معرفته.

 

By

كاتب أول ، المحتوى التكويني


 

  • لم يعد المستثمرون يواجهون الاختيار بين الربح وإنقاذ الكوكب.
  • التمويل المستدام يعطي الأولوية للأعمال التي تساعد البيئة.
  • لكنه يركز أيضًا على معايير العمل الأخلاقية والشمولية.

 

الدافع إلى الاستدامة هو تغيير الطريقة التي نعيش بها. ولكن ما هو التأثير على طريقة استثمار مدخراتنا ومعاشاتنا؟ مرحبًا بكم في عالم التمويل المستدام.

 

أصبحت الاعتبارات البيئية والاجتماعية والحوكمة (ESG) تهيمن على العديد من قرارات الاستثمار في السنوات الأخيرة. ببساطة ، هذا يعني استثمار أموالك حيث ستجعل العالم مكانًا أفضل.

 

ما هو التمويل المستدام

 

يغطي الاستثمار المستدام مجموعة من الأنشطة ، من ضخ الأموال في مشاريع الطاقة الخضراء إلى الاستثمار في الشركات التي تظهر القيم الاجتماعية مثل الإدماج الاجتماعي أو الحكم الرشيد من خلال وجود ، على سبيل المثال ، المزيد من النساء في مجالس إدارتها.

 

يلعب التمويل المستدام دورًا رئيسيًا في التحول العالمي إلى صافي الصفر من خلال توجيه الأموال الخاصة إلى مشاريع خالية من الكربون ، كما يقول الاتحاد الأوروبي ، الذي تهدف خطته الاستثمارية للصفقة الخضراء إلى جمع 1.14 تريليون دولار للمساعدة في دفع تكلفة جعل أوروبا صافيًا صفرًا. انبعاثات تغير المناخ بحلول عام 2050.

 

للتأكد من أن الاستثمارات المستدامة تفي بوعودها ، قامت هيئة المحاسبة العالمية ، مؤسسة معايير التقارير المالية الدولية ، بإنشاء مجلس معايير الاستدامة الدولية للتوصل إلى قواعد جديدة للتحقق من صحة مطالبات الاستدامة.

 

يوفر التمويل المستدام عوائد أفضل

 

بالإضافة إلى مساعدة الكوكب وجعل المجتمع أكثر عدلاً وشمولية ، تتزايد الأدلة على أن الأعمال المستدامة تقدم بالفعل عوائد أعلى للمستثمرين.

 

ما هو التمويل المستدام وكيف يغير العالم

 

تتبعت دراسة أجريت لمدير الأصول Fidelity أداء مجموعة من استثمارات ESG في جميع أنحاء العالم بين عامي 1970 و 2014 ووجدت أن نصفها تفوق على السوق. أظهر 11٪ فقط أداءً سلبياً.

 

وجد التحليل الذي أجرته شركة BlackRock - أكبر شركة لإدارة الأصول في العالم - أنه خلال ذروة جائحة COVID-19 في عام 2020 ، كان أداء أكثر من ثمانية من أصل 10 صناديق استثمار مستدامة أفضل من محافظ الأسهم التي لا تستند إلى معايير ESG.

 

بالإضافة إلى دفع أرباح أعلى للمساهمين ، تمتعت الشركات ذات التصنيف البيئي والاجتماعي (ESG) المرتفع أيضًا بزيادات أقوى في أسعار أسهمها في السنوات الخمس الماضية ، وفقًا لبحث أجراه موقع Morningstar المالي.

 

هذا مهم لأن معظم استثمارات سوق الأوراق المالية يتم إجراؤها من قبل المؤسسات المالية مثل صناديق التقاعد. في الولايات المتحدة ، 80٪ من الأسهم المدرجة في الشركات الرائدة مملوكة لمنظمات تعتني بأموال الآخرين.

 

في حين أن الأفراد قد يختارون كسب معدل عائد أقل لإنقاذ الكوكب ، فإن المستثمرين المؤسسيين وأمناء صناديق التقاعد لا يتمتعون بهذا الرفاهية. يجب أن يلتزموا بما يعرف بالواجب الائتماني للتصرف بما يخدم المصلحة المالية الأفضل للمستثمرين.

