لماذا لا تضيف بيانات التجارة الدولية؟

تجارةاقتصاد العالم

المشاركة تعنى الاهتمام

نوفمبر 18th، 2021

قد تكون إحصاءات التجارة دقيقة. ولكن إذا كنت لا تعرف إحصائيات التجارة الأكثر دقة ، فهذه المقالة مناسبة لك. سنناقش أسباب وجود الكثير من التناقض بين المصادر المختلفة وما يمكنك فعله حيال ذلك.

 

بقلم اربيت ساكسينا


 

إذا دخلت إلى سوبر ماركت ووجدت بيتزا إيطالية وعسلًا مكسيكيًا وزجاجة من نبيذ جنوب إفريقيا ، فإنك تواجه بعض تأثيرات التجارة الدولية. لطالما اهتممت بالتجارة الدولية وكيف أنها تسمح للبلدان بتوسيع أسواقها والوصول إلى السلع والخدمات التي لم تكن لتتوفر محليًا لولا ذلك.

 

خلال إحدى مغامراتي المبكرة التي تضمنت أبحاث التجارة الدولية ، قمت بمسح أكثر من اثني عشر "مصادر رسمية" التي قدمت بيانات التجارة الدولية. ما أثار ذعري أن أيا منهم لم يتفق مع بعضهم البعض. كان الأمر محيرًا للعقل حيث لم يكن لدي أي فكرة عن أي شخص يصدق! إذا كانت لديك أيضًا تجربة مماثلة ، فيرجى قضاء بضع دقائق معي لاستكشاف سبب وجود مثل هذه التناقضات الكبيرة بين المصادر المختلفة لبيانات التجارة الدولية.

 

إذا قارنت البيانات من هذه المصادر المختلفة ، فستجد أنها غير متفقة مع بعضها البعض.

 

في عام 2010 ، كانت القيمة الإجمالية المقدرة للصادرات الصينية التي تزيد قيمتها عن 1.58 تريليون دولار. حسب البيانات التي قدمتها منظمة التجارة العالمية ، في حين أنها كانت كذلك التي تزيد قيمتها عن 1.48 تريليون دولار. وفقًا للبيانات المفتوحة للبنك الدولي. هذا فرق قدره 100 مليار دولار.

 

وفقًا لبيانات صندوق النقد الدولي ، كانت قيمة البضائع التي صدرتها كندا إلى الولايات المتحدة تقريبًا بـ20 مليار دولار أكثر من قيمة البضائع التي أبلغت الولايات المتحدة عن استيرادها من كندا.

 

الاتجاهات العالمية للتجارة الدولية من 1950 إلى 2020

 
بلغ إجمالي التجارة الدولية في عام 2019 19.014 تريليون دولار أمريكي. انخفض هذا الرقم إلى 17.582 تريليون في عام 2020 حيث انخفضت خدمات السفر والتوزيع (بسبب قيود التنقل وتدابير التباعد الاجتماعي المفروضة لأسباب تتعلق بالصحة العامة) ، وعدم توفر العمالة لتفريغ السفن في الموانئ ، وكذلك الحد من تنقل العمال يؤثر على مجموعة متنوعة من العمليات التجارية ، من الفحص المادي للسلع من أجل SPS (الصحة والصحة النباتية) إلى الاختبار ، وإصدار الشهادات لـ TBT (العوائق الفنية أمام التجارة). لا يُتوقع أن تتعافى هذه الخدمات حتى يضعف الوباء.

 

خلال فترة الركود العالمي من 2008 إلى 2009 ، انهارت التجارة الدولية. انخفضت التجارة في العالم الحقيقي بنحو 15٪ ، متجاوزة الانخفاض في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي العالمي بنحو 4 أضعاف.

 

الشكل 1

المصدر رجل دولة

 

أكثر من 12 منظمة دولية كبرى تقدم تقارير عن بيانات التجارة الدولية

 
يعد إجراء التجارة على المستوى الدولي أكثر تعقيدًا عند مقارنته بالتجارة المحلية لأنه يتضمن العديد من العوامل مثل السياسات الحكومية والاقتصاد والقوانين القضائية والعملة.

 

لجعل عملية التجارة الدولية أكثر راحة ، تم تشكيل منظمات تجارية مختلفة. تعمل هذه المنظمات من أجل نمو التجارة الدولية لأنها تضمن تدفقات التجارة بسلاسة وبحرية قدر الإمكان (يتم ذلك من خلال إدارة الاتفاقيات التجارية ، والتعاون مع المنظمات الدولية ، وحل النزاعات التجارية ، وما إلى ذلك). كما أنه يساعد في تقليل الحواجز التجارية. (على سبيل المثال ، التعريفات ، والحواجز غير الجمركية ، وتحويل الأسعار ، وما إلى ذلك)

 

الشكل 2

المصدر عالمنا في البيانات

 

أسباب التفاوت في قياس إحصاءات التجارة الدولية

 

تقيس جميع مصادر البيانات المختلفة (راجع الشكل 2) الشيء نفسه (قيمة بيانات البضائع من بلد إلى بقية العالم) وأيضًا قيمة السلع المصدرة ، معبرًا عنها كحصة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي الوطني. ومع ذلك ، تروي مصادر البيانات المختلفة قصصًا مختلفة.