 

لكن العوائد المتزايدة على الأصول المستدامة تعني أن الأمناء لم يعودوا مضطرين للتضحية بالاستدامة من أجل الربح. يستشهد تقرير الاستثمار التحويلي الصادر عن المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي بمثال صندوق التقاعد الحكومي النيوزيلندي ، الذي قال أمناءه إن تغير المناخ يشكل خطرًا على قدرتهم على تمويل المعاشات التقاعدية والتحول إلى استراتيجية تمويل مستدامة. وقد تفوق أداء الصندوق على الاستثمارات المماثلة بنسبة 1.24٪ سنويًا منذ إنشائه في عام 2003 - بفارق إجمالي قدره 7.24 مليار دولار (10.65 مليار دولار نيوزيلندي).

 

ولكن لماذا الاستثمارات الصديقة للبيئة والحوكمة البيئية والاجتماعية والمؤسسية أفضل من الاستثمارات التقليدية؟

 

وأوضح التفوق

 

أحد العوامل هو تغيير مواقف العملاء. وجدت دراسة في الولايات المتحدة أن ثلثي المستهلكين من جميع الأعمار يفضلون الشراء من الشركات التي تشاركهم قيمهم. بين جيل الألفية - الأشخاص الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 18 و 34 - يرتفع هذا الرقم إلى 83٪.

 

يُرجح أن يشتري المستهلكون أربع إلى ست مرات أكثر من علامة تجارية ذات غرض مؤسسي يؤيدونه ، وفقًا لمسح عالمي. ولكن إذا فعلت شركة ما شيئًا يختلفون معه ، قال ثلاثة أرباعهم إنهم توقفوا عن الشراء من تلك العلامة التجارية وشجعوا الآخرين على فعل الشيء نفسه.

 

الصناعات كثيفة الكربون مثل الفحم والنفط والغاز تجد صعوبة أكبر وأكثر تكلفة في زيادة رأس المال حيث يرفض المقرضون الرئيسيون التعامل معهم.

 

في المقابل ، من المرجح أن تفوز الشركات المستدامة بالعقود ، وتوفر التكاليف عن طريق استخدام موارد أقل ، ولديها تنظيم أقل ، وتحتفظ بأفضل الأشخاص ، وتتجنب خسارة الأموال في العمليات القديمة كثيفة الكربون ، وفقًا لبحث أجرته شركة ماكينزي.

 

أفادت رويترز أن الشركات العالمية حصلت على 859 مليار دولار من الاستثمارات المستدامة في عام 2021 ، بما في ذلك 481.8 مليار دولار في السندات الخضراء التي جمعت الأموال لمشاريع بيئية محددة.

 

ومن المقرر أن يرتفع مستوى التمويل المستدام. تسير القيمة الإجمالية لاستثمارات ESG في المسار الصحيح لتتجاوز 53 تريليون دولار بحلول عام 2025 ، وهو ما يمثل أكثر من ثلث جميع الاستثمارات العالمية ، وفقًا لتحليل أجرته بلومبرج.

 

 

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ، في 20 يناير 2022 ، وتم إعادة نشرها وفقًا لـ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. يمكنك قراءة المقال الأصلي هنا. الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست من WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل عمليات عملك العالمية أسهل وأكثر اقتصادا!

محطة طاقة الرياح | حلول الطاقة المائيةمراجعة الطاقة | الطاقة الحرارية والتوليد المشترك | أنظمة الكهربائية | خدمات للبائعين  |  المصادر الصناعية المجانية   |  حلول الصناعية  |  التعدين ومعالجة المعادن  |  أنظمة مناولة المواد  |  التحكم في تلوث الهواء  |  معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي  |  النفط والغاز والبتروكيماويات  |  السكر والإيثانول الحيوي  |  الطاقة الشمسية  |  حلول طاقة الرياح

What is sustainable finance and how it is changing the world

Climate ChangeInvestments

Sharing is caring

April 19th, 2022

Sustainable finance has come of age, outperforming conventional investments and helping to address climate change. Here’s what you need to know.

 

By

Senior Writer, Formative Content


 

  • Investors no longer face a choice between profit and saving the planet.
  • Sustainable finance is prioritizing businesses that help the environment.
  • But it also focuses on inclusion and ethical business standards.