 

لا تزال العديد من البلدان ملتزمة بـ FOB (مجاني على السبورة) لقيم التصدير و CIF (التكلفة والتأمين والشحن) لاستيراد البضائع. بشكل عام ، يجب أن يكون تصدير البضائع من البلد "أ" إلى البلد "ب" هو نفسه واردات البلد "ب" من "أ" ولكن في الواقع ليس هذا هو الحال.

 

الشكل 3

المصدر عالمنا في البيانات

 

الفرق بين قيمة البضائع التي تستوردها الولايات المتحدة من دول أخرى إلى قيمة البضائع المصدرة من دول أخرى إلى الولايات المتحدة.

 

إذا كانت جميع التباينات قادمة من اختلافات CIF-FOB ، فستكون جميع القيم التي نراها في الرسم البياني موجبة (ملاحظة: بخلاف قيم FOB ، تتضمن CIF جميع تكاليف النقل ، ولهذا السبب تكون قيم CIF أكبر من FOB) . ولكن كما نرى في الرسم البياني ، هناك قيم موجبة وسالبة.

 

ماذا يحصل؟ 

 

تظهر بعض المشكلات عند مقارنة بيانات التجارة من مصادر مختلفة:
 

  1. الفرق في تثمين الصادرات والواردات: هل يتم تقييم المعاملات بأسعار FOB أو CIF؟ 

  2. إسناد غير متسق للشريك التجاري: كيف يتم تحديد المنشأ والوجهة النهائية للبضائع؟

  3. الفرق في السجلات الأساسية: هل تُقاس التجارة من بيانات الحسابات القومية بدلاً من السجلات الجمركية أو الضريبية مباشرة؟ 

  4. تحدث فروق في أسعار الصرف: كيف يتم تحويل القيم من وحدات العملة المحلية إلى العملة التي تسمح بإجراء مقارنات دولية (شائعة الاستخدام بالدولار الأمريكي)؟

  5. حالات أخرى: وقت التسجيل وتصنيف المنتج والتلاعب بالأسعار.

 

المنظمات التي توصلت إلى نهج لمنع عدم التماثل في بيانات التجارة

 

العوامل المذكورة أعلاه هي أسباب عدم التناسق في إحصاءات التجارة الدولية. في الواقع ، غالبًا ما أدرجت المنظمات الدولية التصحيحات ، في محاولة لتحسين البيانات التجارية.

 

على سبيل المثال ، تستخدم منظمة التعاون والتنمية في الميدان الاقتصادي نهجها الخاص لتصحيح وتعديل إحصاءات التجارة الدولية للبضائع. التصحيحات المطبقة في السلسلة المتوازنة لمنظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية تجعلها أفضل مصدر للمقارنات بين البلدان.

 

اختارت البلدان في جميع أنحاء العالم الاعتماد على CEPII (Centre d'Etudes Prospectives Et d'Information Internationales) كمصدر رئيسي لاستكشاف التغييرات طويلة المدى في التجارة الدولية ولكنها تعتمد أيضًا على بيانات البنك الدولي ومنظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية للحصول على ما يصل إلى تاريخ مقارنات عبر البلاد.

 

لا توجد طريقة واضحة للاختيار بين المصادر. هذا التفسير للبيانات غير مناسب ، لأن عدم التطابق في البيانات يمكن ، وغالبًا ما ينشأ من التناقضات في القياس بدلاً من المخالفات.

 

الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلف وحده وليست WorldRef.


 

استكشف خدمات WorldRef لتتعلم كيف نجعل توسعك العالمي أسهل واقتصاديًا!

مساعدة التصدير والاستيراد | الخدمات اللوجستية الدولية | التعجيل والمراقبة | حضور الأعمال الدولية | أبحاث السوق الدولية | تطوير الاعمال العالميه | زيارات السوق الدولية | تسجيل البائعين الدوليين | المعرض التجاري الدولي

Why Doesn’t International Trade Data Add Up?

TradeWorld Economy

November 18th, 2021

Trade statistics may be accurate. But if you don’t know which trade statistics are the most accurate, then this article is for you. We will discuss the reasons why there is so much discrepancy between different sources and what you can do about it.