 

The drive to sustainability is transforming the way we live. But what is the impact on the way our savings and pensions are invested? Welcome to the world of sustainable finance.

 

Environmental, social and governance (ESG) considerations have come to dominate many investment decisions in recent years. Put simply, this means investing your money where it will make the world a better place.

 

What is sustainable finance

 

Sustainable investing covers a range of activities, from putting cash into green energy projects to investing in companies that demonstrate social values such as social inclusion or good governance by having, for example, more women on their boards.

 

Sustainable finance has a key role to play in the world’s transition to net zero by channelling private money into carbon-neutral projects, says the European Union, whose Green Deal Investment Plan aims to raise $1.14 trillion to help pay the cost of making Europe net zero climate change emissions by 2050.

 

To ensure that sustainable investments deliver on their promises, global accounting body the International Financial Reporting Standards Foundation has just set up the International Sustainability Standards Board to come up with new rules to validate sustainability claims.

 

Sustainable finance provides better returns

 

As well as helping the planet and making society fairer and more inclusive, evidence is mounting that sustainable businesses actually offer higher returns for investors.

 

What is sustainable finance and how it is changing the world

 

A study conducted for asset manager Fidelity tracked the performance of a range of ESG investments worldwide between 1970 and 2014 and found that half of them outperformed the market. Only 11% showed negative performance.

 

Analysis by BlackRock – the world’s biggest asset management company – found that during the height of the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, more than eight out of 10 sustainable investment funds performed better than share portfolios not based on ESG criteria.

 

As well as paying higher dividends to shareholders, companies with high ESG ratings have also enjoyed stronger increases in their share price in the past five years, according to research by financial website Morningstar.

 

This matters because most stock market investments are made by financial institutions such as pension funds. In the United States, 80% of listed equity in leading companies is held by organizations that are looking after other people’s money.

 

While individuals may choose to earn a lower rate of return to save the planet, institutional investors and pension fund trustees don’t have that luxury. They must abide by what is known as a fiduciary duty to act in the best financial interest of investors.

 

But rising returns on sustainable assets mean trustees no longer have to sacrifice sustainability for profit. The World Economic Forum’s Transformational Investment report cites the example of New Zealand’s state pension fund, the trustees of which argued that climate change posed a risk to their ability to fund pensions and switched to a sustainable finance strategy. The fund has outperformed comparable investments by 1.24% a year since its inception in 2003 – a total difference of $7.24 billion (NZD10.65 billion).

 

But why do ESG-friendly investments do better than conventional investments?

 

Outperformance explained

 

One factor is changing customer attitudes. A study in the US found that two-thirds of consumers of all ages prefer to buy from companies that share their values. Among millennials – people aged between 18 and 34 – that figure rises to 83%.

 

Consumers are four to six times more likely to buy from a brand with a corporate purpose they endorse, according to a global survey. But if a company does something they disagree with, three-quarters said they stopped buying from that brand and encouraged others to do the same.

 

Carbon-intensive industries such as coal, oil and gas are also finding it harder and more expensive to raise capital as leading lenders refuse to do business with them.

 

In contrast, sustainable companies are more likely to win contracts, save costs by using fewer resources, have less regulation, retain the best people and avoid losing money on old carbon-intensive processes, according to research by McKinsey.

 

Global companies took in a record $859 billion in sustainable investments in 2021, Reuters reported, including $481.8 billion in green bonds that raised money for specific environmental projects.

 

And the level of sustainable finance is only set to grow. The total value of ESG investments is on track to exceed $53 trillion by 2025, accounting for more than a third of all global investments, according to analysis by Bloomberg.

 

 

This article was originally published by World Economic Forum, on January 20, 2022, and has been republished in accordance with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License. You can read the original article here. The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not of the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global business operations easier and more economical!

Wind Power Plant | Hydro Power SolutionsEnergy Audit | Thermal Power & Cogeneration | Electrical Systems | Services for Sellers  |  Free Industrial Sourcing   |  Industrial Solutions  |  Mining & Mineral Processing  |  Material Handling Systems  |  Air Pollution Control  |  Water & Waste Water Treatment  |  Oil, Gas And Petrochemicals  |  Sugar And Bioethanol  |  Solar Power  |  Wind Power Solutions