 

By Arpit Saxena


 

If you walk into a supermarket and find Italian pizza, Mexican honey, and a bottle of South African wine, then you just experience some impacts of international trade. I have always been intrigued by international trade and how it allows countries to expand their markets and access goods and services that otherwise would not have been available domestically.

 

During one of my early escapades involving international trade research, I surveyed over a dozen “official sources” which provided international trade data. To my consternation, none of them agreed with each other. It was mind-boggling as I did not have any idea which one to believe! If you also had a similar experience, please spend a few minutes with me exploring why there are such large discrepancies between different sources of international trade data.

 

If you compare the data from these different sources, you will find that they are not in agreement with each other.

 

In 2010, China’s total estimated value of exports was $1.58 trillion as per the data provided by the WTO, whereas, it was $1.48 trillion according to World Bank Open Data. That’s a difference of $100 billion.

 

As per IMF data, the value of goods that Canada exported to the US was almost $20 billion more than the value of goods that the US reported importing from Canada.

 

Global Trends of International Trade from 1950 to 2020

 
The total international trade in 2019 stood at 19.014 trillion US dollars. This number had fallen to 17.582 trillion in 2020 as travel, and distribution services had decreased (due to the mobility restrictions and social distancing measures imposed for public health reasons), unavailability of labor to unload the ships at ports, and also limiting the mobility of workers affects a variety of trade processes, from physical inspection of goods for SPS(Sanitary and Phytosanitary) to testing, and certification for TBT(Technical Barriers to Trade). These services are not expected to recover until the pandemic weakens.

 

During the global recession of 2008 to 2009, international trade collapsed. The real-world trade fell by about 15%, exceeding the fall in world GDP by roughly a factor of 4.

 

Figure- 1

Source: Statista

 

More than 12 major international organizations report on the international trade data

 
Carrying out the trade at an international level is way more complex when compared to a domestic one because it involves numerous factors such as government policies, economy, judicial laws, and currency.

 

To make the process of international trade more comfortable, various trade organizations were formed. These organizations work towards the growth of international trade as they ensure trade flows smoothly and as freely as possible (this is done by administering trade agreements, cooperating with international organizations, resolving trade disputes, etc.). It also helps in reducing trade barriers. (For example Tariffs, and Non-tariffs barriers, shifting rates, etc.)

 

Figure- 2

Source: Our World in Data

 

Reasons for Disparity in measuring international trade statistics

 

All of the various data sources(refer to figure-2) measure the same thing (the value of goods data from one country to the rest of the world) and also the value of exported goods, expressed as the share of national GDP. Still, different data sources tell different stories.

 

Many countries still stick to FOB (free on the board) for export values and CIF (Cost, Insurance, and Freight) for importing the goods. Generally speaking, the export of goods from country A to country B  should be the same as the imports of country B from A but in reality, that is not the case.

 

Figure- 3

Source: Our World in Data

 

The difference between the value of goods imported by the US from other countries to the value of goods exported from other countries to the US.

 

If all the asymmetries were coming from CIF-FOB differences, then all the values that we see in the chart would be positive (Note: Unlike FOB values, CIF includes all the cost of transportation, so that’s why CIF values are larger than FOB). But as we can see in the chart, there are both positive and negative values.

 

So, what’s going on? 

 

Some issues come up when comparing trade data from various sources:
 

  1. The difference in export and import valuation: Are the transactions valued in FOB or CIF prices? 

  2. Inconsistent attribution of trade partner: How are the origin and final destination of merchandise established?

  3. The difference in underlying records: Is trade measured from National Accounts data rather than directly from custom or tax records? 

  4. Differences occur in exchange rates: How are values converted from local currency units to the currency that allows international comparisons (commonly used US-$)?

  5. Other Issues: Time of recording, product classification, and manipulating the prices.

 

Organizations that came up with the approach to prevent asymmetries in Trade data

 

The factors that are mentioned above are the reasons for having asymmetries in international trade statistics. Indeed, international organizations have often incorporated corrections, in an attempt to improve the trade data.

 

For example, OECD uses its own approach to correct and adjust the international merchandise trade statistics. The corrections applied in OECD’s balanced series make it the best source for cross-country comparisons.

 

The countries across the world have chosen to rely on CEPII(Centre d’Etudes Prospectives Et d’Information Internationales) as the main source for exploring long-run changes in international trade but also rely on World Bank and OECD data for up-to-date cross-country comparisons.

 

There is no obvious way of choosing between sources. This interpretation of data is not appropriate, since the mismatches in the data can, and often do arise from the inconsistencies in measurement rather than malfeasance.

 

The views expressed in this article are those of the author alone and not the WorldRef.


 

Explore WorldRef services to learn how we are making your global expansion easier and economical!

Export-Import Assistance | International Logistics | Expediting & Monitoring | International Business Presence | International Market Research | International Business Development | International Market Visits | International Vendor Registration | International Trade Exhibition